Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Tom123:  "Great display by young lads looked like we going score each time we went forward real intent and good intensity in tackle pressured kerry when got into our half. Haven't heard anything regarding oran mc ferry guessing he's also due to return?? Is the talk true regarding mcguinness taking up role with Down? Thought it was strange taking up role with another ulster team."
Mc Guinness rumours have been squashed by Irish news today. He took a session last week with them but that's about it. Mc fadden ferry is out with a c l injury won't play this year, I'm afraid. What's wrong with Ryan Mc Hugh and eoin ban

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 30/01/2023 13:52:47    2455276

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah I get ya, but as you say they were sort of unusual circumstances in the past when he hit them. But if there was a conscious decision taken that he was to be the man hitting them from now on, there's no doubt he has the technique for it. Plenty of practice and a bit of confidence could leave us with a very potent weapon. Opposition teams would fear making tactical fouls anywhere inside in their own half."
Agreed, just look at Beggan and Galligan for Cavan. Think he kicked four from long distance yesterday out of the 12 Cavan scored. No reason why Patton can't do it.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 30/01/2023 13:56:48    2455278

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi CCFabu: Your own club man would need to step up and be counted. No prisoners will be taken in Omagh next Sunday."
Jason has all the talent in the world, injuries hampered him a lot as he was growing into his body but I'd hope this will be the year he cements himself in the midfield

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 30/01/2023 14:32:29    2455289

Replying To rorysboys:  "Another great thing about yesterdays win was the performance of young Mc colgan from muff and o donnell from cardonagh. Two lads who play junior football. Well done lads."
Totally agree, these 2 lads were a credit to themselves and their clubs the way they played so well without fear. Patience is key in the weeks and months ahead.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 30/01/2023 15:00:39    2455296

Replying To totalrecall:  "Whatever the grumblings of discontent that are coming out of the Tyrone camp, I don't think they'll be rolling over to have their tummies tickled by Donegal or anyone else when playing at home in Omagh."
For sure, points in Omagh are always hard to come by. After Tyrone's defeat yesterday they need points next weekend.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 30/01/2023 15:02:55    2455299

Replying To rorysboys:  "Your prediction didn't end up too good."
No it didn't. Kerry didn't turn up, Donegal did. Fair play to them.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 30/01/2023 15:48:30    2455311

Yesterday Was great result and great that we have these young players coming in but my issue with the players is size. We have no players coming through that can run at a man and get through them on sheer power the like of Neill Gallagher/Leo McLoone/Murphy until we can try bulk up some of players or find players like this we won't get far.

Yesterday was brilliant and all but there's still a lot of questions McBearty is not a leader what he done yesterday was was he done against Derry a couple of years ago that doesn't show leadership. He was non existent for that whole game yesterday and we just can't have that from our captain. Hugh McFaddens days are numbered also in my opinion.

There seems to be a real change of the guard approaching very quickly and the dominant force won't be Donegal/Tyrone/Monaghan no more it will be Derry/Armagh/Down.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 481 - 30/01/2023 16:19:15    2455323

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "Yesterday Was great result and great that we have these young players coming in but my issue with the players is size. We have no players coming through that can run at a man and get through them on sheer power the like of Neill Gallagher/Leo McLoone/Murphy until we can try bulk up some of players or find players like this we won't get far.

Yesterday was brilliant and all but there's still a lot of questions McBearty is not a leader what he done yesterday was was he done against Derry a couple of years ago that doesn't show leadership. He was non existent for that whole game yesterday and we just can't have that from our captain. Hugh McFaddens days are numbered also in my opinion.

There seems to be a real change of the guard approaching very quickly and the dominant force won't be Donegal/Tyrone/Monaghan no more it will be Derry/Armagh/Down."
Hard to say anything negative about Paddy. It wasn't like he missed ten shots. Without Murphy inside Paddy now has two of the opposition best man marker's/sweepers on him.. I remember him getting one shot away , the winner. That says enough about the man. Also liked how we showed composure. Ran the clock down and then shot Basketball style. !

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 30/01/2023 16:58:40    2455342

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "Yesterday Was great result and great that we have these young players coming in but my issue with the players is size. We have no players coming through that can run at a man and get through them on sheer power the like of Neill Gallagher/Leo McLoone/Murphy until we can try bulk up some of players or find players like this we won't get far.

There seems to be a real change of the guard approaching very quickly and the dominant force won't be Donegal/Tyrone/Monaghan no more it will be Derry/Armagh/Down."
Have you ever heard of Michael Langan, Eoin Bán Gallagher, Jason McGee or Conor O'Donnell????

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 30/01/2023 17:14:50    2455349

Someone still a tad bitter about that kilcar appeal…..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 30/01/2023 17:35:33    2455355

Great victory and points on the table.
Some nice young footballers on show, and looked fearless.
The main positive was the passionate interview by our manager at the end of the game. Been a while since i seen that passion and pride in Donegal football for several years. If he can transfer that to his players, it can only be positive.
Its only one game, and we need to get back some of our more experienced players, but that mixed with some of the young players that stood up sunday. We are as good as anyone with the right preparation and commitment.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 30/01/2023 17:47:06    2455358

I take your point but I think we have give the manager a chance. I thought Mc Gonagle & Mc Gee done well yesterday for their first match together under the new management. Langan & Thompson have still to come into the team. The League is for trying out new players and it was a great bonus to get a good victory yesterday.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 30/01/2023 17:47:55    2455359

Take a bow Paddy Carr, great performance in terrible conditions. I don't remember the last time I came away from a match as happy. The new players were really outstanding, Mark Curran is the kind of tough tackling corner back we badly needed. Caolan McColgan was brilliant and Johnny McGroddy had a strong outing. Where on earth has Daire O'Baoil been these past few years, surely he was good enough to be getting game time. Our back line looked very good, Stephen McMenamin could be the solution to our centre half back position. Was good to see Jamie Brennan play well, always gives it everything. We find it difficult to create scoring chances for Jamie and Paddy, something we definitely need to work on. As good as Shaun Patton was, I wish he would stay on his line. His kickouts are something else.

