Who else had committed and left apart from Nevin o Donnell ? Is Ryan gone?
JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 256 - 04/01/2025 09:24:38 2584513 Link 0 |
You cannot blame the man for someone probably only biding his time to get back to own county.. He can only work with what is in front of him, McGeeney/ McGuinness/ Joyce would not get a better trick out of us than who we have already. Who's in goal then if Gaffey is out injured? gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 582 - 04/01/2025 11:41:45 2584531 Link 0 |
Keith Beirne and Cillian Gaffey both gone from the panel! Bet sure let's give the new manager pass he is only up on 20 players not gone from last years panel!! How could this possibly be his fault. Let's blame Mickey, Andy Moran and sure the county board while we are at it.
Willies24 (Leitrim) - Posts: 3 - 04/01/2025 12:02:13 2584534 Link 0 |
Oh now I think tbh these are all just getting in early excuses along with the annual lack of players one. You never hear this stuff from Longford or Fermanagh for example. They get on with it.
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 45 - 04/01/2025 12:11:14 2584537 Link 0 |
Have u ever heard of Longford or Fermanagh losing the amount of starting players we have lost from last years panel? Hardly excuses, we as supporters are entitled to ask what is going on that our Senior team has ended up so depleted. Add in Paul Keaney to that list also.
Willies24 (Leitrim) - Posts: 3 - 04/01/2025 12:22:56 2584542 Link 1 |
Mc Geeney and Mc Guinness aren't losing 3 key players from their starting team after they have been in training with them.
williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 439 - 04/01/2025 12:34:25 2584546 Link 0 |
Heard very recently that K Beirne was really enjoying being back what's happened since? JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 256 - 04/01/2025 13:30:50 2584561 Link 0 |
Maybe they weren't that committed to start with and in fairness, it's hardly a fair comparison anyhow.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1060 - 04/01/2025 13:50:55 2584567 Link 0 |
Agree, these 2 departures are disappointing, but it looks like he is setting high standards and only those fully committed will be on board. Let's give him a chance? Who are the new/ returning players in? joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 521 - 04/01/2025 14:28:35 2584576 Link 1 |
Agreed- when as a county are we going to step up and try compete instead of lads dropping off cos the wind changed direction?!!! Sick of listening to it and reading about it at this stage, the AI winning ladies team have lost 3/4 players to emigration and do you hear any whinging from them?! And they plan on competing in the senior championship too, not a tin pot cup most other counties laugh at that we will be lucky to win a game in, at the rate we are making excuses. When does the 6 nations start.. gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 582 - 04/01/2025 15:32:43 2584590 Link 0 |
Emigration is right but Letirim have the best players sitting at home. Clueless
williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 439 - 04/01/2025 16:24:11 2584598 Link 1 |
That they may but if a lad is not committed, he's better off sitting at home. And the sad thing is that we need all these lads & for future generations to get inspiration from. Someone said it here before, we're just not a serious footballing county. I don't know how you fix that.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1060 - 04/01/2025 17:47:30 2584618 Link 1 |
If reports are true and Poacher is setting up a minimum standard in regards to application on and off the training pitch, I would be delighted. I remember Sligo supporters whinging on their forum about McEntee a few years ago. I hope he can get buy in from a committed group and not bullied out of the job by a few prima donnas not willing to put in the required commitment for inter county football, who play very little for the county afterwards. The way Breen and Dugdale were 10 or 12 years ago. Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 176 - 04/01/2025 18:40:29 2584620 Link 0 |
Have to agree with you. At a time when we need to be pushing on and doing our upmost to stay in Division 3 lads are dropping off panel like flies . What was the point in getting promoted and all the money we spent trying the last few years if we aren't going to give ourselves a chance in what was always going to be a tough campaign in division 3. It's very dispiriting and it's hard to see how we're ever going to make progress unless we can retain a core panel of players year on year. We all were very critical of Mickey Graham with the way he left and rightly so but players who committed for the year only to walk soon after have to be questioned too. Seems to be a mindset problem here which will somehow have to be kicked if we're ever going to make any sustained progress. People may disagree with me and say these lads are amateurs giving up their time and they are right to go if they feel the set up isn't right but this wouldn't go on in a serious football county. And maybe Poacher and his management team are part of the problem too time will tell, but surely they deserve a bit of time to get their ideas across more so considering it was a late appointment. I'm very disappointed with the situation and am hoping that the list of absentees isn't as bad as speculated, if it is we're facing a very bad year I fear.
JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 256 - 05/01/2025 08:57:04 2584670 Link 0 |
Fully agree that Poacher must get a fair chance and not be judged until the season is over for Leitrim, but could I ask that supporters might put themselves in the position of any one of the "key" players who have opted out? They are after giving their all over 3 tough years with Andy and have achieved what most observers would see as the only realistic goal available, promotion to division 3. Now is it unfair of them to ask themselves what is the best they can achieve in 2025 and balance that against what will be required in terms of commitment? Poacher will likely require commitment to a program comparable with what Div 1 teams are doing. Teams who have some sort of chance of landing the ultimate prize. Most supporters on here agree that it is unlikely Leitrim can retain their status and that they are likely to return to 4. It is a given that they will depart the Connacht championship in the first round v Mayo. So while the status of intercounty footballer does carry weight and brings perks outside of football, after a few years players might think the price is just too high. They will be replaced by lads who crave intercounty footballer status and will commit to anything. I know there are those who will point to Sligo who only a few years ago failed to rack up a single point in 7 Div 4 games, and last year almost took out the eventual All Ireland runners up. Personally I think they too have peaked in spite of great underage success. Due to demographic changes (small families) the day the rural club winning big has gone, and it is quickly being followed the rural county. Yes, even Kerry will struggle in the near future. The cities, Dublin, Cork, Limerick and Galway will dominate both codes by 2030.
martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 519 - 05/01/2025 11:09:28 2584675 Link 0 |
I've said that numerous times Square B and I firmly believe it. We always have the excuses ready to go, we've neglected underage for years, it's only been addressed recently. Club football is terrible, results in connacht for the last 30 years back this up. As for the lads dropping of panels it's disappointing, I don't know what Poacher's man management skills are but when I was playing football I played under managers I may not have liked on a personal level but you just get on with it, if you are interested in playing football. I'd question the mentality of lads leaving but in my opinion that's the biggest problem in Leitrim football. Weak mentality. If Poacher is trying to rise standards then fair play to him, the northern counties take football serious and its time we did too. If you come on here and criticise a result you are the worst in the world, #bekind. We need straight talkers running things and driving standards. 3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 353 - 05/01/2025 11:20:18 2584677 Link 2 |
You could say the same about Mayo though, not a hope of winning an All Ireland but they still go at it.
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 45 - 05/01/2025 13:23:16 2584695 Link 0 |
Damn right, time to focus on lads who want to play and the lists of lads not available for their own reasons we see constantly on posts here are irrelevant. Because if they wanted to play for Leitrim and were in a position to they would play no matter who is in charge. And if that means those committed players are beaten out the gate every week at least we know they tried their best for the jersey. Those that aren't in a position to play have their reasons. How many of us in our 20s would want to put in the commitment any of these players do even in the successful counties so you can understand the reluctance. All you get for it in your 50s and 60s are medals, worn out memories and crocked knees and hips The increasing demands on club footballers too will mean more and more walk away from it, it is after all meant to be a hobby. Better off touring the world during college breaks etc boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 45 - 05/01/2025 13:30:23 2584696 Link 1 |
leitrim not tge onluly county suffering from player defections, as I read on the Lindon forum that 4 of their key players are not available this year.
joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 521 - 05/01/2025 19:01:57 2584728 Link 0 |
Sorry Longford
joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 521 - 05/01/2025 21:16:13 2584731 Link 0 |