Galway Football thread

Replying To Really:  "In 1983, AI final v Dublin was the most gutless performance by a Galway team ever seen in a final - today's performance imo, exceeds that."
Wow - that is very harsh... Give them a break.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 29/07/2024 09:09:33    2562451

Replying To Marooned:  "Don't think they were gutless. They just didn't execute. Got off 13 more shots than Armagh. Dominated possession. They just missed too many chances."
Exactly.

Galway had 13 scores out of 25 chances I think it was. 11 from play.
Armagh scored 1-11 from 19 shots. All scores from play.

For Galway, some bad misses and 3 dropped short.

The Wide count was Galway 9 to Armagh 6.

But I honestly felt Armagh were going to win yesterday - got their scores easier a lot of the time.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 29/07/2024 09:18:17    2562453

Replying To Really:  "In 1983, AI final v Dublin was the most gutless performance by a Galway team ever seen in a final - today's performance imo, exceeds that."
That is extremely harsh and ott.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 29/07/2024 09:27:48    2562459

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Bottlers, worse than any final mayo ever lost.
The standard of football was atrocious not just yesterday but all year.
Football is killing itself producing that standard of stuff match after match."
Very harsh on Galway.

Looks like Shane Walsh was right what he said after all. lol ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 29/07/2024 09:34:32    2562463

Devastated won't get a better chance IMO plenty of chances and not kicking those frees inexcusable at this level was a game Galway lost as opposed to Armagh winning!! McGeeney even said it himself saying they were not great I do feel for Conroy a warrior but our players didn show up Walsh Comer McDaid etc!! I do feel Gleesom could have done better for goal!! Felt for McHugh with shot of post!! Management must be questioned letting Walsh continue on frees the way conroy was kicking surely he should have had a few. First free set the tone taking it off his weaker foot when could easily have slotted it with stronger foot!! Poor game considering perfect conditions for football and not saying this due to result!! This one hurts great chance let slip

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 280 - 29/07/2024 09:35:14    2562464

Replying To Eire89:  "Devastated won't get a better chance IMO plenty of chances and not kicking those frees inexcusable at this level was a game Galway lost as opposed to Armagh winning!! McGeeney even said it himself saying they were not great I do feel for Conroy a warrior but our players didn show up Walsh Comer McDaid etc!! I do feel Gleesom could have done better for goal!! Felt for McHugh with shot of post!! Management must be questioned letting Walsh continue on frees the way conroy was kicking surely he should have had a few. First free set the tone taking it off his weaker foot when could easily have slotted it with stronger foot!! Poor game considering perfect conditions for football and not saying this due to result!! This one hurts great chance let slip"
Walsh had an off day but Comer has only scored 1pt in last 6 games, and his marker outscored him yesterday.

Bit odd alright Shane taking that free off his weaker foot. He just never got going for some reason either.

Any lads with injuries need to heal properly for a go at Sam next year.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 29/07/2024 09:46:48    2562465

I'm not feeling great this morning I won't lie.
But I had young lads with me yesterday and I had the same crew with me at 13 Galway games this year. It's not easy but it's not the end of the world. We had some great days out this year following this team and some luck along the way, Sligo(Finnerty goal), Mayo(last minute free), Mullingar(goal on the break), Monaghan(cracked the crossbar). Up and down the country, a few great highs and today feels like a low. I'll be back coaching the young lads this week and get racing one evening and we'll move on. The negative stuff about players, just have a think before you open your mouth. They are in the Radisson this morning more disappointed than any of us.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 29/07/2024 09:50:25    2562468

Very dissappointed after yesterday. Thought we had no leaders in outle forward line, what we would have done for a Ja Fallon or pj himself.
I think we need to go with a new approach, maybe drop Shane Walsh and keep Comer as an impact sub. Maybe start promoting O Conghaile or o Curraoin and bring Costelloe from Dunmore in for next year.
Also think we need to get Sean Kelly back into that team somewhere to be a line breaker.

Galway_tag (Galway) - Posts: 1 - 29/07/2024 10:01:19    2562474

Hard luck to Galway. I felt that what happened to ye yesterday in the final quarter was what happened to us in the semi final against ye. Composure just deserted ye at the crucial moments, and there were just too many chances snatched at. The goal was a gut punch as well. I think Campbell was attempting a fisted point but miscued slighty and McKay was able to capitalise.

