Donegal GAA thread

Replying To greatpoint:  "You think getting rid of Rochford is "payback time to all the supporters who let them down in clones"? What are you talking about?"
What are you talking about I never mentioned rochford.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 11/07/2022 18:11:20    2431519

If Bonner stays on now forget about it lads, can't believe he hasn't faced the media yet, absolute joke at this stage, they got their last euro off me I can tell you that.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 11/07/2022 20:23:23    2431541

Replying To The keeper:  "Didn't we not go toe to toe with kerry in the super 8s a few years ago, so thats your argument beaten as per usual.
That game showed me that with proper encouragement and coaching and letting the team play with the shackles off, we are as good as anyone.
Now we have gone back under the same management, but there is no reason a new management team with more conviction and knowledge can not bring us back.
And i never played intermediate football. But by your attitude intermediate football is to be laughed at. Some great past and present footballers and clubs play intermediate football.
I am a real Gaa man and would not be critical of any club playing junior or intermediate football. As i remember the days our club won intermediate championships and were very proud to do so."
Never mind him keeper, as a junior player he'd love to play intermediate.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 12/07/2022 09:33:06    2431574

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "If Bonner stays on now forget about it lads, can't believe he hasn't faced the media yet, absolute joke at this stage, they got their last euro off me I can tell you that."
Your like an old record player, if you don't want to go games, so what. Nobody cares Donegal can do without supporters (ha) like you. Keep your euros lad..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 12/07/2022 09:41:44    2431575

the whole Donegal forum is a broken feckin record

Looking forward to the ladies semi-final on Saturday, last weekend was a great day

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 12/07/2022 10:06:30    2431582

Replying To JoeSoap:  "the whole Donegal forum is a broken feckin record

Looking forward to the ladies semi-final on Saturday, last weekend was a great day"
Your right lad too many people with too much time on there hands. Bonner was right.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 12/07/2022 10:17:41    2431587

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Never mind him keeper, as a junior player he'd love to play intermediate."
I would say between the two of yous, yous didn't kick much leather. Easy on an anonymous forum to boast about your playing pedigree. Every club has them, they won't get away with it in there local because people know them.. that's why I don't respond to my playing career.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 12/07/2022 10:46:56    2431597

Replying To rorysboys:  "Your right lad too many people with too much time on there hands. Bonner was right."
Says the lady with 1500 posts?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 12/07/2022 11:01:29    2431604

I haven't been posting much in the past few weeks as it would only be negative. If you have nothing positive to say, its better saying nothing lol. How do posters feel after the All-Ireland quarter finals and semi-finals? My thoughts are that Dublin are no longer the force they were and there are now going to be a number of teams who can win the All-Ireland each year. From watching the games there is nothing I seen that tells me that we are way off those teams. With a fresh management team and more positive approach, we should be challenging. After a defeat its easy to focus on all the negatives but we have a good group of players and the age profile is young apart from MM and Neil McGee.

Whoever is manager next year, we surely need to think about playing more direct. Most of the best moves from last weekend came from direct ball into the full forward lines. I know our club football is rubbish at times, hand passing and massed defences but surely our county team can play a more direct brand of football. It might suit players like MacNiallis and Stephen McBrearty - two of the best performers a club level.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 12/07/2022 11:29:31    2431612

Replying To rorysboys:  "Your right lad too many people with too much time on there hands. Bonner was right."
Says the clown with 1500+ posts, you couldn't make it up.
I agree with previous poster, time to move on.
If our current management stay in the job another year, let him stay.
He has ruined his legacy already with his two unsuccessful spells as manager. And his treatment of the Donegal media, who were always very fair with him.
Not to mention his disregard for a majority of Donegal gaa followers who voiced there opinion by voting with there feet.
Good luck to the Donegal ladies, hopefully the great result last week will inspire them to go all the way.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 12/07/2022 11:48:05    2431615

A long time visitor to this forum and finally taking the plunge and posting. I believe I should pass RorysBoys' criteria as a "real supporter". I first started following the team as a boy in the late 80's and remember the heartache of Tyrone trouncing us in an Ulster Final replay in 89. I remember standing on the O'Duffy terrace in 98 when Declan's team was pipped by a last gasp Brolly goal (which shouldn't have stood after big Jeffrey's foul on Noel McGinley in the build up). I was in Newbridge in 2001 for Donegal's first outing in the qualifiers in what was Tony Boyle and Noel Hegarty's last appearances and I was on the Hill in Clones for this year's Ulster Final and defeat to Armagh.

I have huge respect for Declan and the dedication he has shown to his county as a player and manager and his incredible dedication to his club, continuing to line out in goals when needed in recent years while managing Donegal. I feel though that he has taken the team as far as he can and if he stays in the position another disappointing season next year is likely. I don't think anyone could credibly suggest anything other than a regression over the last few seasons and despite tweaks to the backroom team our performances have disimproved. We maybe slightly short of quality to compete with a Kerry or Dublin but I certainly think we have a squad to match Cavan, Derry or Armagh.

