Donegal GAA thread

Replying To greenfan:  "I think in winter, when the weather's bad, you get 'supporters' at games and they will always back the team and try to support the lads as long as they are giving 100%, no matter what the result.
In championship you tend to get the 'fans' ..."
Hi greenfan: the prawns are not as prevalent in the deepest darkest depths of winter.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 02/02/2023 13:43:19    2456012

Replying To greenfan:  "I think in winter, when the weather's bad, you get 'supporters' at games and they will always back the team and try to support the lads as long as they are giving 100%, no matter what the result.
In championship you tend to get the 'fans' ..."
Its churlish to throw out comments like this
Many Fans are struggling to afford the basics due to inflation and going to matches isnt cheap
See London have free admission to home League Matches
But Ticket Prices are up 20% for us Patrons, which was a ****** move by Top Brass
Not great value
Just feathering the nest as usual
Now if stadiums were half decent, thats grand
But they are drab, toilets are flithy , poor food options etc
No better than an average club match in Donegal

Entry fees should be based on the facilities and quality of the Stadium

Amazing that the Gaa beat the inflation rate, ordinary fans shafted as always !!

thereporter (Donegal) - Posts: 38 - 02/02/2023 20:10:59    2456090

Replying To Scenicparish:  "The Supporters that go to matches on cold wet days to support the team regardless of how the team is doing, like now when the Management are trying out new players and new systems are true Supporters. The Supporters that only go to matches when the team is going well are not true Supporters. The true Supporters show be rewarded by getting the best Tickets depending on the amount of matches attended."
It isn't as black and white as you and others are making out. When I was in my twenties I rarely missed a Donegal game. I wasn't married and didn't have kids so it was easy for me to decide I'd head away off to Omagh for the day. Usually heading to the game was only the half of it. On a bank holiday weekend like this, God knows where I'd end up after the game. It could be Monday lunchtime before I'd find myself back at the ranch.

People's circumstances are different. It isn't easy for a young family to head away to a cold and wet Ballybofey at the tail end of January. Many people have just gotten over Christmas and are counting down the minutes until payday at the end of the month.

Also - championship is still the bigger draw for supporters no matter how much more competitive/important the Leaague is. Supporters will still go to Championship matches ahead of League games. I do agree though that soem sort of loyalty system should be in place for those supporters who are regulars. From a technical persepctive it wouldn't be hard to achieve given that the GAA are pushing online and cashless sales.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 03/02/2023 08:54:24    2456098

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi greenfan: the prawns are not as prevalent in the deepest darkest depths of winter."
I'm sure most will disagree but I'm no fan of this talk. It goes without saying that if you're going to McKenna cup matches or underage matches then fair play you're a credit to yourself, but we cannot pretend the crowds don't matter. In 2012 say, we had more people rowing in behind the county than ever before. But is that a bad thing? Should we all have been sitting thinking "these lads don't deserve to celebrate, this is MY moment"?

I don't think we'd be the worst county for "prawn sandwich brigade" type behavior. Unless you'd be referring to families that would go to games in the summer but find it hard to justify dragging the weeins to Omagh in January. We should be appealing to as wide a base as possible. I'm sure folks from Inisowen and East Donegal would tell you they've heard their fill of this sort of holier than thou attitude from those in the south of the county over the years

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 03/02/2023 08:58:09    2456099

Replying To papa_pump:  "I'm sure most will disagree but I'm no fan of this talk. It goes without saying that if you're going to McKenna cup matches or underage matches then fair play you're a credit to yourself, but we cannot pretend the crowds don't matter. In 2012 say, we had more people rowing in behind the county than ever before. But is that a bad thing? Should we all have been sitting thinking "these lads don't deserve to celebrate, this is MY moment"?

I don't think we'd be the worst county for "prawn sandwich brigade" type behavior. Unless you'd be referring to families that would go to games in the summer but find it hard to justify dragging the weeins to Omagh in January. We should be appealing to as wide a base as possible. I'm sure folks from Inisowen and East Donegal would tell you they've heard their fill of this sort of holier than thou attitude from those in the south of the county over the years"
Great post and whether intended or not, the holier than thou attitude does come across a bit here. I have a toddler and a baby at home and as much as I would love to get to each game, I have to pick and choose my battles. Does it make me less of a supporter? I don't think so but I'm sure some do think that way. When you start revering yourself as an elite supporter, you can alienate plenty of fans. Donegal could do with every fan we can get, young or old, but people's circumstances aren't always the same and it does impact.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 03/02/2023 13:25:30    2456154

Replying To papa_pump:  "I'm sure most will disagree but I'm no fan of this talk. It goes without saying that if you're going to McKenna cup matches or underage matches then fair play you're a credit to yourself, but we cannot pretend the crowds don't matter. In 2012 say, we had more people rowing in behind the county than ever before. But is that a bad thing? Should we all have been sitting thinking "these lads don't deserve to celebrate, this is MY moment"?

