Galway Football thread

Replying To sligo joe:  "Such paranoia!!! The Dubs are going to target Conroy and get him booked!!! Maybe Conroy might take responsibility for his own actions and not get booked?"
O'Neill targeted Duff in '83 I recall, diving head first onto his boot near ground level.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3636 - 27/06/2024 13:51:37    2555162

A lot of people seem to be critical of sean kelly on this thread. I thought he played a great gane against monahan and got through a lot of work, bar one dodgy handpass. In saying that, it would be great to see mcdaid lining out at midfield with conroy. He seems to have shaken off the rust through gametime and is a fantastic athlete.

Hill16! (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 27/06/2024 14:54:09    2555179

Replying To galwayford:  "Will the wily Dubs target Conroy. And possibly get him booked. That is my fear."
PC rarely gets wound up (even the sending off against Derry a couple years back was a tad unlucky) his ability to wind up the opposition though is off the scale........

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 614 - 27/06/2024 14:59:19    2555181

Replying To Hill16!:  "A lot of people seem to be critical of sean kelly on this thread. I thought he played a great gane against monahan and got through a lot of work, bar one dodgy handpass. In saying that, it would be great to see mcdaid lining out at midfield with conroy. He seems to have shaken off the rust through gametime and is a fantastic athlete."
Not critical of him just feel he doesn seem himself & seems to be carrying an injury IMO.

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 27/06/2024 15:25:13    2555194

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "O'Neill targeted Duff in '83 I recall, diving head first onto his boot near ground level."
He missed!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2879 - 27/06/2024 15:28:46    2555195

Replying To Eire89:  "Not critical of him just feel he doesn seem himself & seems to be carrying an injury IMO."
Could be, but hes always had a way of running that makes him look like hes carrying an injury as far as i remember. The pace he had running out to retrieve the ball after monahan hit the crossbar has me hopeful that hes back to where he was athletically

Hill16! (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 27/06/2024 16:02:36    2555202

Replying To S1234:  "Again don't know who Clare is very weird maybe you should get your facts straight first before pointing fingers."
Fair play Claire! You're a gas man. With no more football on ye're calendar you could be off saving the turf, or trying to find work for yourself in Galway, but here you are obsessed with Galway football. The sooner you can admit to yourself that this unhealthy obsession is how you're manifesting your love for us, the sooner you can begin a healthier, open affection for your neighbours. Come on out and tell the world you love Galway and you're proud of it.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3126 - 27/06/2024 17:13:57    2555221

I think the biggest issue with Kelly this year is he being played out of position in every match he one of top attacking backs in Ireland but he is being played in half forward line and midfield that's the main issue in my opinion,, when he was in backs he was dragging opponents down field now he having to chase wing backs up the field , Mcdaid another being played out of position both of them being taken off last 3 matches something thar would not happen 2 years ago when they were used in there best position

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 895 - 27/06/2024 17:39:22    2555232

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "O'Neill targeted Duff in '83 I recall, diving head first onto his boot near ground level."
I never saw such revisionism as that Laochra Gael prog on Duff, nearly had him up for sainthood.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 27/06/2024 17:51:16    2555237

Smaller Fish were wondering would PJ switch him back to 3 and take out Fitzgerald. I doubt it myself. They thought Kelly would mark Fenton for the match. They all went for Dublin and wondered will we see anything from Shane. I believe if he is playing that we will see a big performance from him. They suggested us sitting back and trying to close the Dubs down and playing our ponderous "style" will get us nowhere and we should dust down the 2022 final strategy with another 4+ points of course. I'm looking forward to the game, I believe we have a chance and cannot leave the pitch having regrets on not testing the Dubs.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 27/06/2024 19:26:32    2555247

I would imagine they put Maher on Fenton they need put pressure on the ball going into Dublin full forward line , dubs will probably push up on galway kicouts knowing that Gleason struggle big time with short to medium kick outs only chance is when dubs push up Galway go long to Tierney, Darcy if he starts Kilkenny is there go 2 man he makes them tick but man marking him a waste time as he will drag his marker all over the place and leave pockets of space need to zonal mark but the zone needs to be 45 yards out ,, hoping for a good performance from Galway but unfortunately I can see only one winner dubs hard see Galway getting 15 scores and hard see dubs not scoring 1-16 or around thar agsin only my opinion,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 895 - 27/06/2024 20:53:27    2555263

