Donegal GAA thread

Didnt see that result coming, but if Kavanagh is next managerfor Donegal, football in the county will be terrible to watch

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 405 - 15/10/2022 16:03:01    2444067

Watched the last 5 minutes of the Donegal final. Eunans a point down, needed a score! What do they do? Same pedestrian pace, no sense of urgency, couldn't make a decision that was without the programmed game plan of holding ball-making-no mistakes. Didn't get the point! Useless!

Not one bit of individual flair or thinking outside the box. Who'd wanna manage that!

Boring!

Congratulations to Naomi Conaill, btw!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 15/10/2022 16:05:27    2444068

Hard luck today Eunans but least ye were 22 county champions for two weeks....

Now let's put into perspective our future county manager he has literally won one big game in his career and people reckon he's the man? Put a little credit on Martin Regan the best club manager ever in Donegal and don't try say he's not.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 481 - 15/10/2022 16:26:46    2444073

Absolutely shocking sending off decision.

Glenties / Fintown are horrendous to play against - but that aside it's effective at times.

Got to admire them - well done to the blue brigade and enjoy the celebrations.

No complaints the better organised team won.

Looking forward already to next year Battle between the 2 best teams in the county by far who will share the championships between us for the forseeable….

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 15/10/2022 17:01:46    2444079

I said on here a few times over the years and got laughed at but I'll go again.

Conor o Donnell is the best of the brothers - he's a smashing player and one of very few that didn't deserve to be on the loosing side…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 15/10/2022 17:04:22    2444080

They have been the best club team for some time now but again they showed how good a team they are. 6 finals in a row and 3 titles from the last 4 attempts. Fair play and congrats to them.

Were Eunans over confident? That 1st half display was poor from them, bar a goal from when NC had a lapse in concentration they could and probably should have been down by a few points and that was even with the strong wind advantage.

Hopefully they go on a give Ulster a good rattle now.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 225 - 15/10/2022 17:32:38    2444087

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Absolutely shocking sending off decision.

Glenties / Fintown are horrendous to play against - but that aside it's effective at times.

Looking forward already to next year Battle between the 2 best teams in the county by far who will share the championships between us for the forseeable…."
Terrible game. Well done n Conal. Gaa football is dead in Donegal. Would never pay 20 euro to watch that c**p again. There were 3 min injury time and st eunans still persisted on kicking the ball backwards.. .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 15/10/2022 17:34:27    2444088

What a team of Men that N. Chonaill is. You can have all the talent in the world but it comes down to bottle just as much

THE EXTRAMAN (Donegal) - Posts: 548 - 15/10/2022 17:34:37    2444089

Where are all the experts now who said Glenties no chance the cups 2 going through Fintown now thats a treble senior B and C champions

highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 99 - 15/10/2022 18:01:05    2444097

Replying To THE EXTRAMAN:  "What a team of Men that N. Chonaill is. You can have all the talent in the world but it comes down to bottle just as much"
MEN? Seriously? They were the better granted and good luck to them but to call them Men is going a bit far in my book! Lying down with minimal contact on many occasion's and the sending off was quite embarrassing jumping to the ground after a hand on the shoulder.
Only one way to cut this crap is to ban them on video evidence its a total disgrace and no different to Soccer...

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 15/10/2022 18:01:08    2444098

Replying To eunans4ever:  "First blood to the blue brigade.

It will be tears from here on in..

Black and Amber Abu…."
how did that work out

highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 99 - 15/10/2022 18:02:51    2444099

Replying To rorysboys:  "Terrible game. Well done n Conal. Gaa football is dead in Donegal. Would never pay 20 euro to watch that c**p again. There were 3 min injury time and st eunans still persisted on kicking the ball backwards.. ."
Mr diehard supporter himself saying he wouldn't pay 20 euro in to watch his own countys final. And yet you preach enough to others about what a great supporter you are, lol.

This game came down to one thing, and that was who wanted it most and bottle.
Naomh conail stood up and put there bodys on the line. What a team.
Brendan mcdyer scored 3 beautiful points, this man played in the 2005 final along with thomson, leo, brick and wade.
K Thomson stood up when most needed by not only scoring but fielding the ball in his own full backline.
The dohertys worked like there life depended on it.

