Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "Am I not allowed an opinion as I said before when Sam is in the hills then we'll discuss where we're at. Until then nothing proven."
Nothing proven? That was our first quarter final in 10 years man. And now our first semi final in 10 years. Jim has already proven more effective than anyone else since… his previous tenure. Simple as.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1374 - 03/07/2024 22:34:16    2556831

Have to say lads I'm really, really looking forward to this. I think ye play a brilliant, attacking style of football, it's an intimidating sight seeing all the bodies going full tilt towards the opposition.

I think the fact that both teams like to play on the front foot will give us a classic shootout, there wont be more than a kick of a ball between the two teams. Some really interesting match ups in store... will Maher go on Mogan, McGrath on Gallen/Mc Brearty, the midfield battle etc.

I'm quietly confident in our lads but at the same time know the massive battle this game will be - just want to say best of luck and as Jim said himself, if we couldn't win it I'd love to see ye go all the way!

tribesman123 (Galway) - Posts: 37 - 04/07/2024 04:37:04    2556849

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Nothing proven? That was our first quarter final in 10 years man. And now our first semi final in 10 years. Jim has already proven more effective than anyone else since… his previous tenure. Simple as."
Some people are never satisfied though

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 04/07/2024 04:52:43    2556850

Replying To farneygael:  "Some people are never satisfied though"
The particular poster concerned holds the current management to a really high bar, while oddly scapegoating lesser success amongst previous management and defending it to the last while blaming players and supporters for not being good enough.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1374 - 04/07/2024 07:27:59    2556851

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Jim has proven himself to be better than the previous managers even this early into his second coming.

He achieved in 6 months what Bonner couldn't achieve in 4 years - an All Ireland semi final spot.

Enjoy your humble pie."
Who cares who the best manager is . Certain managers have win leagues and Ulster championships before nothing new there. Doesn't matter if you make semis or quarters in a few years nobody cares i,t's about winning Sam now and nothing else. I admire Jim always have fantastic manager. As I said before come back to me when Sam is in the hills , thell be no happier man than me to be proven wrong.. we have to strike when the irons hot, football guarantees you nothing. Good luck Jim and the lads from rorysboys a proud and true Donegal fan lol.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2517 - 04/07/2024 07:29:59    2556852

Replying To peiledoir20:  "If you're on the Cusack stand side, Marino College is always a good option. A few side roads and you'll be in Whitehall in no time without walking - up past the Goose Tavern and Grace Park Road.

A handy 20 minute walk from Marino down to the Cusack stand as well."
Marino/Fairview on some the side streets can work very well and takes you away from main flow of traffic. You can a left at Whitehall and go down Collins Avenue and then a right at doneycarney church onto the Malahide road and and work your way in that way. There will be very little match traffic doing that.

On the way back home if Whitehall was too busy you can get your way back the m1 via clarehall roundabout and r 139 or via r104 via Coolock. Having a little look at Google maps and putting the route in is always worth doing as it gives you a sense of traffic.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 746 - 04/07/2024 08:08:02    2556856

Replying To tribesman123:  "Have to say lads I'm really, really looking forward to this. I think ye play a brilliant, attacking style of football, it's an intimidating sight seeing all the bodies going full tilt towards the opposition.

I think the fact that both teams like to play on the front foot will give us a classic shootout, there wont be more than a kick of a ball between the two teams. Some really interesting match ups in store... will Maher go on Mogan, McGrath on Gallen/Mc Brearty, the midfield battle etc.

I'm quietly confident in our lads but at the same time know the massive battle this game will be - just want to say best of luck and as Jim said himself, if we couldn't win it I'd love to see ye go all the way!"
Similar sentiments here. It's a hard match to call and a lot will just depend on who performs on the day. I think Galway have the edge on Donegal in the physical stakes, so it will be vital that Jason McGee is able to play some part for us. But I think we have a greater spread of scorers and pace throughout the team. Then again, ye have the marquee duo of Walsh and Comer. Will they be fully fit?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9302 - 04/07/2024 08:43:52    2556859

Replying To rorysboys:  "Am I not allowed an opinion as I said before when Sam is in the hills then we'll discuss where we're at. Until then nothing proven."
As you can see I have not posted on this forum very often but am an avid follower of Donegal Gaa for over 40 years and visit this forum for 3 or 4 times a week to catch on what the Donal supprters think.. I don't think even think rorysboy could doubt my credentials.
My issue is that rorysboy seem to waiting for Donegal to be beaten in Croke Park so that he can once again proclaim to have been the most knowledgeable of us all and was right all long.
I am fed up reading about donegals lack of defenders how much Declan Bonner did for the county which very few are disputing. Look to future Rory. and forget about who brought Sean Patton onto the panel.Nobody cares as long as he is there. Stop being such so egotistical who has to be right about everything and move on and support your country like all decent supporters and stop waiting for them to be beaten so you can spout your vile opinion on this forum. You should have been kicked of years ago.
Sorry to the rest of the posters as I felt I just had to post this. Best of luck to you and let's hope Donegal can win Sam and shut up this clown

boholabob (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 04/07/2024 09:30:26    2556862

I think Galway are ahead of us and as expected considering where we are at in our journey and they are rightly favourites for it. But that's not to say we can't win, I just think we need more things to go our way on the day than Galway do.

I'm hoping both teams go all out which will make for a hugely entertaining tie. Hoping it won't be like the Kerry and Derry game last week. In Jim and the lads we trust, they showed when they were big underdogs against Derry what they can do and again in the league final to Armagh. So fingers crossed!

