Leitrim GAA thread

Two great semi finals to look forward too next weekend, Ballinamore will take great confidence from their second half performance today and will not fear St Mary's remember that they hammered them only 2 years ago in the semi final think Ballinamore have every chance and I'd love to see Fenagh come through the other semi but it's a toss of the coin with them and Mohill. Both games should be good and draw a big crowd as I think the 4 best teams are in the semis.
Gortletteragh look doomed, can't see them beating Aughnasheelin and it's probably for the best as they will be loosing a lot of players for next year and would be better off rebuilding in intermediate for a few year's.

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 17/09/2023 20:40:26    2504546

Replying To green.and.gold:  "Two great semi finals to look forward too next weekend, Ballinamore will take great confidence from their second half performance today and will not fear St Mary's remember that they hammered them only 2 years ago in the semi final think Ballinamore have every chance and I'd love to see Fenagh come through the other semi but it's a toss of the coin with them and Mohill. Both games should be good and draw a big crowd as I think the 4 best teams are in the semis.
Gortletteragh look doomed, can't see them beating Aughnasheelin and it's probably for the best as they will be loosing a lot of players for next year and would be better off rebuilding in intermediate for a few year's."
Who will gortletteragh be losing for next year?

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 337 - 18/09/2023 08:31:50    2504565

Replying To green.and.gold:  "Two great semi finals to look forward too next weekend, Ballinamore will take great confidence from their second half performance today and will not fear St Mary's remember that they hammered them only 2 years ago in the semi final think Ballinamore have every chance and I'd love to see Fenagh come through the other semi but it's a toss of the coin with them and Mohill. Both games should be good and draw a big crowd as I think the 4 best teams are in the semis.
Gortletteragh look doomed, can't see them beating Aughnasheelin and it's probably for the best as they will be loosing a lot of players for next year and would be better off rebuilding in intermediate for a few year's."
Gortletteragh are a very young team I was at the aughawillan game on sunday and it was there 18/19/20/21 year olds that were leading them on. Maybe two years in intermediate where there young players can develop could do them the world of good. I am told they have 5 lads coming up from minor next year and lots more numbers in the next few years after that. That is invaluable to a small rural parish. They stayed up in junior A this year which will really help them develop young players and have a third team in junior C. That's some going when you look at some of the big town teams that can't field a third team.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 324 - 18/09/2023 08:42:15    2504566

Very hard to call either games the mohill Fenagh game will be about how the backs will handle the forwards ,Jordan Reynolds will be a big boost,have Fenagh the back line to handle him and beirne,the Fenagh forward line if they get space will be ruthless,but they won't get the same space as against Leitrim,I think Soh will be a lot closer to Carrick than people are saying ,there a big physical team and the game yesterday will really help then if they can recover from the knocks and bangs yesterday,lst Mary's had one tough game against mohill wich meant nothing to play for ,

Redlad6 (Leitrim) - Posts: 30 - 18/09/2023 08:47:06    2504567

Replying To Thejampot:  "Who will gortletteragh be losing for next year?"
At least 5 starting players between retirements and oz. I'm told those emigrating will return for championship though.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 324 - 18/09/2023 12:54:33    2504598

I had a interesting discussion over the weekend with a few people I meet from other clubs and we justed chatted about different supporters from different clubs in the county and which club supporters we found to be awful bad mannered? Now every club has a few lunatics but just wondering what the consensus would be here? I always found Aughawillian and Drumkeerin supporters to be awful at games I attended but Allen Gael and Aughasheelin or even Glencar Manor supporters always had a bit of decency

Weaternpro (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 18/09/2023 13:31:42    2504606

In Leitrim we have 23 clubs with vastly different resources. 10 Senior, 10 Intermediate and 8 Junior.
It's easy to say we should have only 8 Senior clubs but that would have ment that one of Dromahair, Aughnasheelin or Gortletteragh would had a long depressing championship this year. Keeping players interested and motivated must be tough for some clubs when results don't go your way. The call of the high stool or travel abroad may be far more attractive.

