Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "What's the story with Mickey Graham, He hasn't named his backroom team yet and I along with others didn't see him in Ballinamore last Sunday. Wouldn't be surprised if he's having second thoughts and decided to walk out."
he was in Ballinamore, he was there early

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 117 - 08/10/2024 13:23:01    2573663

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "What's the story with Mickey Graham, He hasn't named his backroom team yet and I along with others didn't see him in Ballinamore last Sunday. Wouldn't be surprised if he's having second thoughts and decided to walk out."
He was there, is he taking the U20's as well, there seems to be a good few from last years panel eligible again.
I presume Martin McGowan will take the minor job after the Fr Manning success.

lecture250 (Leitrim) - Posts: 130 - 08/10/2024 14:32:02    2573677

Would ya not of been focused on the match itself rather than searching throughout the stand for another man?

DowraMart123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 9 - 08/10/2024 15:36:06    2573693

Predictions for Weekend

Annaduff vs Manorhamilton - Minor final. Been impressed with both teams so far. I think this game should be played before the senior county final. I am going bold with Annaduff to win by 2.

Eslin v Bornacoola. This will be without doubt a cracker. Bornacoola wont be able to stop Conor Beirne so for that reason I am going for the boors by 3.

Allen Gaels v Melvin Gaels. Wont be as good as the junior final. I can see a boring game here. Gaels to win by 3.

Ballinamore v Mohill. I can see this being a tight affair again. It will be within a score anyways. Mohills scoring power might be too much for Ballinamore but the McGoverns will be a massive addition. Mohill by 6.

leitrimfan123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 08/10/2024 15:45:21    2573697

Replying To DowraMart123:  "Would ya not of been focused on the match itself rather than searching throughout the stand for another man?"
Smart man, Game is only 30mins a half. Sure look time will only tell but from my years of following Leitrim football I would be surprised if he was manager when January comes around. No interaction at all from him over the championship.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 69 - 08/10/2024 15:52:40    2573700

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "Smart man, Game is only 30mins a half. Sure look time will only tell but from my years of following Leitrim football I would be surprised if he was manager when January comes around. No interaction at all from him over the championship."
In all fairness, there has never been a Leitrim senior manager that accepted a job and resigned without a game played.... least to my knowledge anyhow so I'm not sure where that's coming from. Yes he's been strangely quiet but who knows why that is and in fairness the man has a life & a job as well so for the minute we won't panic.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 995 - 08/10/2024 16:39:20    2573703

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "Smart man, Game is only 30mins a half. Sure look time will only tell but from my years of following Leitrim football I would be surprised if he was manager when January comes around. No interaction at all from him over the championship."
He isn't going to learn anything he doesn't already known by going but has to be seen at them.
Mohill will feel relieved to get a draw but definitely the better team over all the last day out. I think they will win by 2 points in the replay. Any movements on club managers yet?

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 407 - 08/10/2024 17:32:11    2573713

You fairly called that one right! Bit of a strange call to accept it and give it back all in the space of a few months. I wonder if he is to feature in another backroom team?

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 417 - 08/10/2024 19:31:27    2573733

Replying To Square_B:  "In all fairness, there has never been a Leitrim senior manager that accepted a job and resigned without a game played.... least to my knowledge anyhow so I'm not sure where that's coming from. Yes he's been strangely quiet but who knows why that is and in fairness the man has a life & a job as well so for the minute we won't panic."
Talk about a bolt out of the blue with the news coming out there in the last few minutes. There's a first.... back to the drawing board now which is so disappointing.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 995 - 08/10/2024 19:43:33    2573736

I see Mickey has pulled the plug, dog in the well somewhere

Weaternpro (Leitrim) - Posts: 62 - 08/10/2024 19:43:54    2573737

Bombshell news, Mickey Graham has stepped down from his role as Leitrim manager. This is massive shame as all the work over the past 1 year has been undone. We as a county need to move on and think about some potential replacements. Here are my suggestions.

James Glancy
Alan Flynn
Declan Darcy
Benny Guckian
Ryan Holmes
Eamonn O Hara
Mick Joyce
Dom Corrigan
Paddy Christy
Ray Barnevelt
Padraic Davis

This list is not exhaustive, but they're some brilliant proven managers that spring to mind. We need to get this appointment sorted asap as teams need to organise s and c, logistics, management teams etc.

MarysMan123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 14 - 08/10/2024 19:54:47    2573739

Fair play lad. You are in the know!!

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 322 - 08/10/2024 20:10:39    2573741

you got the lotto numbers bud??

So Mickey gone, where to next?!

AverageFootball (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 08/10/2024 20:21:15    2573744

Mickey Graham stepped down, that's pretty disastrous news. Who are we going to get at this stage?

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 233 - 08/10/2024 20:21:43    2573745

Replying To Square_B:  "In all fairness, there has never been a Leitrim senior manager that accepted a job and resigned without a game played.... least to my knowledge anyhow so I'm not sure where that's coming from. Yes he's been strangely quiet but who knows why that is and in fairness the man has a life & a job as well so for the minute we won't panic."
First time for everything

Some disaster

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 407 - 08/10/2024 20:32:33    2573752

He's gone is the answer to that one. The C/B will weave a fairytale of leaving no stone unturned, avoiding rash decisions, taking time to reflect and the usual lines of procrastination while trusting the process…..

We need a manager with some level of standing and experience and we're unlikely to attract Jim Gavin levels of standing. I have a tentative suggestion as to where to look - Dessie Dolan. Young with a modicum of experience and fresh ideas. You heard it first here.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 709 - 08/10/2024 20:35:06    2573754

Huge call unless you had inside info. I for one didn't see this coming and I hope it's not poor health or anything of that nature that led Mickey to his decision.

Where to now. It's crucial we get this right. I have a feeling it will be Eamon O'Hara who went for the job previously and now knows Leitrim football inside out. Win the championship on Saturday and you'd have to think he's a serious contender.

I would suggest any top manager out there that's available has already turned down other counties and I can't see Leitrim changing the minds of the top coaches. E.g James Horan allegedly turn down Derry, and I can only imagine the likes of Westmeath, Longford would have made a call to him also.

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 357 - 08/10/2024 20:37:19    2573756

List of candidates please?

Be realistic

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 407 - 08/10/2024 20:38:02    2573757

What happened lads???

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 590 - 08/10/2024 20:42:22    2573759

Replying To lugdrum:  "Huge call unless you had inside info. I for one didn't see this coming and I hope it's not poor health or anything of that nature that led Mickey to his decision.

Where to now. It's crucial we get this right. I have a feeling it will be Eamon O'Hara who went for the job previously and now knows Leitrim football inside out. Win the championship on Saturday and you'd have to think he's a serious contender.

I would suggest any top manager out there that's available has already turned down other counties and I can't see Leitrim changing the minds of the top coaches. E.g James Horan allegedly turn down Derry, and I can only imagine the likes of Westmeath, Longford would have made a call to him also."
Wasn't aware O'Hara had gone for it before, probably the best option at this moment in time. Has managed in the county the last 3 years and has brought Mohill to 3 county finals despite losing important players every year. Cant imagine the result on Saturday will have any bearing. Shame mickey has stepped down already, need to get this sorted out as soon as possible especially if November is to be a month of no contact!

Hatchetman76 (Leitrim) - Posts: 19 - 08/10/2024 21:10:56    2573766