Donegal GAA thread

Replying To eunans4ever:  "School is out for the summer ……………."
Must be seeing your back on . Nice seeing you avoid my questions I feel good.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2517 - 02/07/2024 22:01:22    2556617

Replying To rorysboys:  "We'll agree to disagree Conor o donnell only about 70% fit yet started. Hasn't played football in almost a year"
Delighted to see Conor back in action , very talented player and seems to have bulked up during his rehab. Good to see Paul Conroy (35) driving Galway onwards last Saturday and kicking a fine score. Heard him say that Seamus Coleman contacted him more than once and was very supportive after his horrific double leg break. Speaks volumes for the 'boy from Killybegs' , a great role model for Dun na nGall. He will probably be in Croker on the 14th.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 524 - 02/07/2024 23:28:13    2556628

Replying To Curlew66:  "Delighted to see Conor back in action , very talented player and seems to have bulked up during his rehab. Good to see Paul Conroy (35) driving Galway onwards last Saturday and kicking a fine score. Heard him say that Seamus Coleman contacted him more than once and was very supportive after his horrific double leg break. Speaks volumes for the 'boy from Killybegs' , a great role model for Dun na nGall. He will probably be in Croker on the 14th."
Watched a Donegal game with Seamie in a quiet pub in Majorca a few years ago. The humblest of lads and a big supporter of the Donegal team.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 129 - 03/07/2024 12:12:41    2556706

Replying To StockholmGael:  "Watched a Donegal game with Seamie in a quiet pub in Majorca a few years ago. The humblest of lads and a big supporter of the Donegal team."
A top gaelic footballer at underage too. A Karl Lacey type of player and wouldn't have been far off what he achieved either if he didn't go down the soccer route.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 880 - 03/07/2024 12:34:50    2556711

Tickets secured ,didn't want too but booked in for Saturday night. Was thinking weekends like this don't happen to often.. going in confidence I feel Galway's all Ireland was last Saturday similar to 2014 with us. Hope to see all the new fans around croker, probably be talking to a few of the posters somewhere. Roll on can't wait. Wear the colours even if is a Magee tailored or a 2012 jersey yous are all welcome..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2517 - 03/07/2024 13:03:52    2556717

Replying To rorysboys:  "Tickets secured ,didn't want too but booked in for Saturday night. Was thinking weekends like this don't happen to often.. going in confidence I feel Galway's all Ireland was last Saturday similar to 2014 with us. Hope to see all the new fans around croker, probably be talking to a few of the posters somewhere. Roll on can't wait. Wear the colours even if is a Magee tailored or a 2012 jersey yous are all welcome.."
Ah what I wouldn't give for an original magee tailored jersey. The old ones are the best imho. I gave the 2002 one a run out the last day.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 49 - 03/07/2024 13:28:10    2556726

Replying To Curlew66:  "Delighted to see Conor back in action , very talented player and seems to have bulked up during his rehab. Good to see Paul Conroy (35) driving Galway onwards last Saturday and kicking a fine score. Heard him say that Seamus Coleman contacted him more than once and was very supportive after his horrific double leg break. Speaks volumes for the 'boy from Killybegs' , a great role model for Dun na nGall. He will probably be in Croker on the 14th."
Absolutely - genuine fella is Seamus , huge career he has had and fair play to him but what a loss he could have been to the great Killybegs club and Donegal also - have no doubt he would of shone bright.

We had the waffler on here recently telling us that clubs in SW Donegal don't loose club players to soccer - the nonsense been torn apart the last few weeks.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 03/07/2024 13:34:13    2556730

Thinking of parking out in Whitehall and walking in rather than driving all the way into Drumcondra.
Anyone know of any good/safe parking spots out there? Was thinking of parking at the chapel but not sure if parking is allowed for a few hours there on a Sunday or note, don't want to be clamped!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9299 - 03/07/2024 14:06:01    2556746

Replying To WeGoAgain:  "Ah what I wouldn't give for an original magee tailored jersey. The old ones are the best imho. I gave the 2002 one a run out the last day."
2002 is my go-to one, I've no idea where my Magee one went

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 121 - 03/07/2024 14:16:14    2556748

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Who does everyone think will get an All-star?
Realistically now that we are in the last 4, we should get 1-3 at least.
I think Mogan is a cert, maybe Patton, maybe McCole , Ryan might get it because he has played his best football in a good few years and is a high profile name, Gallen should be getting one too I think, think he's been the best in his position out of the last 4 teams.
Thompson also has been amazing all year (i think this is his best football for us) but I feel like Donegal may get overlooked unless we make a final."
Probably early to be discussing All Stars but I would like to see a deviation from the template that sees All Ireland finalists share 11 or 12 and the other 3 or 4 going to beaten semi finalists. Would be great to see a spread of counties represented. I can think of at least 1 candidate from Derry, Mayo and Dublin and would great if these 3 and the 4 semi finalists were represented. Cant argue with the names you suggested from Donegal. Galways best candidates would be Jon McGrath, Dylan McHugh and John Maher. Based on form to date you would have to say that neither David Clifford nor Shane Walsh merit one , but of course 1 or 2 more top notch performances from either or both will catapult them into the eqaution.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 881 - 03/07/2024 14:20:23    2556750

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Absolutely - genuine fella is Seamus , huge career he has had and fair play to him but what a loss he could have been to the great Killybegs club and Donegal also - have no doubt he would of shone bright.