I don't think we'd be the worst county for "prawn sandwich brigade" type behavior. Unless you'd be referring to families that would go to games in the summer but find it hard to justify dragging the weeins to Omagh in January. We should be appealing to as wide a base as possible. I'm sure folks from Inisowen and East Donegal would tell you they've heard their fill of this sort of holier than thou attitude from those in the south of the county over the years"
And this doesn't even mention the good club man / woman who at this time of year are getting back out coaching with adult or youth teams on a Sunday morning which often rules out nay chance of attending league games especially away.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 03/02/2023 13:36:16    2456155

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Great post and whether intended or not, the holier than thou attitude does come across a bit here. I have a toddler and a baby at home and as much as I would love to get to each game, I have to pick and choose my battles. Does it make me less of a supporter? I don't think so but I'm sure some do think that way. When you start revering yourself as an elite supporter, you can alienate plenty of fans. Donegal could do with every fan we can get, young or old, but people's circumstances aren't always the same and it does impact."
Another complication is geographical. No matter where the away game is, it usually entails a right good spin in the car for a lot of supporters...

Anyway. I think we can all agree that we all want to see Donegal doing well. It lifts the spirits and the mood within the county. If that attracts more supporters to go to games than would normally then I do not see that as a bad thing.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 03/02/2023 13:55:57    2456163

If people can't go to games for different reasons fine but the majority of fools on Facebook and social media are the people who don't go to games. Anyway onto Sunday a massive test ahead of us. Good luck to paddy and the lads I'm not as confident as last Sunday but. You can be sure Conor o donnell caolan Mc golgan etc will get plenty attention..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 03/02/2023 15:44:13    2456188

Replying To thereporter:  "Its churlish to throw out comments like this
Many Fans are struggling to afford the basics due to inflation and going to matches isnt cheap
See London have free admission to home League Matches
But Ticket Prices are up 20% for us Patrons, which was a ****** move by Top Brass
Not great value
Just feathering the nest as usual
Now if stadiums were half decent, thats grand
But they are drab, toilets are flithy , poor food options etc
No better than an average club match in Donegal

Entry fees should be based on the facilities and quality of the Stadium

Amazing that the Gaa beat the inflation rate, ordinary fans shafted as always !!"
We have 3 County grounds ,its just crazy.Do Ballybofey properly ,no offence to Ballyshannon but we should not be playing games there.Asking Inishowen supporters to go all the way down there is just crazy.Maybe 1 game to Letterkenny a season,thats it.

Overall though people are too hard on the GAA ,I dont really know why ,we are a small country and to have an organisation doing what the GAA does is amazing.

heyday (Laois) - Posts: 35 - 03/02/2023 16:41:35    2456202

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Another complication is geographical. No matter where the away game is, it usually entails a right good spin in the car for a lot of supporters...

Anyway. I think we can all agree that we all want to see Donegal doing well. It lifts the spirits and the mood within the county. If that attracts more supporters to go to games than would normally then I do not see that as a bad thing."
Absolutely, we all want Donegal to do well. I think one poster on this forum has brought in this septic 'real supporter' rubbish and others are falling into it. Bottom line we wouldn't be posting here if the gaa wasn't part of our dna. Just because some people are disadvantaged regarding attending games for a period of their lives due to circumstances, doesn't take away from the support and money that's gone in down the years following Donegal through very good and very bad days. As you say, the more support the better and everyone should feel welcome to support their county as much as possible without being ridiculed for missing a McKenna cup game or league game here and there. Throw in costs also as you rightly say and it isn't easy for everyone at all junctures.. bit less assumptions and judgements would be good.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 03/02/2023 18:10:15    2456218

Its the same posters every time going on about real supporter's becauce they go to mckenna cup games on a winters evening, it actually makes me laugh.
There is plenty of great gaa men that work for there clubs who cant afford to go to county games, with families to feed and bills to pay. They certainly dont need to explain themselves to keyboard warriors.
I simply very rarely have the time to go to games now, and the management simple did not inspire me to go follow the team the last few years.

But carr's interview after the game on sunday definitely inspired me to be more positive towards the team. It was full of passion and he stated what i have been saying all along. All Donegal people want to see is a fully well organised and committed team to follow.
No one is guaranteed success, but never let a team bully you or never roll over for anyone. Do that and every person in donegal will follow the team no matter if there gaa, soccer or rugby people.
At the end of the day we are all Donegal people

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 03/02/2023 19:15:58    2456227

Replying To Scenicparish:  "The Supporters that go to matches on cold wet days to support the team regardless of how the team is doing, like now when the Management are trying out new players and new systems are true Supporters. The Supporters that only go to matches when the team is going well are not true Supporters. The true Supporters show be rewarded by getting the best Tickets depending on the amount of matches attended."
This is definitely Rorysboys or what ever you call him. I'm a Tyrone man and drop in here once in a while and I can see it!!!!

