Roscommon GAA thread

If given a choice Roscommon supporters, would ye not rather Andy Moran being involved rather than The Shopkeeper's return?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 04/08/2022 11:47:54    2436163

Replying To howdareu:  "Yes. I am as i was in college with them. Again you have tried to belittle me with your response. Its tiresome and I am not a wum. Just because I dont agree with you or know more than you doesn't make me a wum. Please stop trying to belittle people. As a matter of interest how have I "been found out?""
Ignore him no one listens to him. I am going to set up a second thread for the roscommon club championship as this will be dominated by the management

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 04/08/2022 11:49:53    2436166

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Ignore him no one listens to him. I am going to set up a second thread for the roscommon club championship as this will be dominated by the management"
I agree with you. 99% of ros people are sound as a bell like every other county. But there is always one as they say. Yea I see yer championship starting this weekend. Good weather forecast too so should be few good games in store!

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 04/08/2022 12:44:38    2436183

Wasn't Frankie Dolan in the running a few years ago? Or have I made that up

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1571 - 04/08/2022 12:47:41    2436184

Replying To howdareu:  "I agree with you. 99% of ros people are sound as a bell like every other county. But there is always one as they say. Yea I see yer championship starting this weekend. Good weather forecast too so should be few good games in store!"
What you said over on the Leitrim thread when another chap wanted to discuss the club games.

Its all so nail biting. It'll be like a super Sunday on sky. Wonder will shannonside have reporters at any of the games to keep us posted. I for one, can't wait please. Thank you.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 04/08/2022 13:06:52    2436186

Replying To ahsure.:  "Wasn't Frankie Dolan in the running a few years ago? Or have I made that up"
Good Lord help us if he gets the job !

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1079 - 04/08/2022 13:16:32    2436189

Replying To ahsure.:  "Wasn't Frankie Dolan in the running a few years ago? Or have I made that up"
Linked in the media but wasn't interviewed, he was involved with Roscommon underage teams in the past, Roscommon Gaels manager this year no easy task for him with a number of first choice players overseas.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3753 - 04/08/2022 13:22:43    2436192

Replying To moros:  "Good Lord help us if he gets the job !"
His actually very decent.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 04/08/2022 13:34:18    2436194

Replying To reffingmad:  "Mick Bohan going in with meath"
I don't think so and as I stated yesterday county board have already sounded him out as early as the week after the Clare defeat and he is their preferred choice . All depends on the Dublin set up for next year. Paddy Christie ex Dublin full back and former Tipperary coach is likely to be part of his backroom team along with one of the current members of his ladies backroom team..

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 273 - 04/08/2022 13:36:35    2436196

Replying To GreenandRed:  "If given a choice Roscommon supporters, would ye not rather Andy Moran being involved rather than The Shopkeeper's return?"
I think Andy Moran would be a good coach, very intelligent player and surely would bring that to the table. I'm not sure if his management credentials yet, still unproven.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 04/08/2022 13:51:50    2436200

Replying To Yondu:  "So much of the view that Anthony Cunningham wouldn't step down. Ithink it was mostly endgame that had that opinion based on him not wanting to leave Galway as he knew that Galway team he built had All-Ireland in them. A different story with Roscommon clearly.

Some odd belittling of what Nigel Dineen achieved at U21 level with Roscommon. When if ever will Roscommon reach two All-Ireland finals in 3 years again at any level? and was unlucky to lose the 2013 Connacht title and with no Dublin in the final that could have been All-Ireland title won. Roscommon had arguably better U21 teams 2008 to 2011 and they didn't do as well or achieved as much.

I think Fergal O'Donnell who gave years of service as a player and manager deserve respect and if available should be asked to be involved in the management team of whoever is the new manager."
It was a great achievement with the U21s but from what I heard it was very light touch coaching. Which I actually favour but the reality is that will get you no where the way the modern game is played unfortunately.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 04/08/2022 13:53:55    2436203

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "I don't think so and as I stated yesterday county board have already sounded him out as early as the week after the Clare defeat and he is their preferred choice . All depends on the Dublin set up for next year. Paddy Christie ex Dublin full back and former Tipperary coach is likely to be part of his backroom team along with one of the current members of his ladies backroom team.."
sourmilk93 told you yesterday that your county board had nobody in place and he seems to be well informed on Roscommon matters.

Bohan wouldn't come cheap and he'd come with a large management team. I don't think Roscommon have the money to afford appointment like that and their preferred choice would be likely something as daft as 2018 when they headed up north.

