Galway Football thread

I was very impressed with O'Flaherty also, great engine and speed, made for the summer and hopefully Croke Park. Think the same about Sam O'Neill but we needed strike runners and he should have been outside. Kelly looked back to himself. We could potentially have serious pace in the team with McDaid, O'Flaherty, Kelly, McHugh, Walsh.
I would love to see a different keeper tried at least. The weekend showed that he has to be comfortable in the forward position. Gleeson was up a few times but not doing anything. Teams will let him have the ball.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 27/01/2025 14:03:18    2587921

Replying To Eire89:  "James Mcloughlin what kind of injury do you know? Not sure how he is on Galway panel as he has never been fit and available for the last 3 years."
I thought both himself and Hernon came off with knocks in the Sigerson game midweek. Hopefully nothing serious

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1295 - 27/01/2025 14:05:11    2587922

Replying To Marooned:  "Another thing they have to consider is are they going to persist with Gleeson in goal if every team is going bring their keeper up to make it 12 v 11? Which they seem to be doing. Gleeson is not comfortable on the ball at all and is no threat to do anything positive up in the opposition half."
Very true. He ventured forward a lot in the first half on Saturday. But all he does is shovel it sideways again. He's not good enough on the ball to do anything else. Even if he tried decoy runs to draw defenders they will just let him off most of the time because he's no threat.
I wouldn't be surprised if they shelve the 12 v 11 by the end of the league though.
It seems to be leading to a lot of back and over keep ball like we have been used to seeing in the defensive half of the pitch - just further up the field now.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1295 - 27/01/2025 14:08:05    2587923

Hard game to watch but Galway toughed it out. Very impressed with O'Flaherty and O'Laoi.
Definitely competition for places all over now. Hernon and O'Flaherty will put pressure on Glynn and Fitzgerald. Halfback line will likely be Kelly Silke McHugh with other options to come in. Midfield will probably be Conroy and Maher. The half-forward line will have loads of competition and hopefully COC and Tomo and maybe O'Conaighle can develop into good full forward bench options. Like someone said earlier, a very good panel, probably best we've had under Joyce.
I would agree with other posters and would like to see Flaherty get a few games in goal under the new rules. We will definitely pick up injuries as usual so really need a deep, experienced panel and I think we're getting close to that.

Is there anyone not on the panel that people thing should be? Aside from Cooke and lads that haven't been on previously?

Team id like to see against mayo:
Flaherty
O'Flaherty
Fitzgerald
McGrath
Kelly
Silke
Sweeney
O'Neill (Would like see him here and rest Conroy)
Maher
McDaid
Walsh
O'Laoi
COC
Tierney
O'Conaighle

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 383 - 27/01/2025 15:23:46    2587953

Replying To galway19:  "Definitely a spot for Daniel O'Flaherty somewhere in this team. Huge engine. He was still flying up the field with 5 minutes to go."
There are a lot of capable young players deserving of a spot. Must be very strong competition in training. Sam O Neill was given an opportunity but denied one at the same time. He was lost in the corner. Cian Hernon will be a nailed down starter. Time to put a footballer in goal if they're now spending time up the field. Gleeson doesn't need and won't handle more responsibility.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 390 - 27/01/2025 17:37:39    2588002

Replying To StopTheLights:  "There are a lot of capable young players deserving of a spot. Must be very strong competition in training. Sam O Neill was given an opportunity but denied one at the same time. He was lost in the corner. Cian Hernon will be a nailed down starter. Time to put a footballer in goal if they're now spending time up the field. Gleeson doesn't need and won't handle more responsibility."
Joyce said afterwards that Conor Flaherty will be given a couple of games in the league given he offers something different. Let's see how he does when he plays in goal.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 812 - 27/01/2025 18:18:57    2588013

Galway need to do a lot more kicking from half backlime I don't think any ball was kicked from there last match i don't remember Sean Kelly ever kicking a ball forward a good player but he rarely if ever kick it Sean Mulkerrins same Sean Fitz same all good players running where are the scores going come from ???

