Galway Football thread

Replying To Gilberto_Eire:  "Galway United and Galway Town are not the same... Galway town is the Galway FA.
Galway United and the Galway FA are also not the same entity.
Galway United pay the Galway FA to use their ground - ED Park."
Galway Town is the de facto academy / feeder for Galway United.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 01/08/2024 16:35:47    2563461

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "Boring"
Some of the games themselves were a bit boring but there was excitement with Galway beating Dublin and Armagh beating Kerry. A bit harsh to classify they whole thing as boring.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 01/08/2024 17:20:34    2563472

Replying To hopballref:  "What are you raving about - Galway management gave pretty much every inside forward a chance - Tomo, O Conghaile, O Curraoin, Cunningham, McCabe. Ultimately our three best are Walsh, Comer and Finnerty which is one of the best in the country all be in Walsh and Comer have under-performed. They can only play the cards they are dealt. They were forced into most decisions due to injury."
Exactly, Galway Management have tried different players and concluded the defensive gameplan relying on there star players to pull something out of the bag gives them the best chance of competing.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 01/08/2024 18:09:58    2563483

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "Well that's my opinion, Armagh have a slightly stronger overall panel but Galway have a slightly stronger first 15. Galway probably have more 'stars' in there team.
There very closely matched teams despite what the Galway crowd think.
My opinion would tend to be backed up by the pattern of the games between them over the last couple of years, Galway start well and get ahead then Armagh use there strenght in depth to come back into the game."
If it's just your opinion, then state that it's just your opinion. You stated that Armagh had a stronger squad. You should have stated that it was merely your opinion that they have a stronger squad.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3827 - 01/08/2024 19:46:12    2563496

Really looking forward to the upcoming Club championships... after last seasons emergence of fresh young blood like Patrick Egan, McCabe, Sam O'Neill and Glenn Kelly all staring for their clubs, it will be interesting to see who starts to shine for their clubs and ups their profile in 2024. Hopefully the likes of Mountbellew/Moylough inject some youth this season.

Some exciting hopefulls if given starting births:

Shay McGlincy - Tuam
Athletic, conditioned in the mould of Brian Fenton, looks so comfortable on the ball but question marks remain over his endurance over a full game. This may be a year too soon.

Colm Costello - Dunmore
Tricky forward capable of finding that extra yard of space, highly accurate, clever and robust. Dessie Conneely 2.0

Shane Canavan - Corofin
Character with a battling personality and hard as nails, the replacement for Kieran Fitz that Corofin have been crying out for.

Ryan Roche - Killannin
Last seasons club u19 player of the year, midfield leader that drove that Killannin u19 to the county A title. Big things expected at Senior level.

Jack Nolan - Jimmies
Kicked six points v Annaghdown in the opening round their senior football chanmpionship last year and will be hoping to improve futher. Can the Jimmies produce another exciting prospect that can push onto the county panel.

Jack Mullin - Claregalway
Surprise Package for the Galway u20s this year, terrorised the Sligo defence... remains to be seen of he can push into a young Claregalway forward line.

WonTon5 (Galway) - Posts: 10 - 02/08/2024 01:24:57    2563532

Replying To WonTon5:  "Really looking forward to the upcoming Club championships... after last seasons emergence of fresh young blood like Patrick Egan, McCabe, Sam O'Neill and Glenn Kelly all staring for their clubs, it will be interesting to see who starts to shine for their clubs and ups their profile in 2024. Hopefully the likes of Mountbellew/Moylough inject some youth this season.

Shay McGlincy - Tuam
Athletic, conditioned in the mould of Brian Fenton, looks so comfortable on the ball but question marks remain over his endurance over a full game. This may be a year too soon.

Colm Costello - Dunmore
Tricky forward capable of finding that extra yard of space, highly accurate, clever and robust. Dessie Conneely 2.0

Shane Canavan - Corofin
Character with a battling personality and hard as nails, the replacement for Kieran Fitz that Corofin have been crying out for.

Ryan Roche - Killannin
Last seasons club u19 player of the year, midfield leader that drove that Killannin u19 to the county A title. Big things expected at Senior level.

