Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Just a question on this ongoing secrecy that most posters seem to be annoyed about. I wonder what do people really expect‽ Facebook live of each interview for people to view or some kind of zoom interview for anyone to attend and ask a question of the candidates.
The County board can't go round broadcasting who has applied for the role and there has to some form of due process to follow. No job interview process works like that. On the face of it I'm not quite sure why they couldn't let the interview committee be known but it's hardly that big a deal and maybe there's a legitimate reason here too.

Also you regularly mention lyit. Maybe they didn't play open football but they were hardly alone in that. Sure look at nuig that won it this year. They weren't playing flamboyant football either. Do you not want the effort lyit are putting in not to happen‽ And sure forget about the young players who aren't able to leave the county for college."
My point in relation to LYIT was nothing to do with a want of flamboyant football more how they also play an over systematic style of play that involves alot of over and back going nowhere brand that weighs heavily on hand passing and strike runners that is woefully predictable. Much like the seniors, under twenties and the minors. NUIG may not have played flamboyant football but they certainly generally went forward most of the time using hand and foot.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 03/09/2022 10:41:59    2439510

Replying To panamasam:  "My point in relation to LYIT was nothing to do with a want of flamboyant football more how they also play an over systematic style of play that involves alot of over and back going nowhere brand that weighs heavily on hand passing and strike runners that is woefully predictable. Much like the seniors, under twenties and the minors. NUIG may not have played flamboyant football but they certainly generally went forward most of the time using hand and foot."
They didn't play systematic game like that against ul under the Dome. Overall maybe they could be a bit more adventurous but there is an element of cutting the cloth.

I also think it is quite unfair that people harp on about the seniors style of play. There was a clear change in how they played in 18 and 19 with it being very attacking. 20 and 21 were very tough because of covid with 20 being played in the winter. That year they still put on a great performance against Armagh.
Last year in the league they scored big and conceded big hammed down, played a fine game against Rory ball Derry and were plenty creditable against Tyrone.

This year it did start to get stale and the Ulster final was a hard watch. And although they lost heavily to Armagh the first 25 mins (except the crucial first goal) was good very good football. Under Bonner you might liked to have achieved more but overall style of play was decent.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 693 - 03/09/2022 16:09:58    2439547

After hearing from a very credible source that Martin McHugh will be the next Donegal manager. That is all...

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 03/09/2022 18:07:51    2439565

I can't believe we don't have a manager. Where have all the experts on this forum gone. Sick listening about Mc Guinness o rourke Rory kav Jim gavin etc. did people think these people would be interested. If Barrett only man in give it to him at least he went for the job.. Ulster is the bar because we won't do nothing in the all Ireland series.. the keyboard warriors are very quiet nobody to run down now. At least bonner was a true Donegal man , managed from underage up and win a lot of trophies.. people like that don't come about too often.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 03/09/2022 18:12:51    2439566

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "After hearing from a very credible source that Martin McHugh will be the next Donegal manager. That is all..."
Told you that two weeks ago.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 03/09/2022 20:20:14    2439585

If mchugh is interested, then i would give him the job. He is high profile and i am sure he would bring in a lot of good backroom staff with his profile.
I definitely would have more faith in mchugh that our previous management.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 03/09/2022 20:59:06    2439587

Replying To rorysboys:  "Told you that two weeks ago."
Well I believe that Jacktheboy, RoryGall and DonegalD all mentioned McHugh as being the favourite prior to your post. And to DonegalD's post you sarcastically asked him if had he inside knowledge, and went on to say that O'Rourke would get the job. (17/8/22). You then barbed at another poster who said that McHugh had a wonderful football brain. So which is it lad? For the record, are you in favour or against McHugh?