We have to change the Championship format. First 2 things to change;
1. 2 teams should be promoted and relegated each year.
2. Get rid of relegation playoffs. They are abysmal depressing affairs that drain the souls of all involved. Bottom 2 demoted, county finalists promoted.

With this years relegation playoffs started, for the 2024 season I would stay with 10 teams in each Senior and Intermediate competition. I would change to 2 groups of 5. The teams would change depending on relegation results. For example;

Senior A
1st Mohill, (semi final)
2nd Marys, (semi final)
3rd Ballinamore, (quarter)
4th Leitrim Gaels, (quarter)
5th Fenagh, (rel to Sen B)

Senior B
1st Manor, (quarter)
2nd Aughawillian, (quarter)
3rd Dromahair,
4th Aughnasheelin, (Rel to Inter)
5th Gortletteragh. (Rel to Inter)

Looser of Ballinamore v Aughawillian and Leitrim Gaels v Manor quaterfinals would be relegated to Sen B.

Intermediate would be the same with Intermediate A and Intermediate B.

For the 2025 season I would propose changing to 6 teams in Senior A, 6 teams in Senior B and a total of 6 teams in Intermediate. That would mean 2 more Senior and Junior teams and 4 less Intermediate teams.
Again using this years results as a grading for examples:

Senior A
1st Mohill (semi)
2nd Mary's (semi)
3rd Ballinamore (quarter)
4th Leitrim Gaels (quarter)
5th Fenagh (rel to Sen B)
6th Manor (rel to Sen B)

Senior B
1st Aughawillian (Senior quarterfinal v Leitrim G)
2nd Dromahair (Senior quarter v Ballinamore)
3rd Aughnasheelin (Intermediate quarter v Ballinaglera)
4th Gortletteragh (Intermediate quarter v Kiltubrid)
Melvin Gaels (rel to Inter)
Allen Gaels (rel to Inter)

Intermediate
1st Annaduff (Inter semi)
2nd Carrigallen (Inter semi)
3rd Kiltubrid (quarter v Gortletteragh)
4th Ballinaglera (quarter v Aughnasheelin)
5th Drumkeeran (Rel to Junior)
6th Aughavas (Rel to Junior)

The losers of the Kiltubrid v Gortletteragh and Ballinaglera v Aughnasheelin quarterfinals would play Intermediate for the following season.

Key benefits;
Less hammering,
Stronger Intermediate and Junior Champions in Connacht.
Less dead rubber games.
No relegation playoffs.
Easier promotion opportunities.

Problems;
Instead of 20 teams involved in Senior and Intermediate championships, there will be 18. Risk of demotion to Junior will be high. Will smaller clubs object?

Leitrim2024 (Leitrim) - Posts: 61 - 18/09/2023 13:51:38    2504610

Replying To Weaternpro:  "I had a interesting discussion over the weekend with a few people I meet from other clubs and we justed chatted about different supporters from different clubs in the county and which club supporters we found to be awful bad mannered? Now every club has a few lunatics but just wondering what the consensus would be here? I always found Aughawillian and Drumkeerin supporters to be awful at games I attended but Allen Gael and Aughasheelin or even Glencar Manor supporters always had a bit of decency"
I played for 15 years the only issue we had with supporters was the lack of them!! Club games in other counties would have much better attendances.

Bearinthesquare14 (Leitrim) - Posts: 11 - 18/09/2023 18:36:21    2504669

Replying To Leitrim2024:  "In Leitrim we have 23 clubs with vastly different resources. 10 Senior, 10 Intermediate and 8 Junior.
It's easy to say we should have only 8 Senior clubs but that would have ment that one of Dromahair, Aughnasheelin or Gortletteragh would had a long depressing championship this year. Keeping players interested and motivated must be tough for some clubs when results don't go your way. The call of the high stool or travel abroad may be far more attractive.

We have to change the Championship format. First 2 things to change;
1. 2 teams should be promoted and relegated each year.
2. Get rid of relegation playoffs. They are abysmal depressing affairs that drain the souls of all involved. Bottom 2 demoted, county finalists promoted.

