Galway Football thread

Just on potential lads coming through. The development panel that was used for the FBD was a success in my opinion. Cein Darcy, Rory Cunningham, Ciaran Brady and Jack Kirrane were kept on for league and championship.
I know he's small but I'm a fan of Nathan Grainger, good scorer and great football brain.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 05/08/2024 14:20:24    2563890

Replying To Howardhunt1:  "Was at the ladies yesterday.. walking out of that place with another defeat is just torture at this stage.. we are just way too nice as a county.. see the way the Armagh people stuck the chest out last week.

As regards the game itself Kerry had better footballing IQ and were able to kick the ball and move us around. theres no shape to our team we just solo solo solo and then more soloing. our inside forward line don't stay inside and not showing at the right time as they know the ball won't be kicked.

Hate to say it but this is coming from the kil clon blue print where ya can win a club all Ireland doing that. You need to be able to play it a few ways at inter county..

But anyway hopefully the camogie can save some embarrassment as the last two weeks were as I said just torture."
Stuck the chest out, and waited for us to miss 7 frees and 3 hawkeyes.....is it?

Anyone would tell you Kerry were going to bate the women. I don't know if you noticed, but yesterday's defeat was 12 times larger than the men's loss, so I'm struggling with your 'way too nice' theory.

Yesterday looked more like the problen of beating the Limerick hurlers, in that the Kerry ladies looked bigger and stronger than our team in too many positions. Couple that WPW's point about Kerry's modern day 2 sweeper defensive system, and Galway's zero sweeper one on one defensive approach, and was it any wonder that Kerry found it easier to 'kick the ball'. We were possibly flattered with a 12pt beating, as opposed to any torture element to the proceedings.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3827 - 05/08/2024 14:44:44    2563894

I've seen the ladies playing a few times this year and one thing very obvious they don't kick pass the ball against cork I think in firsr half 4 kick passs the match v Kerry in whole game thet had less than 10 kick passes think it was 3-4 in firsr half which in my opinion is not near good enough it's all short 3-4, yard hand passes to players in no better position than player giving pass hopefully management will change thar next year , in fairness they did well get to final as it not easy for the ladies teams in Galway thet have no real base for training a lot tome thet had go Bekan to train not very fair on them

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 925 - 06/08/2024 12:46:39    2563999

Replying To smallfrank:  "Just on potential lads coming through. The development panel that was used for the FBD was a success in my opinion. Cein Darcy, Rory Cunningham, Ciaran Brady and Jack Kirrane were kept on for league and championship.
I know he's small but I'm a fan of Nathan Grainger, good scorer and great football brain."
2 be honest the development squad thar was set was not really a success people think a good few came through it when actually no player came through at all cian Darcy , Rory Cunningham were not on the development squad at all thet did play in FBD but were in training with proper squad before that

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 925 - 06/08/2024 12:50:54    2564000

Replying To Kickitout:  "I've seen the ladies playing a few times this year and one thing very obvious they don't kick pass the ball against cork I think in firsr half 4 kick passs the match v Kerry in whole game thet had less than 10 kick passes think it was 3-4 in firsr half which in my opinion is not near good enough it's all short 3-4, yard hand passes to players in no better position than player giving pass hopefully management will change thar next year , in fairness they did well get to final as it not easy for the ladies teams in Galway thet have no real base for training a lot tome thet had go Bekan to train not very fair on them"
Does any team kick the ball into well organised blanket defenses these days, and make serious hay with the tactic?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3827 - 06/08/2024 13:50:20    2564014

My point is that the ladies keep hand passes up the field snd let Kerry get plenty of players back opposite to thar Galway defense was left very isolated because most of Galway tesm were running up hand passing and when they lost possession Kerry kicked into space it is the way Galway have played all year I'd say they not kick pass the ball 10 times in any game this year ,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 925 - 06/08/2024 14:46:41    2564033

Replying To Kickitout:  "2 be honest the development squad thar was set was not really a success people think a good few came through it when actually no player came through at all cian Darcy , Rory Cunningham were not on the development squad at all thet did play in FBD but were in training with proper squad before that"
Ciaran Brady, Jack Kirrane, Jack O'Neill were training with Galway up until a couple of weeks ago, they trained last Xmas with the development squad and were kept on.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 06/08/2024 16:58:12    2564059

I don't think Jack o Neill or Jack kirrane or Brady played even a min of National league I could be wrong in my opinion they need start development squad 3 weeks after club championship finish not 2 months

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 925 - 06/08/2024 17:29:07    2564065

Galway have one of the strongest squads in he country, defensively there is more depth then what Dublin and Kerry have.

