Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Greenandgoldie:  "Michael Murphy??"
I don't think Michael has any interest yet in inter county management. I live in hope that he could be tempted back as a player for one more year maybe, but I'd imagine things would need to be running a whole lot better behind the scenes for this to happen. On the other hand, it's likely that he has made his peace with county football retirement and we'll not see him in the green and gold again. I will be watching his club with great interest in the upcoming club championships as I feel they are a dark horse. If Murphy performs like we know he can the clamour for him to make a Donegal comeback could increase.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9541 - 02/08/2023 10:07:26    2498525

Replying To DL4SAM:  "I would imagine odds will be up for the 2024 championship after tomorrow's final. Might be worth a cheeky bet at big odds just in case he does return. No doubt odds would shorten if it happened.

Of course they would still be outsiders to win it but Tyrone done it under new management in 2021 so there is recent precedence."
Boyle Sports has us at 28/1, Paddy Power 50/1. Boyle Sports must think Jim is back.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 722 - 02/08/2023 10:49:51    2498536

When's the interviews on?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1194 - 04/08/2023 14:07:14    2499035

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Boyle Sports has us at 28/1, Paddy Power 50/1. Boyle Sports must think Jim is back."
Didn't Mickey Harte win it in his first year too after them being knocked out by Sligo the year before.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1126 - 04/08/2023 17:54:19    2499073

Replying To gunman:  "Didn't Mickey Harte win it in his first year too after them being knocked out by Sligo the year before."
Joe Kernan won it in 2002 having been appointed in November 2001.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 722 - 05/08/2023 18:54:14    2499169

Any truth in the story that there have been zero applicants for the managers job? None of the '9 expressions of interest' actually want the managers job and they're all just offering to be part of management teams but not looking to be the manager.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 586 - 05/08/2023 20:57:58    2499182

Replying To greenfan:  "Any truth in the story that there have been zero applicants for the managers job? None of the '9 expressions of interest' actually want the managers job and they're all just offering to be part of management teams but not looking to be the manager."
There was never going to be nine applicants interested in the job. So many names being mentioned but most of the people mentioned are not interested.. I think the committee will be targeting certain people in the hope of getting the right man, with Mc Guinness seemingly being the favourite. From talking to gaa people the rumours are strong.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2580 - 06/08/2023 10:38:51    2499211

Good to see a fine free scoring game today. ?

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2580 - 06/08/2023 19:42:29    2499282

Well the league final was more or less shadow boxing before these sides meet in championship.
However it's another trophy for Naomh conaill to add to the history books.
Both sides were missing quite a few starters, and will move on quickly to championship.

As regards the county management position, there is strong rumours that McGuiness is the man they want, along with most supporters.
Will that be enough to persuade McGuiness, one can only hope.
I personally think he should have another go at gaa management, and get us back competing again after a few disappointing years.
The only thing that would stop him I believe is family commitments and the time that is required to get a team in peak condition for championship football.
I don't believe in someone else getting the job and Jim as a consultant, he needs to be fully committed or nothing.
Everyone is talking about mark McHugh, Michael Murphy and Rory kavanagh and the rest, but these lads are unproven in a really big job like the Donegal senior job.
Maybe as someone said, some of them lads maybe first take the minor or u21 job and see how the perform.

I think there should be a petition out there to ask Jim to take it for two more years, I'd imagine most of Donegal would sign it, and along with the lads on the selection committee maybe that would be enough to persuade the great man.
Please let it happen

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 06/08/2023 19:53:27    2499287

Replying To The keeper:  "Well the league final was more or less shadow boxing before these sides meet in championship.
Both sides were missing quite a few starters, and will move on quickly to championship.

As regards the county management position, there is strong rumours that McGuiness is the man they want, along with most supporters.
I personally think he should have another go at gaa management, and get us back competing again after a few disappointing years.
The only thing that would stop him I believe is family commitments and the time that is required to get a team in peak condition for championship football.
I don't believe in someone else getting the job and Jim as a consultant, he needs to be fully committed or nothing.
Everyone is talking about mark McHugh, Michael Murphy and Rory kavanagh and the rest, but these lads are unproven in a really big job like the Donegal senior job.
Maybe as someone said, some of them lads maybe first take the minor or u21 job and see how the perform.

I think there should be a petition out there to ask Jim to take it for two more years, I'd imagine most of Donegal would sign it, and along with the lads on the selection committee maybe that would be enough to persuade the great man.
Please let it happen"
You say it was shadow boxing. Well why did both teams not go out and gave it a lash.. club football at senior level in Donegal is in a bad place. Managers have a lot to answer for.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2580 - 06/08/2023 19:58:06    2499288

Replying To rorysboys:  "Good to see a fine free scoring game today. ?"
Both sides were missing important players. It was never going to be a free flowing football match. It never is between these two teams anyway. Naomh Conaill were always comfortable in the match. Another County Title for the Boys in Blue but it will have no bearing on the Championship in the weeks ahead.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 411 - 06/08/2023 20:48:48    2499298

Hearing very strong word that McGuinness is interested. Hope it's true, the county needs a lift.

Regarding the review and county board/academy it all seems very quiet. I guess the clubs have rolled over.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 118 - 06/08/2023 21:24:49    2499305

Replying To The keeper:  "Well the league final was more or less shadow boxing before these sides meet in championship.

