Galway Football thread

Replying To galwayford:  "There is a culture in Galway and Mayo, whereby it seems some players are above reproach. Who despite having poor games are not taken off or not dropped."
Firstly I want to say I think the galway men are fantastic and I know they put in huge effort.

Secondly I'd have to agree about players having poor games and appearing as if they are undroppable. No one should ever be. They are human and most are going to have off days. Leaving them on the pitch isn't helping anyone. Our subs put in equal effort
Maybe they won't pull it off but when it's clear the lad on the field isn't going to , it's more of risk to not do anything.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1692 - 29/07/2024 12:41:09    2562569

Replying To smallfrank:  "You must have been outstanding in your day and possibly on the frees in 1951"
Well ye joined the biggest losers club yesterday

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 29/07/2024 12:56:07    2562578

Sorry but yet again Galway bottled it, absolutely no offence to Armagh as you can only beat what's in front of you, but this defeat should haunt Padraig Joyce and his team for years to come. We lost to a team who scored one point in the last half hour, and let's be honest Armagh would not be All Ireland champions today if they had been playing anbody else. Why was Walsh left on frees when his confidence was shot, why were our so called 'best' players in Walsh & Comer either not moved or substituted when they were completely anonymous fr the majority of the game? Why was our build up play so slow and ponderous, surely mangement would have known how Armagh were going to play with 15 men behind the ball, yet they had no plan for this. A bad bad day at the office for Galway but in particular management, and this one should rightfully haunt them for years to come. Joyce has had five years in charge of Galway now, and while getting to two All Ireland finals is no mean feat, at the end of the day we still lost both of them, and both were games we could have won with better management and more belief.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 181 - 29/07/2024 12:58:36    2562581

Heartbreaking for Galway yesterday, they were the better team for most of the game, but couldn't convert chances at key times. Losing Finnerty so early in the game was a huge blow, but they could still have won this game despite this, but were so unlucky with wides.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 29/07/2024 12:59:00    2562583

Replying To Marooned:  "Stats say otherwise. They are not hard to find."
The stat were Galway scored more than Armagh is pretty hard to find.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 29/07/2024 13:15:52    2562589

Replying To centrefield99:  "your entitled to your opinion but nobody wants it here so head off back to the Donegal forum like a good lad. You were saying earlier that the standard of the championship was low but guaranteed you wouldn't have been saying that if Donegal had crossed the line."
He's not on the Donegal page and I doubt he's even from Donegal.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2937 - 29/07/2024 13:18:56    2562591

An awful disappointing result. Today is not the day to have a go. I just watched the game back and Galway should have won, fans are heartbroken but the players, backroom and their families must be devastated, please be respectful. We have to go again in New York in the Spring of 2025. Hopefully all the current players remain available and the ones currently not available come back into the mix and one or two others are found. Finally, thank you to the players.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 371 - 29/07/2024 13:28:22    2562604

Thank you to PJ and the extended team for a great run this year. 9 undefeated championships games is incredible.
We need to build on the positives for 2025 and beyond. We know we can compete with any county.
Hope PJ gets an extension.
Gaillimh Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 29/07/2024 13:30:31    2562606

hard luck to all involved yesterday..
to say im heartbroken is an understatement.

i hope people both on and off this website give the lads time and space to get over this..
they have ben magnificent the last few years and i hope they get a massive turn out this eve,,

secondly i hope they all stick together and let the hurt drive them next year..there is an all ireland in this group
ive no douth about that...
keep the heads up lads and were all behind ye..
Gaillimh abu

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 263 - 29/07/2024 13:32:27    2562607

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "The stat were Galway scored more than Armagh is pretty hard to find."
A Mayo poster... God love you

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 29/07/2024 13:32:43    2562608

Replying To gbay:  "hard luck to all involved yesterday..
to say im heartbroken is an understatement.

i hope people both on and off this website give the lads time and space to get over this..
they have ben magnificent the last few years and i hope they get a massive turn out this eve,,

secondly i hope they all stick together and let the hurt drive them next year..there is an all ireland in this group
ive no douth about that...
keep the heads up lads and were all behind ye..
Gaillimh abu"
They have had 2 chances at it and not won it so how could you possibly suggest there is an all Ireland in them next year ?

