Galway Football thread

Who replaces O Neill? will there be other backroom shake up? Selectors? I do think a change of captain & vice captain might be beneficial purely as S.Kelly & Tierney have done their 3 years both not guaranteed starts due to injuries & form. Possibly McHugh & Maher. Just a suggestion and again feel it would benefit Kelly we just need to have him fully fit.

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 280 - 10/09/2024 14:53:18    2569282

We need a quality forwards coach. I'd welcome Dessie Dolan or someone of that ilk with the attacking know how to help make our talent upfront really click as a unit. That simply hasn't been happening. Get our forwards moving as a well oiled machine and we could drive on next year!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 10/09/2024 15:23:51    2569283

Replying To togoutlads:  "We need a quality forwards coach. I'd welcome Dessie Dolan or someone of that ilk with the attacking know how to help make our talent upfront really click as a unit. That simply hasn't been happening. Get our forwards moving as a well oiled machine and we could drive on next year!"
John Concannon is the forwards coach, is he leaving with O"Neill?

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 765 - 10/09/2024 16:02:47    2569292

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Really??Plenty thought Galway would win and really we beat ourselves on the day.Stop"
Plenty thought Armagh would win also.
Awful arrogance to not acknowledge Armagh and say you beat yourselves.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 10/09/2024 21:09:12    2569320

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "No one was shocked. Galway's freetaking was shocking from my perspective, and costly on the day."
Fair enough. See your fellow Galway mans response to my post, that would be more typical of what I've seen.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 10/09/2024 21:11:19    2569321

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "Plenty thought Armagh would win also.
Awful arrogance to not acknowledge Armagh and say you beat yourselves."
Don't try to bait me won't work.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 339 - 11/09/2024 11:37:21    2569389

Ah lads can ye stop replying to that Bdonegal1991 dude. These back and forths are getting tiresome.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1274 - 11/09/2024 13:09:39    2569408

Replying To GDL:  "John Concannon is the forwards coach, is he leaving with O"Neill?"
Scan is bringing very little that's obvious to the outside world in terms of turning that forwards talent pool into a slick, cohesive, imaginative and attacking unit. They're not anywhere near where they could be. In very basic terms, CON and Divo pretty much sorted the backs with vast improvement over time, our forwards are still as disorganised and uncoached looking as ever. Only their individual ability makes them competitive.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 11/09/2024 13:56:16    2569418

Unless Galway stop playing players out positions it make no difference if the Lord himself joined the backroom team playing Hernon , Kelly Molloy sweeney and o flaherty when he came on in all Ireland and same v Westmeath it's pure stupidity just wondering how many of players named above play in forwards for there club I don't know ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 929 - 11/09/2024 14:45:09    2569425

Replying To galwayman2:  "Ah lads can ye stop replying to that Bdonegal1991 dude. These back and forths are getting tiresome."
You right

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 339 - 11/09/2024 16:55:32    2569440

Squeaky bum time definitely in the intermediate championship with established clubs like Arainn, MB, Menlough, Brendans, Cartoon, Glenamaddy on a knife edge between qualifying or falling in to the cesspit of relegation.

One of the benefits of three teams coming out of the group of four. All will be revealed by Monday.

Stripsandbanners (Galway) - Posts: 82 - 11/09/2024 18:05:35    2569448

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "You right"
Laughable how you think anyone who thinks Armagh were deserving winners is trying to 'bait' you.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 11/09/2024 19:55:18    2569453

Not to sure if it's squeaky bum time as regards relegation in intermediate. Poor Williamstown have been hanging on in this grade for years. They should put themselves out of there misery and go down a rebuild.

handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 437 - 11/09/2024 21:03:37    2569460

Replying To Stripsandbanners:  "Squeaky bum time definitely in the intermediate championship with established clubs like Arainn, MB, Menlough, Brendans, Cartoon, Glenamaddy on a knife edge between qualifying or falling in to the cesspit of relegation.

One of the benefits of three teams coming out of the group of four. All will be revealed by Monday."
And some unfancied clubs doing well like Oranmore Maree, Clifden and Caltra who are 6 from 6 wins I think between them.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2264 - 11/09/2024 23:42:23    2569476

Gameweek 3 Predictions -

Salthill Knocknacarra V Caherlistrane - Salthill by 8+

Naomh Anna, Leitir Móir V Mounbellew/Moylough - Mountbellew by 3

Moycullen V St. James's - Moycullen by 4

Monivea-Abbey V Dunmore - Draw

Killanin V Annaghdown - Annaghdown by 2

Barna V Milltown - Miltown by 3

Oughterard V Claregalway - Claregalway by 2

Tuam Stars V Corofin - Corofin by 3

LetsPlayBall (Galway) - Posts: 61 - 12/09/2024 07:56:31    2569486

Replying To galwayman2:  "I get your sentiment but re the Salthill/Castlelawn Heights thing... yes that's part of the general area that Eiro Og covers but the fact is that there is absolutely no parish "boundaries" in the city and the parish rule does not apply there.
Not saying it's right but that is the way it is.
Much like in Dublin you can be from Lucan but play with Kilmacud if you so choose."
Not to mention Daithi and Ronan Burke who would have grown up a puck out away from claregalway pitch

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1255 - 12/09/2024 08:46:12    2569490

Replying To Stripsandbanners:  "Squeaky bum time definitely in the intermediate championship with established clubs like Arainn, MB, Menlough, Brendans, Cartoon, Glenamaddy on a knife edge between qualifying or falling in to the cesspit of relegation.

One of the benefits of three teams coming out of the group of four. All will be revealed by Monday."
Menlough are hardly 'established' yet at Intermediate level? Aren't they just newly promoted to the grade? Williamstown or the team that loses to them, will make the drop imo.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3829 - 12/09/2024 11:25:22    2569513

Replying To togoutlads:  "We need a quality forwards coach. I'd welcome Dessie Dolan or someone of that ilk with the attacking know how to help make our talent upfront really click as a unit. That simply hasn't been happening. Get our forwards moving as a well oiled machine and we could drive on next year!"
I think Jason Sherlock would be a better option. He actually did that role for Dolan in Westmeath and obviously was very important to Dublin also during their dominant period. There would be some closeness there too with Joyce and Concannon right back to the time they played each at minor level when Scan had a stormer. Relatively easy drive along the motorway.

galway2015 (Galway) - Posts: 55 - 12/09/2024 12:55:15    2569533

Replying To jm25:  "Not to mention Daithi and Ronan Burke who would have grown up a puck out away from claregalway pitch"
Must be some puck out - their house in Cregmore to Claregalway is about 5 miles. Knockdoemore didnt exist when they were u8,u10 etc .With Corofin since they first started and obviously some family history there as well

fairplay4ever (Galway) - Posts: 423 - 12/09/2024 13:34:27    2569549

Replying To fairplay4ever:  "Must be some puck out - their house in Cregmore to Claregalway is about 5 miles. Knockdoemore didnt exist when they were u8,u10 etc .With Corofin since they first started and obviously some family history there as well"
Its more like 3 .1/2 mls but that is not here nor there .these things only apply to certain clubs who are acting above their station.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 110 - 12/09/2024 20:03:23    2569623