Jack Nolan - Jimmies
Kicked six points v Annaghdown in the opening round their senior football chanmpionship last year and will be hoping to improve futher. Can the Jimmies produce another exciting prospect that can push onto the county panel.

Surprise Package for the Galway u20s this year, terrorised the Sligo defence... remains to be seen of he can push into a young Claregalway forward line."
Does anyone know if there is any restrictions on TG4 showing Galway club games??

Can't remember when hurling final was televised live and MM Corofin final a few yrs ago is the only football one I can recall recently.

Ardrahan v sarsfields was on TG4 last year Sin e

Especially with introducing the streaming during Covid for Galway GAA can they request TG4 not to show games live to boost profits?

Given TG4 location setting up in pearse stadium or even Tuam would save them travel expenses.

Considering we would have 2 of the strongest championships in both codes strange they get so little TV time.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1249 - 02/08/2024 12:43:12    2563570

Replying To WonTon5:  "Really looking forward to the upcoming Club championships... after last seasons emergence of fresh young blood like Patrick Egan, McCabe, Sam O'Neill and Glenn Kelly all staring for their clubs, it will be interesting to see who starts to shine for their clubs and ups their profile in 2024. Hopefully the likes of Mountbellew/Moylough inject some youth this season.

Shay McGlincy - Tuam

Colm Costello - Dunmore

Shane Canavan - Corofin

Ryan Roche - Killannin

Jack Nolan - Jimmies

Surprise Package for the Galway u20s this year, terrorised the Sligo defence... remains to be seen of he can push into a young Claregalway forward line."
D'Arcy & Maher really looked out of their depth when the first came on to the panel but look at them now, Maher in particular has been sensational. Whether some of those forwards who've been in an out of the panel the last few years are capable of doing what either have done I don't know. Both have clearly gone away and worked hard at it which most won't do, look at the physical condition of both of them, serious shape.

Backs wise Galway have more strength in depth then anyone, you could almost pick a different back 6 to last Sundays in Sean Kelly, Hernon, Sweeney, Molloy, Daly & O'Flaherty.

James McLaughlin is still only 21, the lad has bags of talent. He could be a huge player for Galway if he's able to commit, not many lads with his talent but whether he's capable of putting the work in I don't know.

Galway don't need a lot, I like the look of O'Conghaile & O'Curraoin. Have watched a fair bit of them down the years and will be expecting them to move to the next level next year. O'Curraoin is some free taker.

I hope Culhane can stay fit, like McLaughlin he was exceptional underage! Kicking points with both feet comfortably, just needs an injury free run as he's a very natural forward.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 285 - 02/08/2024 12:56:00    2563575

Replying To TheBishop:  "D'Arcy & Maher really looked out of their depth when the first came on to the panel but look at them now, Maher in particular has been sensational. Whether some of those forwards who've been in an out of the panel the last few years are capable of doing what either have done I don't know. Both have clearly gone away and worked hard at it which most won't do, look at the physical condition of both of them, serious shape.

Backs wise Galway have more strength in depth then anyone, you could almost pick a different back 6 to last Sundays in Sean Kelly, Hernon, Sweeney, Molloy, Daly & O'Flaherty.

James McLaughlin is still only 21, the lad has bags of talent. He could be a huge player for Galway if he's able to commit, not many lads with his talent but whether he's capable of putting the work in I don't know.

Galway don't need a lot, I like the look of O'Conghaile & O'Curraoin. Have watched a fair bit of them down the years and will be expecting them to move to the next level next year. O'Curraoin is some free taker.

I hope Culhane can stay fit, like McLaughlin he was exceptional underage! Kicking points with both feet comfortably, just needs an injury free run as he's a very natural forward."
Agreed on the above. One minor comment - O'Conghaile glaringly needs endless hours of shooting practice. His radar was off far too much during last year's chances. It wasn't good enough for a prospect of his reputation. He has serious work to do but hopefully he can and will produce. We'll need him.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 02/08/2024 15:24:17    2563603

Although the All Ireland defeat is still very raw I've just start to rethink the year we have had all thanks to our senior footballers..