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 241 - 04/07/2024 09:35:15    2556863

Whether they're needed for Galway or not, I think we need to have both McCole, Curran ready for Kerry. If that means rotating at half-time then so be it.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 415 - 04/07/2024 09:39:46    2556865

Whether they're needed for Galway or not, I think we need to have both McCole, Curran ready for Kerry. If that means rotating at half-time then so be it.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 415 - 04/07/2024 10:16:58    2556872

Guys any idea when the decent seats will go online for general sale. Only the hill, behind the goal and two corners have come online.

Need to be a bit closer to the hill lower tier but not in the hill.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 269 - 04/07/2024 11:59:22    2556884

I am expecting to see a very definite game plan from McGuinness against Galway, like to derry game I am expexting him to go after Galway in an area that is perceived to be their strength. I doubt if Galway will give us the kick out and will be looking to force patton to go long where they have alot big men between the 2 45's, along with McDaid I think Maher has been very impressive this year, good footballer and a big unit. i would expect McGonagle to pick him up and perhaps someone like Eoghan Bán/Moore on McDaid. Eoghan Bán/Moore possibly on walsh. McCole on Comer and mogan possibly on finnerty. all assuming that Jason McGee will be fit enough to start.

Galway will be looking at Donegal will be targetting Mogan/McHugh in an effort to stop them attacking from deep and tracking their runs. Galway may look to start Tierney/Maher/McDaid all in the half forward line which will present us with problems on the kick outs. Gleeson has a decent kick on him as well but as was seen v Armagh can panic on a high press.

I believe where we can make in roads against Galway is where we play our high temp give and go football. Galway were impressive against Armagh for about three quarters of the game until Gleesons faux pas and were even more impressive in the second half against Dublin. I feel there is a big performance in this Donegal team, there will certainly need to be. i felt we did what was needed against louth in a game we controlled from start to finish. An All-Ireland Semi-final is going to require a step up in intensity levels and performance whether we are playing Galway or anyone else for that matter.

I think it should be a cracker....

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 963 - 04/07/2024 12:01:42    2556885

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "Whether they're needed for Galway or not, I think we need to have both McCole, Curran ready for Kerry. If that means rotating at half-time then so be it."
im fully expecting Armagh to beat a Kerry team who just don't look at it this year. Kerry really struggle against the blanket and by operating it themselves are taking away alot of their strengths. Armagh won't be afraid to try and kick over the blanket and take some risks, something Derry were not prepared to do

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 963 - 04/07/2024 12:14:53    2556888

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "Whether they're needed for Galway or not, I think we need to have both McCole, Curran ready for Kerry. If that means rotating at half-time then so be it."
For the league next year is it?

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1608 - 04/07/2024 13:04:15    2556893

SurelyToGod, don't be at it. Let's get over Galway first. It's going to be huge, a physical and physcologic battle. Only then can we think about the next step, and we have the best in the business for making those plans. We need to do all we can to contribute. Judging by the Galway Forum, they certainly plan to outnumber us in Croker, so let's all get there with as much colour, and make as much noise as we possibly can.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 634 - 04/07/2024 13:36:15    2556899

Replying To boholabob:  "As you can see I have not posted on this forum very often but am an avid follower of Donegal Gaa for over 40 years and visit this forum for 3 or 4 times a week to catch on what the Donal supprters think.. I don't think even think rorysboy could doubt my credentials.
My issue is that rorysboy seem to waiting for Donegal to be beaten in Croke Park so that he can once again proclaim to have been the most knowledgeable of us all and was right all long.
I am fed up reading about donegals lack of defenders how much Declan Bonner did for the county which very few are disputing. Look to future Rory. and forget about who brought Sean Patton onto the panel.Nobody cares as long as he is there. Stop being such so egotistical who has to be right about everything and move on and support your country like all decent supporters and stop waiting for them to be beaten so you can spout your vile opinion on this forum. You should have been kicked of years ago.
Sorry to the rest of the posters as I felt I just had to post this. Best of luck to you and let's hope Donegal can win Sam and shut up this clown"
Great post, especially from someone different that is monitoring the Donegal Forum. Your 100% correct, Rory cant be wrong because unless we win an All Ireland,which is unbelievable to be thinking that way after what we have experienced for the past 10 years.
We were heading for division 3 with a bleak outlook until Jim took over.
Promotion with a Division 2 Title, an Ulster Title and an All Ireland seni final to look forward to.
If that's not progress I don't know what is?
Enjoy the good times because things can change very quickly.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 363 - 04/07/2024 13:47:30    2556903

why would McCole not be ready? he's played most games this season. Rotating players in an all ireland semi final? Sounds a bit ridiculous. Forget about Kerry, all focus has to be on Galway, nothing else

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 517 - 04/07/2024 14:39:27    2556915

Replying To rorysboys:  "I support my county I don't wait till we get to croke park to join the party. You were the poster on here criticising carr. Gallagher and bonner when they were manager."
You might attend the games, but what you said last year about the quality (lack of quality players no defenders) of the players is not what I would call a supporter, I don't care how many games you attend.

tirconaillabu (Donegal) - Posts: 83 - 04/07/2024 15:00:35    2556918

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Great post, especially from someone different that is monitoring the Donegal Forum. Your 100% correct, Rory cant be wrong because unless we win an All Ireland,which is unbelievable to be thinking that way after what we have experienced for the past 10 years.
We were heading for division 3 with a bleak outlook until Jim took over.
Promotion with a Division 2 Title, an Ulster Title and an All Ireland seni final to look forward to.
If that's not progress I don't know what is?
Enjoy the good times because things can change very quickly."
If we win the All Ireland, and we get 12 All Stars, if they aren't in the full back line, Rory will say that's proof that our defenders aren't good enough, and that he was right all along. Ha..

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 634 - 04/07/2024 16:42:48    2556931