I think it is too simplistic to say we don't have the players, many of the 2012 winning team had been in the county set up from 2004-06 and weren't setting the world alight, the likes of Neil Gallagher, Rory Kavangh and Eamon McGee all improved hugely under the coaching of McGuinness. I don't necessarily think we don't have the defenders, I think the bigger issue is the lack of intensity in our defending. This comes down more to coaching than skill. The second half against Armagh was painful to watch, we looked out of ideas and rudderless. Of course the players should take their share of the responsibility but ultimately the buck stops with the manager.

The argument that Declan should stay on because "there is no one better in the county" is a weak one in my opinion, we will never know if someone else would be better until they are given the chance and we will not know if any candidates from outside the county would be interested in the job until a vacancy arises.The silence from Declan and the county board since the defeat is disappointing, I feel you should face the media in bad times as well as good. No insults or abuse from me towards Declan only thanks for his efforts!

BeardedBorderGael (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 12/07/2022 12:05:06    2431623

Replying To JoeSoap:  "the whole Donegal forum is a broken feckin record

Looking forward to the ladies semi-final on Saturday, last weekend was a great day"
I watched the ladies game on Saturday and I was mightily impressed. They really made Dublin look very ordinary and were very well set up.

It will probably be a sterner test this weekend as Meath play very similarly and will perhaps not underestimate them as much as Dublin.

The very best of luck to them and great for young girls in the county to have their own role models to look up to.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 12/07/2022 12:22:46    2431634

Replying To BeardedBorderGael:  "A long time visitor to this forum and finally taking the plunge and posting. I believe I should pass RorysBoys' criteria as a "real supporter". I first started following the team as a boy in the late 80's and remember the heartache of Tyrone trouncing us in an Ulster Final replay in 89. I remember standing on the O'Duffy terrace in 98 when Declan's team was pipped by a last gasp Brolly goal (which shouldn't have stood after big Jeffrey's foul on Noel McGinley in the build up). I was in Newbridge in 2001 for Donegal's first outing in the qualifiers in what was Tony Boyle and Noel Hegarty's last appearances and I was on the Hill in Clones for this year's Ulster Final and defeat to Armagh.

I have huge respect for Declan and the dedication he has shown to his county as a player and manager and his incredible dedication to his club, continuing to line out in goals when needed in recent years while managing Donegal. I feel though that he has taken the team as far as he can and if he stays in the position another disappointing season next year is likely. I don't think anyone could credibly suggest anything other than a regression over the last few seasons and despite tweaks to the backroom team our performances have disimproved. We maybe slightly short of quality to compete with a Kerry or Dublin but I certainly think we have a squad to match Cavan, Derry or Armagh.

I think it is too simplistic to say we don't have the players, many of the 2012 winning team had been in the county set up from 2004-06 and weren't setting the world alight, the likes of Neil Gallagher, Rory Kavangh and Eamon McGee all improved hugely under the coaching of McGuinness. I don't necessarily think we don't have the defenders, I think the bigger issue is the lack of intensity in our defending. This comes down more to coaching than skill. The second half against Armagh was painful to watch, we looked out of ideas and rudderless. Of course the players should take their share of the responsibility but ultimately the buck stops with the manager.

The argument that Declan should stay on because "there is no one better in the county" is a weak one in my opinion, we will never know if someone else would be better until they are given the chance and we will not know if any candidates from outside the county would be interested in the job until a vacancy arises.The silence from Declan and the county board since the defeat is disappointing, I feel you should face the media in bad times as well as good. No insults or abuse from me towards Declan only thanks for his efforts!"
Good enough post, agree with some of it not all. My big question is why is the players are not talking to the media. As I said it's out of season so there's nobody stopping them. You seem a genuine poster with no agenda so it's a good start. You probably know the boys I don't get on with. People who have been down on the manager from his first appointment.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 12/07/2022 12:53:37    2431638

Replying To peiledoir20:  "I watched the ladies game on Saturday and I was mightily impressed. They really made Dublin look very ordinary and were very well set up.

It will probably be a sterner test this weekend as Meath play very similarly and will perhaps not underestimate them as much as Dublin.

The very best of luck to them and great for young girls in the county to have their own role models to look up to."
Yeah Meath will be very tough but I thought we were very good in the league final and not far away from them, especially considering how far behind we were in that game, dug ourselves out of it really well and so if we manage the game a bit better then who knows.

Like you say it's great for the county, there have been very good footballers in Donegal LGFA for a good number of years now so hopefully they get their rewards, an All-Ireland final would be some achievement.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 12/07/2022 13:21:46    2431648

Replying To rorysboys:  "Good enough post, agree with some of it not all. My big question is why is the players are not talking to the media. As I said it's out of season so there's nobody stopping them. You seem a genuine poster with no agenda so it's a good start. You probably know the boys I don't get on with. People who have been down on the manager from his first appointment."
I'd hazard a guess as that the management & board haven't been forthcoming with any comments players are unlikely to step forward and take the media attention on their individual shoulders. Very unlikely any player will step forward with criticisms of the management when it is still in place and until we hear any differently will be in charge of the team again next year.
I'm not advocating players should be coming out criticising Declan either by the way, I just feel that there is more of an onus on a manager (whoever he is) to face the media at the end of a campaign (good or bad).