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 03/09/2022 21:59:25    2439590

Replying To rorysboys:  "I can't believe we don't have a manager. Where have all the experts on this forum gone. Sick listening about Mc Guinness o rourke Rory kav Jim gavin etc. did people think these people would be interested. If Barrett only man in give it to him at least he went for the job.. Ulster is the bar because we won't do nothing in the all Ireland series.. the keyboard warriors are very quiet nobody to run down now. At least bonner was a true Donegal man , managed from underage up and win a lot of trophies.. people like that don't come about too often."
For a man who thinks he knows everything, you've a cheek calling other people 'experts' in sarcastic fashion. Maybe the reason this forum has gone quiet is due to the secretive process around an appointment which is slow and surrounded with speculation and little more. The information vacuum leaves little to discuss in relation to any appointment.. ever the glass half-empty person, you seem delighted that a high profile appointment doesn't seem imminent. Sad enough. Does it say that we don't have the players? Well, no. Who wanted the job in 2010 when Jim took over, apart from himself? Nobody. What followed thereafter?

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 04/09/2022 10:11:13    2439601

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Well I believe that Jacktheboy, RoryGall and DonegalD all mentioned McHugh as being the favourite prior to your post. And to DonegalD's post you sarcastically asked him if had he inside knowledge, and went on to say that O'Rourke would get the job. (17/8/22). You then barbed at another poster who said that McHugh had a wonderful football brain. So which is it lad? For the record, are you in favour or against McHugh?"
Get a few facts right. I never said I wanted o rourke I said if the 3 candidates were right Mc Hugh sp and o rourke were right that o rourke would probably get it. From what I'm hearing o rourke and s p we're the only two nominated candidates. Mc Hugh didn't apply or was nominated . So that rumour was wrong. Do I want Mc Hugh no I don't but if he got it I would still support him as followers of a team do. Some of yous wudnt know about that.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 04/09/2022 10:42:05    2439606

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "For a man who thinks he knows everything, you've a cheek calling other people 'experts' in sarcastic fashion. Maybe the reason this forum has gone quiet is due to the secretive process around an appointment which is slow and surrounded with speculation and little more. The information vacuum leaves little to discuss in relation to any appointment.. ever the glass half-empty person, you seem delighted that a high profile appointment doesn't seem imminent. Sad enough. Does it say that we don't have the players? Well, no. Who wanted the job in 2010 when Jim took over, apart from himself? Nobody. What followed thereafter?"
Don't kid yourself lad a lot of more potential there when Mc Guinness got the job plus Donegal s best player was only 21. Are you telling me that we ever replaced the Mc gees Lacey Thompson or frank Mc Glynn. Mc Guinness is the past so look ahead. If outside manager thought there was an all Ireland in Donegal they'll be queuing up.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 04/09/2022 10:47:21    2439610

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "For a man who thinks he knows everything, you've a cheek calling other people 'experts' in sarcastic fashion. Maybe the reason this forum has gone quiet is due to the secretive process around an appointment which is slow and surrounded with speculation and little more. The information vacuum leaves little to discuss in relation to any appointment.. ever the glass half-empty person, you seem delighted that a high profile appointment doesn't seem imminent. Sad enough. Does it say that we don't have the players? Well, no. Who wanted the job in 2010 when Jim took over, apart from himself? Nobody. What followed thereafter?"
Lightning won't strike twice though. Donegal has fine footballers but that style of play, short game, they adopt is sickening to watch and not conducive to victory. That all has to be changed if the county is to win more than an Ulster title. Potential managers probably realize that that way of football is engrained in the players' psyche now, so don't want to touch the manager's job. It'd involve a whole new system of operation, which would take quite a bit of time and probably quite a few new players to implement.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1912 - 04/09/2022 11:07:20    2439617

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Lightning won't strike twice though. Donegal has fine footballers but that style of play, short game, they adopt is sickening to watch and not conducive to victory. That all has to be changed if the county is to win more than an Ulster title. Potential managers probably realize that that way of football is engrained in the players' psyche now, so don't want to touch the manager's job. It'd involve a whole new system of operation, which would take quite a bit of time and probably quite a few new players to implement."
It's not about lightening striking twice though, because you say we have fine players and I agree with you. The thing is at a low ebb now because of how last season ended and how the last few have gone. And I agree that we need a new system. I don't think that takes years to implement though, the right man can implement that quite quickly if the players are capable as you admit. Good players can quickly take knowledge and tactics on board if it is rehearsed religiously but for me it's also about fitness and conditioning levels being through the roof. Aggression also needs to be much greater in my view. These are the challenges awaiting any new man. It's anyone's guess though now who will take it.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 04/09/2022 12:25:50    2439624

