Galway Football thread

Congratulations to Shane Walsh on being on the Club Football Team of the Year.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 08/03/2023 12:41:21    2462740

Anyone seen anything of the u20's so far? Think they play Dublin this weekend in the John Kerins final.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 08/03/2023 13:49:14    2462762

Replying To giveitlong:  "McStay has this team buzzing, and while it is of course early days, there is one thing I would be very confident of and that is, if they get to an AI final they will not play below their potential as under JH an number of times. McStay and Rochford are a top class team."
I agree. I think Mayo are looking very good for a long championship.
They're giving plenty of lads game time and experience, they're racking up big scores (something they were always criticized about) and I think they'll meet Galway in the championship in salthill. I think they'll take care of Roscommon. I've seen enough at this stage to make a prediction!
If it pans out like that there'll be the usual huge Mayo crowd in salthill. It'd be a great occasion. Hopefully we wouldn't be outnumbered like previous years. We've definitely been outdone on the vocal support, maybe because Mayo season ticket holders have gotten access to the stand and the louder accoustics that creates.

I'm jumping ahead here of course, but I'm just looking at matchups and think mcstays penchant for O'Shea at full forward would be a big problem for Sean Kelly. It turned the croke park Connacht final a few years back.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 08/03/2023 14:13:00    2462769

Replying To smallfrank:  "Maybe some of the guys that have lost a lot of All Irelands. Mícheál Donoghue did it, Pat Gilroy did it. Out of interest what tough decisions has he made regarding the panel."
Up to the new players to push the older ones out. If you look at the Mayo team now a lot of the old guard have gone. The likes of Jack Carney, McBrien, Tuohy and Hession all coming along. O Connor, O Se only introduced from the bench the last day.

I don't think losing an all Ireland previously should be a reason for moving a player on. On that Basis young hession should be retired at 21? Ryan O D…good luck?

Anyway I won't be getting carried away. It's only the league but I would think we should have a bigger say than last year. With Dublin back into the pack and Kerry over reliant on Clifford anyone of 5 or 6 teams can win the all Ireland. I include Mayo and Galway in that.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 08/03/2023 15:19:58    2462801

Replying To jam83:  "I agree. I think Mayo are looking very good for a long championship.
They're giving plenty of lads game time and experience, they're racking up big scores (something they were always criticized about) and I think they'll meet Galway in the championship in salthill. I think they'll take care of Roscommon. I've seen enough at this stage to make a prediction!
If it pans out like that there'll be the usual huge Mayo crowd in salthill. It'd be a great occasion. Hopefully we wouldn't be outnumbered like previous years. We've definitely been outdone on the vocal support, maybe because Mayo season ticket holders have gotten access to the stand and the louder accoustics that creates.

I'm jumping ahead here of course, but I'm just looking at matchups and think mcstays penchant for O'Shea at full forward would be a big problem for Sean Kelly. It turned the croke park Connacht final a few years back."
It's a long way off but I would have thought that Mayo would be far more worried about having a rookie full back on Comer than Galway would be about Kelly taking O'Shea.

I'm hoping Galway finish third ideally in the league and not have the league final to worry about. Focus on getting everything ready for the semi final. Squad should be in great shape and then catching Mayo who would have played nearly every week at that stage whereas the Galway lads will be fresh.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 08/03/2023 15:51:47    2462819

Replying To jam83:  "I agree. I think Mayo are looking very good for a long championship.

I'm jumping ahead here of course, but I'm just looking at matchups and think mcstays penchant for O'Shea at full forward would be a big problem for Sean Kelly. It turned the croke park Connacht final a few years back."
No Kellys injury turned it that day .Galway were in a strong position until Kellys departure after which the defence fell apart.
That is not to say that O'Shea would not cause him difficulties in the future.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 68 - 08/03/2023 16:06:14    2462825

Replying To backtooldwall:  "No Kellys injury turned it that day .Galway were in a strong position until Kellys departure after which the defence fell apart.
That is not to say that O'Shea would not cause him difficulties in the future."
Not to mention Shane Walsh's injury from the O'Hora tackle, he had a big influence on the first half but he couldn't move properly in the second half at all.

