Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To Headhunter85:  "Bring back Fergal O'Donnell as senior manager. Nobody else within Roscommon capable of it I think, unless someone like Nigel Dineen puts his name forward, had some success at underage level. Fergal the only Rossie for the job though. Other than that we'd have to look outside the county and if we do that then we should do it properly and get a big name in."
Fergal is tied up to Sligo club football and only ever see him returning as Roscommon underage manager.

I doubt Nigel Dineen will throw his hat into the ring again after the way we was treated the last time with the county board. Who's behind the outright manager more important than ever. Can we afford a top level defensive coach is the main question.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 03/08/2022 15:53:03    2436046

Kevin Walsh for ye lads

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 03/08/2022 16:03:10    2436048

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Anthony has stepped down this morning"
Sorry to hear that Anthony Cunningham has stepped down. Brought us up to division 1 on two occasions. I personally will never forget the scenes in Castlebar in 2019 when we beat Mayo to end a 33 year wait, and when we went on the win the Connacht final in Pearse Stadium.

You cannot really judge a management team when two years of their time were played during Covid. Thanks Anthony for all your time and and genuine effort with the Rossies over the last four years. The county board will have great difficulty replacing you with a manager who has the same experience and know-how of managing teams in division 1 and at All Ireland finals.

An old manager of mine once said to me: "I do not want to hear from you with your problems unless you come up with better solutions". At least one poster on this forum has called for you to go at least 20 times. I would be very interested to hear from him/her now, to see who s/he suggests should get the job.
Very easy to be critical all the time without offering better and realistic solutions.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 505 - 03/08/2022 16:21:09    2436054

Replying To The_analyser:  "Between this and rubbish you posted on the Mayo thread it's probably for the best for you to stick to the Leitrim thread."
Oh right. Good lad. Dont like other people knowing things before you is it? If that's the case can you please stop posting on Leitrim thread too. Thanks.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 03/08/2022 16:26:20    2436055

Replying To ahsure.:  "Kevin Walsh for ye lads"
We could do a lot worse.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 03/08/2022 16:31:02    2436058

I may well be the only one, but I would love to see John Maughan back. The Connacht titles of recent years were harvested from the roots he sowed. His shake up brought us against our will from the days of pints and burgers into the world of serious, almost professional, division 1 intercounty football. AC fair play to him too , a decent man who did well overall. Anyway there should be good CVs on the way, and good days to come.

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 97 - 03/08/2022 16:31:23    2436059

Nigel Dineen was a great footballer but would be completely out of his depth managing a Div 1 or 2 team. The U21 side he managed were a great group of players but that was the good days when you could go far with letting talented players play with abandon. I wouldn't say that team got to those All Irelands due to shrewd tactics. Those finals are nearly ten years ago now and if you look at the managers and coaches that are involved with Div 1 teams, they are tactically astute, think about the game in great depth and command a respect from their teams through previous achievements either as players or managers or both.

Whatever the coaching ticket is, it would be great to have someone involved that has tasted AI success either as a player or coach. Not that I think we would go off and win an AI but to have someone who knows what it takes for a team to compete in the top 8 and to instill confidence in a team, especially when it comes to matches in Croke Park.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 03/08/2022 16:37:20    2436061

Replying To The_analyser:  "Fergal is tied up to Sligo club football and only ever see him returning as Roscommon underage manager.

I doubt Nigel Dineen will throw his hat into the ring again after the way we was treated the last time with the county board. Who's behind the outright manager more important than ever. Can we afford a top level defensive coach is the main question."
I wonder the same, can we actually afford the coaches/managers that are needed to bring Roscommon to the next level. I doubt Roscommon could afford Joyces or McGeeny's backroom teams or Mayo's.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 03/08/2022 16:40:20    2436062

Replying To ahsure.:  "Kevin Walsh for ye lads"
Might not be easy on the eye but he would get results. Can't see him managing another Connacht team now.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 03/08/2022 16:43:21    2436064

There is no obvious candidate within the county who could take the reigns. Talk of Fergie o Donnell and Nigel Dineen who have done little or nothing in recent years to merit getting the job is ridiculous. Pat Flanagan who has achieved far more would be more worthy of it given what he has achieved with Pearses.

