Galway Football thread

Galway have got this. People need to get over their Dublin complex. Galway will go out as underdogs and win.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 28/06/2024 10:38:14    2555343

Replying To LárBáire:  "Team news announced for the match tomorrow:

Gleeson,
McGrath, Fitzgerald, Glynn,
McHugh, Silke, Mulkerrin,
Conroy, Kelly,
Tierney, Maher, McDaid,
Finnerty, Comer, Walsh

Arguably the strongest 15 named to start so far this year, just have to hope the fitness levels are there for the lads with niggles and that there's no last minute changes."
Strong Galway team named. Best of luck to both Connacht teams in Croke park tomorrow.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2242 - 28/06/2024 11:15:05    2555352

Direct ball to Comer and get goals...
Defensively we are stronger than previous years..

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 51 - 28/06/2024 11:31:48    2555357

Has Daly fallen out of favour? Would porefer to have him in ahead of Mulkerrin and even hernon ahead of mulkerrin. other than that happy with team but obviously concerns over fitness of walsh comer finnerty & kelly

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 28/06/2024 12:40:33    2555369

I wish Galway well. Hope Comer, Walsh, Kelly and Conroy can do the business. But I have doubts. I would have kept Conroy on bench, and Walsh too. Second half bring them on. It is all or nothing now. Extra time, penos anyone?

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2538 - 28/06/2024 13:01:55    2555375

Replying To LárBáire:  "Team news announced for the match tomorrow:

Gleeson,
McGrath, Fitzgerald, Glynn,
McHugh, Silke, Mulkerrin,
Conroy, Kelly,
Tierney, Maher, McDaid,
Finnerty, Comer, Walsh

Arguably the strongest 15 named to start so far this year, just have to hope the fitness levels are there for the lads with niggles and that there's no last minute changes."
It's Galway's Strongest possible team but unfortunately up against a rested Dublin in their home patch and Galway playing their 3rd match in 14 days. Was a busy week with recovery sessions and ice baths no doubt and hopefully its competitive showing from Galway tomorrow night.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 153 - 28/06/2024 13:09:02    2555380

Replying To galwayford:  "I wish Galway well. Hope Comer, Walsh, Kelly and Conroy can do the business. But I have doubts. I would have kept Conroy on bench, and Walsh too. Second half bring them on. It is all or nothing now. Extra time, penos anyone?"
it would be difficult for conroy and walshe to do the business from the bench

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 194 - 28/06/2024 14:12:04    2555394

Replying To Eire89:  "Has Daly fallen out of favour? Would porefer to have him in ahead of Mulkerrin and even hernon ahead of mulkerrin. other than that happy with team but obviously concerns over fitness of walsh comer finnerty & kelly"
Have you watched any Galway games this year? Daly has been poor. No surprise he's been dropped. Mulkerrin had a great game vs Armagh before the back injury. And Hernon was poor vs Westmeath. Mulkerrin probably the best man for the job at the moment.

Ros4sam1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 10 - 28/06/2024 15:30:40    2555417

The crucial battle line will be Howard/Small/Bugler v Tierney/Maher/McDaid. You'd put that Dublin half-back line down for 6 points and Galway half-forwards down for 5 points. Dublin have scorers all over the place.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 602 - 28/06/2024 15:52:50    2555427

Replying To galwayford:  "I wish Galway well. Hope Comer, Walsh, Kelly and Conroy can do the business. But I have doubts. I would have kept Conroy on bench, and Walsh too. Second half bring them on. It is all or nothing now. Extra time, penos anyone?"
Conroy probably our best player this summer, 2 man of the match performances and scoring off both feet from big distances, yet you'd drop him? We need his unexpected scores from the getgo tomorrow.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 153 - 28/06/2024 15:59:51    2555428