BeardedBorderGael (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 12/07/2022 14:11:50    2431667

Replying To BeardedBorderGael:  "I'd hazard a guess as that the management & board haven't been forthcoming with any comments players are unlikely to step forward and take the media attention on their individual shoulders. Very unlikely any player will step forward with criticisms of the management when it is still in place and until we hear any differently will be in charge of the team again next year.
I'm not advocating players should be coming out criticising Declan either by the way, I just feel that there is more of an onus on a manager (whoever he is) to face the media at the end of a campaign (good or bad)."
I think the longer the silence goes on the more it points to Declan staying on for another year. Seems to be a case of letting the heat die down after another disappointing year.

Whether it's the right move for Declan himself, only time will tell. But as one poster has already suggested he runs the risk of further damaging his legacy.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 12/07/2022 14:31:52    2431677

Replying To BeardedBorderGael:  "I'd hazard a guess as that the management & board haven't been forthcoming with any comments players are unlikely to step forward and take the media attention on their individual shoulders. Very unlikely any player will step forward with criticisms of the management when it is still in place and until we hear any differently will be in charge of the team again next year.
I'm not advocating players should be coming out criticising Declan either by the way, I just feel that there is more of an onus on a manager (whoever he is) to face the media at the end of a campaign (good or bad)."
He is probably is still undecided and weighing up what support he has.He might be thinking he could make one more big push in his final year.I don't think there is much precedent for a manager to be removed by a county board mid term so it will probably be his own decision.Most people seem to think that he has the good of Donegal football at heart and one would think he could be depended on to make the right decision.Whether he goes or stays one thing apparent from the Kerry-Dublin game is the intensity and heart required to be at the top.The hallmark of a good player is consistency and it is questionable if we enough players that give a 7/10 even on a bad day.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 12/07/2022 15:02:19    2431688

Yea but it's a free world and a amateur sport and players are not talking. Something not right. On any panel there's about 20 happy players, players who are playing but you'll always get a few who think they should be on. Management would not be telling players not to talk. I know for a fact there was a lot of discontent from people in the squad about the support we got in the Ulster final and the Armagh game. As a follower from talking to good supporters they we're disgusted too. Turning one's back on there county not easily forgotten.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 12/07/2022 15:12:03    2431691

Replying To gunman:  "He is probably is still undecided and weighing up what support he has.He might be thinking he could make one more big push in his final year.I don't think there is much precedent for a manager to be removed by a county board mid term so it will probably be his own decision.Most people seem to think that he has the good of Donegal football at heart and one would think he could be depended on to make the right decision.Whether he goes or stays one thing apparent from the Kerry-Dublin game is the intensity and heart required to be at the top.The hallmark of a good player is consistency and it is questionable if we enough players that give a 7/10 even on a bad day."
Totally agree with your post. Bonners in pole position and if he decides he wants one more year he'll get it. There has to be a reason for the delay and I trust in bonner that whatever decision he decides on will be in the best interest of Donegal football. The keyboard warriors will not make him resign if he feels he has a good backroom team. Reading through a few Facebook pages people who I definitely know never played football saying that he has no plan b. Jesus wept..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 12/07/2022 15:24:34    2431697

The lack of communication on the managerial position is bit odd and I think it doesn't do anyone any favours. I think it shows no definitive decision either way to have confidence in manager to finish out last year or on other side any serious appetite to change it now. It suggests reactivity and hoping that storm blow over. It would be interesting to see what targets were set for county team last year or if as a condition in 2 year extension last year it had a formal review process step after year 1 so both parties could assess or call it a day if not working. If there was some media done after the defeat to say manager needed 2-3 weeks to think on it it would have given parties breathing space or county board came out to say they reviewing it, it would have been better for all to take some of the uncertainty of this 'will he stay or go' out of it.

I can only assume that if giving the review of last year in a few weeks that it's with a view to completing the term with some detail on plans for next year and new backroom change ( thats my guess). If that is case CB should come out and say it- it's not the decision I think is best but if they want him to finish out term, they should come out and provide explanation why they feel this is best way forward now rather than change to be fair to him and to stop rumour mill or just come out or say they have reviewed it and feel new man in needed but need time for a process. I think the county board thought he would walk so gave time and if he has asked to complete the term they now in a bind with manager with year to run and significant portion of supporter base looking for change.

I'd worry that if this goes on too long, it could lead to series of meetings ( not unlike Meath-Andy McEntees last year) where clubs tabling votes on it in absence of information and feeling that concerns on direction team going not been taken onboard and even if it ends up Bonner stays his last year would be evener tough to manage.

DonegalDanny92 (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 12/07/2022 15:38:35    2431703