Rocky.Road (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 08/03/2023 16:53:19    2462842

Replying To Trump2020:  "Congratulations to Shane Walsh on being on the Club Football Team of the Year."
Yes congratulations to Shane . But I think even more congratulations to Sean Kelly who you obviously failed to notice was also picked on the team of the Year.
Sean won it representing one of our own clubs , and as well as that its always a little bit more difficult ( and more noteworthy) to make these teams when your team are not All Ireland finalists.
But congratulations are in order to both,

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 08/03/2023 17:27:56    2462854

In Croke Park at that time AOS was a lot closer to his prime than he is now. Sean Kelly is a lot closer to his prime now than he was then.
I would be very comfortable with that match up now. AOS might do some damage , but not nearly as much as SK at the other end .

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 08/03/2023 17:32:10    2462855

Replying To yew_tree:  "Up to the new players to push the older ones out. If you look at the Mayo team now a lot of the old guard have gone. The likes of Jack Carney, McBrien, Tuohy and Hession all coming along. O Connor, O Se only introduced from the bench the last day.

I don't think losing an all Ireland previously should be a reason for moving a player on. On that Basis young hession should be retired at 21? Ryan O D…good luck?

Anyway I won't be getting carried away. It's only the league but I would think we should have a bigger say than last year. With Dublin back into the pack and Kerry over reliant on Clifford anyone of 5 or 6 teams can win the all Ireland. I include Mayo and Galway in that."
It's not up to new players to drop older ones.
Micheal Donoghue dropped Iarla Tannian, David Collins, Andy Smith and a couple of others who lost All Irelands in 2012, 2015 and were part of a panel that voted out Anthony Cunningham . It was a statement and it won Galway an All Ireland in 2017. Pat Gilroy did the same with Mark Vaughan, Jason Sherlock. Dublin won Sam in 2011 after years of failure.
Mayo have kept guys on until they decide its time to stop. I'm not saying it's right or wrong but McStay hasn't made any big decisions regarding the panel and players that have been around a while. Maybe he will on time.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 364 - 08/03/2023 20:11:45    2462882

Replying To backtooldwall:  "No Kellys injury turned it that day .Galway were in a strong position until Kellys departure after which the defence fell apart.
That is not to say that O'Shea would not cause him difficulties in the future."
Kelly ran him ragged in 2020 and O'Shea hadn't the legs to follow him. He's hardly gotten quicker 3 years later. That foul at the end of that final when Kelly was through on goal was down to O'Shea not tracking his man. In 2021 in Croker, for Walshs goal O'Shea was jogging and pointing at Durcan to track Walsh.
I would be much more fearful of Mayos forwards with pace, Conroy, O'Donoghue, Carr.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 364 - 09/03/2023 09:10:18    2462904

Replying To smallfrank:  "Maybe some of the guys that have lost a lot of All Irelands. Mícheál Donoghue did it, Pat Gilroy did it. Out of interest what tough decisions has he made regarding the panel."
McStay dropped at least 3 lads who played last year and had been on the panel for years. He's hardly going to drop players still good enough to play.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 09/03/2023 09:15:06    2462906

Replying To MayoDan:  "McStay dropped at least 3 lads who played last year and had been on the panel for years. He's hardly going to drop players still good enough to play."
Other All Ireland winning managers did for lots of reasons. Failure in previous years to win an All Ireland. Disruptive in the group. Not fitting the style of play. If you think he's made the tough decisions regarding the panel and shaken things up, fair enough.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 364 - 09/03/2023 09:53:15    2462909

Replying To smallfrank:  "Kelly ran him ragged in 2020 and O'Shea hadn't the legs to follow him. He's hardly gotten quicker 3 years later. That foul at the end of that final when Kelly was through on goal was down to O'Shea not tracking his man. In 2021 in Croker, for Walshs goal O'Shea was jogging and pointing at Durcan to track Walsh.
I would be much more fearful of Mayos forwards with pace, Conroy, O'Donoghue, Carr."
One of the goals Mayo conceded last Sunday was down to O Shea struggling to cover back , and yes he can be seen pointing for someone else to cover..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 09/03/2023 09:55:19    2462910

Replying To Belclare:  "One of the goals Mayo conceded last Sunday was down to O Shea struggling to cover back , and yes he can be seen pointing for someone else to cover.."
Agree, O Shea can be exposed going the other way.. He has impressed me at 14 this year.. To be honest I would have ran him after the Tyrone AI final but he seems to be laying it off quicker which is exactly what he should do as he cant score himself.. McStay and co have obviously been working on that.. If his marker has legs.. like Kelly, Mayo simply have to have someone else track him.. I expect to see more of Paddy Durcan as that extra defender and he would have the legs to track