@MachaireConnacht whatever the grade you don't win Connacht titles with light tough coaching.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 04/08/2022 14:29:32    2436211

Replying To endgame:  "Yondu. What do you think the last 7.5 weeks since the Clare game were about. Anthony Cunningham should have gone after the Clare defeat. As it is now, Roscommon have lost nearly 2 months in the search for a new Manager and I blame the County Board for that. I agree with the other points you make. Nigel Dineen did outstandingly well with the Roscommon U21s. 2 Connacht titles and 2 All Ireland U21 Final appearances 2012-2014 is an outstanding record and it must be remembered that we lost both of those Finals to star studded Dublin teams many of whose players went on to backbone the 6 in a row Dublin senior team. Agree we were unlucky in 2013. We lost that Connacht U21 Final in extra time to eventual All Ireland champions Galway. I also agree with your comments about Fergal O'Donnell. He brought Roscommon minors from nowhere to win the 2006 All Ireland title and he won the 2010 senior Connacht title with a Roscommon team that was at the time in the lower reaches of the League. He has much to offer but it seems that Fergal may be estranged from the Roscommon County Board since the breakup with Kevin McStay in 2016."
Endgame. After posting endless posts over several months saying that Anthony Cunningham would not resign but definitely should resign, are you seriously suggesting that giving the managers job to either Nigel Dineen or Fergal O' Donnell would be a marked improvement. If that is the best you can up with after reading all your repeated posts, you are badly mistaken in my opinion. I have nothing against Fergal of Nigel (both did very well with good Roscommon underage teams many years ago) but managing a minor / under 21 team is not the same as managing a division 1 team and looking to be very competitive. If you have someone else in mind for the job that is available (Not Jim Galvin etc.), and better / more experienced that AC, that would not break the budget, well lets hear from you. It is important to be realistic about these matters as the options may be limited and an improvement is certainly not guaranteed.

I personally do not know Anthony Cunningham or have an inside link into what is going on inside the Roscommon camp as I am a Rossie living in Dublin. I do think that you analysis is obviously biased for some reason. Roscommon were the only team in all four divisions who were undefeated in the national league, won division 2 and were promoted, and were only beaten by 3 points by a very good Galway team who were very competitive in the All Ireland Final. The team played very well in the second half against Clare but had a very bad last five minutes and unfortunately had no time to recover when Clare went ahead. A bad five minutes can happen any team as happened to Galway against both Armagh and Kerry. We played some great football during the national league, our S&C improved a lot this year as proven by our second half performances against Galway in the Connacht final, Division 2 final, and also against Clare. (Best second half team in all those important matches). We also introduced several new players into the team this year while other younger players were given a run out in the FPD Insurance league.

Anyone who knows anything about management knows that the time to make important decisions is not when your emotions are running high and are somewhat disturbed. Anthony Cunningham took his time and showed some emotional intelligent by not rushing into an important decision immediately after the Clare game. At least give AC some credit for doing what you have being asking him to do for months rather than have another go at him.

My guess is that AC knew that we needed a good defensive coach in order to improve matters but some of the best defensive coaches were not available. (Tally in Kerry, Donie Buckley on the Kevin McStay ticket in Mayo etc). For all we know AC could well having been working very hard during the last few week trying to come up with some positive solutions.

I would like to finish by thanking Anthony Cunningham for all he hard work over the last four years and for giving us some great days out. The best of luck in the future Anthony. (Except when playing the Rossies).

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 503 - 04/08/2022 17:40:15    2436241

We've been blaming managers for years n Roscommon players need to take a bit of responsibility too imo far Too easy to go missing in a game and let management take the heat - whoever comes in next needs to instill a bit of accountability into the group

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 04/08/2022 20:02:05    2436256

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Endgame. After posting endless posts over several months saying that Anthony Cunningham would not resign but definitely should resign, are you seriously suggesting that giving the managers job to either Nigel Dineen or Fergal O' Donnell would be a marked improvement. If that is the best you can up with after reading all your repeated posts, you are badly mistaken in my opinion. I have nothing against Fergal of Nigel (both did very well with good Roscommon underage teams many years ago) but managing a minor / under 21 team is not the same as managing a division 1 team and looking to be very competitive. If you have someone else in mind for the job that is available (Not Jim Galvin etc.), and better / more experienced that AC, that would not break the budget, well lets hear from you. It is important to be realistic about these matters as the options may be limited and an improvement is certainly not guaranteed.