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 976 - 27/01/2025 18:30:42    2588017

Replying To Kickitout:  "Galway need to do a lot more kicking from half backlime I don't think any ball was kicked from there last match i don't remember Sean Kelly ever kicking a ball forward a good player but he rarely if ever kick it Sean Mulkerrins same Sean Fitz same all good players running where are the scores going come from ???"
Agreed.
I didn't think Galway would play like it was 1998 all over again but it was still very disappointing that they played exactly the same as the All Ireland final. No long kicks to the forwards, no courage to take a man on when they were playing keepball. Nobody dropping the shoulder to get past a man. Galway only move fast in broken play after a turnover but that's living off scraps. I expected much more after a few months of training.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 179 - 27/01/2025 23:14:08    2588071

Throw-in for the Mayo match slightly changed due to floodlight issues in MacHale, starts at 14:30 now live on TG4 as well. Better for most travelling up, hopefully a good gang make the journey to back the team.

Will be interesting if we have the same approach as the Armagh game in attack, you'd expect Mayo to be a bit more open at the back based on their match against Dublin. We should be utilising the kick pass a lot more both in transition from defence and long into the inside line given the new rules.

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 28/01/2025 11:13:32    2588128

Replying To galway19:  "Joyce said afterwards that Conor Flaherty will be given a couple of games in the league given he offers something different. Let's see how he does when he plays in goal."
Isn't it a plus that there are two goalkeepers that can offer something different available?

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 28/01/2025 11:38:53    2588140

I think John Daly will become the main man again in the half back line. A kicker in there is really important to move the ball.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1900 - 28/01/2025 11:47:03    2588142

If the keeper rule stays in place you'd imagine Gleeson will be under pressure to keep his spot. Whatever about club level it's a no brainer for teams to create the 12 v 11 at county level. Gaps are sure to appear.
I think there's a good chance it will be scrapped though as it's going to lead to lots of slow keep ball possession football. Teams will probe side to side until the gap inevitably appears. It's going to be dreadful to watch.
Also think they have to revisit where you can bring a free back outside the arc for a 2 point shot after a breach of the 3 up/3 back rule. That's very harsh.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1295 - 28/01/2025 11:56:14    2588145

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Isn't it a plus that there are two goalkeepers that can offer something different available?"
Lot to be said for what Down did at the weekend where they had an outfield player as sub goalie and brought him on. If the 12 v 11 option isn't scrapped; having the sub goalie as an outfield attacking player makes sense. Especially where we are behind on the score board; bringing on a sub goalie that has real attacking threat could be worth the punt.

galway2015 (Galway) - Posts: 60 - 28/01/2025 13:12:30    2588161

A great night's entertainment in Pearse. Traffic was bad but it was worth the trip in and despite a poor first half, we opened up well in the second. Great to see O'Flaherty and O'Curraoin on the team of the week and the latter getting player of the week. Two real bolters in the making for 2025 - expecting a big year from both, along with Hernon. One glaring option we were missing in attack, under the new system, is runners coming from deep at angles to the predictable 40m arc interplay. These strike runners can effectively punch holes in that major defensive line, and the very best keepers with outfield experience and ability can be key in this - so while Gleeson is undoubtedly going well right now, I think Conor Flaherty should be given adequate opportunity in the league to prove what he can add here.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 985 - 28/01/2025 13:14:57    2588163

Is Comer injured or sick or are they just resting him? Mayo will be tougher to beat than Armagh as they lost their first match and won't want to go 0-2 plus they're at home.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2301 - 28/01/2025 13:35:46    2588165

Replying To Trump2020:  "Is Comer injured or sick or are they just resting him? Mayo will be tougher to beat than Armagh as they lost their first match and won't want to go 0-2 plus they're at home."
Comer amongst the substitutes on Saturday, I understand he is training away.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1641 - 28/01/2025 14:31:53    2588179

He was not subs last sat I'd be surprised if on bench next Sunday either be much tougher game next Sunday hard see Galway getting more than 12, scores the next day I just can't see who will score from play ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 976 - 28/01/2025 17:51:09    2588232

Replying To Trump2020:  "Is Comer injured or sick or are they just resting him? Mayo will be tougher to beat than Armagh as they lost their first match and won't want to go 0-2 plus they're at home."
Mayo losted to a patched up Dublin team. Galway will have to perform worse than they did against Armagh not to win. Do a decent marking job on Ryan O'Donoghue and you are 70% there to beating them.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 289 - 28/01/2025 18:30:39    2588239

the same players who always score from play

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 214 - 28/01/2025 18:34:08    2588241

Replying To ahsure.:  "Comer amongst the substitutes on Saturday, I understand he is training away."
Your understanding is incorrect my friend..
He was not amongst the subs, is training but mostly recovery and fitness work.
From my understanding he won't be risked in certain situations, one being the terrible surface in the stadium last week.

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 156 - 28/01/2025 19:00:48    2588246