Leitrim GAA thread

Is Banty busy?
eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 266 - 09/10/2024 09:47:16

I'd say he has never been busier doing his bit for the country.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 875 - 09/10/2024 11:08:34    2573854

Replying To veterngaa:  "I doubt you lads will get to pick what manager you want …"
Same as Monaghan then so, Banty didn't even want yous.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 996 - 09/10/2024 11:09:17    2573855

i think O'Hara has a good chance of getting it. if not him then Dessie Dolan might be worth a punt.

pressure on the county board, a few sleepless nights had already no doubt and a few more to come.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 117 - 09/10/2024 11:09:24    2573856

Sorry to bust your bubble but there isn't a hope Dessie Dolan is going to Leitrim. He would have no interest. He left the Westmeath job because next year we are to struggle in Div 2 because we have 10+ lads retiring or moving abroad. You guys will struggle next year in div 3 so he would not put himself through that hardship.

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 486 - 09/10/2024 11:17:26    2573858

Replying To meathbasedfan:  "i think O'Hara has a good chance of getting it. if not him then Dessie Dolan might be worth a punt.

pressure on the county board, a few sleepless nights had already no doubt and a few more to come."
Apparently Dessie left Westmeath as they were going to lose several players to retirement and travelling and felt they were going to struggle in division 2. He'd be stepping into the same situation here so I'd doubt he'd be interested. If it's true about lack of player buy in that's very worrying next year is only the second year in nearly two decades we'll play outside of Division 4. If there's no buy in now will they ever be? This is bad all round no getting away from it.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 233 - 09/10/2024 11:24:56    2573859

Replying To Frank74:  "Lads, I think the poster who suggested Liam Keenan was a bit tongue in cheek.
He did nothing with Longford Slashers when he was with them and then he took charge of the Ardagh ladies half way through the season and got them relegated!"
Won a county title with Mohill

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 355 - 09/10/2024 11:31:40    2573861

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Apparently Dessie left Westmeath as they were going to lose several players to retirement and travelling and felt they were going to struggle in division 2. He'd be stepping into the same situation here so I'd doubt he'd be interested. If it's true about lack of player buy in that's very worrying next year is only the second year in nearly two decades we'll play outside of Division 4. If there's no buy in now will they ever be? This is bad all round no getting away from it."
Some of the players stepping away from the team have put years of service into it and got very little from it. I don't think its right to question their loyalty to the whole thing. Stepping away for various reasons

AverageFootball (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 09/10/2024 11:48:32    2573863

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Same as Monaghan then so, Banty didn't even want yous."
Good man! Manager couldn't even stay 3 months . Laughable

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 590 - 09/10/2024 11:51:29    2573864

Replying To Temple56:  "Sorry to bust your bubble but there isn't a hope Dessie Dolan is going to Leitrim. He would have no interest. He left the Westmeath job because next year we are to struggle in Div 2 because we have 10+ lads retiring or moving abroad. You guys will struggle next year in div 3 so he would not put himself through that hardship."
Exactly!! Its a thankless job up here im afraid like if he managed 2 keep ye in div3 he'd be a great fella 4 5 min but if and when they get relegated again he'll be the worst in the world. He'd want massive expenses travelling up here to look after ye!!

TJH (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 09/10/2024 12:13:38    2573867

Replying To AverageFootball:  "Some of the players stepping away from the team have put years of service into it and got very little from it. I don't think its right to question their loyalty to the whole thing. Stepping away for various reasons"
Not questioning it at all great servants all of them. It's just very hard to make any progress when we're losing players all the time especially in a county with a small pick . Rebuilding in a one of the strongest Division 3 groups in years will be a huge struggle. In those circumstances I wonder if O'Hara would want the job. Whatever the issues with Mickey Graham the timing of this is terrible.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 233 - 09/10/2024 12:30:06    2573870

Replying To B&G:  "Paddy Christie (knows D4 football ),
Liam Keenan (successful in club management)"
Do not for Christie he destroyed us players wouldn't committed for him and he had favourites maybe he will be different Leitrim but not sure. We got worse each year under him.

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 473 - 09/10/2024 12:30:39    2573872

Replying To MarysMan123:  "Bombshell news, Mickey Graham has stepped down from his role as Leitrim manager. This is massive shame as all the work over the past 1 year has been undone. We as a county need to move on and think about some potential replacements. Here are my suggestions.

James Glancy
Alan Flynn
Declan Darcy
Benny Guckian
Ryan Holmes
Eamonn O Hara
Mick Joyce
Dom Corrigan
Paddy Christy
Ray Barnevelt
Padraic Davis

This list is not exhaustive, but they're some brilliant proven managers that spring to mind. We need to get this appointment sorted asap as teams need to organise s and c, logistics, management teams etc."
Christie no way not great at all agree with some of the rest

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 473 - 09/10/2024 12:32:08    2573873

Replying To AverageFootball:  "Some of the players stepping away from the team have put years of service into it and got very little from it. I don't think its right to question their loyalty to the whole thing. Stepping away for various reasons"
It seems strange that lads who have put in years of service. Leave a squad when the opportunity to play in a higher division presents itself. Doesn't say much for a players ambition if this is the case.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 162 - 09/10/2024 12:43:02    2573878

Replying To Backheel:  "It seems strange that lads who have put in years of service. Leave a squad when the opportunity to play in a higher division presents itself. Doesn't say much for a players ambition if this is the case."
If all players stayed on the panel we would still struggle, thats the reality of it.
Do you want them to put their life on hold even more and go travelling in their 40's?

AverageFootball (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 09/10/2024 12:53:06    2573880

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "If Eslin win this weekend it will be the greatest shock since Bobby Ewing turned up in the shower"
Ya could be in for a shock

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 332 - 09/10/2024 13:32:00    2573883

Bit of a shock for Leitrim just when things were looking better, O'Hara might be the man to take it on now, he seems hungry for success could be the man to get the best out of what's there next season.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2985 - 09/10/2024 13:39:39    2573885

What about Gary Donohoe has had underage success and is highly popular in Cavan from his spell in charge with there underage. Has had a mixed bag with clubs but surely he'd be an option? Declan Bonner,O'Hara all good shouts

Weaternpro (Leitrim) - Posts: 62 - 09/10/2024 14:17:48    2573891

Replying To AverageFootball:  "If all players stayed on the panel we would still struggle, thats the reality of it.
Do you want them to put their life on hold even more and go travelling in their 40's?"
No but I find it strange that "elite" players would drop out at a higher standard. Doesn't reflect very well on the mindset of the player or players.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 162 - 09/10/2024 14:37:36    2573895

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Bit of a shock for Leitrim just when things were looking better, O'Hara might be the man to take it on now, he seems hungry for success could be the man to get the best out of what's there next season."
I think at this stage he could well be although I would rather Padraic Davis. It would be a natural progression for him and his network maybe better in terms of coaches, S&C etc.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 995 - 09/10/2024 14:38:14    2573896

It is strange that Coach Moran appeared to want to stay on and then departed and now Coach Graham has departed also. It is unfortunate to lose two county managers in one year. In fact maybe unheard of.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 274 - 09/10/2024 15:29:55    2573911