I personally do not know Anthony Cunningham or have an inside link into what is going on inside the Roscommon camp as I am a Rossie living in Dublin. I do think that you analysis is obviously biased for some reason. Roscommon were the only team in all four divisions who were undefeated in the national league, won division 2 and were promoted, and were only beaten by 3 points by a very good Galway team who were very competitive in the All Ireland Final. The team played very well in the second half against Clare but had a very bad last five minutes and unfortunately had no time to recover when Clare went ahead. A bad five minutes can happen any team as happened to Galway against both Armagh and Kerry. We played some great football during the national league, our S&C improved a lot this year as proven by our second half performances against Galway in the Connacht final, Division 2 final, and also against Clare. (Best second half team in all those important matches). We also introduced several new players into the team this year while other younger players were given a run out in the FPD Insurance league.

Anyone who knows anything about management knows that the time to make important decisions is not when your emotions are running high and are somewhat disturbed. Anthony Cunningham took his time and showed some emotional intelligent by not rushing into an important decision immediately after the Clare game. At least give AC some credit for doing what you have being asking him to do for months rather than have another go at him.

My guess is that AC knew that we needed a good defensive coach in order to improve matters but some of the best defensive coaches were not available. (Tally in Kerry, Donie Buckley on the Kevin McStay ticket in Mayo etc). For all we know AC could well having been working very hard during the last few week trying to come up with some positive solutions.

I would like to finish by thanking Anthony Cunningham for all he hard work over the last four years and for giving us some great days out. The best of luck in the future Anthony. (Except when playing the Rossies)."
As Kevin McStay also pointed out, it is tough being a manager in a smaller county that is trying to punch above its weight with regard to getting the necessary resources to get to the next level. Obviously a lot has been done on S and C and AC tried to get a handle on the defensive frailties by bringing in Poacher. That didn't work out and who knows he may have had some others in mind that you listed who were not available or the county board said we can't afford them. The reality is when you want to break through into that top 6 or 8 level you need resources. Galway have been operating at a similar level to Ros in recent times (Granted we don't have players of the calibre of Walsh) but this year Joyce brought in C O'Neill and B Dunne. That does not come cheaply.

The talk of us under achieving with the players who came through the two U21 all Ireland finals fails to take into consideration that a lot of those players have played under three or four different management regimes now. This is not an AC problem. I'm not saying that all responsibility rests with the players either. If they were in a county where more resources are available for coaching, conditioning and team prep like Galway or Mayo maybe those players would have reached another level.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 05/08/2022 12:10:40    2436309

Replying To rossy15:  "We've been blaming managers for years n Roscommon players need to take a bit of responsibility too imo far Too easy to go missing in a game and let management take the heat - whoever comes in next needs to instill a bit of accountability into the group"
Good management would be to drop those kind of players.
Covid didn't help but basically the bunch of 23 to 26 year olds that AC took over didn't improve in the main by the time they became 26 to 29 year olds.
We've consistently been a 7th to 10th League team yo yoing between 1st and 2nd Divisions while we were mainly unimpressive in Championship last 7 years.
Two brief periods we achieved... July 2017 and May/June 2019.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1415 - 05/08/2022 12:25:42    2436313

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Endgame. After posting endless posts over several months saying that Anthony Cunningham would not resign but definitely should resign, are you seriously suggesting that giving the managers job to either Nigel Dineen or Fergal O' Donnell would be a marked improvement. If that is the best you can up with after reading all your repeated posts, you are badly mistaken in my opinion. I have nothing against Fergal of Nigel (both did very well with good Roscommon underage teams many years ago) but managing a minor / under 21 team is not the same as managing a division 1 team and looking to be very competitive. If you have someone else in mind for the job that is available (Not Jim Galvin etc.), and better / more experienced that AC, that would not break the budget, well lets hear from you. It is important to be realistic about these matters as the options may be limited and an improvement is certainly not guaranteed.

I would like to finish by thanking Anthony Cunningham for all he hard work over the last four years and for giving us some great days out. The best of luck in the future Anthony. (Except when playing the Rossies)."
I was of the view that Anthony Cunningham should go because the results have not been good enough. If you think the results have been good enough, then we respectfully disagree. I was of the view that Anthony Cunningham would not want to go and I suppose that's why it took 7.5 weeks. Fergal O'Donnell , in addition to underage success, managed Roscommon to the Connacht senior title in 2010 and that team gave Cork a good run for their money in the All Ireland quarter final. Cork were that year's All Ireland champions. O'Donnell is a good Manager but I don't think he'll be putting his name forward. I would favour an internal candidate. Nearly all successful gaa Managers have managed their native county. Cody in Kilkenny, O'Dwyer in Kerry, Boylan in Meath, Gavin in Dublin. I would like to see a Roscommon native take the job. As for previous management experience, Brian Cody had almost none when he took on the Kilkenny job in November 1998 and the rest is history. I'm glad there'll be a change. I felt Roscommon were at nothing going into a 5th year of the outgoing management. I'm really excited and interested to see who gets the job. We all want Roscommon to succeed.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 05/08/2022 14:11:10    2436341

