Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To boxtyburgerbuns:  "You could say the same about Mayo though, not a hope of winning an All Ireland but they still go at it."
Not Really, while they are unlikely to win SAM anytime soon, they are in contention for and frequently win Connacht titles NFL Div 1 Championship, so the players have some rational reasons to believe.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 519 - 06/01/2025 07:52:20    2584741

Replying To martinjoe:  "Not Really, while they are unlikely to win SAM anytime soon, they are in contention for and frequently win Connacht titles NFL Div 1 Championship, so the players have some rational reasons to believe."
Touché

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 146 - 06/01/2025 10:53:35    2584760

Replying To martinjoe:  "Not Really, while they are unlikely to win SAM anytime soon, they are in contention for and frequently win Connacht titles NFL Div 1 Championship, so the players have some rational reasons to believe."
They have won 3 nfl titles in over 50 years. They win Connacht frequently because only two counties are in with a shout of winning it. They haven't a hope of an AI in the future but in fairness to them they still come out for more every year and the supporters always believe. That is admirable in a way.

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 49 - 06/01/2025 11:06:24    2584761

Mayo 4 sam!! That's what it's about for Mayo. A Connacht title or a Div 1 league title, is that what the Mayo players are dreaming off ? Is Aidan O'Se hanging around with the hope of winning another Connacht title? Really?

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 356 - 06/01/2025 11:17:34    2584762

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Mayo 4 sam!! That's what it's about for Mayo. A Connacht title or a Div 1 league title, is that what the Mayo players are dreaming off ? Is Aidan O'Se hanging around with the hope of winning another Connacht title? Really?"
who cares about Aidan O'Se and Mayo

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 135 - 06/01/2025 15:56:07    2584793

I think a lot of Leitrim people have a gra for Mayo and would love to see them win an all Ireland.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 178 - 06/01/2025 16:39:40    2584802

Replying To Backheel:  "I think a lot of Leitrim people have a gra for Mayo and would love to see them win an all Ireland."
Speak for yourself.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1066 - 06/01/2025 17:34:03    2584810

Replying To Backheel:  "I think a lot of Leitrim people have a gra for Mayo and would love to see them win an all Ireland."
I thought ye all loved yer Rossie neighbours.......!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2009 - 06/01/2025 18:41:36    2584817

Replying To boxtyburgerbuns:  "They have won 3 nfl titles in over 50 years. They win Connacht frequently because only two counties are in with a shout of winning it. They haven't a hope of an AI in the future but in fairness to them they still come out for more every year and the supporters always believe. That is admirable in a way."
Mayo have won just two of the last nine Connacht senior titles. Same as Roscommon. Galway have won 5 including three in a row and for me very much the team to beat in Connacht once again this year.

U20 should give a good idea to where senior level will be in Connacht in the years ahead.

U20 title winners since it became U20 in 2018

Galway 2
Roscommon 2
Sligo 2
Mayo 1

Mayo will be favourites to win U20 this year. Connacht at that grade as competitive as any province.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 274 - 06/01/2025 20:36:04    2584825

Replying To Square_B:  "Speak for yourself."
I was……. I started the sentence with I think. It a pretty standard beginning to sentence expressing one's opinion.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 178 - 06/01/2025 21:29:28    2584829

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Mayo have won just two of the last nine Connacht senior titles. Same as Roscommon. Galway have won 5 including three in a row and for me very much the team to beat in Connacht once again this year.

U20 should give a good idea to where senior level will be in Connacht in the years ahead.

Galway 2
Roscommon 2
Sligo 2
Mayo 1

Mayo will be favourites to win U20 this year. Connacht at that grade as competitive as any province."
Mayo have also won 7 of the last 14 years, the same as Roscommon and Galway put together…and they've won 2 of the last 5, compared to Galway's 3 (after a very very close final in 2024)…interesting that you pick the last 9 years…

Lies, damned lies, and statistics ;)

Most people would be right in saying that Galway and Mayo are the front runners for the Connacht championship with very little between them, Roscommon just a little bit further back, and Sligo further back again. Unfortunately Leitrim are no where near at the minute but should never stop striving to compete.

