Galway Football thread

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "I think Galway and Armagh are at the same level and Armagh were better today. Thats what I think."
Kerry and Dublin are still slightly out in front but there are 8 teams there to take them down.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2132 - 28/07/2024 22:40:06    2562391

Replying To Marooned:  "Don't think they were gutless. They just didn't execute. Got off 13 more shots than Armagh. Dominated possession. They just missed too many chances."
That's it. Wasn't remotely gutless. The freetaking was shambolic, might be the worst display ever in a final? Ger Fennelly in '87 springs to mind, and we were beneficiaries that day.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3830 - 28/07/2024 22:43:06    2562392

Replying To Really:  "In 1983, AI final v Dublin was the most gutless performance by a Galway team ever seen in a final - today's performance imo, exceeds that."
Sorry I'm not having that. Have you ever played football? Gutless is not a word I would to describe any footballer who puts their life into the game at the highest level.

Galway simply didn't have the firepower today. Had enough chances but couldn't execute. We know all about it in Mayo.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11375 - 28/07/2024 22:49:55    2562394

Replying To Marooned:  "Don't think they were gutless. They just didn't execute. Got off 13 more shots than Armagh. Dominated possession. They just missed too many chances."
Where was the will to win? Allowing the opposition to call the "spinal" and "alternate" side plays at random, was in a way submission. We had by a large margin, the better quality players all over the pitch!

Really (Galway) - Posts: 619 - 28/07/2024 22:54:33    2562395

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "Ah look wharever you think. Armagh were the better side, Galway are not the unstoppable force some think they are."
Who's yer man from Donegal ? He's some craic haha.

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 28/07/2024 23:29:50    2562404

Finnerty getting injured was a hammer blow as we did not have anybody capable of scoring a free kick from 30 yards or more, or at least didn't try one even after a number of failures , Conroy was able to kick points from 40 to 45 yards under pressure maybe he have been given a free shot. i am of the opinion that kicking it wide would be preferable to passing it to the opposing goalkeeper to set up an attack when the defence was not in place.These are just some of things that malfunctioned today poor shot selection and not tracking their defenders when they attacked us also come to min. {PS I haven't watched the TV broadcast yet so maybe my take from row Y upper Cusack can't be trusted.}

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 110 - 28/07/2024 23:39:14    2562406

Replying To Really:  "In 1983, AI final v Dublin was the most gutless performance by a Galway team ever seen in a final - today's performance imo, exceeds that."
Gutless?
Nothing gutless about that performance

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1274 - 29/07/2024 00:08:00    2562411

I wouldn't say Galway were gutless. Armagh defended superbly and didn't allow the opposition star players to function. Galway were a post away from extra time and missed a few easy enough chances too. It's very disappointing for Galway fans but stick with Padraig Joyce, he's a class act.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9780 - 29/07/2024 00:48:22    2562413

Devastated golden chance gone and Armagh didn even play well they did not have to dreadful game of football that will live long in Galway memory for all the wrong reasons. Walsh will get a lot of flak and can't argue missed a lot but kicking the first free off his left was scandalous ego but shows how much of a loss finnerty was. Heart goes out for conroy & I must say Darcy had a fine game a lad I have been critical of in past but huge opportunity wasted!! Football is in a bad place great conditions for a match and side to side was a case of both teams being afraid to lose as opposed to a team winning it & Armagh just about did enough more so through Galway's toothless display. Only solace is at least it's a "different" winner as opposed to your Dublin Kerry's

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 280 - 29/07/2024 01:01:43    2562414

Injuries eventually caught up with them. Disappointed for them but I wouldn't have been over the moon if we stole it in the end.

Kew (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 29/07/2024 01:04:34    2562415

We had our chances and didn't get it done…..they did. It's horrible but it's the truth. We went down 5 times in a row to their goal area and came out with ZERO POINTS!!! Walsh's missed frees didn't help either. Sigh.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2218 - 29/07/2024 02:21:33    2562420

Folks posted on a general post about this but I would like some opinions on Jarlath's Burns speech. Thought it was very disrespectful to Galway. He is not president of Armagh GAa but president of the full GAA. Anyone think that

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 79 - 29/07/2024 03:58:47    2562422

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "I think Galway and Armagh are at the same level and Armagh were better today. Thats what I think."
your entitled to your opinion but nobody wants it here so head off back to the Donegal forum like a good lad. You were saying earlier that the standard of the championship was low but guaranteed you wouldn't have been saying that if Donegal had crossed the line.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 136 - 29/07/2024 05:07:24    2562423

