Donegal GAA thread

Replying To S1234:  "Good year for Donegal after getting absolutely hammered in a final ?.."
That's rich coming from a Mayo man..

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 721 - 27/07/2025 23:31:27    2628465

Just landed in the door, not our day at all. Fair play to kerry they were fantastic. We got a lot of things wrong today but listen that can happen. They gave us a great summer of football and excitment. 11 championship games for amateurs is tough going. But kerry well deserving of their victory. Bad accident on the M1 on the way home, puts everything in perspective, i hope everyone is alright

gaeltacht81 (Donegal) - Posts: 26 - 27/07/2025 23:32:32    2628466

Kerry were just better but you should at least have made them earn it a bit more. Cliffords first two pointer is wayward kick pass from Donegal coming out of defence. It's a completely unforced error and you can't giving an opportunity like that to Clifford. Another one of scores comes from a blocked hand pass out of defence after a turnover. Then his last two pointer in the first half. 2 minutes to ht and then a poor kickpass into the keepers hand and Kerry work a set play for another Clifford two pointer..7 points and close to game over up when it could have been 4 and even 5 would have not been too bad

The last play of the either the first or second half has been a noticeable shortcoming of the team this year. Kerry, monaghan, louth, down, mayo, Derry in the league. It's a really bad habit.

Kerry bullied donegal a bit today..Gavin White set the tone from the start and donegal struggled with their physicality.

They also let paudie Clifford have the run of the place through their zonal defense and that defensive structure is something to ponder in the winter months.

Thanks to the team and management for all they given this year. It's a huge commitment and I admire and respect the effort so much. It was a great buzz around the county and hopefully it will help to keep building strong foundations for the future generation. Looking forward to next year as well to see how we can keep building.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 921 - 28/07/2025 00:24:22    2628473

Replying To FullOfPorter:  "In fairness Jim has got a serious tune out of a team that looked bang average 3 years ago. Making an All Ireland is a huge achievement. Also to be kept in mind that ye are not the only good team to feel the wrath of Kerry, they've done it to Armagh and Tyrone."
There's quite a amount of people out there that love to see jim and donegal fail. Jim has made donegal competitive again and it's a credit to him. Donegal have no minor all irelands, have 2 21s with a last win in 1987. They've won no senior club championship and only 2 ulsters. What mcguinness has done is an absolute credit to himself and the county. Instead of jibes and cheap comments others should be seeing what they can learn from it.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 921 - 28/07/2025 01:18:31    2628477

Replying To S1234:  "Good year for Donegal after getting absolutely hammered in a final ?.."
Ah clare give it a rest

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 346 - 28/07/2025 07:45:22    2628489

Replying To StopTheLights:  "McGuinness can program athletes but there's no plan for being outclassed.
Good year for Donegal."
Amazing to see the old false postwar PR narrative about Kerry playing "different" type of football lol. Away from all the genuflecting, both teams played the exact same pattern of football yesterday - the major difference was not the type of football, but the mindset - Kerry set out to win, while Donegal set out to sit back and counter. Kerry played the typical modern style of football, but did so with energy and great athleticism and positivity and will to win. The major difference was that Kerry attacked the game from the start, while, especially in the first half, Donegal sat back passively, showing not near as much athleticism, and invited them on. Attack best form of defence etc, and defending deep like that will never work against a good team like Kerry. The amount of Kerry scores taken with not a glove being laid on them was shocking. Of course, McHugh and Thompson being targeted for accidentally-on-purpose injuries didn't help - you might have been level had they been on - McHugh always brings energy to link play, and Thompson has decent feet on a day when Donegal had several bad misses - but overall, sitting back in your shell, not marking P Clifford and relying on counters was never going to win.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 311 - 28/07/2025 09:16:33    2628499

Fair play to Kerry, by far the better team.

Tactically we were way off yesterday. A horror show by McGuinness and his management team. Who ever thought leaving Paudie Clifford unmarked was a good idea?. Match ups were wrong. Everyone knows O'Connor is a target for Kerry kickouts yet we had a mismatch on him and he dominated. Our defense was a mess carved us open far too easily. Only for a few soft frees, it kept the score line half respectable looking at times even though we were being hammered.

