Donegal GAA thread

Regarding the management situation and making an appointment it was always going to be very challenging given the chairman situation with potentially a new one in the new year. While there was no way Bonner could stay on after the second half against Armagh finding a replacement was never going to be straight forward. Would potential candidates have an issue with the potential new chairman? I believe they might if the name circulating does get that role over issues regarding getting expenses in the past. It really is a depressing situation given the uninspiring couple of names circulating at the moment with O'Rourke probably the better option given he might be better attuned to managing a couple of our more senior players who seem to call their own shots. I'm not sure SPB would command the same respect but good luck to him if he gets the opportunity. Neither would inspire in terms of their favoured style of play. The nonsense that is the ongoing secrecy doesn't inspire confidence in terms of a full review of the systematic failings within the various inter county set ups as well as LYIT.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 29/08/2022 14:39:04    2439036

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi jacktheboy: He didn't inspire much confidence yesterday the way he had Sean Mac Cumhaills prepared down in Gweedore."
Was expecting more from MacCumhaills. They gave Gaoth Dobhair a far better test 2 years ago. One the goal went in before half time yesterday it was curtains.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 29/08/2022 14:55:12    2439044

Replying To panamasam:  "Regarding the management situation and making an appointment it was always going to be very challenging given the chairman situation with potentially a new one in the new year. While there was no way Bonner could stay on after the second half against Armagh finding a replacement was never going to be straight forward. Would potential candidates have an issue with the potential new chairman? I believe they might if the name circulating does get that role over issues regarding getting expenses in the past. It really is a depressing situation given the uninspiring couple of names circulating at the moment with O'Rourke probably the better option given he might be better attuned to managing a couple of our more senior players who seem to call their own shots. I'm not sure SPB would command the same respect but good luck to him if he gets the opportunity. Neither would inspire in terms of their favoured style of play. The nonsense that is the ongoing secrecy doesn't inspire confidence in terms of a full review of the systematic failings within the various inter county set ups as well as LYIT."
I agree, this was never going to be an easy appointment, well unless Jim was to step forward. It could be seen as a somewhat stale environment.

In relation to your next point, I'd say the problem at present isn't with the potential incoming chairman, but with the present Chairman we have in place.

Like a lot of people, I wouldn't be blown away by the O'Rourke appointment, but he is definitely a solid choice, and you can't argue with his achievements in the various jobs he has had. Unfortunately for SPB, his CV doesn't stand up to that level of scrutiny.

And unlike the Mayo scenario, again we have no idea of the backroom teams each would bring along with them. Again, I would suspect that O'Rourke would have the access to a greater pool of talent.

All said, it would not overly surprise me if a dark horse was to emerge at the end of the process.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 29/08/2022 15:47:38    2439055

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "I agree, this was never going to be an easy appointment, well unless Jim was to step forward. It could be seen as a somewhat stale environment.

In relation to your next point, I'd say the problem at present isn't with the potential incoming chairman, but with the present Chairman we have in place.

Like a lot of people, I wouldn't be blown away by the O'Rourke appointment, but he is definitely a solid choice, and you can't argue with his achievements in the various jobs he has had. Unfortunately for SPB, his CV doesn't stand up to that level of scrutiny.

And unlike the Mayo scenario, again we have no idea of the backroom teams each would bring along with them. Again, I would suspect that O'Rourke would have the access to a greater pool of talent.

All said, it would not overly surprise me if a dark horse was to emerge at the end of the process."
Hearing o rourke not interested. I think he was nominated by a club. Totally wrong I must add, he should have been contacted to see if he was interested. But in saying this maybe I'm hearing wrong.. Mc Hugh is the favourite at this stage.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 29/08/2022 16:15:13    2439061

Replying To panamasam:  "Regarding the management situation and making an appointment it was always going to be very challenging given the chairman situation with potentially a new one in the new year. While there was no way Bonner could stay on after the second half against Armagh finding a replacement was never going to be straight forward. Would potential candidates have an issue with the potential new chairman? I believe they might if the name circulating does get that role over issues regarding getting expenses in the past. It really is a depressing situation given the uninspiring couple of names circulating at the moment with O'Rourke probably the better option given he might be better attuned to managing a couple of our more senior players who seem to call their own shots. I'm not sure SPB would command the same respect but good luck to him if he gets the opportunity. Neither would inspire in terms of their favoured style of play. The nonsense that is the ongoing secrecy doesn't inspire confidence in terms of a full review of the systematic failings within the various inter county set ups as well as LYIT."
Just a question on this ongoing secrecy that most posters seem to be annoyed about. I wonder what do people really expect‽ Facebook live of each interview for people to view or some kind of zoom interview for anyone to attend and ask a question of the candidates.
The County board can't go round broadcasting who has applied for the role and there has to some form of due process to follow. No job interview process works like that. On the face of it I'm not quite sure why they couldn't let the interview committee be known but it's hardly that big a deal and maybe there's a legitimate reason here too.

Also you regularly mention lyit. Maybe they didn't play open football but they were hardly alone in that. Sure look at nuig that won it this year. They weren't playing flamboyant football either. Do you not want the effort lyit are putting in not to happen‽ And sure forget about the young players who aren't able to leave the county for college.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 29/08/2022 17:47:48    2439084

Replying To rorysboys:  "Hearing o rourke not interested. I think he was nominated by a club. Totally wrong I must add, he should have been contacted to see if he was interested. But in saying this maybe I'm hearing wrong.. Mc Hugh is the favourite at this stage."
You don't get nominated by a club unless that individual is first interested

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 29/08/2022 18:15:27    2439088

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "You don't get nominated by a club unless that individual is first interested"
Are you sure about this.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 29/08/2022 21:21:13    2439100

Have there been any players that have stood out in this year's Championship who could be in the reckoning for a county call up?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 31/08/2022 09:22:30    2439216

Malachy O'Rourke has ruled himself out of the running according to the Donegal News.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 469 - 01/09/2022 09:06:50    2439271

I see that Malachy O'Rourke has ruled himself out of the management race. https://donegalnews.com/2022/09/major-donegal-managerial-development/

obreaslainp (Donegal) - Posts: 8 - 01/09/2022 09:08:03    2439272

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Have there been any players that have stood out in this year's Championship who could be in the reckoning for a county call up?"
Ethan Harkin and Ryan McShane two young lads I think playing well, mightn't be far away from it.