The injuries, the craic in London, getting out of "jail" in Sligo, Gleeson, the injury time heroics in Pearse Stadium, the dismantling of Derry, the Shane Walsh finish in Mullingar, the 3 minutes of madness against Armagh, the 2nd half performance against Monaghan, the Tomo point against Dublin, the jubilation, the sea of maroon in the Hill v Donegal, the McHugh performance, n17, the jubilation again, the build up to the final, the parade, the noise, the anguish....

Roll on 2025.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 02/08/2024 15:32:35    2563605

Shay McGlincy - Tuam

Colm Costello - Dunmore

Shane Canavan - Corofin

Ryan Roche - Killannin

Jack Nolan - Jimmies

They are also some talented players who are still very young coming through in intermediate and senior.

Sean Bermingham- Headford
Got a raw deal with 20's this year and I expect him to come through.

Daithi Kilcommins-Annaghdown
Is another super prospect and a big loss with 20's this year due to his injury. This will be his third year with Annaghdown and I believe he had not turned 20 yet.

Jack Lonergan- Claregalway
Should get some time with Claregalway, another athlete. This will be his second year with Claregalway and should/will push on. He has another year at 20's.

Jack Power - Salthill
Salthill should will also have an impact. Played some FBD and is a strong lad and not afraid to shoot.

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 76 - 02/08/2024 16:34:44    2563609

We have a great chance again in 2025 but will need to develop more forwards in the 2025 league even more so than this year. Could Joyce freshen up his backroom team and bring in a new forwards coach. We survived in Division one by the skin of our teeth and this will allow us to compete with the big guns in the league and get more games into the young players. We will be going for 4 in a row in Connacht and will be at the business end in a packing field for Sam. There is no standout team like when the Dubs were in their prime. Armagh got lucky in the final this year no doubt but there are few that could say that Armagh didnt deserve their luck to turn but a pity we were on the end of their luck finally turning.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 02/08/2024 16:41:52    2563610

Replying To LottoPlus:  "They are also some talented players who are still very young coming through in intermediate and senior.

Sean Bermingham- Headford
Got a raw deal with 20's this year and I expect him to come through.

Daithi Kilcommins-Annaghdown
Is another super prospect and a big loss with 20's this year due to his injury. This will be his third year with Annaghdown and I believe he had not turned 20 yet.

Jack Lonergan- Claregalway
Should get some time with Claregalway, another athlete. This will be his second year with Claregalway and should/will push on. He has another year at 20's.

Jack Power - Salthill
Salthill should will also have an impact. Played some FBD and is a strong lad and not afraid to shoot."
Bermingham didn't get a raw deal, he got the hump with management after only getting a few minutes in the Mayo game and he walked...
Not the first time he has fallen out with a manager...
Attitude says he'll never make it

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 02/08/2024 17:57:47    2563623

Replying To ahsure.:  "Although the All Ireland defeat is still very raw I've just start to rethink the year we have had all thanks to our senior footballers..

The injuries, the craic in London, getting out of "jail" in Sligo, Gleeson, the injury time heroics in Pearse Stadium, the dismantling of Derry, the Shane Walsh finish in Mullingar, the 3 minutes of madness against Armagh, the 2nd half performance against Monaghan, the Tomo point against Dublin, the jubilation, the sea of maroon in the Hill v Donegal, the McHugh performance, n17, the jubilation again, the build up to the final, the parade, the noise, the anguish....

Roll on 2025."
Well said.Winning All Irelands are the cream on top but getting to finals is brilliant too.The build up to the finals are just magic.Galway footballers gave their fans some brilliant days this year.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3839 - 02/08/2024 20:13:53    2563627

There was also a big lad who played bin the forwards and midfield, he was a good fielder who could tackle and was well capable of taking a score.he went off with a knee injury late in first half of a game in Tuam and the Galway challenge faded there after. I think his name was Walsh but I've no idea what club he comes from so I don't know how he is playing now, or if he is still active.He looked a real prospect in that team a more complete player than some who are mentioned in other posts.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 107 - 02/08/2024 21:15:34    2563631

