Donegal GAA thread

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "Whether they're needed for Galway or not, I think we need to have both McCole, Curran ready for Kerry. If that means rotating at half-time then so be it."
Good luck to ye against Kerry. We will do well to at least give ye a game in the semi. It will nicely prepare ye for Kerry and sure with Armagh giving Kerry a good session all will be grand.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 142 - 04/07/2024 17:59:44    2556944

Replying To JahTribe:  "Good luck to ye against Kerry. We will do well to at least give ye a game in the semi. It will nicely prepare ye for Kerry and sure with Armagh giving Kerry a good session all will be grand."
Ah don't mind, some of our supporters get carried away. Donegal v Galway should be a great match and I hope the winner goes all the way.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 363 - 04/07/2024 19:07:55    2556955

Replying To JahTribe:  "Good luck to ye against Kerry. We will do well to at least give ye a game in the semi. It will nicely prepare ye for Kerry and sure with Armagh giving Kerry a good session all will be grand."
I can guarantee you right now that man is either having a laugh or else he's the only man in Donegal thinking that way.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1374 - 04/07/2024 19:36:56    2556957

What are the chances of a repeat of 2003 when we had an All Ulster All Ireland Final.There are a lot of similarities this year with 3 of the semi finalists the same viz Donegal,Armagh and Kerry.Armagh who were All Ireland champions just pipped us while Tyrone beat Kerry well which didn't go down well with Spillane giving rise to his"puke football" outburst.Tyrone would go on to beat Armagh to win their first All Ireland in Mickey Harte's first year in charge.The year before in a double header in Croke Park I watched Sligo beat Tyrone well and Donegal beat Meath to reach the Q/F against Dublin.Tyrone were at a low ebb under McRORY and McKenna but Harte turned it around in his first year.Let's hope we have a similar dramatic turnaround with Donegal this year.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1090 - 04/07/2024 19:49:22    2556959

Replying To gunman:  "What are the chances of a repeat of 2003 when we had an All Ulster All Ireland Final.There are a lot of similarities this year with 3 of the semi finalists the same viz Donegal,Armagh and Kerry.Armagh who were All Ireland champions just pipped us while Tyrone beat Kerry well which didn't go down well with Spillane giving rise to his"puke football" outburst.Tyrone would go on to beat Armagh to win their first All Ireland in Mickey Harte's first year in charge.The year before in a double header in Croke Park I watched Sligo beat Tyrone well and Donegal beat Meath to reach the Q/F against Dublin.Tyrone were at a low ebb under McRORY and McKenna but Harte turned it around in his first year.Let's hope we have a similar dramatic turnaround with Donegal this year."
Fingers crossed. Feel Galway match is a coin toss but have a strong feeling Armagh beat Kerry.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 269 - 04/07/2024 20:22:15    2556965

It would be some craic if the All Ireland final was a repeat of the Ulster final, I don't think it will happen though.
I think Kerry will take Armagh after a hard battle.
We have our hands full with Galway who are odds on favs rem to beat us, I think our game is very hard to call, all down to the performance we get from either team on the day,
the way I look at it we are in bonus territory this year, I know Jim and the team don't look at it like that though.
If we can mange to beat Galway then we really will be in dreamland, the place will go clean mad! roll on Sunday week.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2882 - 04/07/2024 20:22:42    2556966

Replying To totalrecall:  "im fully expecting Armagh to beat a Kerry team who just don't look at it this year. Kerry really struggle against the blanket and by operating it themselves are taking away alot of their strengths. Armagh won't be afraid to try and kick over the blanket and take some risks, something Derry were not prepared to do"
Kerry will not struggle against a blanket. If they face one they will be patient. The days of them panicking when they face one are gone years and years ago. Armagh don't really play a blanket game. Their Ulster final performance shows this..I think we could see a lot of scores in that match.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3841 - 04/07/2024 21:43:42    2556975

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "SurelyToGod, don't be at it. Let's get over Galway first. It's going to be huge, a physical and physcologic battle. Only then can we think about the next step, and we have the best in the business for making those plans. We need to do all we can to contribute. Judging by the Galway Forum, they certainly plan to outnumber us in Croker, so let's all get there with as much colour, and make as much noise as we possibly can."
I can see a massive crowd travelling from the county the fa t the game is a Sunday will help with that as well everyone you be talking to seems to be going the bandwagon is back firmly on the road again (I won't complain the more the merrier)

Just took a nosey onto ticketmaster this evening and it seems this the more popular game of the 2 with parts of the upper davin stand opened already and little left in the lower tiers. The other semi final has a good few seats left in the lower tiers

Donegal-lad27 (Donegal) - Posts: 11 - 04/07/2024 22:19:57    2556984

Unfortunately I'm away on holidays for the semi final but hopefully we get over the line. Galway are favourites but I think we will go close.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1159 - 04/07/2024 22:39:41    2556990

Listening to Brolly's podcast this morning, he has given us the nod to win the whole thing! He was right back in 20212, lets hope he's right again!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9302 - 05/07/2024 10:38:38    2557023

We are coming up against a formidable Galway side who have seriously talented players, arguably the best inside forward line in the Country in Walsh, Comer and Finnerty and a great manager in Padraig Joyce. Galway have experience edge too, this team have reached an All Ireland two years ago, so they know the craic.