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 09/03/2023 10:37:15    2462915

Replying To unclegerry:  "Agree, O Shea can be exposed going the other way.. He has impressed me at 14 this year.. To be honest I would have ran him after the Tyrone AI final but he seems to be laying it off quicker which is exactly what he should do as he cant score himself.. McStay and co have obviously been working on that.. If his marker has legs.. like Kelly, Mayo simply have to have someone else track him.. I expect to see more of Paddy Durcan as that extra defender and he would have the legs to track"
If O Shea plays inside come championship he won't be expected to track a runner from deep. No point asking him to track a guy like Kelly as he won't have the legs for that.
Honestly if Mayo can exploit the forward mark rule AOS has the ability to be a serious weapon.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 09/03/2023 11:39:06    2462939

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "Are you for real Systematic? Were you at the match at all? Did you even see in on TV? Your prejudice against goalkeeper Conor Gleeson is appalling. Give the man a break. He is an excellent keeper and had a really outstanding game yesterday aided by the outfield players doing their own jobs in. Lay off the negativity and the unjustified criticisms please. These players are amateur and ought to be given fair play and commendation for their efforts. This Galway team displayed great character, confidence, courage, determination and skill in defeating a good Monaghan team with 14 players. We should be very proud of them and of PJ and the management team. Gaillimh Abu !"
Of course I was at the game, I'm at all the games. Hence I don't have time to spend all day on here.

I don't think I'm prejudiced, I'm honest. My post was reasonably fair, I didn't call anything overly unfairly. We won kickouts on Sunday from the outfield players, not the keeper. We'll be coming up against better than Monaghan's midfield too.

I just don't see genuine improvement since Donegal or since Tyrone, it's the same. Not better, not worse, the same.

I also don't know why you have to follow up with a glowing outstanding review when you see something negative, acting like we have a top 10 keeper is also disingenuous.

Never said we had a bad performance, winning with 14 men at home is a sign of great confidence.

It's just a bit heartbreaking when we have better keepers in the county not seeing any game time because we are persisting with the current keeper.

Even Kerry are trying out a new keeper, why can't we?

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 69 - 09/03/2023 12:31:04    2462953

Replying To smallfrank:  "It's not up to new players to drop older ones.
Micheal Donoghue dropped Iarla Tannian, David Collins, Andy Smith and a couple of others who lost All Irelands in 2012, 2015 and were part of a panel that voted out Anthony Cunningham . It was a statement and it won Galway an All Ireland in 2017. Pat Gilroy did the same with Mark Vaughan, Jason Sherlock. Dublin won Sam in 2011 after years of failure.
Mayo have kept guys on until they decide its time to stop. I'm not saying it's right or wrong but McStay hasn't made any big decisions regarding the panel and players that have been around a while. Maybe he will on time."
Again I'll ask who in the current Mayo panel that has lost previous all Irelands shouldn't be there? You say it's McStays job to drop them but who? Mayo hold extensive trials around the country every winter. A huge amount of new players have been brought through in the past three years.

You like for like assessment in what O'Donoughue did in Galway is not that simple. If Mayo drop every player that has lost a final then your looking at dropping young hession and ROD. We wouldn't have much of a panel left then.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 09/03/2023 12:59:28    2462961

Replying To Belclare:  "One of the goals Mayo conceded last Sunday was down to O Shea struggling to cover back , and yes he can be seen pointing for someone else to cover.."
Had his his hand in the air like he was seeking an offside.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 09/03/2023 13:27:05    2462970

Replying To systematic:  "Of course I was at the game, I'm at all the games. Hence I don't have time to spend all day on here.

I don't think I'm prejudiced, I'm honest. My post was reasonably fair, I didn't call anything overly unfairly. We won kickouts on Sunday from the outfield players, not the keeper. We'll be coming up against better than Monaghan's midfield too.

I just don't see genuine improvement since Donegal or since Tyrone, it's the same. Not better, not worse, the same.

I also don't know why you have to follow up with a glowing outstanding review when you see something negative, acting like we have a top 10 keeper is also disingenuous.

Never said we had a bad performance, winning with 14 men at home is a sign of great confidence.

It's just a bit heartbreaking when we have better keepers in the county not seeing any game time because we are persisting with the current keeper.

Even Kerry are trying out a new keeper, why can't we?"
Name all these goalies so?

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 09/03/2023 13:36:39    2462974