We had the waffler on here recently telling us that clubs in SW Donegal don't loose club players to soccer - the nonsense been torn apart the last few weeks."
So you read my post what about an explanation. No harm lads like Coleman heading cross channel to make there millions but it had to take bonner to get the best keeper in Ireland to come back to the gaa. What a find he was it takes a good man to recognise that raw talent. You should be thankful for bonner getting him back as should a lot of people. Ha

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2517 - 03/07/2024 15:01:00    2556758

Replying To rorysboys:  "So you read my post what about an explanation. No harm lads like Coleman heading cross channel to make there millions but it had to take bonner to get the best keeper in Ireland to come back to the gaa. What a find he was it takes a good man to recognise that raw talent. You should be thankful for bonner getting him back as should a lot of people. Ha"
Do you not feel guilty going to support a team and players you said on here weren't good enough, couldn't defend etc etc.
I think you'd rather see us lose tbh, warped.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2880 - 03/07/2024 16:20:43    2556774

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Do you not feel guilty going to support a team and players you said on here weren't good enough, couldn't defend etc etc.
I think you'd rather see us lose tbh, warped."
Can imagine him walking around Croker Sunday week looking at fans and deciding who is fair weather and who deserves sainthood like himself. Imagine going to every single game Donegal ever play and not knowing the squad had great potential and were held back until the man he said wouldn't return, returned.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1371 - 03/07/2024 17:58:28    2556790

Replying To anotheralias:  "Probably early to be discussing All Stars but I would like to see a deviation from the template that sees All Ireland finalists share 11 or 12 and the other 3 or 4 going to beaten semi finalists. Would be great to see a spread of counties represented. I can think of at least 1 candidate from Derry, Mayo and Dublin and would great if these 3 and the 4 semi finalists were represented. Cant argue with the names you suggested from Donegal. Galways best candidates would be Jon McGrath, Dylan McHugh and John Maher. Based on form to date you would have to say that neither David Clifford nor Shane Walsh merit one , but of course 1 or 2 more top notch performances from either or both will catapult them into the eqaution."
Re the All Star predictions . I just looked at the Gaelic Games Fan TV predictions which was broadcast after League and before championship, 6 Derry, 5 Dublin , 3 Kerry, 1 Tyrone 0 Donegal, 0 Galway , 0 Armagh. To be fair the predictions didnt seem too bad at the time but look horribly bad now. Even the 3 Kerry players selected are not shoe-ins. David Clifford ( may still get it with strong performances in next 1 or 2 games, Sean O Se ( ditto) , Gavin White ( would have Brian O Begley ahead of him on performances so far this year)

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 881 - 03/07/2024 18:15:44    2556793

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Do you not feel guilty going to support a team and players you said on here weren't good enough, couldn't defend etc etc.
I think you'd rather see us lose tbh, warped."
I support my county I don't wait till we get to croke park to join the party. You were the poster on here criticising carr. Gallagher and bonner when they were manager.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2517 - 03/07/2024 18:40:04    2556796

Where do people think the winning and losing of this game is for us?

I'm thinking we must be absolutely ravenous for primary possession and breaking ball. Have a kick out strategy to deal with Galway's physical approach and big men.

Also, a clear plan for Walsh and Comer. Walsh is so integral for me to their winning the game. Has 6/7 scores in him whereas Comer has a few less typically but so good at winning his ball, holding up the attack and has a goal in him. Dangerous players both of them.

Hope we can continue to find the spread of scores we are finding. Our attaching is relentless under Jim 2.0, always probing, punching holes and getting the shot off. Brilliant accuracy the last day, it'll be tested more Sunday week in terms of pressure on the ball.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1371 - 03/07/2024 19:01:00    2556798

Where do people think the winning and losing of this game is for us?

I'm thinking we must be absolutely ravenous for primary possession and breaking ball. Have a kick out strategy to deal with Galway's physical approach and big men.

Also, a clear plan for Walsh and Comer. Walsh is so integral for me to their winning the game. Has 6/7 scores in him whereas Comer has a few less typically but so good at winning his ball, holding up the attack and has a goal in him. Dangerous players both of them.

Hope we can continue to find the spread of scores we are finding. Our attaching is relentless under Jim 2.0, always probing, punching holes and getting the shot off. Brilliant accuracy the last day, it'll be tested more Sunday week in terms of pressure on the ball.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1371 - 03/07/2024 19:03:21    2556799

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Thinking of parking out in Whitehall and walking in rather than driving all the way into Drumcondra.
Anyone know of any good/safe parking spots out there? Was thinking of parking at the chapel but not sure if parking is allowed for a few hours there on a Sunday or note, don't want to be clamped!"
If you're on the Cusack stand side, Marino College is always a good option. A few side roads and you'll be in Whitehall in no time without walking - up past the Goose Tavern and Grace Park Road.

A handy 20 minute walk from Marino down to the Cusack stand as well.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 880 - 03/07/2024 19:36:46    2556802

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Can imagine him walking around Croker Sunday week looking at fans and deciding who is fair weather and who deserves sainthood like himself. Imagine going to every single game Donegal ever play and not knowing the squad had great potential and were held back until the man he said wouldn't return, returned."
Am I not allowed an opinion as I said before when Sam is in the hills then we'll discuss where we're at. Until then nothing proven.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2517 - 03/07/2024 20:33:43    2556807

Replying To rorysboys:  "Am I not allowed an opinion as I said before when Sam is in the hills then we'll discuss where we're at. Until then nothing proven."
Jim has proven himself to be better than the previous managers even this early into his second coming.

He achieved in 6 months what Bonner couldn't achieve in 4 years - an All Ireland semi final spot.

Enjoy your humble pie.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 880 - 03/07/2024 21:50:47    2556821