I really felt for Shane Walsh. He is Galway's marquee player and I think he felt it was his responsibility to take on those frees, and keep taking them on, depite the fact that his radar was clearly off. Easy for me to say sitting at home, but would he have been better striking from the ground? Or perhaps stronger management was needed to remove him from free-taking duties?

Conroy is a warrior. What a player he is. He couldn't have given any more. Maher and Darcy very good as well.
Can't understand people writing Galway off after this, and even suggesting Joyce/O'Neill step away. Just look at McGeeney in Armagh, was this the first title he has won as a manager? Plenty for Joyce to work with yet.

I'd be telling Comer, Walsh and Conroy to go away on an extended break, don't wanna see ye til after Easter. Get the bodies and minds right. Would the likes of Cooke and Conneely be available next year? The field is definitey more even.
Dublin and Kerry will always be contenders but they don't hold the same aura/mystique as previous teams. Then you have the likes of Armagh/Galway/Mayo/Tyrone/Derry and hopefully ourselves hopefully in contention.

So although it must be sickening now, chin up. Get your club championships under way and look forward to 2025 with renewed hope and belief.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9455 - 29/07/2024 10:07:05    2562478

Replying To Fionn:  "Hard luck Galway. Just wasnt to be.

One of those days for Shane but Conroy, D'arcy and Maher were excellent.
The injuries to Kelly and Finnerty didnt help.

Have to ask - but where was Comer all game. Did he even touch the ball.?
Hasnt scored in the last 3 games, injury or no injury.
People having a go at Shane Walsh, should be looking elsewhere.

But there is an All Ireland in that team.
Hopefully Conroy gets over the line.
He was immense yet again."
Looking elsewhere really? Are you in some way more informed than the rest of us? You miss SEVEN frees/marks/'placed balls' in a match with a 1 point losing margin, that goes on top of the autopsy 'findings' imo.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3830 - 29/07/2024 10:09:42    2562479

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Hard luck to Galway. I felt that what happened to ye yesterday in the final quarter was what happened to us in the semi final against ye. Composure just deserted ye at the crucial moments, and there were just too many chances snatched at. The goal was a gut punch as well. I think Campbell was attempting a fisted point but miscued slighty and McKay was able to capitalise.

I really felt for Shane Walsh. He is Galway's marquee player and I think he felt it was his responsibility to take on those frees, and keep taking them on, depite the fact that his radar was clearly off. Easy for me to say sitting at home, but would he have been better striking from the ground? Or perhaps stronger management was needed to remove him from free-taking duties?

Conroy is a warrior. What a player he is. He couldn't have given any more. Maher and Darcy very good as well.
Can't understand people writing Galway off after this, and even suggesting Joyce/O'Neill step away. Just look at McGeeney in Armagh, was this the first title he has won as a manager? Plenty for Joyce to work with yet.

I'd be telling Comer, Walsh and Conroy to go away on an extended break, don't wanna see ye til after Easter. Get the bodies and minds right. Would the likes of Cooke and Conneely be available next year? The field is definitey more even.
Dublin and Kerry will always be contenders but they don't hold the same aura/mystique as previous teams. Then you have the likes of Armagh/Galway/Mayo/Tyrone/Derry and hopefully ourselves hopefully in contention.

So although it must be sickening now, chin up. Get your club championships under way and look forward to 2025 with renewed hope and belief."
Spot on.

8 teams in the mix next year.

But the player who is crucial is Conroy - wrap him up during the league.
Walsh will be fine and will come back stronger.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 29/07/2024 10:16:55    2562484

The only thing I'd describe as gutless is the cowardly nature of your posts. A nameless faceless individual who sees fit to call such things gutless when in all likelihood you were never fit the grace a football pitch.

We're all disappointed. Even me. And for all the opinions I have on our management team, it is completely out of order to call anyone who was representing Galway yesterday gutless.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 422 - 29/07/2024 10:17:06    2562485

You could count the number of great games comer and walsh has played for galway but management refuse to drop or take off until game is over
I have always said overated and yesterday proved it

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 29/07/2024 10:37:42    2562500

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Hard luck to Galway. I felt that what happened to ye yesterday in the final quarter was what happened to us in the semi final against ye. Composure just deserted ye at the crucial moments, and there were just too many chances snatched at. The goal was a gut punch as well. I think Campbell was attempting a fisted point but miscued slighty and McKay was able to capitalise.