Replying To backtooldwall:  "There was also a big lad who played bin the forwards and midfield, he was a good fielder who could tackle and was well capable of taking a score.he went off with a knee injury late in first half of a game in Tuam and the Galway challenge faded there after. I think his name was Walsh but I've no idea what club he comes from so I don't know how he is playing now, or if he is still active.He looked a real prospect in that team a more complete player than some who are mentioned in other posts."
That was Sean Walsh (Maigh Cuilinn) in the 2023 Minor team. He had an injury going into the game versus Mayo.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 764 - 03/08/2024 00:19:40    2563652

Disappointing result for the ladies today. They kept at it and had plenty possession, but had no cutting edge.
I don't want to he too harsh on the management, but the way we set up from the start was a clear problem from early on, yet nothing was changed.
All of our inside backs were left 1-on-1 with acres of space around them and no sweeper.
Kerry on the other hand had two sweepers employed for the entire game. They cut off the space in the middle and made sure there were no options for our runners from deep.
Kerry's inside line had loads of space and they were able to use the long kick in regularly as a result. Our backs did all they could and won some battles, but they were left very exposed. It's almost impossible for a defender left in that type of situation for an entire game.
Fair play to them for getting to the final and especially the epic win against Dublin. They'll hopefully build on this.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2147 - 04/08/2024 18:11:07    2563804

Shay McGlincy - Tuam

Colm Costello - Dunmore

Shane Canavan - Corofin

Ryan Roche - Killannin

Jack Nolan - Jimmies

I'll be keeping an eye out for any player whose instinct is NOT to look behind him / her or to look laterally as soon as they get the ball.

Mayfair (Galway) - Posts: 67 - 05/08/2024 10:54:39    2563864

Replying To togoutlads:  "Agreed on the above. One minor comment - O'Conghaile glaringly needs endless hours of shooting practice. His radar was off far too much during last year's chances. It wasn't good enough for a prospect of his reputation. He has serious work to do but hopefully he can and will produce. We'll need him."
He did miss a few in the league but he scored a point against both Monaghan & Derry, don't think he had a shot since those games either.

I've seen a fair bit of him, could see from the Sigerson he's capable of scoring points from distance with left and right. Joyce to clearly likes what he sees too, thought he was forcing shots too much during the league. A huge gap physically from u20 to Senior, I do think he ticks a lot of boxes and will come back a better player next year.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 285 - 05/08/2024 11:12:39    2563869

Was at the ladies yesterday.. walking out of that place with another defeat is just torture at this stage.. we are just way too nice as a county.. see the way the Armagh people stuck the chest out last week.

As regards the game itself Kerry had better footballing IQ and were able to kick the ball and move us around. theres no shape to our team we just solo solo solo and then more soloing. our inside forward line don't stay inside and not showing at the right time as they know the ball won't be kicked.

Hate to say it but this is coming from the kil clon blue print where ya can win a club all Ireland doing that. You need to be able to play it a few ways at inter county..

But anyway hopefully the camogie can save some embarrassment as the last two weeks were as I said just torture.

Howardhunt1 (Galway) - Posts: 79 - 05/08/2024 11:32:28    2563871

Replying To Howardhunt1:  "Was at the ladies yesterday.. walking out of that place with another defeat is just torture at this stage.. we are just way too nice as a county.. see the way the Armagh people stuck the chest out last week.

As regards the game itself Kerry had better footballing IQ and were able to kick the ball and move us around. theres no shape to our team we just solo solo solo and then more soloing. our inside forward line don't stay inside and not showing at the right time as they know the ball won't be kicked.

Hate to say it but this is coming from the kil clon blue print where ya can win a club all Ireland doing that. You need to be able to play it a few ways at inter county..

But anyway hopefully the camogie can save some embarrassment as the last two weeks were as I said just torture."
I was also there and it was awful leaving two weeks on the trot with nothing. Personally last week was worse, as we left it behind us. As for yesterday, Kerry were just very good and sometimes we have to acknowledge the other team were just better on the day. We badly missed the experience of Siobhan Divilliy and Tracey Leonard who weren't available and Ailish Morrissey not starting was also massive.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 764 - 05/08/2024 14:18:53    2563889