Replying To rorysboys:  "Don't kid yourself lad a lot of more potential there when Mc Guinness got the job plus Donegal s best player was only 21. Are you telling me that we ever replaced the Mc gees Lacey Thompson or frank Mc Glynn. Mc Guinness is the past so look ahead. If outside manager thought there was an all Ireland in Donegal they'll be queuing up."
You're making your comments with the advantage of hindsight. In 2010, who would have said there was a lot of potential there after we were beaten easily by Armagh? Which outside managers were queuing up then? At that stage the players you mention hadn't achieved too much, maybe bar Lacey. They went on to become fantastic players for sure. In many ways we are at a similar junction in my view.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 04/09/2022 12:28:49    2439625

Replying To rorysboys:  "Get a few facts right. I never said I wanted o rourke I said if the 3 candidates were right Mc Hugh sp and o rourke were right that o rourke would probably get it. From what I'm hearing o rourke and s p we're the only two nominated candidates. Mc Hugh didn't apply or was nominated . So that rumour was wrong. Do I want Mc Hugh no I don't but if he got it I would still support him as followers of a team do. Some of yous wudnt know about that."
The deadline passed on the 15th. On the 17th DonegalD and others stated that McHugh was on the "unofficial" list of candidates. You then sarcastically questioned if he had inside knowledge.

By the 20th the word must have filtered down and you stated you heard a strong rumour linking McHugh to the Senior job. Basically, if somebody else states it you can have a swipe at them, but when you say it, it's the Gospel according to Rory. Sure let's call a spade a spade ;-)

Yesterday, I was in the company of a high profile candidate for a number of intercounty jobs, and when asked if he had been approached about the Donegal or Monaghan jobs, he declared that the Donegal job is McHugh's.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 04/09/2022 12:41:18    2439627

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "They didn't play systematic game like that against ul under the Dome. Overall maybe they could be a bit more adventurous but there is an element of cutting the cloth.

I also think it is quite unfair that people harp on about the seniors style of play. There was a clear change in how they played in 18 and 19 with it being very attacking. 20 and 21 were very tough because of covid with 20 being played in the winter. That year they still put on a great performance against Armagh.
Last year in the league they scored big and conceded big hammed down, played a fine game against Rory ball Derry and were plenty creditable against Tyrone.

This year it did start to get stale and the Ulster final was a hard watch. And although they lost heavily to Armagh the first 25 mins (except the crucial first goal) was good very good football. Under Bonner you might liked to have achieved more but overall style of play was decent."
Yes agreed regarding the UL game especially in the second half but that was largely due to chasing a deficit much like the under twenties this year against Tyrone. I'm sure you're a busy man much like most of us here who doesn't have the time to trawl through previous posts but I did highlight the overly systematic play against Carlow back in the depths of winter. Similar comments applied to the under twenties after seeing them play a league game. I completely agree re the efforts to change the style of play initially under Bonner but that changed this year with each side replicating the under which is the roots of my post about a proper roots and all review which I'm sceptical about right now.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 04/09/2022 16:25:21    2439644

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "You're making your comments with the advantage of hindsight. In 2010, who would have said there was a lot of potential there after we were beaten easily by Armagh? Which outside managers were queuing up then? At that stage the players you mention hadn't achieved too much, maybe bar Lacey. They went on to become fantastic players for sure. In many ways we are at a similar junction in my view."
In my view you can't compare donegal team now to 2010. Donegal were nowhere near it in 2010 or 2009 for that matter. They conceded 1-27 to lose against cork in 2009 and Crossmaglen was a low ebb in 2010. This team have been consistently enough a division 1 team won two ulsters and lost this years ulster in extra time. It doesn't mean they can't improve but they are ahead of 2010.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 693 - 04/09/2022 17:09:35    2439648