Replying To JahTribe:  "Smaller Fish were wondering would PJ switch him back to 3 and take out Fitzgerald. I doubt it myself. They thought Kelly would mark Fenton for the match. They all went for Dublin and wondered will we see anything from Shane. I believe if he is playing that we will see a big performance from him. They suggested us sitting back and trying to close the Dubs down and playing our ponderous "style" will get us nowhere and we should dust down the 2022 final strategy with another 4+ points of course. I'm looking forward to the game, I believe we have a chance and cannot leave the pitch having regrets on not testing the Dubs."
Probably need 4+ scorers too, compared to that game, where Walsh and McDaid accounted for a staggering 13 of our 16 scores.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3636 - 27/06/2024 20:55:30    2555266

Dublin keeper is about the same age as PJ. forty something? Galway need to pump some high balls on top of him to mix it up a bit. Dublin are totally beatable. Sure PJ could tog out himself.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1206 - 27/06/2024 21:41:53    2555274

I think we can win it if we really believe it.
In 2018 I don't remember any sense of belief all week that we'd beat Dublin. This Saturday evening throw in time doesn't feel like peak time either! But I feel this crop of Galway players know now how hard it is to get back to a final, and I think they'll give it everything. I feel they'll be full of belief this time. Hopefully if we get scoring chances we'll take them, especially goals.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 153 - 27/06/2024 23:48:53    2555293

Fitz struggled with con on the league

Kew (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 28/06/2024 01:08:35    2555298

Replying To jam83:  "I think we can win it if we really believe it.
In 2018 I don't remember any sense of belief all week that we'd beat Dublin. This Saturday evening throw in time doesn't feel like peak time either! But I feel this crop of Galway players know now how hard it is to get back to a final, and I think they'll give it everything. I feel they'll be full of belief this time. Hopefully if we get scoring chances we'll take them, especially goals."
Sorry to have to say this, but imo, there is no evidence to date, that Galway can compete with Dublin's: Small x2, Fenton, Kilkenny, Con etc. Dublin: 2:16 Galway:1:14

Really (Galway) - Posts: 602 - 28/06/2024 02:20:27    2555301

Replying To jam83:  "I think we can win it if we really believe it.
In 2018 I don't remember any sense of belief all week that we'd beat Dublin. This Saturday evening throw in time doesn't feel like peak time either! But I feel this crop of Galway players know now how hard it is to get back to a final, and I think they'll give it everything. I feel they'll be full of belief this time. Hopefully if we get scoring chances we'll take them, especially goals."
Nobody was going to beat Dublin in 2018. They are beatable now. I expect a close match.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2879 - 28/06/2024 07:26:44    2555305

Replying To Really:  "Sorry to have to say this, but imo, there is no evidence to date, that Galway can compete with Dublin's: Small x2, Fenton, Kilkenny, Con etc. Dublin: 2:16 Galway:1:14"
Ye'll just have to destroy the evidence so to win yer case. Plenty of threats in yer team and Damien Comer, even if not 100%, chomping at the bit and not letting ye take a backwards step. They're favourites but not unbeatable.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7465 - 28/06/2024 08:22:49    2555311

Shane definitely fit anyway judging by the layout of that bench. They have left it with only two inside forwards on the bench in Culhane and O'Conghaile. Not sure we need five backs plus Heaney on the bench.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 732 - 28/06/2024 10:21:22    2555338

Team news announced for the match tomorrow:

Gleeson,
McGrath, Fitzgerald, Glynn,
McHugh, Silke, Mulkerrin,
Conroy, Kelly,
Tierney, Maher, McDaid,
Finnerty, Comer, Walsh

Arguably the strongest 15 named to start so far this year, just have to hope the fitness levels are there for the lads with niggles and that there's no last minute changes.

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 32 - 28/06/2024 10:21:44    2555339