Hard to take when expectation was so high. That all said, I expect us to bounce back. Will Murphy do another year? Paddy looked lethargic when he came on. Are his days numbered? Hopefully re-group and give 2026 a rattle. Still a great team there if we can get it together.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 165 - 28/07/2025 09:17:41    2628500

Proud of our boys for the year we've had onwards and upwards.
Jim will no doubt have regrets and a lot more thinking will need to go in to getting our kickouts around the middle we had no real clean catches today there bar Langan. I said it last year of a lack of height in depth around the middle and feel someone like Jason Campbell from Kilcar or that make would have been useful to come on at the same time as McGee to bulk up the middle if we could get him in to the panel
Lack of men willing to have a go at the two pointer is worrying need to implement it a bit more next year and not be full time thinking percentage shots

Jimsam12 (Donegal) - Posts: 22 - 28/07/2025 09:28:49    2628503

Firstly, a massive congratulations to Kerry. They were stronger, faster and smarter in all facets of the game yesterday. It was clear from the get-go that they were determined to set the terms, and that it was going to be a huge ask for Donegal to wrestle back control of the game. There were a couple of occasions when we got it back to a four point deficit, but Kerry were always able to step it up again, and extend there lead out to six, seven points. A ten point defeat was perhaps a wee bit harsh on us, but no complaints, Kerry fully merited their win. Taking my Donegal glasses off, it was mesmerising at times watching the Cliffords at work. Two simply outstanding footballers ably assisted by the likes of White, O'Connor, O'Beaglaoich and O'Shea.

For ourselves, it's a bit raw still for detailed analysis. I was surprised to see Hugh McFadden benched. He's a wrecking ball for us in midfield, and Kerry dominated in that sector until Hugh and Jason McGee arrived. Tactically, was it a big mistake not to tag/man-mark P Clifford? Yes. But the thing with Kerry is there are three big fires in the Cliffords and O'Shea to tackle. If you man-mark three, suddenly the zonal defence system which has worked well all year is out the window somewhat. We made a lot of uncharacteristic errors too, poor shot selection at times, bad wides etc. Thompson and McHugh going off injured didn't help matters either, just a very bad day at the office. I have to say though, even if we were fully at it, it would have probably still taken a bit more to beat Kerry yesterday, they were very polished and clinical.

Lastly, thank you to the team and management for a wonderful year. It obviously didn't finish as we'd hoped but there were some great memories made along the way. I've seen a fair few posters from various counties gleefully sticking the knife in. Miserable losers one and all, hardly worth responding to, or wasting breath on.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9932 - 28/07/2025 10:02:39    2628513

As sore as all of today and this week will be, these men have given everything for the county we all love. I would hope that the people of Donegal will not let 70 minutes undue 7 months of valiance which has put pride in our colours once more.

That result is a very tough one to take. Truth be told, Kerry were next to flawless. So even at our best, we likely still lose by 2 or 3 points. I do not begrudge that game to Kerry in any way shape or form. With that said, we did everything we could to help them. The winning and losing of yesterday was going to be dependent on a lot of things, but chief among them is midfield. It doesn't look like McGonagle was ready for the pace of the game which is understandable. But what is not understandable is Hugh McFadden not starting. He has won all around him all year. Kerry used the midfield platform to storm out ahead and almost score a point a minute for the first 15. It was totally and utterly untenable.

From there, when we did wrestle back some grip on the game, terrible unforced errors would undo the serious hard work. Wayward passes, spilt fetches, it was just agonizing to watch in real time. I think we can be quite proud of that 15 minute stretch in the second half, clawing it back to 4. And the real hurt now for me is not capitalizing on Shane Ryan's slipped free. A chance to go within 3 points going down the stretch, instead we pull it wide and gift them and even easier free. Truth be told I think the occasion got to us which is understandable for such a young squad.

Congratulations to Kerry they're worthy All Ireland champions who were the next best thing to flawless, but we will have a lot to think about between now and the league starting back up again.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 84 - 28/07/2025 10:18:58    2628517

Commiserations - a tough loss to take. Try not to be too down. Ultimately, Kerry are just a class above everyone at the moment.

IMO beating Armagh, Tyrone and yourselves they couldn't have had a harder route to winning and I think 6 points was as close as anyone got. I just hope we are not looking at years of Kerry dominance.