With this years relegation playoffs started, for the 2024 season I would stay with 10 teams in each Senior and Intermediate competition. I would change to 2 groups of 5. The teams would change depending on relegation results. For example;

Senior A
1st Mohill, (semi final)
2nd Marys, (semi final)
3rd Ballinamore, (quarter)
4th Leitrim Gaels, (quarter)
5th Fenagh, (rel to Sen B)

Senior B
1st Manor, (quarter)
2nd Aughawillian, (quarter)
3rd Dromahair,
4th Aughnasheelin, (Rel to Inter)
5th Gortletteragh. (Rel to Inter)

Looser of Ballinamore v Aughawillian and Leitrim Gaels v Manor quaterfinals would be relegated to Sen B.

Intermediate would be the same with Intermediate A and Intermediate B.

For the 2025 season I would propose changing to 6 teams in Senior A, 6 teams in Senior B and a total of 6 teams in Intermediate. That would mean 2 more Senior and Junior teams and 4 less Intermediate teams.
Again using this years results as a grading for examples:

Senior A
1st Mohill (semi)
2nd Mary's (semi)
3rd Ballinamore (quarter)
4th Leitrim Gaels (quarter)
5th Fenagh (rel to Sen B)
6th Manor (rel to Sen B)

Senior B
1st Aughawillian (Senior quarterfinal v Leitrim G)
2nd Dromahair (Senior quarter v Ballinamore)
3rd Aughnasheelin (Intermediate quarter v Ballinaglera)
4th Gortletteragh (Intermediate quarter v Kiltubrid)
Melvin Gaels (rel to Inter)
Allen Gaels (rel to Inter)

Intermediate
1st Annaduff (Inter semi)
2nd Carrigallen (Inter semi)
3rd Kiltubrid (quarter v Gortletteragh)
4th Ballinaglera (quarter v Aughnasheelin)
5th Drumkeeran (Rel to Junior)
6th Aughavas (Rel to Junior)

The losers of the Kiltubrid v Gortletteragh and Ballinaglera v Aughnasheelin quarterfinals would play Intermediate for the following season.

Key benefits;
Less hammering,
Stronger Intermediate and Junior Champions in Connacht.
Less dead rubber games.
No relegation playoffs.
Easier promotion opportunities.

Problems;
Instead of 20 teams involved in Senior and Intermediate championships, there will be 18. Risk of demotion to Junior will be high. Will smaller clubs object?"
I appreciate your effort. But very convoluted. I think 8 senior 10 intermediate would leave better balanced championship. One up one down and Playoff with Intermediate runner up and winner or relegation match.
Senior champ could be run as a league with top two in final or two groups of four possibly home and away with semis and final with top two from each group.
Inter two groups of 5 with quarter finals.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 165 - 18/09/2023 19:46:05    2504676

Any young lads to look out for from manor and Leitrim Gaels this week in the junior b game big game too

Honeyman2000 (Leitrim) - Posts: 13 - 18/09/2023 22:31:17    2504703

Mickey Graham coming on board with Andy a big boost

Weaternpro (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 18/09/2023 23:00:20    2504709

Great to see Mickey Graham has come on board. I honestly thought he wouldn't be interested but my god we badly need him. Its the shot in the arm we badly need. Let's be honest if he's not the defacto manager he should be. If things dont go our way next year, I have him in as manager anyhow. No excuses now, promotion has to be secured. Leitrim abu.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1013 - 18/09/2023 23:01:10    2504710

Replying To Square_B:  "Great to see Mickey Graham has come on board. I honestly thought he wouldn't be interested but my god we badly need him. Its the shot in the arm we badly need. Let's be honest if he's not the defacto manager he should be. If things dont go our way next year, I have him in as manager anyhow. No excuses now, promotion has to be secured. Leitrim abu."
Brilliant move by Moran to get Mickey Graham in. Shows great humility whatever way you look at it. They don't often get credit but fair play for the county board for facilitating this.

I understand your sentiment and frustration but the reality is Leitrim have no god given right to be promoted from Division Four. To think any other way is fairly ridiculous with our record over the last 20 years. When you consider the players we were missing for various reasons last year there was no chance of promotion.