Replying To Eire89:  "Has Daly fallen out of favour? Would porefer to have him in ahead of Mulkerrin and even hernon ahead of mulkerrin. other than that happy with team but obviously concerns over fitness of walsh comer finnerty & kelly"
Daly can't track runners but maybe able open tiring defences with his kick passing when he comes on. Mulkerrin could do a job on Kilkenny although Molloy usually picks him up

Kew (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 28/06/2024 16:00:00    2555429

Replying To Ros4sam1:  "Have you watched any Galway games this year? Daly has been poor. No surprise he's been dropped. Mulkerrin had a great game vs Armagh before the back injury. And Hernon was poor vs Westmeath. Mulkerrin probably the best man for the job at the moment."
Yes I have watched Galway games and I would still have daly ahead of mulkerrin. i would also have hernon due to his atletism espec against the dubs his game against westmeath was his first since travelling so I would hope he has kicked on alot in last month. I would worry about mulkerrins in an open pitch in croke park against the dubs but agree he has been good espec against armagh.

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 28/06/2024 16:40:09    2555436

The way galway have played all year has been defensive and it's not like turning on a switch ,nothing will change in the game plan.
I expect Dublin by 5 points, I think the mayo game will gave sharpened them up, and scoring 14/15 points won't be enough for Galway
I wish Galway the best of luck but I think they will need it

Coolmore (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 28/06/2024 16:57:50    2555437

Replying To Coolmore:  "The way galway have played all year has been defensive and it's not like turning on a switch ,nothing will change in the game plan.
I expect Dublin by 5 points, I think the mayo game will gave sharpened them up, and scoring 14/15 points won't be enough for Galway
I wish Galway the best of luck but I think they will need it"
Yes but this is the first time we have Finnerty, Shane and Comer on together. We can add a goal or two to that total of yours...hon the Tribes!

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 28/06/2024 21:11:21    2555463

I think we'll need at least one goal to win this one... That and a grain-a-rice speech a la the great paudie from Joyce at 10 past 6 an send them out with their tails up

Knocknadrough (Galway) - Posts: 25 - 28/06/2024 21:51:07    2555468

I will all depend on how well S.Kelly organises and protects the central defensive area, it was plain to be seen how this area opened after he departed in recent games notably v Armagh, Paul Conroy will have to continue to give leadership and structure around the middle of the field and Damian Comer has to be at the top of his game to allow some others make a telling impact in order to have a decent shot at winning. Leave it all on the pitch and we could still be in the pot on the Sunday Game.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 76 - 28/06/2024 22:39:42    2555478

best of luck to the lads and safe travels to all travelling up tomorrow.
its a good team and i really hope that team starts and there are no more injuries to the 26 before
throw in.its a pity about sweeney but he's young and he'll come again..

its gonna be a tough came so lets hope for the best performance of the year and as thats all we
can ask and lets see what happens..

drive it home lads where with ye..
see ye tomorrow all.
Gaillimh abu

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 259 - 28/06/2024 23:32:41    2555482

Best of luck to your lads today! Let's hope it's a great day way for Connacht football. Il be staying on to support ye. I'm sure ye can give this Dublin team plenty of it, hopefully Walsh and Comer have 80 minutes in them. Nothing to fear!

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 199 - 29/06/2024 08:31:42    2555494

Best wishes to the Galway team today. Its a great team, best we have had in over 20 years so I hope they go out today and show what they are capable of.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 29/06/2024 10:09:40    2555507

Just hope galway really go at dubs have no regrets the chance to play in croke park might not come again , definitely think shane Walsh needs to play around the centre forward position and supply the quality ball to comer and Finnerty Also majority of kicouts need go long and Galway prob need push up and a good few dubs kickouts and force them long dubs kicouts usually go into space around 45 so need fill the space and force them into crowded area I know easier said than done and lots teams have tried without much success, Galway prob need min 2 goals today hard see galway scoring more than 15 points ,, big thing have no regrets,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 895 - 29/06/2024 10:29:42    2555509