A lot of comments on Jims tactics - or lack of. I watched it on TV - and couldn't believe that Paudi Clifford had so much time on the ball and this wasn't changed throughout the game. He ran down the clock coming up to HT - he could have sat down on the pitch and had a sandwich because noone would engage him. From TV it was very frustrating but I don't see the big picture. For people at the game - was I missing something? Surely the tactic should have changed during the game?

That and the decision not to bring on the big midfielder sooner for me were the biggest mistakes. Whether either would have made a difference is debatable.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 375 - 28/07/2025 10:20:11    2628518

Fair Play to Kerry they were the best team by a country mile.

Helped a long way by dismal Donegal tactics. the messiah complex on the sideline gave the freedom of Croke Park to Kerrys most influential player and didn't change it because its not in the system blue print to mark a half forward.

the best team with the best players won this years all ireland playing football the way its supposed to be played so a great day all round. also big shout out to Jack, what a manager.

muckla (UK) - Posts: 372 - 28/07/2025 10:24:42    2628523

Never got into game yesterday hard to explain was it nerves or over thinking the game. Big questions will McGuinness do another year, who will retire, maybe Mutphy McBrearty Ryan McHugh and McFadden who knows.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 491 - 28/07/2025 10:24:59    2628524

First of all Donegal had a great year but did not do themselves justice yesterday. Why did they not win?

* They looked drained from the start and may have left much/all of their energy on the training field.
* Kerry were totally dominant at midfield and either Hugh McFadden (very strange call) or Jason McGee should have started.
* McGuinnes put too much emphasis on playing mind-games and players took their minds off what they should have been concentrating on. (Leaving Kerry waiting for the parade to start while doing additional warm ups, leaving the parade early etc. The result: Kerry started better. Other examples included the players leaving the supporters on their own on the field after previous matches, complaining about having to travel from Bundoran etc (part of Donegal) to Roscommon for the Mayo match while Kerry had to travel to Tullamore etc, etc. etc.
* Kerry have several 2- point shooters but Donegal defended too far inside the arc leaving the shooter to shoot near the arc
* Donegal had no plan at all to deal with Paudi Clifford who was given the freedom of Croke Park to run the show.
* A lot of Kerry players (Paudi Clifford, David Clifford, Gavin White, Joe O' Connor etc) played exceptionally well
* Donegals best 2 shooter Ciaran Thompson getting injured. Ryan McHugh was not having his best day and I think Jason McGee replaced him and played well.
* Kerry implemented a better gameplan on the day and sadly many top Donegal players did not perform on the day.

I noted that Patrick McBrearty took a very long time to leave the field yesterday. If it was your last game Paddy for Donegal yesterday, you were some player over many years.

A huge amount of Donegal supporters made the trip to Croke Park with and without tickets and brought a great atmosphere around Drumcondra. You had a few great days with this team this year so it is important to not lose perspective. Donegal (like Tipperary hurlers) have to ability to come back from this huge disappointment if they concentrate on the game and learn some hard lessons (starters, fitness/readiness, starting and reactive gameplan, mindgames) from yesterday.

Safe travelling to all supporters ( Donegal & Kerry) who are travelling home today.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 777 - 28/07/2025 10:30:10    2628525

We've played in 4 All Ireland Finals and yesterday's haul of 19 points was our highest but I never felt we were in the game. Hopefully McGee can go away and get himself right over the winter because we need him fully firing.
Someone said that this year was Jim's best chance to win the All Ireland, I disagree. I think it was last year and had we Murphy then, we'd have been in the final against a team we always beat.
In a related point, I hope the FRC do away with the two pointers.

ThroughTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 28/07/2025 10:33:15    2628526

Replying To Jimsam12:  "Proud of our boys for the year we've had onwards and upwards.
Jim will no doubt have regrets and a lot more thinking will need to go in to getting our kickouts around the middle we had no real clean catches today there bar Langan. I said it last year of a lack of height in depth around the middle and feel someone like Jason Campbell from Kilcar or that make would have been useful to come on at the same time as McGee to bulk up the middle if we could get him in to the panel
Lack of men willing to have a go at the two pointer is worrying need to implement it a bit more next year and not be full time thinking percentage shots"
Did you fall asleep for the 2nd half? McGee caught about 3/4 clean when he came on.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1292 - 28/07/2025 10:38:57    2628528