Conor Gleeson definitely should have not conceded that goal

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 29/07/2024 13:40:45    2562612

Galway will regroup and will have a big say in the next few years.
Gaillimh Abu

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1218 - 29/07/2024 13:43:27    2562616

Well the dust has settled and I feel so sorry for the lads as they know they left it behind them but on the day they were not good enough and Armagh took the goal chance which won them the game. It was a dire spectacle as a football game and the quicker the new rules come in the better for football. I consider that Sean Kelly, Damien Comer, Shane Walsh, Rob Finnerty need to step away from Galway games until they are injury free and 100% ready to play football.

PJ needs to stay on and continue to bring forward the new young players we saw in the league. As McGeeney said he was called a gob***** after 10 years with Armagh but he is now vindicated by winning the All-Ireland but if they lost yesterday he was still a gob***** to some people. He will know that they were lucky yesterday but in sport you need a bit of luck which has deserted him for so long with the penalty losses. Finally can we all accept now that Armagh are our bogey team.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 29/07/2024 13:50:00    2562620

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Galway will regroup and will have a big say in the next few years.
Gaillimh Abu"
Well said..
We'll get over this and move on, back at the Dome in January...
Connacht will be tight again next year, pressure on Mc Stay in year 3 to get a province title..
Joyce will stay on with a reshuffle on the backroom.
Players like Cian Hernon Cillian o currain Sam o Neill, and maybe Peter Cooke will all have a big say next year.
Despite the depression from yesterday the future is bright..

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 29/07/2024 13:51:09    2562621

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "The stat were Galway scored more than Armagh is pretty hard to find."
Not really Galway scored 13 times yesterday Armagh 12

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1249 - 29/07/2024 13:52:27    2562623

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "They have had 2 chances at it and not won it so how could you possibly suggest there is an all Ireland in them next year ?

Conor Gleeson definitely should have not conceded that goal"
His defenders were at fault for the goal.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7571 - 29/07/2024 13:52:38    2562624

Replying To EDH:  "An awful disappointing result. Today is not the day to have a go. I just watched the game back and Galway should have won, fans are heartbroken but the players, backroom and their families must be devastated, please be respectful. We have to go again in New York in the Spring of 2025. Hopefully all the current players remain available and the ones currently not available come back into the mix and one or two others are found. Finally, thank you to the players."
I don't think anybody has had a go or got personal, but at this moment in time 2025 seems like an awful long way away, and you have to see yesterday for what it was, a massive chance lost to win an All Ireland. Questions have to be asked as to why we played so poorly, why were so many players anonymous yesterday, why was Walsh not taken off frees, why were certain players not moved or substituted, why did we have no plan for Armagh's 15 men behind the ball? There is no point in the usual Galway reaction of burying our heads, and coming out with the usual Galway line of "we did great to get to the final" or "we'll be back next year", at the end of the day we lost a final against a team who were there for the taking.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 181 - 29/07/2024 13:52:49    2562625

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "If you want basketball speak, watch basketball

Football was much better a generation ago than the dross there is now, however there seems to be a lot happy with gaelic handpass, especially up in Ulster"
Some of those great Dublin and Kerry teams that you no doubt reminisce over were great hand passing teams too you know. Especially when they had the lead. Any team not using the hand pass isn't a team worth talking about. You can cry all you want about it but the truth is, tactics evolve and maybe you should too. Football as you liked it is now out of date and doesn't work and no amount of rule changes will ever bring that back. Why not embrace the change and accept that there are new methods of playing, methods that can be as exciting as matches used to be or as dull as some matches also used to be.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2467 - 29/07/2024 14:02:13    2562633

Replying To togoutlads:  "Sam Maguire and Celtic Crosses left after us. So, so disappointing. Our worst performance in ages and we still only lost by 1 point. But lose it we did and to a, let's be honest here, very mediocre Armagh who mustered up a grand total of 12 scores in 76 mins and still beat us! A really substandard day at the office from some of our lads and from all of our management yesterday. Poor man management had a big part to play in 12 missed chances. An easier opportunity at an All Ireland title you'll hardly witness again in your lifetimes. One that got away. A galling day for Galway football. Also, so many of our fans, while they were there, are practically mute. We're the quietest, nicest ladeens and girleens at matches, some of us Galway folks just won't shout or cheer!"
It was your worst performance in about two weeks and on a par with most of your other performances this year.
Be sure not to give Armagh any credit now and of course Joyces man-managemt was the reason Armagh defended well and Galway kicked some wides.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 29/07/2024 14:04:08    2562634

Replying To mayo_123:  "Well ye joined the biggest losers club yesterday"
Club All Irelands in football, Galway clubs 7, Mayo clubs 2.
We won't mention the hurling clubs' successes, might be too much for you!

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 70 - 29/07/2024 14:07:38    2562639