Longford GAA thread

Replying To veterngaa:  "The lads are 16 and 17…"
Don't mind this lad came on to our forum leaving patronizing comments after we lost the league final. I kindly reminded him with his own counties form it wouldn't be long until they join us down in div 3 or 4.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 256 - 11/06/2024 15:16:18    2550832

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "Don't mind this lad came on to our forum leaving patronizing comments after we lost the league final. I kindly reminded him with his own counties form it wouldn't be long until they join us down in div 3 or 4."
There are a few of those lads around unfortunately who go onto other county's forums leaving patronising comments or worse still having a cheap shot at clubs or players from their own county in other forums. It's fairly lowlife stuff but there are always one or two!

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 500 - 12/06/2024 11:11:10    2550980

When are they going to fix the knockout and relegation play-offs in Div 1. Looking at the Longford GAA site, there are D 2-5 matches fixed up to mid July. Championship I believe is starting at end of July. Surely they are not waiting to finish Div 1 fixtures after the senior championship

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 287 - 16/06/2024 20:31:16    2552016

Replying To B&G:  "When are they going to fix the knockout and relegation play-offs in Div 1. Looking at the Longford GAA site, there are D 2-5 matches fixed up to mid July. Championship I believe is starting at end of July. Surely they are not waiting to finish Div 1 fixtures after the senior championship"
Leader Cup semis and relegation play-offs are all scheduled for Sunday 30th June according to the master fixtures document on the county website.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 500 - 16/06/2024 21:28:06    2552044

Replying To B&G:  "When are they going to fix the knockout and relegation play-offs in Div 1. Looking at the Longford GAA site, there are D 2-5 matches fixed up to mid July. Championship I believe is starting at end of July. Surely they are not waiting to finish Div 1 fixtures after the senior championship"
Leader Cup semi finals and relegation semi finals fixed for W/E 30th June and both finals are fixed for W/E 7th July.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 133 - 17/06/2024 09:18:36    2552169

Clonguish will win the Leader Cup. Mostrim will make the drop. Hopefully common sense prevails and the relegation playoff will be changed to bottom 2 next year not bottom 4. Who in their right mind came up with bottom 4 in a division of 10 teams?

Fair play to Granard on winning division 1. Must be 30 years since their last senior trophy?

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 500 - 17/06/2024 10:29:54    2552225

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Clonguish will win the Leader Cup. Mostrim will make the drop. Hopefully common sense prevails and the relegation playoff will be changed to bottom 2 next year not bottom 4. Who in their right mind came up with bottom 4 in a division of 10 teams?

Fair play to Granard on winning division 1. Must be 30 years since their last senior trophy?"
Killoe have made the semi finals haven't they?
They'd be my favourites to win the Leader Cup at this stage.
What's gone wrong in Mostrim?
Only a few years ago they were in a County Final.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 902 - 17/06/2024 10:52:24    2552243

Replying To Oddball:  "Killoe have made the semi finals haven't they?
Only a few years ago they were in a County Final."
Killoe are playing Granard and Abbeylara are playing Clonguish.
I would see Killoe as favourites to win it out from here.
We have Conor Shields and Ronan Sweeney back but the 2 Careys were missing yesterday.
We should gain our leaving cert lads back, but then again most of them will probably have a holiday planned and could miss the semi final.
I think we were missing 6 of them last year when we played Mullinalaghta in the Leader Cup semi final!!
If we are not missing any of them, then we stand a good chance of winning it, but I don't think we'll be that lucky.
We could be going into the championship without having more than 50% of our starting 15 to pick from during the league.
Mostrim have had a few lads retire and I just think they were lucky to make the final that year.
Mullinalaghta hammered them in that final if my memory is correct!
The relegation scenario in Division 1 is a joke.
Why didn't they just keep it like Division 2 and have the bottom 2 play off?

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 133 - 17/06/2024 13:59:33    2552357

Replying To Frank74:  "Killoe are playing Granard and Abbeylara are playing Clonguish.
I would see Killoe as favourites to win it out from here.
We have Conor Shields and Ronan Sweeney back but the 2 Careys were missing yesterday.
We should gain our leaving cert lads back, but then again most of them will probably have a holiday planned and could miss the semi final.
I think we were missing 6 of them last year when we played Mullinalaghta in the Leader Cup semi final!!
If we are not missing any of them, then we stand a good chance of winning it, but I don't think we'll be that lucky.
We could be going into the championship without having more than 50% of our starting 15 to pick from during the league.
Mostrim have had a few lads retire and I just think they were lucky to make the final that year.
Mullinalaghta hammered them in that final if my memory is correct!
The relegation scenario in Division 1 is a joke.
Why didn't they just keep it like Division 2 and have the bottom 2 play off?"
With Killoe and Clonguish missing so many players and still making the Leader Cup semi-finals, it doesn't say much for the other teams in the division who finished below them.
Looking at the odds for the championship, Killoe are favourites followed by Mullinalaghta and then Clonguish.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 902 - 17/06/2024 15:36:56    2552409

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Clonguish will win the Leader Cup. Mostrim will make the drop. Hopefully common sense prevails and the relegation playoff will be changed to bottom 2 next year not bottom 4. Who in their right mind came up with bottom 4 in a division of 10 teams?