New&Improved (Leitrim) - Posts: 36 - 06/01/2025 21:37:56    2584830

Replying To New&Improved:  "Mayo have also won 7 of the last 14 years, the same as Roscommon and Galway put together…and they've won 2 of the last 5, compared to Galway's 3 (after a very very close final in 2024)…interesting that you pick the last 9 years…

Most people would be right in saying that Galway and Mayo are the front runners for the Connacht championship with very little between them, Roscommon just a little bit further back, and Sligo further back again. Unfortunately Leitrim are no where near at the minute but should never stop striving to compete."
Last nine years plus this year is a decade and a nice round figure to work with. Factual statistics and remains to be seen can Mayo make it 3 Senior Connacht titles in 10 years. Sligo will be quietly confident of taking their scalp in the semi final.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 274 - 07/01/2025 03:19:58    2584843

Replying To New&Improved:  "Mayo have also won 7 of the last 14 years, the same as Roscommon and Galway put together…and they've won 2 of the last 5, compared to Galway's 3 (after a very very close final in 2024)…interesting that you pick the last 9 years…

Most people would be right in saying that Galway and Mayo are the front runners for the Connacht championship with very little between them, Roscommon just a little bit further back, and Sligo further back again. Unfortunately Leitrim are no where near at the minute but should never stop striving to compete."
Roscommon are well back behind Sligo have a better chance, they should have beaten Galway last year.

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 49 - 07/01/2025 08:10:18    2584845

Replying To Backheel:  "I was……. I started the sentence with I think. It a pretty standard beginning to sentence expressing one's opinion."
As I've said, speak for yourself. I can tell you, I have certainly no 'gra' for Mayo. Their fans could do with some lessons in humility.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1066 - 07/01/2025 08:52:04    2584850

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Mayo have won just two of the last nine Connacht senior titles. Same as Roscommon. Galway have won 5 including three in a row and for me very much the team to beat in Connacht once again this year.

Galway 2
Roscommon 2
Sligo 2
Mayo 1

Mayo will be favourites to win U20 this year. Connacht at that grade as competitive as any province."
How will we fair in u20? Surely we still have a lot of lads from last years team and can build on that mayo win.

Leitrim007 (Leitrim) - Posts: 8 - 07/01/2025 09:46:20    2584857

Replying To meathbasedfan:  "who cares about Aidan O'Se and Mayo"
I don't. I was replying to Martinjoe who can be quite patronising towards Leitrim on here.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 356 - 07/01/2025 10:58:21    2584866

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "I don't. I was replying to Martinjoe who can be quite patronising towards Leitrim on here."
Patronising is too strong.Most of his comments on Leitrim are fair, realistic and positive.That is a rarity on this site.

A lot of commentators here have used a lot of energy here criticising the CB and particularly managers for Leitrim's lack of success.When we did achieve something last year it was put down to luck.There was hardly any comment about the underage improvement/success.

Having said that any team was loses the spine of its players will struggle .The new management should be given the time and encouragement to build what is essentially a new team.The previous management was lucky that they had a lot of players who had 5 ,6. and more years experience playing for Leitrim. In fact very few players weren't available. I know lists have been put up about players who emigrated/travelled,however our core best players were available. This is not the situation now, hence Mickey Graham running away when he realised the seriousness of the problem.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 522 - 07/01/2025 11:28:36    2584874

Replying To Leitrim007:  "How will we fair in u20? Surely we still have a lot of lads from last years team and can build on that mayo win."
Diffcult year ahead. Your U17 team will be one to watch howeve.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 274 - 07/01/2025 13:19:52    2584899

Anyone got an idea of current squad and when next challenge game is? Lack of preseason competitions causes a bit of speculating about who is in and out

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 583 - 07/01/2025 13:23:04    2584900

i think the seniors played Wexford over the weekend, not sure how it went.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 135 - 07/01/2025 14:24:45    2584913