Donegal GAA thread

Replying To donegaldouble:  "I heard its a Lacey and Kavanagh ticket."
I hope not

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 13/09/2022 12:01:05    2440511

Devenney said that some of the people mentioned were still involved in the club championship.Make of that what you will.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 13/09/2022 13:13:39    2440519

Replying To totalrecall:  "Genius stuff from the buncrana mgt at the weekend.....pure genius!"
Don't think it was anything tactical from management. Apparently they had an issue with the Ccc over not receiving a video of a previous game.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 13/09/2022 16:12:49    2440562

Replying To greenfan:  "Don't think it was anything tactical from management. Apparently they had an issue with the Ccc over not receiving a video of a previous game."
A very mature response by them so...

They were beat out the gate by a superior team. It was more than a video they needed.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 13/09/2022 16:28:19    2440566

Replying To peiledoir20:  "A very mature response by them so...

They were beat out the gate by a superior team. It was more than a video they needed."
Definitely, beaten by a far better team. And from what I read online, it could cost them €1100 in fines. Great way to spend the money raised by the club volunteers.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 13/09/2022 16:50:09    2440570

Replying To rorysboys:  "Go back on my post I never said o rourke would get the job. I said that he was the best option of the 3. . Mc Hugh wasn't nominated but from what I'm told he's getting it. Are my posts too difficult for you to read.."
The main theme of my post was that you sneer at everyone else.

But sure you take from it what you want.

If you treat people with a little bit of respect, you might get away with a bit more of your bluffing.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 13/09/2022 22:03:46    2440594

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "The main theme of my post was that you sneer at everyone else.

But sure you take from it what you want.

If you treat people with a little bit of respect, you might get away with a bit more of your bluffing."
I'm no bluffer lad. Hearing now there's a bit of a problem with managerial appointment . Can't divulge anymore I'm told to say nothing. Yous chased bonner who was a real Donegal gaa man . I love the silence from a few of the warriors on here. Lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 14/09/2022 07:58:44    2440596

Replying To rorysboys:  "I'm no bluffer lad. Hearing now there's a bit of a problem with managerial appointment . Can't divulge anymore I'm told to say nothing. Yous chased bonner who was a real Donegal gaa man . I love the silence from a few of the warriors on here. Lol"
Told to say nothing, that'll test ya!

I didn't chase Bonner. I was very much pro Bonner, right till the Ulster Final and Qualifier no shows this year. Unfortunately, he (or everyone in the camp) ran out of ideas. A fresh voice is required. I believe we have the talent to succeed.

A bit like yourself Rory, there'll be no radio silence from me, it's not an ability I possess.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 14/09/2022 11:57:17    2440630

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Told to say nothing, that'll test ya!

I didn't chase Bonner. I was very much pro Bonner, right till the Ulster Final and Qualifier no shows this year. Unfortunately, he (or everyone in the camp) ran out of ideas. A fresh voice is required. I believe we have the talent to succeed.

A bit like yourself Rory, there'll be no radio silence from me, it's not an ability I possess."
No harm in believing lad. We would all love to see Donegal back in an all Ireland but ain't going to happen for the foreseeable future.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 14/09/2022 20:18:59    2440704

https://donegalnews.com/2022/09/donegal-at-an-advanced-stage-in-boss-hunt/

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 15/09/2022 08:17:46    2440711

Replying To gunman:  "Devenney said that some of the people mentioned were still involved in the club championship.Make of that what you will."
Noticed in the donegal news it says they are still involved in club championship 'in the province' . So not necessarily the Donegal club championship....

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 15/09/2022 09:50:07    2440725

One thing is abundantly clear is that if you've any notion of being successful then serious financial backing is required. Did any of you see the list of Mayo's background team? You can be sure the likes of Kerry and Dublin have similar set-ups.
It isn't always just getting the right man in the hot seat - the background team is as, if not more important.

I've been as guilty as anyone of wanting more transparency and clarity around the new manager announcment. But if the county board take another few weeks to get the best possible management team in place within their scope then it'll hopefully be worth it.

The worst thing would have been to appoint a new manager on a knee jerk reaction to Bonner's resignation.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 15/09/2022 12:28:15    2440748

Anyone know who the 2 outstanding candidates are lads ?

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 15/09/2022 13:56:03    2440763

No doubt we haven't the level of financial backing that the likes of the Dublin Kerry etc have but we have talent, for all the backing Mayo have had they were still a few good forwards short of winning an All Ireland,money can't do everything.
Hoping after all this time that we get good management in place and try a fresh approach for next year,
I'd say we have regressed a lot from say 2018-19, the wheels were coming off the cart a bit since that disaster of an Ulster final in 2020, this year's performance in the same fixture put the tin hat on it for me.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 15/09/2022 14:47:31    2440778

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "No doubt we haven't the level of financial backing that the likes of the Dublin Kerry etc have but we have talent, for all the backing Mayo have had they were still a few good forwards short of winning an All Ireland,money can't do everything.
Hoping after all this time that we get good management in place and try a fresh approach for next year,
I'd say we have regressed a lot from say 2018-19, the wheels were coming off the cart a bit since that disaster of an Ulster final in 2020, this year's performance in the same fixture put the tin hat on it for me."
Yeah and the worrying thing for me is that we seem to just have what we have. Are there any real live contenders from the various club championships who could stake a serious claim to be involved in Championship next summer? I've seen a few promising performances but noone really who you'd think, "yeah, this lad can make an immediate impact at county level"