Please let it happen"
Amen to that, I'd imagine if there was such a petition every GAA fan in the county would agree and sign it, it would give us all such a boost to have Jim back in charge again where I believe he belongs.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3066 - 06/08/2023 21:46:08    2499309

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Amen to that, I'd imagine if there was such a petition every GAA fan in the county would agree and sign it, it would give us all such a boost to have Jim back in charge again where I believe he belongs."
Get him roped into a 30yr contract so watertight his lawyer missus can't get him out of.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 135 - 06/08/2023 22:02:20    2499311

Replying To PeterQ92:  "Hearing very strong word that McGuinness is interested. Hope it's true, the county needs a lift.

Regarding the review and county board/academy it all seems very quiet. I guess the clubs have rolled over."
If it comes to fruition now, the posters who launched at the idea of it ever happening will be eating humble pie. I guess when you are glass half-full at all times, 'we don't have the players'… 'nobody wants the job'.. etc, etc then you can't imagine a better future.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1389 - 07/08/2023 09:39:11    2499339

Replying To rorysboys:  "You say it was shadow boxing. Well why did both teams not go out and gave it a lash.. club football at senior level in Donegal is in a bad place. Managers have a lot to answer for."
Both teams did give it a go, however both teams had several top players missing, some in the states, and others were not going to be risked if carrying an injury, especially with championship around the corner.

We all know any trophy Naomh conaill win, you will be talking about terrible football and so on to try and take away from our success.

Hard luck to Eunans yesterday, no doubt yous will be a much tougher proposition come championship with a full lineup.

Try and be positive rorysboys, if McGuiness takes the job, will you be happy because we got the right man for the job, or behind that mask hope Donegal fail because it's a Naomh conaill man leading us.
I think I already know the answer.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 07/08/2023 13:35:14    2499369

I know both teams were missing players yesterday but it's the mindset that would be concerning, just totally negative football that is hard to watch. I'm past years I'd have went to as many championship games as I could, nowadays I wouldn't be bothered as it's such poor stuff.

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 07/08/2023 14:23:46    2499374

Replying To The keeper:  "Both teams did give it a go, however both teams had several top players missing, some in the states, and others were not going to be risked if carrying an injury, especially with championship around the corner.

We all know any trophy Naomh conaill win, you will be talking about terrible football and so on to try and take away from our success.

Hard luck to Eunans yesterday, no doubt yous will be a much tougher proposition come championship with a full lineup.

Try and be positive rorysboys, if McGuiness takes the job, will you be happy because we got the right man for the job, or behind that mask hope Donegal fail because it's a Naomh conaill man leading us.
I think I already know the answer."
Yesterday was a horrible game end of story. Stop trying to sugar coat it any other way. If this is the way teams approach games when there's very little at stake god help us come championship. Let the players play and enjoy their football. You were one of the biggest critics how Donegal played against Derry in the 2022 Ulster final yet it's grand when your own team plays it. Double standards lad. You know more about Mc Guinness than I do. All I'm saying if he takes it hopefully he'll get them playing attacking football..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2580 - 07/08/2023 22:13:13    2499446

Replying To SignTheContract:  "I know both teams were missing players yesterday but it's the mindset that would be concerning, just totally negative football that is hard to watch. I'm past years I'd have went to as many championship games as I could, nowadays I wouldn't be bothered as it's such poor stuff."
St Eunans hit five points in 60 mins. Three came from play. Maybe it's just bad attacking coaching rather than "negative football". Yes they were missing players but some of the shot selection and attacking play in general was extremely poor. N. Con hit a lot of wides but they worked their chances far better. Only league and we might see a different St. Eunans come championship.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1194 - 07/08/2023 22:53:48    2499449

Replying To rorysboys:  "Yesterday was a horrible game end of story. Stop trying to sugar coat it any other way. If this is the way teams approach games when there's very little at stake god help us come championship. Let the players play and enjoy their football. You were one of the biggest critics how Donegal played against Derry in the 2022 Ulster final yet it's grand when your own team plays it. Double standards lad. You know more about Mc Guinness than I do. All I'm saying if he takes it hopefully he'll get them playing attacking football.."
The only issue I had with that Derry game in 2022 was Michael Murphy playing out in midfield and his man scoring 3 points. When we were crying out for a target man in full forward to beat Derry's blanket defense.

The reality is players are coached every where in Donegal that possession is king, and do not lose it or you will be benched.

There is guys coaching now who have never kicked a ball in there life, but because they went and did a coaching course, and learned the possession is king rubbish. Every coach in Donegal is at it now.

I remember the game where players went man V man, and players like Adrian Sweeney, Brendan devenney and Tony Boyle got the ball and the first thing they did was turn and take on there men.

But you do that now and you will be disposeded by getting swarmed by the opposition, that's the reality.

I thought the first half was poor on Sunday, however the second half was better. And with several top players missing from both sides, they will improve come championship.

I think our biggest problem is the gap between the top 4-5 teams and the rest of the teams.

I remember the day when the league was competitive and most sides would give you a game no matter what position you were on the table. That's not the case anymore and I have been to league games where it was a glorified challenge game because the opposition were so poor.

But I am still a glass full person, the last few years we got some great tight championship football. I remember the three games against gweedore in the final, they were enthralling encounters. I only remember one really bad final and that was Naomh conaill v kilcar where kilcar won a horrible game of football, and it was down to both sides. But kilcar will hardly care as they won that day.

I still believe if the right man gets the Donegal Job he will be able to find 25 good players in the county and improve them. And hopefully that man is McGuiness.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 08/08/2023 10:58:28    2499481