Clearly not a lot wrong, just need to find more depth to our forwards and even then they could be already in the panel.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 285 - 07/08/2024 13:12:03    2564154

Replying To TheBishop:  "Galway have one of the strongest squads in he country, defensively there is more depth then what Dublin and Kerry have.

Clearly not a lot wrong, just need to find more depth to our forwards and even then they could be already in the panel."
Ladies or men's more defensive depth doesn't mean better though ye are better defensive but has be combination of both in men's need forwards click more

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 415 - 07/08/2024 14:15:09    2564166

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Well said.Winning All Irelands are the cream on top but getting to finals is brilliant too.The build up to the finals are just magic.Galway footballers gave their fans some brilliant days this year."
Yes, Galway had a great run this year which noone expected. They overachieved by reaching the All Ireland and deserve credit for making the most of their luck.
Will be hard to repeat next year but shows they can compete with the top teams when there a bit off it.
There is a pack of teams at that similar level.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 07/08/2024 18:40:03    2564189

There wasn't much expected of the Galway footballers this year because of all the injuries that lingered all through league and championship. If they have close to a fully fit panel next year (no guarantee) they will be expected to reach an All-Ireland semi final at least.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2262 - 08/08/2024 13:16:10    2564259

Unless Galway management changes things like actually play forwards in forwards I've given loads examples all year where it not happen play players in best position or put on bench Sean Kelly not a midfielder or wing forward put forwards on bench not loaded with defenders and I can't see present management doing this

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 925 - 08/08/2024 16:48:42    2564289

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "Yes, Galway had a great run this year which noone expected. They overachieved by reaching the All Ireland and deserve credit for making the most of their luck.
Will be hard to repeat next year but shows they can compete with the top teams when there a bit off it.
There is a pack of teams at that similar level."
No such thing as luck at this level no matter how much and how many times you try to spin that narrative.
Galway's run to the final involved:
Beat Mayo(top 6),
Beat Derry(3rd favourites at the start of championship and league champions),
Beat a good Westmeath team at home in a tricky fixture,
Draw with Armagh due to concession of a late fluke goal(eventual champions),
Beat Dublin (favourites),
Beat Donegal(Ulster champions led by a legend)
Lose by just a point to the winners Armagh who beat Kerry well(second favourites) despite our fittest best forward going off after 8 minutes, and our other best forward(also only half fit) missing 4/5 shots he would normally kick with his eyes shut. Add in Comer no where near fit, and Matthew Tierney being unable to take frees he normally would take due to a serious groin problem.

The evidence of the above points to a team and management with serious character and consistent ability to beat other top team. It points to a team and management who are very very close to the top level.
A few small percentage incremental improvements on management decisions, kick-outs, forward play, injury management and some further development of lads like Hernon, Tomo,Cillian O Curraoin, McCabe, Cunningham etc could see us across the line. We will not favourites but we are right up there in the mix of the best teams and anyone who says we were 'lucky' this year has a biased agenda. Lots of the games were close but you don't consistently beat the teams listed above over multiple games without being top level. That's not luck, that's a good team,a professional set up, and a team to be proud of.

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 392 - 08/08/2024 19:02:38    2564299

Replying To Marooned:  "There wasn't much expected of the Galway footballers this year because of all the injuries that lingered all through league and championship. If they have close to a fully fit panel next year (no guarantee) they will be expected to reach an All-Ireland semi final at least."
100%. Injuries helped them get top end football into several players and strengthened the squad but cost them an AI also. That said, from a supporter/pundit viewpoint the sideline had a poor day in the final, but we do not know the full story re injuries knocks etc. Biggest error for me was not nominating Conroy to take any free late on that we might be awarded. The fact that Shane had not kicked a ball off the ground all year and the trend of shots dropping short points to injury. It will be very tough I here in 2025. no tougher than for any other team. We have IMO another top player ready to nail down a start in 2025, Egan. Could Cooke return? If the proposal to allow only the top 2 teams progress at round robin stage this will help Galway. Surely though after such an awful final and several very poor games, the gaa will make changes. Talk of a long range score being worth 2 is no good. The game will only improve when at least 3 players must be inside the opponents 45 at all times.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1254 - 08/08/2024 19:57:54    2564304