But you could name 1 to 15, they all did the club proud.
Never write off this great club.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 15/10/2022 18:14:12    2444103

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Absolutely shocking sending off decision.

Looking forward already to next year Battle between the 2 best teams in the county by far who will share the championships between us for the forseeable…."
Letterkenny/Rest of Ireland were fairly horrendous to play against too. We outplayed them, bossed them and turned them over. Now I'm away on a 2 day bender.

tidytownman (Donegal) - Posts: 295 - 15/10/2022 18:16:33    2444104

Replying To rorysboys:  "Terrible game. Well done n Conal. Gaa football is dead in Donegal. Would never pay 20 euro to watch that c**p again. There were 3 min injury time and st eunans still persisted on kicking the ball backwards.. ."
IF you watch soccer and rugby GAA is still better

highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 99 - 15/10/2022 18:16:37    2444105

I agree with you for once, I don't know what's wrong with lads, a point down with time nearly up and they still won't go for it, terrible game to watch,
play it slowly through the hands up the wing then play it back out to their own 45 again only to start the
laborious build up again and again,
conditions were bad I know and the sending of was harsh I thought, but still it's such brutal stuff to watch, rescued a bit only by a few class players like Ciaran Thompson.
Well done to NC anyway they were written off which I suppose in hindsight was just fuel to the fire in NC bellies, enjoy the victory NC and the best of luck in Ulster.
as for Donegal county football I don't know where we are headed, if Kavanagh comes in now and sets us up to play like he did with Eunans today they won't be selling many tickets.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 15/10/2022 18:29:25    2444107

Replying To letterkennyGuy:  "MEN? Seriously? They were the better granted and good luck to them but to call them Men is going a bit far in my book! Lying down with minimal contact on many occasion's and the sending off was quite embarrassing jumping to the ground after a hand on the shoulder.
Only one way to cut this crap is to ban them on video evidence its a total disgrace and no different to Soccer..."
Dry your eyes lad. When it was required, naomh conail stood up and handled the pressure.
Eunans had the ball the last 3 minutes, but not one player had the bottle to have a go.
Whereas men like mcdyer, Thomson and others showed what it takes to win.
6 county titles for some of them players, so yes there men, very proud naomh conail men.

Champions

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 15/10/2022 18:48:21    2444114

Replying To The keeper:  "Mr diehard supporter himself saying he wouldn't pay 20 euro in to watch his own countys final. And yet you preach enough to others about what a great supporter you are, lol.

This game came down to one thing, and that was who wanted it most and bottle.
Naomh conail stood up and put there bodys on the line. What a team.
Brendan mcdyer scored 3 beautiful points, this man played in the 2005 final along with thomson, leo, brick and wade.
K Thomson stood up when most needed by not only scoring but fielding the ball in his own full backline.
The dohertys worked like there life depended on it.

But you could name 1 to 15, they all did the club proud.
Never write off this great club."
You done plenty giving out after the Ulster final about how we played, today was a worse spectacle yet no word of it. Most boring game I ever watched.. double standards lad .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 15/10/2022 18:58:09    2444116

Donegal football is a laughing stock all over the country with the way these teams are setting up and playing. Players are like robots, just sticking to what they are told to do.. the system or the gameplan. No flair, no adventure. Unfortunately we're probably in for more of the same from the county team in the next few years.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 15/10/2022 18:58:33    2444117

Replying To rorysboys:  "You done plenty giving out after the Ulster final about how we played, today was a worse spectacle yet no word of it. Most boring game I ever watched.. double standards lad ."
To compare that to the joke of an ulster final says how much you know about football.
Naomh conail showed guts, bottle, determination and pride in the jersey. And are also a well drilled and managed team.
Anyway time to celebrate with the champions, with born winners like the thomsons, leo, brick and the rest.
2022 county champions Naomh conail

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 15/10/2022 19:34:59    2444119

Replying To THE EXTRAMAN:  "What a team of Men that N. Chonaill is. You can have all the talent in the world but it comes down to bottle just as much"
That is one silly post.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 15/10/2022 19:55:21    2444124