I would daresay that county board have already somebody in place and Mick Bohan Dublin ladies manager was the preferred choice the last time but he stayed with Dublin ladies and he is still the preferred candidate with the majority of the executive apparently.. Rumour has it Dessie Farrell is staying with Dublin for another year so unless he gets a selector role he will be available.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 273 - 03/08/2022 16:46:34    2436067

Anthony Cunningham linked with Offaly hurling job. A gentleman. Saw him in shop in Frenchpark after Galway game this year. One of the few bright spots in that day! I'll never forget the game in 2019 when Rossies refused to take a backward step in McHale Park. Never nice losing but it was a great hard-hitting game and Anthony Cunningham had ye firing great that night. Too late now but would love to see a man of his experience in a Mayo backroom.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 03/08/2022 16:49:20    2436068

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Anthony Cunningham linked with Offaly hurling job. A gentleman. Saw him in shop in Frenchpark after Galway game this year. One of the few bright spots in that day! I'll never forget the game in 2019 when Rossies refused to take a backward step in McHale Park. Never nice losing but it was a great hard-hitting game and Anthony Cunningham had ye firing great that night. Too late now but would love to see a man of his experience in a Mayo backroom."
A brilliant steely performance that night in McHale alright! He'd be a great addition to any backroom setup. It's the first time in a good while I can't remember a Roscommon manager falling out with players.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 03/08/2022 17:00:55    2436071

Typo ...Not falling out with players!

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 03/08/2022 17:16:50    2436074

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "There is no obvious candidate within the county who could take the reigns. Talk of Fergie o Donnell and Nigel Dineen who have done little or nothing in recent years to merit getting the job is ridiculous. Pat Flanagan who has achieved far more would be more worthy of it given what he has achieved with Pearses.

I would daresay that county board have already somebody in place and Mick Bohan Dublin ladies manager was the preferred choice the last time but he stayed with Dublin ladies and he is still the preferred candidate with the majority of the executive apparently.. Rumour has it Dessie Farrell is staying with Dublin for another year so unless he gets a selector role he will be available."
They have no one in place they left it to AC to decide what he was doing

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 03/08/2022 17:26:37    2436076

The cake will surely put his name forward. He almost had the Fermanagh job last season. If going outside would a punt on someone like Peter canavan or Donaghy be worth trying? Maybe even the ex Antrim manger he comes across very well on TV

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 03/08/2022 17:29:50    2436078

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "There is no obvious candidate within the county who could take the reigns. Talk of Fergie o Donnell and Nigel Dineen who have done little or nothing in recent years to merit getting the job is ridiculous. Pat Flanagan who has achieved far more would be more worthy of it given what he has achieved with Pearses.

I would daresay that county board have already somebody in place and Mick Bohan Dublin ladies manager was the preferred choice the last time but he stayed with Dublin ladies and he is still the preferred candidate with the majority of the executive apparently.. Rumour has it Dessie Farrell is staying with Dublin for another year so unless he gets a selector role he will be available."
Mick Bohan going in with meath

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 03/08/2022 18:08:30    2436081

Replying To sourmilk93:  "

I would consider Solan ticket if he left O Hara in Sligo"
Solan is #2 in Leitrim. Maybe the reason Mayo will not go for him.
Roscommon should wait until Mayo appoint a manager and see who is available then.
Andy Moran might be a good option. He has cut his teeth in intercounty management and might be interested in testing himself at a higher level.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 03/08/2022 18:56:30    2436088

Replying To howdareu:  "Oh right. Good lad. Dont like other people knowing things before you is it? If that's the case can you please stop posting on Leitrim thread too. Thanks."
Wrong. I don't like hear rumours and lads from Leitrim posting it up here. I deal with factual info from the horses mouth. Anthony Cunningham met with a county board official yesterday to let them know that he wasn't seeking extension on two year term that ended in June. The county board then left it until this morning to confirm yesterday news which by reading back you can see I replied such info to Seanfanbocht yesterday on here.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 03/08/2022 19:27:48    2436094

Replying To Keephimthere:  "I may well be the only one, but I would love to see John Maughan back. The Connacht titles of recent years were harvested from the roots he sowed. His shake up brought us against our will from the days of pints and burgers into the world of serious, almost professional, division 1 intercounty football. AC fair play to him too , a decent man who did well overall. Anyway there should be good CVs on the way, and good days to come."
Yes you will be the only, giving credit to Maughan for the Connacht titles won in recent years is very humorous so thanks for that I needed a good laugh.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 03/08/2022 19:33:50    2436096

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "I wonder the same, can we actually afford the coaches/managers that are needed to bring Roscommon to the next level. I doubt Roscommon could afford Joyces or McGeeny's backroom teams or Mayo's."
Id hazard a guess that your finances are in better shape that ours. I think there is a lot of goodwill in Roscommon and a good co board, ye should be aiming high.

I know I mentioned Kevin Walsh above, I think he would be a super fit as there is enough talent in Ros to make an impact in 2023.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 03/08/2022 19:54:59    2436099