Replying To rossy15:  "We've been blaming managers for years n Roscommon players need to take a bit of responsibility too imo far Too easy to go missing in a game and let management take the heat - whoever comes in next needs to instill a bit of accountability into the group"
I hate replies like this - all those lads train and train and train to perform the best they can for roscommon, Do you think they go out to have a bad game or lose. Its as simple as this that is the level roscommon is at.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 05/08/2022 14:23:08    2436343

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "I hate replies like this - all those lads train and train and train to perform the best they can for roscommon, Do you think they go out to have a bad game or lose. Its as simple as this that is the level roscommon is at."
Sorry that you hate this opinion there's really no need to I'm not criticising players but The point I'm making is we've spent the last number of years thinking Roscommon teams are capable of more than their achieving and then blaming/criticising managers when for whatever reason their not winning games they and we feel they should have . Read the posts over the last few weeks the sense is this group has under achieved under AC -
We've had John evans removed _ then the debacle with o Donnell and mc stay partnership - then mc stay wasn't getting the most out of them and now it's Anthony Cunningham - I'm not questioning their training and commitment but i do believe if there is another level to be got to it's not purely a new manager that's going to achieve that no matter who he is or what experience /coaches he brings the players need to shoulder responsibility for getting results too it's an opinion not a criticism - the end.

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 05/08/2022 16:56:50    2436359

Fair play to our county board for introducing a weekend championship pass costing €25 which entitles patrons to attend as many championship games as they wish over the weekend.

Had plans to attend at least 4 games which would cost 40€ the 15€ saved will go into the high fuel cost now.

With so many players overseas or injured its a bit of lottery trying to predict what will happen in this weekend games but here's my stab at it.

Senior

Oran v Roscommon Gaels - home side in good form or be it they were playing in a level below them, local journalist Kevin Egan has tipped Oran to win the county title I'm not so sure about that but should be beating understrength Gaels side here. Oran by 3

Boyle v Western Gaels - repeat of the Div 1 final played recently which Boyle won narrowly. Enda Smith didn't go to America as planned due to injury and may feature in this game and if he does that alone could swing it for the home side. Boyle by 1

Clann v St Faithleachs - Clann down on a number of starters an opportunity here for Faithleachs to pull off upset. How the Murtaghs are marked will be key. Draw

Elphin v Glaveys - I'd give the home side the edge against what is a depleted Glaveys dues to injuries to most of their best players. Elphin by 3

Pearses v Tulsk - should be a straightforward win for the defending champions. Pearses by 6

St Brigids v Strokestown - I'm expecting Brigids to hit the ground running and be there or thereabouts come the end of the championship. Jerome Stack seems like a good appointment. Brigids by 4

Intermediate

St Croans v Creggs - interesting tie between Croans who have just lost their senior status and Creggs who should be capable of reaching at least the last 4 of the intermediate championship. Croans need to stop the goal scoring power of Creggs and are without the scoring services of Aidan Brogan but i think they'll win a tight contest by 1.

Kilmore v Fuerty - Kilmore aren't a side that will be in the shake up for this title but rarely easily bet on their home patch. Fuerty could be missing Niall Kilroy but should still win this game. Fuerty by 3

St Dominics v Shannon Gaels - home side the clear favourites for this county title which will bring its own pressures. They are without some important players this weekend but should get up and running with a solid win here. Dominics by 7

Brigids B v Aidans. I think strength in depth of Brigids will be seen in this match not sure why Hyde Park is chosen for this fixture. Brigids by 5

Castlerea v Kilbride. They played recently in the league whereby Castlerea won i see a repeat of that. Scores harder to come by for Kilbride since Henry Walsh left while the home side will rely on the three McDermotts to get them over the line. Castlerea by 2

Eire Óg v Clann B - between retirements and loads players having to play for their A team it's going to be a weakened line out. Potential to be the largest winning margin of this weekend. Eire Og by 8

Junior A wins for St Barrys, Kilglass, Pearses, Western Gaels, Michaels and Ballinameen

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3753 - 05/08/2022 18:09:24    2436363