Replying To Marooned:  "In fairness Armagh had 15 deep behind the ball the whole game. Apart from whenever Galway caught them with a turnover. Can't just pump in high ball into a packed defence as the defence will win it 9 times out of 10."
We could have tried one, maybe?
Not suggesting we drive in long ball into 15 defenders but we had many turnovers and fast breaks where there was at least an opportunity.
Why have him in there for 2 All Ireland Finals if we don't intend to use him.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 375 - 29/07/2024 07:04:10    2562425

Hard luck Galway. Just wasnt to be.

One of those days for Shane but Conroy, D'arcy and Maher were excellent.
The injuries to Kelly and Finnerty didnt help.

Have to ask - but where was Comer all game. Did he even touch the ball.?
Hasnt scored in the last 3 games, injury or no injury.
People having a go at Shane Walsh, should be looking elsewhere.

But there is an All Ireland in that team.
Hopefully Conroy gets over the line.
He was immense yet again.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 29/07/2024 08:26:29    2562433

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Hard luck today, I thought Galway would be much better but they looked a bit nervous or something early on, will Joyce stay on now?
2 final defeats in a row, you don't want to be catching up on your near neighbours on that stat.
Lick the wounds and go again, there is an All Ireland in this Galway team, maybe a new voice is needed to lead now."
Not so sure a new voice is needed to be honest.

Kelly and Finnerty were big losses yesterday.

If Comer is still injured then why play him for 65 mins.
He has not been at the races at all for the 1/4, semi or Final.

Conroy at 35, what a Trojan.

There is definitely an All Ireland in that team.

On another day Shane would not have missed as many as yesterday.

This year PJ has unearthed some new Galway players.
It is something to build on in the League and get set for another go at Sam next season.
Galway are very close, take confidence from this season, need to drive on next year and get over the line.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 29/07/2024 08:48:36    2562441

Gutted still...
However we never expected to get this far and hopefully PJ will stay , a few adjustments, a couple of more young lads integrated into panel which he has been very good at and January would be far away..
Looking to go 4 in a row Connacht and hopefully another tilt at Sam..
The new rules may help our game in the long run..
Congratulations to Armagh

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 29/07/2024 09:04:02    2562445

As an Ulster man, I'm delighted for Armagh and for McGeeney but very hard luck to Galway.
I think there are days when the result is already written in the stars and yesterday was that day for Armagh, but no one can deny Armagh the victory, there were well overdue a bit of luck.
Some reasons Galway lost were:
Finnerty going off injured so early. This proved the losing of the game with Walsh missing some realtively easy frees and chances throughout.
Joyce should have insisted in a change of free taker in 2nd half, even have Gleeson take a couple of those frees off the ground late on. It just wasn't Walsh's day yesterday and this was evident in the 2nd half. In all honesty, he was a substitute candidate late on.
Armagh completely nullified Comer, the fact that Comer and Walsh were out of it for most of the game sucked the life and confidence out of Galway then. They were panicking with over 15 mins left in the game.
McHugh's shot hitting the post. Those are the fine margins too, on another day, that ball goes over and its extra time.
Block on Conroy at the end, how many times have we seen this in final moments of the final. Armagh were the victims of this themselves in 2003. Again, that goes over and its extra time.
This Galway team can go again and reach the final again next year, there is no doubt. Don't be retiring Conroy either, he was one of your best players this year and an All-Star candidate, why would he retire now. ?
I expect Dublin to be a bit weaker next year with some retirees, Kerry are well beatable in latter stages so that leaves Donegal, Mayo and probably Derry as candidates, so nothing to fear. Galway must have the belief to push on again next year, this team deserves an All Ireland now.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 29/07/2024 09:04:07    2562446

Bottlers, worse than any final mayo ever lost.
The standard of football was atrocious not just yesterday but all year.
Football is killing itself producing that standard of stuff match after match.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1769 - 29/07/2024 09:07:14    2562448

No words will make this morning any better for Galway fans but I'd just like to say what a great support you had yesterday, very vocal & passionate and what I really wanted to say a very sporting crowd, if I had a pound for every shake of the hand yesterday from tribesmen well I would be doing very well. Your day will come.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1071 - 29/07/2024 09:08:10    2562449