McGuinness can program athletes but there's no plan for being outclassed. StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 27/07/2025 20:26:39 2628392 Link 4 |
Thought donegal would win but started having doubts when heard mcfadden was dropped which left ye light in midfield with the wrecking ball that is Joe o Connor. Midfield is huge under new rules. Kerry dominated throughout the match. kerry also totally exploited zonal system and Jim great coach that he is wasnt flexible enough today to counter that. Lots of errors also and no real ambitions to kick 2 pointers relying on your running game to get pts which was still decent but a big ask to reign kerry in expending that much energy. Murphy had no real support and struggled to impact like last few matches. To be fair donegal hadn't been great in first half of last few games but as mickey harte said on commentary kerry with all their experience and history were a different animal to those teams donegal had played and a 7 pt lead was huge in this regard. Ye were also v unlucky with key injuries today Thompson mchugh. That said ye still had a great year beaten by an outstanding kerry side so should be rightly proud of your lads. seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1912 - 27/07/2025 20:37:52 2628404 Link 0 |
Kerry were on tempo from the start. Donegal messing about joining the parade late and leaving early as some type of mind games didn't affect them. A lot of turnovers by silly Donegal mistakes in the second half. Kerry got 6 2 pointers. Donegal got and only tried late on. Too slow moving the ball with the new rules. McGee done well when he came on but few shined. Murphy done his best but caught out in the speed of the game a few times. FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2895 - 27/07/2025 20:46:48 2628409 Link 4 |
I see Conor McManus saying he was baffled by Donegal tactics today. farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 308 - 27/07/2025 20:49:18 2628411 Link 0 |
I see Conor McManus saying he was baffled by Donegal tactics today. farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 308 - 27/07/2025 20:50:16 2628412 Link 0 |
Was disappointed with Donegal I expected more intensity and higher levels of energy, but at 0-21 v 0-17 think Paddy Mac had a 2pts shot which went narrowly wide for Donegal.
katser (Galway) - Posts: 2673 - 27/07/2025 20:56:20 2628417 Link 1 |
What tactics from Donegal.? There were none. Utterly clueless from the Donegal sideline.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2561 - 27/07/2025 21:00:48 2628420 Link 0 |
Good year for Donegal after getting absolutely hammered in a final ?..
S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 298 - 27/07/2025 21:02:55 2628422 Link 3 |
Won our province for the second year in a row, got to our first AI final in 11 years, outclassed today by a serious side but it's all a learning curve and hopefully it'll stand to us in the future. So yeah, I'd class that as a progressive year. How did yous get on? Did we play you? Still manager less? peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1290 - 27/07/2025 21:17:37 2628425 Link 0 |
I was cheering for Donegal but they were really poor today. They'll know that themselves. An Ulster title is little consolation after falling so far short in the All Ireland final. Perhaps it can be classed as a good year for Donegal in a way but I'd say all Donegal gaa people are feeling very flat tonight.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2561 - 27/07/2025 21:27:46 2628427 Link 0 |
They were set up as normal but couldn't deviate or adapt when needed. I thought they looked nervy once Kerry got on top. I didn't like the nonsense of breaking away from the parade. Tried to be too smart with the mind games. Fair play to Kerry for respecting the parade.
FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 272 - 27/07/2025 21:47:47 2628429 Link 1 |
Just in the door after a depressing finish to the season. shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 411 - 27/07/2025 21:56:30 2628433 Link 0 |
Ulster champions and second best team in the country. Yes. A good year. Bad end.
eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 211 - 27/07/2025 21:59:41 2628436 Link 1 |
Yeah fairly hard to take. Even if we played as we could have, would we have gotten near them? Hard to regroup and make a charge next year after the way this ended. Gonna be a long offseason.
eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 211 - 27/07/2025 22:22:26 2628442 Link 0 |
In fairness Jim has got a serious tune out of a team that looked bang average 3 years ago. Making an All Ireland is a huge achievement. Also to be kept in mind that ye are not the only good team to feel the wrath of Kerry, they've done it to Armagh and Tyrone.
FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 272 - 27/07/2025 22:25:03 2628445 Link 1 |