And I know county level is a big step up, and players need time to adapt to it. But you'd still like to see us unearth a few gems as well.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 15/09/2022 16:14:24    2440795

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah and the worrying thing for me is that we seem to just have what we have. Are there any real live contenders from the various club championships who could stake a serious claim to be involved in Championship next summer? I've seen a few promising performances but noone really who you'd think, "yeah, this lad can make an immediate impact at county level"

And I know county level is a big step up, and players need time to adapt to it. But you'd still like to see us unearth a few gems as well."
The days of a player lighting up the club championship and going straight into the county team the following Spring are nearly over. Firstly, they most likely wouldn't have the conditioning of the current county players and may take 2 even 3 years to get to that level. Secondly, the county set up is a lot more structured now with academy squads feeding directly into development squads and up into the senior squad.

The acceleration of elitism in the GAA in the past few years is frightening and it is clear to see that it's to the detriment of the club game with these expectant commitments levels being filtered down. The craic and enjoyment has certainly gone out of it and we are losing palyers at a rate of noughts to other sports and activities. The amount of senior clubs being unable to field a second team this year is a scary reflection of that.

The question is where will it end??

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 15/09/2022 17:41:18    2440811

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Anyone know who the 2 outstanding candidates are lads ?"
Word is possible joint managers lacey and Kavanagh

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 15/09/2022 20:11:21    2440826

Replying To peiledoir20:  "The days of a player lighting up the club championship and going straight into the county team the following Spring are nearly over. Firstly, they most likely wouldn't have the conditioning of the current county players and may take 2 even 3 years to get to that level. Secondly, the county set up is a lot more structured now with academy squads feeding directly into development squads and up into the senior squad.

The acceleration of elitism in the GAA in the past few years is frightening and it is clear to see that it's to the detriment of the club game with these expectant commitments levels being filtered down. The craic and enjoyment has certainly gone out of it and we are losing palyers at a rate of noughts to other sports and activities. The amount of senior clubs being unable to field a second team this year is a scary reflection of that.

The question is where will it end??"
Yeah that's a good point actually re: the development squads. On the one hand you have the best underage players getting the best of everything in terms of coaching, S&C, nutrition etc. But what about the late developer? What about letting our teenagers just be teenagers & enjoy their football with their mates? There'll be time enough for systems, tactics and all the rest. But then again, if the other "big" counties are at it, we don't want to be left behind either so...

I also think like you, there's a sense of this elitist attitude at most clubs now and it's not for everyone. A lot of the craic has gone out of it for many. For the vast majority of GAA players it's supposed to be a hobby, but it has definitely gone beyond that in the last decade or so. Don't get me wrong, back in my days of playing ya were fit and ya took games and training seriously. But there definitely wasn't the same emphasis on gym, nutrition and that. Here, look it could be argued that young lads nowadays look after themselves more than we did and it's a healthier lifestyle. It's an Instagram/Love Island era where looking in great shape all year round is par for the course.

Are there any current players posting here? As in players that have competed or are competing in this year's club championship? I'd be interested in your opinion. I could just be an aul git talking sh*te with the above....

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 16/09/2022 09:00:10    2440843

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah that's a good point actually re: the development squads. On the one hand you have the best underage players getting the best of everything in terms of coaching, S&C, nutrition etc. But what about the late developer? What about letting our teenagers just be teenagers & enjoy their football with their mates? There'll be time enough for systems, tactics and all the rest. But then again, if the other "big" counties are at it, we don't want to be left behind either so...

I also think like you, there's a sense of this elitist attitude at most clubs now and it's not for everyone. A lot of the craic has gone out of it for many. For the vast majority of GAA players it's supposed to be a hobby, but it has definitely gone beyond that in the last decade or so. Don't get me wrong, back in my days of playing ya were fit and ya took games and training seriously. But there definitely wasn't the same emphasis on gym, nutrition and that. Here, look it could be argued that young lads nowadays look after themselves more than we did and it's a healthier lifestyle. It's an Instagram/Love Island era where looking in great shape all year round is par for the course.

Are there any current players posting here? As in players that have competed or are competing in this year's club championship? I'd be interested in your opinion. I could just be an aul git talking sh*te with the above...."
I am still playing myself so have first hand experience of it myself from a club point of view. As you said it used to be a hobby but it's more of a chore now. I read an article yesterday about Glen players meeting halfway between Dublin and Glen to train during the week. You'd think fair enough that they want to maximise their training and have as many players there as possible, but on the other hand they are an INTERMEDIATE club. I'd hazard a guess that it's about 2 - 2.5 hours from Glen to Cavan meaning a return journey is 5 hours. Getting into bed about midnight. And I am the furthest thing from a sports scientist you could meet but I would imagine sitting in a car for 2.5 hours after training isn't great for the body either. And I realise Glen aren't the only club doing this, but my point is only one of those teams can win a championship every year. And it's then that the players say "That's enough I'm walking away".

Interestingly, I heard only last week from a colleague that a senior/intermediate club in the south of the county pulled their reserve team from the championship because they had players that didn't want to play senior due to the commitment. They weren't even afford the chance to represent the club at a lower level. Have lost a spate of younger players as a result. Is that where we're headed? Be elite or p**s off.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 16/09/2022 09:31:54    2440851

Replying To totalrecall:  "Word is possible joint managers lacey and Kavanagh"
Absolutely no Chance that will happen …

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 16/09/2022 09:34:13    2440852