Leitrim GAA thread

Big surprise to see Emlyn Mulligan playing last night. Didnt think he would be among the top forwards in the county at this stage of his career. Especially with the amount of quality free takers available.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 04/01/2022 09:53:53    2393520

Replying To Backheel:  "Big surprise to see Emlyn Mulligan playing last night. Didnt think he would be among the top forwards in the county at this stage of his career. Especially with the amount of quality free takers available."
I believe he was taken off too, I suppose Moran is experimenting and will drop those not good enough off the panel, so that may be what is happening here.

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 04/01/2022 10:04:52    2393522

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "Hard to believe you'd score 1-17 and lose a game but that was the case last night isn't them. The jury remains out on this managerial appointment"
Particularly when promotion should be the target... beating Sligo would have been a good early bar to set a for a team described by many as the best since 94'. However there seems to be a few lads still missing from the panel and I'd hope that there will be additions in the next week or so (I'd hope that anyone missing is for genuine reasons). Cavan will be a tougher test and a game we'll need to get a result out of.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 04/01/2022 10:56:20    2393527

Replying To Square_B:  "Particularly when promotion should be the target... beating Sligo would have been a good early bar to set a for a team described by many as the best since 94'. However there seems to be a few lads still missing from the panel and I'd hope that there will be additions in the next week or so (I'd hope that anyone missing is for genuine reasons). Cavan will be a tougher test and a game we'll need to get a result out of."
Oh now I am a bit dubious about best team since 94 talk. There's no backing to that at all. Let them get to a Connacht final like the team in 2000 did and then we'll see about their legacy

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 04/01/2022 11:47:47    2393532

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "Oh now I am a bit dubious about best team since 94 talk. There's no backing to that at all. Let them get to a Connacht final like the team in 2000 did and then we'll see about their legacy"
I wouldn't disagree with you now in fairness. I've heard the expression banded about freely recently... it fits nicely in with the whole Moran narrative. We'll see how things go... but IMO that game should have been one for the winning. Sligo are going to be gunning for promotion as well and these are the marks we need to be setting. Another game in the FBD would have done us no harm in the run up to the Cavan game.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 04/01/2022 13:02:34    2393543

Replying To Square_B:  "Particularly when promotion should be the target... beating Sligo would have been a good early bar to set a for a team described by many as the best since 94'. However there seems to be a few lads still missing from the panel and I'd hope that there will be additions in the next week or so (I'd hope that anyone missing is for genuine reasons). Cavan will be a tougher test and a game we'll need to get a result out of."
As a Galway man I was fascinated by the Moran appointment, I think there is a lot of potential in Leitrim but it'll be interested to see if Moran can "walk the walk". Having seen the game last night Leitrim were excellent and played some great football for 10 minute spells in both the first and second half. Not enough, granted, but for the first week of Jan it was encouraging.

I am curious though as to why people think this is Leitrim's best team since 94? Is this on the basis of the optimism on the back of the Moran appointment or a genuinely stronger squad?

All the best for 2022!

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 04/01/2022 14:01:43    2393547

No Evidence of this team being anywhere near the quality of Mickey Moran Dessie Dolan teams yet. Those teams were competitive against most teams including Mayo, Galway, Meath Donegal and beating Rossies in the Championship and always played above Div 4.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 04/01/2022 14:05:06    2393549

Replying To Square_B:  "I wouldn't disagree with you now in fairness. I've heard the expression banded about freely recently... it fits nicely in with the whole Moran narrative. We'll see how things go... but IMO that game should have been one for the winning. Sligo are going to be gunning for promotion as well and these are the marks we need to be setting. Another game in the FBD would have done us no harm in the run up to the Cavan game."
Agreed, another game would have been a big help and in fairness we should be beating Sligo if we have any ambition, but they'd be saying the same

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 04/01/2022 14:06:43    2393550

Replying To Square_B:  "I wouldn't disagree with you now in fairness. I've heard the expression banded about freely recently... it fits nicely in with the whole Moran narrative. We'll see how things go... but IMO that game should have been one for the winning. Sligo are going to be gunning for promotion as well and these are the marks we need to be setting. Another game in the FBD would have done us no harm in the run up to the Cavan game."
nah, the 94 team would have grinded out a result there last night. the black card likely put us on the back foot for too long to stay in the game and put enough pressure on them but Sligo never looked like losing to me.
big ask of the team to get promoted this year with the quality of teams to compete with

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 457 - 04/01/2022 14:44:44    2393559

Hard luck Andy and players, have to say Mulligan is still the best player in Leitrim and expect him come on loads the next day. Andy has his sights set on London where for once ye will be odds on to win a championship game.