So although it must be sickening now, chin up. Get your club championships under way and look forward to 2025 with renewed hope and belief."
Cooke is an interesting one, when you see how well Maher and Darcy did yesterday I think he would have been suited to that game. For all the talk about a stronger panel, I'm not sure P.J. really trusted the panel. We don't see training or AvB games but maybe he had his reasons. The subs were the same, I get the feeling that if McGrath or Finnerty got injured after 8 minutes, Heaney was going to come on. Plus the fact that Sean Kelly, Comer, Walsh and Finnerty have been played when not 100% at stages. Cian Hernon went from not on the panel in the Connacht Final to starting against Westmeath, again P.J. seems to trust him.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 29/07/2024 10:38:58    2562501

Anyone else notice how Fitzmaurice on rte was constantly praising Armagh's tactical prowess and using all those horrid basketball buzz words that have infested our game. I wonder why he was praising them so much? Tomas O'Se also. Answers on the back of a Kerry flag.

That being said if you drop a few frees into the welcoming arms of a goalie without any contest for that missed chance then that is a failure of forwards coaching too in the case of Galway. No way should a goalie have a free shot at catching a ball like that. Not scientific enough for the coaching gurus to have two forwards hovering around the square these days for a rebounded free etc.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 242 - 29/07/2024 10:39:33    2562502

Replying To mayo_123:  "You could count the number of great games comer and walsh has played for galway but management refuse to drop or take off until game is over
I have always said overated and yesterday proved it"
You must have been outstanding in your day and possibly on the frees in 1951

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 29/07/2024 10:51:04    2562507

Best thing we can do now is move on from Joyce and ONeill.
There was two AIs available and we threw both of them away.

We let Armagh win all their kick outs until the 68th minute when we were half buried and then they lost 3 from the next 4(two clean and one kicked away immediately after they won it).

Why you would think that's a good tactic is beyond me.. "after every wide or point we kick we'll let ye have an attack"... If you don't win the kick out, you need to either turn the ball over or hope the other team kick a wide.. I know where id rather try to win it back from those options.

We got away with that stupidity in the previous two games but not today... We won despite that tactic, not because of it.

Leaving Walsh on the frees was braindead stuff as well, him refusing to kick the 45 free and passing it off summed up his mentality at that stage.

We need a management team who'll grasp and gain the inches available, not give them away and make winning harder.

Our slow and ponderous attack is not a positive, we just go over and back and over and back into the corners and out without any real purpose. We have some great players who can move the ball quick... Let's get someone in there who can use that to their advantage and not have them hamstrung.

Armagh will likely get knocked out in the 1/4s next year... A typical day for Galway really and not in any way unexpected, we really are similar to Mayo despite the fact we try to mock them.

Gilberto_Eire (Galway) - Posts: 77 - 29/07/2024 10:54:34    2562508

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "Anyone else notice how Fitzmaurice on rte was constantly praising Armagh's tactical prowess and using all those horrid basketball buzz words that have infested our game. I wonder why he was praising them so much? Tomas O'Se also. Answers on the back of a Kerry flag.

That being said if you drop a few frees into the welcoming arms of a goalie without any contest for that missed chance then that is a failure of forwards coaching too in the case of Galway. No way should a goalie have a free shot at catching a ball like that. Not scientific enough for the coaching gurus to have two forwards hovering around the square these days for a rebounded free etc."
Yeah, it's almost like Fitzmaurice is moving with the times and commentating on the game that's in front of him instead of whinging about the past being better like the old guard on the Sunday game that they binned off for good reason. Nobody likes to wallow in misery but the miserable. Obviously Hoganstand is the place to be for some of them.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2482 - 29/07/2024 10:55:15    2562509

Replying To mayo_123:  "You could count the number of great games comer and walsh has played for galway but management refuse to drop or take off until game is over
I have always said overated and yesterday proved it"
Careful now..... lol

Comer might be a great impact sub in fairness, but like Campbell is.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 29/07/2024 11:01:28    2562511

Replying To Fionn:  "Spot on.

8 teams in the mix next year.

But the player who is crucial is Conroy - wrap him up during the league.
Walsh will be fine and will come back stronger."
Yeah like, gun to head now, which of the Div 1 teams in next year's NFL would you pick as your tip for the All-Ireland?
I think 2025 will be a fascinating Championship. But I really hope we see some tactical innovation during the League. It's a wee bit worrying, and it will only be reinforced after yesterday, that the successful teams are all adopting this cagey approach of protecting the D and looking for turnovers. Must be incredibly frustrating to be an inside forward in the current era. The way it is now, it's your middle third players who you want to be extremely adept at kicking scores.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9455 - 29/07/2024 11:06:39    2562513