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 03/02/2023 21:27:33    2456248

Anyone know what the story is with Karl Lacey resigning as head of the Academy? Every report I read was very positive, what great work was being done, that Karl had invested so much of himself getting it off the ground. I was amazed at the statement he released last night, it certainly doesn't make for pleasant reading; mentions the lack of support for the project. I wonder is it all financial, or was there other figures pulling against him.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 04/02/2023 10:49:11    2456294

Replying To The_Fridge:  "This is definitely Rorysboys or what ever you call him. I'm a Tyrone man and drop in here once in a while and I can see it!!!!"
Even a Tyrone man thinking I have numerous accounts. I don't work like that. I call it as it this. I go to games because I gave up a lot of other things for me and my family to go to games. I don't make lazy excuses like the keeper and a few others.. I'll be in omagh tomorrow cheering on paddy and the boys because I want to be there.. I'll not be slobbering around a bar tomorrow night praising the team if they win or looking for paddy carrs head if they lose. Have a nice weekend.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 04/02/2023 11:09:35    2456298

Karl Lacey leaving the academy is a huge loss. This should not happen has to be a reason. Hopefully it'll come out in the open. We can't afford to be losing talented coaches like Karl..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 04/02/2023 11:22:50    2456303

Should be a great match between two quality sides tomorrow. Sure the media had us relegated until last Sunday, and now all of a sudden supposedly Tyrone are relegated now! We'll be wanting to turn a good result into good form and Tyrone don't need any extra motivating when they're coming up against us and vice versa.

A lot of talk over the winter there about a big discontent in the Tyrone camp but the simple fact is they've arguably the best depth in the country even if they don't necessarily have the best 15 on paper. Really looking forward to see how McGroddy and McColgan take to the extra attention this week, and it's great to hear Jamie Grant will be available this week. Perhaps a very basic measure but anyone who can get into that DCU sigerson side is a player with impressive potential, given how many elite sports scholarships they have going around and the general emphasis on sport there.

Tight game in store and can see us losing narrowly, which wouldn't be the end of the world. At this time of year its worth more to see us stick with the more direct kicking style than it is to win by any means necessary/abandon an approach which could stand to us in the long run. Tyrone to win by 2, with us losing the battle while maintaining our chances of winning the war!

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 04/02/2023 11:42:55    2456311

Replying To rorysboys:  "Karl Lacey leaving the academy is a huge loss. This should not happen has to be a reason. Hopefully it'll come out in the open. We can't afford to be losing talented coaches like Karl.."
One person in particular from the county board executive decided he should be calling the shots despite Lacey doing a great job on the ground. He was not able to do his job properly because of interference from the coaching officer who was stalling any plans that were in place. He had to walk as he was unable to go ahead with plans unless they were approved by the chief coaching officer who was kicking his umbrella review down the road which left Lacey with no choice but to stand down.

He has full support from all the coaches who worked under him and the same people who have forced Lacey to step away are the same people who were heavily involved in the selection process of the senior management team and the backroom team. This will all come out before the season is over and I have no doubt there will be a massive reshuffle in Donegal to get the right men involved like Lacey, Murphy, Jim etc.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 04/02/2023 12:35:22    2456328

Replying To rorysboys:  "Even a Tyrone man thinking I have numerous accounts. I don't work like that. I call it as it this. I go to games because I gave up a lot of other things for me and my family to go to games. I don't make lazy excuses like the keeper and a few others.. I'll be in omagh tomorrow cheering on paddy and the boys because I want to be there.. I'll not be slobbering around a bar tomorrow night praising the team if they win or looking for paddy carrs head if they lose. Have a nice weekend."
So you think only people who go to the games can have an opinion. A true dinosaur. Times have changed and fathers have a more active role in parenting means a lot of famies can no longer go to games. Throw in increased cost of living.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 04/02/2023 14:11:30    2456362

Replying To The_Fridge:  "This is definitely Rorysboys or what ever you call him. I'm a Tyrone man and drop in here once in a while and I can see it!!!!"
100% spot on

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/02/2023 15:03:35    2456372

Replying To rorysboys:  "Even a Tyrone man thinking I have numerous accounts. I don't work like that. I call it as it this. I go to games because I gave up a lot of other things for me and my family to go to games. I don't make lazy excuses like the keeper and a few others.. I'll be in omagh tomorrow cheering on paddy and the boys because I want to be there.. I'll not be slobbering around a bar tomorrow night praising the team if they win or looking for paddy carrs head if they lose. Have a nice weekend."
Sure you were threatening not to renew your season ticket a few weeks back - make your mind up

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/02/2023 15:05:01    2456373