Can Donegal beat them? Yes I think we are capable if things go to plan, but if we played this Galway side 10 times, Id say they would come out on top the majority of times.

Midfield is the key battleground, because I feel the only way we can beat Galway is to starve their inside forwards of quality ball, and I feel if they dominate kick-outs it would provide the platform to outscore us.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1136 - 05/07/2024 11:22:08    2557033

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Listening to Brolly's podcast this morning, he has given us the nod to win the whole thing! He was right back in 20212, lets hope he's right again!"
Ah , Kerry, Galway & Armagh might as well stop training if Joe Brolly has decreed.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 884 - 05/07/2024 11:37:52    2557038

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "It would be some craic if the All Ireland final was a repeat of the Ulster final, I don't think it will happen though.
I think Kerry will take Armagh after a hard battle.
We have our hands full with Galway who are odds on favs rem to beat us, I think our game is very hard to call, all down to the performance we get from either team on the day,
the way I look at it we are in bonus territory this year, I know Jim and the team don't look at it like that though.
If we can mange to beat Galway then we really will be in dreamland, the place will go clean mad! roll on Sunday week."
Sorry, but were are you seeing these 'odds-on favorites' odds? Anywhere I've looked its been evens?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 714 - 05/07/2024 12:54:39    2557053

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "I can guarantee you right now that man is either having a laugh or else he's the only man in Donegal thinking that way."
Certainly not having a laugh, if people want to read a line and assert that I'm thinking past the semi-final then they are entitled to. I think Galway are the justified favourites against our lads, and put it 60/40 in their favour regardless of our approach. The edges we can gain may involve using the same tactics we've seen in the last few weeks, but there's many ways to skin a cat.

My assertion is that to have any chance at beating Kerry, that being Galway, Armagh, or Donegal, they will need at least two man-markers to give 8/10 performances and Donegal only have two man-markers on the squad, one of whom will need game-time.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 415 - 05/07/2024 14:03:41    2557064

I read someone mentioning no.26 in our squad. I agree with their statement. There's 1 or 2 more who could change a game more than him in the squad.

Let's say we need a goal are you throwing him on ? You're not! You adjust your team and throw Jason or Langan in full forward before you would put him on.

That's just my opinion.

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 05/07/2024 14:42:25    2557072

Replying To The_DOC:  "Sorry, but were are you seeing these 'odds-on favorites' odds? Anywhere I've looked its been evens?"
Paddy Power last time I looked had Galway odds on, something like 5/6, I'll check later.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2882 - 05/07/2024 18:28:19    2557094

Replying To Commodore:  "We are coming up against a formidable Galway side who have seriously talented players, arguably the best inside forward line in the Country in Walsh, Comer and Finnerty and a great manager in Padraig Joyce. Galway have experience edge too, this team have reached an All Ireland two years ago, so they know the craic.

Can Donegal beat them? Yes I think we are capable if things go to plan, but if we played this Galway side 10 times, Id say they would come out on top the majority of times.

Midfield is the key battleground, because I feel the only way we can beat Galway is to starve their inside forwards of quality ball, and I feel if they dominate kick-outs it would provide the platform to outscore us."
Galway have big powerful men around the middle so if we are to have a chance in my opinion we need Jason if he's fit and Michael to have massive games, that's where it will be won or lost,
I think we both have good forwards, that's Galway's biggest strength over us I think around the middle third as they say, as well as 2 brilliant forwards in Comer and Walsh who if they are fully fit will be very hard to stop.
I would pay no heed to the likes of Brolly, he'd be better to focus on what went wrong with his own county team.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2882 - 05/07/2024 18:37:37    2557097

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Listening to Brolly's podcast this morning, he has given us the nod to win the whole thing! He was right back in 20212, lets hope he's right again!"
Joe Brolly loving Donegal GAA and Jim in 2024 is something I didnt ever expect to see.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 26 - 05/07/2024 19:18:18    2557099

Replying To Commodore:  "We are coming up against a formidable Galway side who have seriously talented players, arguably the best inside forward line in the Country in Walsh, Comer and Finnerty and a great manager in Padraig Joyce. Galway have experience edge too, this team have reached an All Ireland two years ago, so they know the craic.

Midfield is the key battleground, because I feel the only way we can beat Galway is to starve their inside forwards of quality ball, and I feel if they dominate kick-outs it would provide the platform to outscore us."
Galway are a good team but lets be real, Comer is very overrated.
He can have amazing days and he could roast us for sure but he rarely shows it consistenly.
Walsh is the danger yet even he has been below par this season as well as last, up until the Dublin.|
They are also entering their early 30s.
Its a win now for Galway imo
I think we can do it if we dont concede goals or sloppy frees.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 26 - 05/07/2024 19:20:46    2557102

Regarding Charles I will be the first to admit he is not of the quality to be on the bench but what I do know is there is very few people that train harder and stronger than him. So what we don't see is what he is probably doing during the week making the players around him work hard and prepare better. Please by all mean name someone to swap him out for but Id be shocked if you can name someone he brings more on the training field

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 486 - 05/07/2024 19:22:38    2557103