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 97 - 04/01/2022 15:32:37    2393566

Replying To ahsure.:  "As a Galway man I was fascinated by the Moran appointment, I think there is a lot of potential in Leitrim but it'll be interested to see if Moran can "walk the walk". Having seen the game last night Leitrim were excellent and played some great football for 10 minute spells in both the first and second half. Not enough, granted, but for the first week of Jan it was encouraging.

I am curious though as to why people think this is Leitrim's best team since 94? Is this on the basis of the optimism on the back of the Moran appointment or a genuinely stronger squad?

All the best for 2022!"
Pure optimism on the back of Moran's appointment. The powers that be have to say something nonsensical like that to justify the cost of the management team... there's no doubt we have some fantastic individuals but not enough of them obviously. That being said it's up to Moran and the backroom team to get the best out of them. My views are well known on this thread... I hope it works out but we really needed to be beating Sligo yesterday and by all accounts, it just wasn't the positive start I was looking for after all the fanfare surrounding his appointment.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 04/01/2022 16:10:56    2393575

Replying To Keephimthere:  "Hard luck Andy and players, have to say Mulligan is still the best player in Leitrim and expect him come on loads the next day. Andy has his sights set on London where for once ye will be odds on to win a championship game."
I'm afraid you don't know much about football, there's much more space for posters of your similar calibre on your own thread.

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 04/01/2022 16:50:26    2393588

If I were a Leitrim fan I wouldn't be reading anything much into last nights game. The FBD league is a glorified audition for fringe and new players for every team. I'd be looking at individual performances rather than the team result.

Gaining promotion in the league is where it counts.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 04/01/2022 17:49:08    2393597

Replying To yew_tree:  "If I were a Leitrim fan I wouldn't be reading anything much into last nights game. The FBD league is a glorified audition for fringe and new players for every team. I'd be looking at individual performances rather than the team result.

Gaining promotion in the league is where it counts."
This is the big difference between senior and intermediate sides. (Or strong and weak counties) This is close to Leitrims first team. The League is our primary competition. So this competition is vital for our preparation. The Championship means nothing to us. Except a night out in London. Your Living in an alternate reality Yew.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 05/01/2022 11:35:00    2393646

Replying To Backheel:  "This is the big difference between senior and intermediate sides. (Or strong and weak counties) This is close to Leitrims first team. The League is our primary competition. So this competition is vital for our preparation. The Championship means nothing to us. Except a night out in London. Your Living in an alternate reality Yew."
An extra game or two in the FBD ain't going to make of break your league season. I'd imagine friendly games will have been lined up….

You said the championship means nothing to Leitrim. Out of interest do you favour a tired championship?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 05/01/2022 13:15:24    2393668

Replying To yew_tree:  "If I were a Leitrim fan I wouldn't be reading anything much into last nights game. The FBD league is a glorified audition for fringe and new players for every team. I'd be looking at individual performances rather than the team result.

Gaining promotion in the league is where it counts."
Aye perhaps for teams like Mayo that could put out a 'C' team to fulfil the fixtures and try out a few new lads to give the lads who've been playing all year a break. No such luxury in Leitrim... there might be a few more additions to the panel but I doubt there will be too many. We could have done with winning against Sligo and the extra game in the FBD in the lead up to league. Our season could be over in the first two games (Cavan & Tipperary) so we can ill afford to be experimenting too much. There's serious expectations from this management team... we're not spending large sums for the craic.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 05/01/2022 13:36:51    2393674

Replying To Keephimthere:  "Hard luck Andy and players, have to say Mulligan is still the best player in Leitrim and expect him come on loads the next day. Andy has his sights set on London where for once ye will be odds on to win a championship game."
Mulligan was a great player. Past tense.
Saw him play club football this year and unfortunately the body is past it. If he is your best player your I serious trouble I doubt he will be starting

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 05/01/2022 14:21:17    2393688

Replying To eoinog:  "Mulligan was a great player. Past tense.
Saw him play club football this year and unfortunately the body is past it. If he is your best player your I serious trouble I doubt he will be starting"
Don't mind that fella, he is only rising the thing

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 05/01/2022 15:51:50    2393712

Where is Mulligan playing his club football this year?

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 340 - 05/01/2022 17:45:43    2393731

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "Don't mind that fella, he is only rising the thing"
Says Marmalade farmer!! :-)

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 05/01/2022 19:58:34    2393750