DonegalDanny92 (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 01/09/2022 09:59:10    2439275

Replying To greenfan:  "Malachy O'Rourke has ruled himself out of the running according to the Donegal News."
You would think there would be queuing up to manage this talented squad. Do they know something we don't. ?

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 01/09/2022 10:55:29    2439282

Not to many people interested the keyboard warriors and the various expert scribes and radio experts would put anybody off.Add in a County Board that doesnt communicate very well lies the answer imo.

neutral (None) - Posts: 358 - 01/09/2022 11:22:22    2439288

Disciplinary issues back in the paper today with an incident with a referee at the weekend.

Sad to see.

If there are some many 'experts' on the rules out there how are we struggling to get refs???

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 01/09/2022 11:33:44    2439290

Replying To DonegalDanny92:  "Ethan Harkin and Ryan McShane two young lads I think playing well, mightn't be far away from it."
I see they both named democrat senior championship team of the week. As was Donal Mac Ghiolla Bhríde who was in the under 20s this year. The gweedore manager certainly won't be playing him as sweeper anyway. Johnny mcgroddy seems to have scoring pretty heavily the whole year for downings. Brian O'Donnell also for kilcar perhaps. Killian Faulkner was also mentioned by the democrat as being very good. Eoin Mcgeehin for eunans is a great man for a goal and seems to be scoring well in general. It's hard though to draw to many conclusions from club. Intercounty is a different ball game.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 01/09/2022 12:07:02    2439297

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "I see they both named democrat senior championship team of the week. As was Donal Mac Ghiolla Bhríde who was in the under 20s this year. The gweedore manager certainly won't be playing him as sweeper anyway. Johnny mcgroddy seems to have scoring pretty heavily the whole year for downings. Brian O'Donnell also for kilcar perhaps. Killian Faulkner was also mentioned by the democrat as being very good. Eoin Mcgeehin for eunans is a great man for a goal and seems to be scoring well in general. It's hard though to draw to many conclusions from club. Intercounty is a different ball game."
Yeah the step up is huge. There are physical exceptions of course but I'd say most young players nearly need a year or two in the squad getting physically stronger and used to the greater intensity. One thing that I'd love to see in 2023 is Oisin Gallen getting a good injury free campaign. He is a great talent and it'd be interesting to see how well he'd go given a bit of better luck with injuries.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 01/09/2022 13:47:10    2439311

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah the step up is huge. There are physical exceptions of course but I'd say most young players nearly need a year or two in the squad getting physically stronger and used to the greater intensity. One thing that I'd love to see in 2023 is Oisin Gallen getting a good injury free campaign. He is a great talent and it'd be interesting to see how well he'd go given a bit of better luck with injuries."
Agree on players needing the few years development. Even taking donegal out of the equation there were very few players under 21 making an impact this year on the national game. Shane o'donnell was as good as any this year in that category.
It would be great to see oisin gallen being injury free. He seems to be finally even getting a run of games at club and even in defeat brendan devenney highlighted him against gweedore. Though unfortunately it looks like this weekend will be the end of the road. No quarter finals or relegation playoffs for mccumhaills.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 01/09/2022 15:16:18    2439323

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Disciplinary issues back in the paper today with an incident with a referee at the weekend.

Sad to see.

If there are some many 'experts' on the rules out there how are we struggling to get refs???"
I spoke with a number of people who were at this game - both players and spectators with ties to both clubs involved. Everyone I spoke with stated that what has been reported in the press in no way reflects what happened. Everyone stated that there was a verbal exchange between referee and player, but nothing beyond that.

hashtag (Donegal) - Posts: 37 - 01/09/2022 15:21:31    2439324

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Agree on players needing the few years development. Even taking donegal out of the equation there were very few players under 21 making an impact this year on the national game. Shane o'donnell was as good as any this year in that category.
It would be great to see oisin gallen being injury free. He seems to be finally even getting a run of games at club and even in defeat brendan devenney highlighted him against gweedore. Though unfortunately it looks like this weekend will be the end of the road. No quarter finals or relegation playoffs for mccumhaills."
Yeah I was at the game and Gallen was pretty much a one-man-band for most of it. A super footballer. He showed glimpses of his quality very early in his senior county career. It would be fantastic to see the kind of impact he'd have now when injury free and a lot more physically stronger.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 01/09/2022 15:44:42    2439332

Replying To hashtag:  "I spoke with a number of people who were at this game - both players and spectators with ties to both clubs involved. Everyone I spoke with stated that what has been reported in the press in no way reflects what happened. Everyone stated that there was a verbal exchange between referee and player, but nothing beyond that."
If it was the case it wasn't physical it still doesn't make it acceptable. It's the reason it makes it hard to get people to officiate games when the abuse directed towards them is verbal or otherwise.

Not sure why the home team are even in this championship anyway as it is for 3rd teams. McCumhaills must be strong as they dished out a hiding in the end up.

Where they blaming the referee for that??

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 01/09/2022 16:43:23    2439337