If we can get O'Rourke, Beirne, Rooney and Jordan Reynolds into one forward line together then we will have a better forward unit then most teams in Div 3 and Four.

Goalkeeper is a real problem - I don't really see anyone of a high standard .

No 6 has been an issue for years now but I seen Plunkett play there for Aughawillan and he was carrying them from that position. He looks like the perfect solution his foot passing could open a lot of doors for our forwards and he would be an extra option from kickouts.

Moran has contacted David Bruen and Jack Gilheany but it's not looking great on that front which is a huge blow as both of them would walk into our first 15.

Paddy Maguire looks to be gone aswell which is a blow as he is one of Leitrims best ever in my opinion. Jack Heslin will also be departing for Australia.

From watching the club championship Shane Moran and Dean McGovern need to be brought back into the panel if they can commit.

Down from that I would give a lot of the younger players space to improve with the U20s and then bring them in if they are really ready to make an impact.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 312 - 19/09/2023 09:27:53    2504731

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "Brilliant move by Moran to get Mickey Graham in. Shows great humility whatever way you look at it. They don't often get credit but fair play for the county board for facilitating this.

I understand your sentiment and frustration but the reality is Leitrim have no god given right to be promoted from Division Four. To think any other way is fairly ridiculous with our record over the last 20 years. When you consider the players we were missing for various reasons last year there was no chance of promotion.

If we can get O'Rourke, Beirne, Rooney and Jordan Reynolds into one forward line together then we will have a better forward unit then most teams in Div 3 and Four.

No 6 has been an issue for years now but I seen Plunkett play there for Aughawillan and he was carrying them from that position. He looks like the perfect solution his foot passing could open a lot of doors for our forwards and he would be an extra option from kickouts.

Moran has contacted David Bruen and Jack Gilheany but it's not looking great on that front which is a huge blow as both of them would walk into our first 15.

Paddy Maguire looks to be gone aswell which is a blow as he is one of Leitrims best ever in my opinion. Jack Heslin will also be departing for Australia.

From watching the club championship Shane Moran and Dean McGovern need to be brought back into the panel if they can commit.

Down from that I would give a lot of the younger players space to improve with the U20s and then bring them in if they are really ready to make an impact."
Heslin will be a huge loss,one of our best players last year.When he runs at defence's he created huge problems for opposing teams.Whats the story with Bruen? Captain 2 years ago.If we had him and Casey back in defence they'd shore it up a bit as we conceded way too much last year.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 107 - 19/09/2023 11:33:47    2504781

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "Brilliant move by Moran to get Mickey Graham in. Shows great humility whatever way you look at it. They don't often get credit but fair play for the county board for facilitating this.

Down from that I would give a lot of the younger players space to improve with the U20s and then bring them in if they are really ready to make an impact."
No team has any given right to anything but the goal absolutely has to be promotion. If it's not what are we bothering for otherwise? At this stage there really isn't any excuses, this team is good enough... it's been well discussed here about the management so we won't go over that again. I wouldn't disagree with the rest of your comments.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1013 - 19/09/2023 11:58:40    2504790

What do ye bucks think of the Micky Graham appointment?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1899 - 19/09/2023 13:19:59    2504805

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "What do ye bucks think of the Micky Graham appointment?"
A great appointment for sure, remains to be seen whether it will entice lads back who have previously opted out. We are at a low ebb at the moment here so any boost is welcome...

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 560 - 19/09/2023 19:33:22    2504863

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "What do ye bucks think of the Micky Graham appointment?"
great appointment, a serial winner with the right mentality. we're lucky to get him,

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 120 - 20/09/2023 10:19:45    2504895

A good appointment b not sure having a number two better than your number 1 works.

Did work previously with Moran and Solan number two.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1184 - 20/09/2023 11:01:43    2504902

Replying To sourmilk93:  "A good appointment b not sure having a number two better than your number 1 works.

Did work previously with Moran and Solan number two."
No love in Roscommon for Andy!!

Anyway let's see how it goes.

Two fine people

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 504 - 20/09/2023 14:37:48    2504955