Replying To Trucker1:  "No such thing as luck at this level no matter how much and how many times you try to spin that narrative.
Beat Mayo(top 6),
Lose by just a point to the winners Armagh who beat Kerry well(second favourites) despite our fittest best forward going off after 8 minutes, and our other best forward(also only half fit) missing 4/5 shots he would normally kick with his eyes shut. Add in Comer no where near fit, and Matthew Tierney being unable to take frees he normally would take due to a serious groin problem.

The evidence of the above points to a team and management with serious character and consistent ability to beat other top team. It points to a team and management who are very very close to the top level.
A few small percentage incremental improvements on management decisions, kick-outs, forward play, injury management and some further development of lads like Hernon, Tomo,Cillian O Curraoin, McCabe, Cunningham etc could see us across the line. We will not favourites but we are right up there in the mix of the best teams and anyone who says we were 'lucky' this year has a biased agenda. Lots of the games were close but you don't consistently beat the teams listed above over multiple games without being top level. That's not luck, that's a good team,a professional set up, and a team to be proud of."
I agree with a lot of that. I'm still worried that all these lads were asked to play when they were clearly injured. Surely 15 fit men would have brought us over the line? Most of the walking wounded are tremendous assets and have lit up our winters for years. But, their influence in the final was negligible. PJ needs to have 35 lads he can trust to actually play a half or more. No point in togging off subs if you know you will never actually use them. It must be very disheartening for motivated young lads to watch players being glued together to hobble on and contribute little. Long term, it will turn promising players away. Surely after two lost finals, the penny has dropped. 1. We need a large squad of competent footballers we can trust to actually play their part.(persistent injuries). 2. We must only pick fully fit players to play or sub from that large panel.

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 09/08/2024 07:42:31    2564334

Replying To Salthillsham:  "I agree with a lot of that. I'm still worried that all these lads were asked to play when they were clearly injured. Surely 15 fit men would have brought us over the line? Most of the walking wounded are tremendous assets and have lit up our winters for years. But, their influence in the final was negligible. PJ needs to have 35 lads he can trust to actually play a half or more. No point in togging off subs if you know you will never actually use them. It must be very disheartening for motivated young lads to watch players being glued together to hobble on and contribute little. Long term, it will turn promising players away. Surely after two lost finals, the penny has dropped. 1. We need a large squad of competent footballers we can trust to actually play their part.(persistent injuries). 2. We must only pick fully fit players to play or sub from that large panel."
One puzzling thing, especially given his brilliant impact against the Dubs is why the reluctance to start Culhane in the final. Clearly Comer wasn't right against Donegal, had a short 2 week window before the Armagh game to make up a lot of ground. As you say, are you not better have fully fit players on the field.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 999 - 09/08/2024 11:47:26    2564370

I said the same 1000 times

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 09/08/2024 11:58:58    2564373

Replying To Trucker1:  "No such thing as luck at this level no matter how much and how many times you try to spin that narrative.
Beat Mayo(top 6),

A few small percentage incremental improvements on management decisions, kick-outs, forward play, injury management and some further development of lads like Hernon, Tomo,Cillian O Curraoin, McCabe, Cunningham etc could see us across the line. We will not favourites but we are right up there in the mix of the best teams and anyone who says we were 'lucky' this year has a biased agenda. Lots of the games were close but you don't consistently beat the teams listed above over multiple games without being top level. That's not luck, that's a good team,a professional set up, and a team to be proud of."
There is luck involved at every level.
Galway made the most of there's to go from the 8th or 9th best team in the country to all ireland finalists.
Everything went there way this year and fair play to them.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 09/08/2024 12:37:31    2564377

Replying To Marooned:  "There wasn't much expected of the Galway footballers this year because of all the injuries that lingered all through league and championship. If they have close to a fully fit panel next year (no guarantee) they will be expected to reach an All-Ireland semi final at least."
Other teams had injuries.
I wouldn't say there expected to reach an All Ireland semi final at least. There are very few teams you could say that about.
Galway, like the other top teams in Connaught and Ulster will be looking to get out of the group and take it from there.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 09/08/2024 12:41:45    2564378