When we were 6 points down in the first half I wasn't holding out much hope. I think that performance banishes any talk of players not being happy, the players left everything on that pitch. Congrats to Paddy Carr and his backroom team.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 30/01/2023 17:51:40    2455361

They won't be a dominant force. Down need to get out of Div 3 first and Derry already had the Glen boys back and played a very poor Limerick. Too early to say and Ulster this year will be shadow boxing for any county staying up in Div 1.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 30/01/2023 18:50:48    2455388

Replying To Tom123:  "Great display by young lads looked like we going score each time we went forward real intent and good intensity in tackle pressured kerry when got into our half. Haven't heard anything regarding oran mc ferry guessing he's also due to return?? Is the talk true regarding mcguinness taking up role with Down? Thought it was strange taking up role with another ulster team."
Yes true , from what i hear only the odd session. Big win for yourselves yesterday, and i have to say Paddy Carr spoke with real honesty after the game and seems a likeable sort of fella

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 30/01/2023 19:13:21    2455398

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Hard to say anything negative about Paddy. It wasn't like he missed ten shots. Without Murphy inside Paddy now has two of the opposition best man marker's/sweepers on him.. I remember him getting one shot away , the winner. That says enough about the man. Also liked how we showed composure. Ran the clock down and then shot Basketball style. !"
The great thing about that point is he took the responsibility, he didn't end up in that position by accident. He made sure he got himself in the position to take on the shot, demanded the ball. Great leadership.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 30/01/2023 19:14:22    2455399

Great result and performance. I know Kerry were missing players but there was 5 players who started the AI final who started against Donegal. 4 more who came off the bench in the AI final also started against Donegal, few more unused subs from final also involved. There was still plenty of quality.

Donegal must have been missing 8 or 9 starters from last year as well between Langan, Thompson, Shane and Niall O'Donell, McHugh, Eoin Ban, Mcfadden Ferry, Mogan and Murphy. Even a few more subs who would have been involved like Gallen, P. Brennan, A.Doherty, E.O'Donnell.

Well done to the new management and the newcomers on the team, thought McColgan, O'Donnell and McGroddy were fantastic, Curran had a very good game too. Was also good to see McMennamin at No.6, he was very composed all game and a big presence in there. And although it didn't really work out this time it was even nice to see the manager try something different with Hugh Mcfadden up full forward at times and some long balls put in to him, nice to be able to mix up our play as well. No easy games at all to come and big performances needed in all them.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 225 - 30/01/2023 20:50:16    2455411

I think you're being a wee bit pessimistic there in your outlook. I think we've always been capable of producing good footballers in this county but perhaps the resources, structure and direction wasn't there to fully capitalise on it.
There's no doubt that with the likes of Murphy and McGee gone there are some big shoes to fill. But we still have a good core of players there who should keep us competitive in Ulster and beyond.

Were Armagh and Derry really that far ahead of us last year? Derry just about beat us in an arm wrestle. We beat Armagh comprehensively at home in the Championship. Yes they got their revenge in the qualifier but that was a strange game in my opinion. That period before half time when we imploded gifted them the initiative and in fairness to them they ruthlessly took their opportunity. I wouldn't see either team as world beaters.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 31/01/2023 10:55:50    2455454

Do you think the manager will give different young boys a chance this week.Tobin and Grant are also players that could make the step up.Obviously you wouldn't want too many newcomers at the same but mix and match and get a look at everybody in competitive games.It is a difficult balancing act because it is also very important to stay in the top flight.Div 2 would be a mine field with everybody scrambling to get away from near the bottom of that division and keep in the Sam Maguire.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 31/01/2023 11:28:50    2455465

Left Ballybofey more upbeat than I expected to. Performances of young players heartening, McColgan, Curran, McGroddy, myglynn when on and CODonnell very good. Tactically some changes too more kicking, even when few didn't work we stuck at it. Delighted for Daire OBaill he was good and his kicking to link play surprised me. Marty o Reilly a quiet addition to panel and he did well and bit of experience too helps.Brennan going to be key in linking defence and attack - with those out ball runs. Long range point taking good in poor conditions. Free taker right side may need to be ironed out during league.Midfield we have midfield that can win 50:50s is good so if we can press teams to kick long we can hem them in. Thought defence showed more pressure when Kerry entered our 45 and few more turnovers helped lift crowd. Short kick outs a worry, think we got used to pinging it to Eoin Ban and he had skill set to beat man and go up line in18-19 but teams may look to let us have short and press full back line on way out as we do fine it hard to get out of first wave of a press. McMenamin at 6 was good and he gave presence there.

In first half we carried ball into contact and punished few times. Interesting to see how younger players go v Tyrone, how they take it to next game from high of Sunday. I do expect a bit of inconsistency at some point in league as great can be mixed with off days but think we can now get to six or seven points to ensure survival as we get more back. Next week different test but can go there and have a cut.
Still early days but cautiously hopeful. I would like to see Jamie Grant gets some time as JBW and dunleavy and young Ryan McFadden. Is Aaron Doherty available or injured does anyone know?

DonegalDanny92 (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 31/01/2023 12:27:57    2455494