Congrats to Kerry on as good an AI as they've ever had beating the best of Ulster on route. I was against them all year until after the Armagh game and they proved me very wrong. No complaints from a Donegal perspective. Kerry brought skill and an intensity levels above. This was highlighted by the brilliant Gavin White who was ferocious from the get go running onto the ball to set up the first score. Pretty sure he beat Ryan to another break in the second half they scored from too. The lads actually showed great character to get back into just before HT before a cheap turnover and conceding the two pointer after the hooter without hardly laying a glove. We actually started pretty well and I was thinking this is going to be a humdinger before a really poor turnover resulted in a two pointer which gave David Clifford the platform to roar into the game after a quiet start. Another soon after and it was blatantly obvious we'd need a goal to bring about a momentum shift. Surprised big Hughie didn't start. Yes he can sometimes be exposed but he's brought great intensity all year and we didn't have that in the first half. Joe O'Connor cleaned up and it was only until Hughie came on that we got some kinda parity. I said before the game that the kickouts would be massive and we got murdered on them laying the foundations for Kerry to play the game on their terms much like Tyrone did back in the group stages. Patton was off yesterday. Very hesitant and think we only saw one of his lazer beems with many of his kickouts uncharacteristically hanging in the air. Still in the second half we again clawed it back to 4. Forced an error from Ryan before fumbling yet again after winning the sideline kick in....that really summed up the day. Kerry dictated throughout and talking to some of their supporters they were surprised by how easy it was. We never really went at them which is why the likes of Moore, Roarty, Ban and Peader were so quiet when we were in possession. I thought Jason along with Hughie done really well off the bench. Conor O'Donnell was our best player. He played at the intensity needed throughout. Michael never gave up and had a good game but needed more from those around him. This team has brought us on an amazing journey even if the destination wasn't. For that I'm very grateful and thankful for everything they've done. With Jim around we'll never be too far away. He probably will regret some things possibly the Hughie call and not tagging Paudie more closely which is easier said than done. Hopefully with many of this years under twenties underage next year they can go one better and with it build momentum with another batch to come in. I don't see any retirements but it's a long road back and as pointed out by our Mayo friend this was probably our best chance. Do we need to deviate our attention from placing too much focus on Ulster? It's not in Jim's interest and this year in Clones was magical but 11 games is a difficult route to be taking.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2891 - 28/07/2025 10:40:00    2628529

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Did you fall asleep for the 2nd half? McGee caught about 3/4 clean when he came on."
You can't have enough catchers and big men in this new game

Jimsam12 (Donegal) - Posts: 22 - 28/07/2025 10:49:46    2628538

Hard luck Donegal unfortunately ye just didn't bring yer A game yesterday. Looked flat footed and drained of energy and intensity. The Monday after an all Ireland final loss is rough. All that can be done is to go at it again next year.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11710 - 28/07/2025 10:55:56    2628543

Replying To Cbar:  "Commiserations - a tough loss to take. Try not to be too down. Ultimately, Kerry are just a class above everyone at the moment.

IMO beating Armagh, Tyrone and yourselves they couldn't have had a harder route to winning and I think 6 points was as close as anyone got. I just hope we are not looking at years of Kerry dominance.

A lot of comments on Jims tactics - or lack of. I watched it on TV - and couldn't believe that Paudi Clifford had so much time on the ball and this wasn't changed throughout the game. He ran down the clock coming up to HT - he could have sat down on the pitch and had a sandwich because noone would engage him. From TV it was very frustrating but I don't see the big picture. For people at the game - was I missing something? Surely the tactic should have changed during the game?

That and the decision not to bring on the big midfielder sooner for me were the biggest mistakes. Whether either would have made a difference is debatable."
I wasn't upset at Kerry keeping the ball before half time and not being challenged. We were 5 down and would have the breeze in the 2nd half (though felt like it died a bit). Coming from 9 down it wasn't a bad spot to be in so it was essentially letting Kerry waste their time with the breeze. What happened then was inexcuseable though. McCole got too tight to Clifford, wasn't watching the play and the next line of defence were sleeping too. That was a killer blow and shouldn't have been allowed with a set and rested defense.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1438 - 28/07/2025 11:03:03    2628546