Fair play to Granard on winning division 1. Must be 30 years since their last senior trophy?"
Dromard delegate proposed it at County board meeting, it was seconded and passed. Ironic as they got out of bottom 2 this weekend and now face play off . Reckoned they'd be without their county players for 6/7 rounds and this was a fairer way to decide relegation.

Therein2010 (Longford) - Posts: 49 - 17/06/2024 19:25:17    2552499

Replying To Therein2010:  "Dromard delegate proposed it at County board meeting, it was seconded and passed. Ironic as they got out of bottom 2 this weekend and now face play off . Reckoned they'd be without their county players for 6/7 rounds and this was a fairer way to decide relegation."
The Dromard/Slashers game has been brought forward to this weekend.
And Dromard are also bring Slashers up to Arva to play it!
I think they played all their previous 'home' games in Edgeworthstown since their pitch was been done up.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 133 - 18/06/2024 10:28:01    2552622

Replying To Oddball:  "Killoe have made the semi finals haven't they?
Only a few years ago they were in a County Final."
Killoe with every player they had last year and rumours of some big returns. They have to be favourites to win all before them again.

Clonbonnyrabbitt (Longford) - Posts: 15 - 18/06/2024 12:46:45    2552693

Replying To Clonbonnyrabbitt:  "Killoe with every player they had last year and rumours of some big returns. They have to be favourites to win all before them again."
Who's rumoured to be some of the big returnees?

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 902 - 18/06/2024 14:44:21    2552742

Replying To Frank74:  "The Dromard/Slashers game has been brought forward to this weekend.
And Dromard are also bring Slashers up to Arva to play it!
I think they played all their previous 'home' games in Edgeworthstown since their pitch was been done up."
Dromard, I believe has home venue and have nominated Arva as home venue. Arva is only 3-4 miles from Dromard GAA pitch so it is not as if they are bringing them to Granard or Abbeylar which would involve a longer traveling distance.

Who has home venue in relegation final.

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 287 - 18/06/2024 21:34:06    2552852

Replying To B&G:  "Dromard, I believe has home venue and have nominated Arva as home venue. Arva is only 3-4 miles from Dromard GAA pitch so it is not as if they are bringing them to Granard or Abbeylar which would involve a longer traveling distance.

Who has home venue in relegation final."
I think what Oddball is getting at, is that they played their league games in Edgeworthstown when their own ground was unavailable. And now when it's a do or potentially die game they are bringing Slashers out of the county to play.
The relegation final is a neutral ground as far as I am aware.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 133 - 18/06/2024 22:17:33    2552864

Replying To B&G:  "Dromard, I believe has home venue and have nominated Arva as home venue. Arva is only 3-4 miles from Dromard GAA pitch so it is not as if they are bringing them to Granard or Abbeylar which would involve a longer traveling distance.

Who has home venue in relegation final."
Why would Dromard be bringing Slashers up to Arva? I'm sure they have played plenty of games over the years there so would know the ground fairly well.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 902 - 18/06/2024 23:03:05    2552876

Replying To Clonbonnyrabbitt:  "Killoe with every player they had last year and rumours of some big returns. They have to be favourites to win all before them again."
Not sure about killoe, from 7 County players starting they have returned with only having 2/3 playing in last 3 games, i hear 3 long term injuries by the looks of it with Quinn and 2 Hughes likely not to play any part and Mimnagh went off after 5 mins in the laurels. I presume the return is Larry Moran who was there last year and played last week. There was talk of McCormack brothers back for Dempsey but surely thats rubbish.
I'd imagine the Leader Cup will be the start of Clonguishes run of success at senior grade as they are getting stronger and stronger every week, Carey is easily the most accurate player seen in Longford for a long time.. Well Done to Granard considering they also had a lot of disruption with county senior and u21.
Mostrim could beat Rathcline, they always pull off big performances when they need too..
Carrickedmond will be disappointed they didn't do better after a great start.
Will be interesting to see 1st couple of rounds of championship
When are fixture Dates to be released?

#Putitup (Longford) - Posts: 22 - 18/06/2024 23:03:48    2552877

Replying To Therein2010:  "Dromard delegate proposed it at County board meeting, it was seconded and passed. Ironic as they got out of bottom 2 this weekend and now face play off . Reckoned they'd be without their county players for 6/7 rounds and this was a fairer way to decide relegation."
Had Dromard many lads unavailable? The full back and Hagan played most of the time for Longford. Were they missing anyone else?

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 902 - 18/06/2024 23:04:59    2552878

Ah here.....I'm all confused!! What's going on HS?!!!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 902 - 19/06/2024 07:03:56    2552887

Replying To Oddball:  "Who's rumoured to be some of the big returnees?"
padraig mccormack is back

slasher9 (Longford) - Posts: 236 - 19/06/2024 10:53:13    2552933