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "In my view you can't compare donegal team now to 2010. Donegal were nowhere near it in 2010 or 2009 for that matter. They conceded 1-27 to lose against cork in 2009 and Crossmaglen was a low ebb in 2010. This team have been consistently enough a division 1 team won two ulsters and lost this years ulster in extra time. It doesn't mean they can't improve but they are ahead of 2010."
Completely correct, we are still one of the best football teams in ulster, and in 2010 we were miles away.
We should be reigning ulster champions, only for poor decisions made on the sideline.
I believe if we get mchugh to take the job, we are more than capable of winning ulster and competing in an all Ireland semi final.
We definitely need to improve in our fitness and intensity in the tackle, but good management and coaching can achieve that just like mcguinness did when he took over a team that wasn't competing and was seen as soft.
I toured the county last week on my holidays, from glen to malin head and the rest. We definitely are not getting the full potential out of the sheer size of our great county.
I always maintained we were sleeping Giants, waiting to be awakened, and throught after the Mcguinness era we would continue in that manner.
Sadly we missed the apportunity to continue mcguinness's great work.
But hopefully if mchugh gets the job, we can get back on track again, and compete with any team.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 04/09/2022 19:47:28    2439666

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "In my view you can't compare donegal team now to 2010. Donegal were nowhere near it in 2010 or 2009 for that matter. They conceded 1-27 to lose against cork in 2009 and Crossmaglen was a low ebb in 2010. This team have been consistently enough a division 1 team won two ulsters and lost this years ulster in extra time. It doesn't mean they can't improve but they are ahead of 2010."
They are ahead of 2010 to a degree in the sense of Ulster titles in 2018/19 but many of the 2010 group had won a Division One league title in 2007, but then petered out over a few years with disappointing defeats much like this current group. What you can compare certainly is that with both groups there is/was a strong feeling that they are/were not reaching the levels they can and that is quite frustrating. I think that now, like then too, there is a feeling that we need to have a holistic look at our entire approach in order to move things to a different place. The key ingredient then was a McGuinness to pull things together. Look, who knows, we might have another big personality coming who can get the best from these boys.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 04/09/2022 20:26:00    2439671

Replying To The keeper:  "Completely correct, we are still one of the best football teams in ulster, and in 2010 we were miles away.
We should be reigning ulster champions, only for poor decisions made on the sideline.
I believe if we get mchugh to take the job, we are more than capable of winning ulster and competing in an all Ireland semi final.
We definitely need to improve in our fitness and intensity in the tackle, but good management and coaching can achieve that just like mcguinness did when he took over a team that wasn't competing and was seen as soft.
I toured the county last week on my holidays, from glen to malin head and the rest. We definitely are not getting the full potential out of the sheer size of our great county.
I always maintained we were sleeping Giants, waiting to be awakened, and throught after the Mcguinness era we would continue in that manner.
Sadly we missed the apportunity to continue mcguinness's great work.
But hopefully if mchugh gets the job, we can get back on track again, and compete with any team."
For god sake will you forget about Mc Guinness. He had his chance this time and didn't take it. The clubs had there chance to nominate people, and now we have to beg people to do it. Sad really.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 05/09/2022 07:45:50    2439695

Well we're down to the business end of things now after the weekend's action.

St Eunans v St Michaels
Kilcar v Killybegs
Gaoth Dobhair v Aodh Ruadh
Naomh Conaill v Glenswilly

The way the draw has panned out I suppose most people would be anticipating a "big 4" semi final draw.
I think Eunans and Kilcar will prevail but Glenswilly and Aodh Ruadh could prove to be awkward opponents for Naomh Conaill & Gaoth Dobhair respectively.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 05/09/2022 09:49:29    2439709