Galway Football thread

Two tough hard games v Armagh and Kerry respectively and hopefully a League Final v Mayo would be great preparation going into a CFC Semi Final v most likely Mayo.
It would be great if PJ could use his strongest Championship 15 available for Armagh and Kerry.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 07/03/2023 10:59:20    2462484

Replying To ahsure.:  "Agreed on this

League final worth more than any week in the sun… but if they can do both…. Great :-)"
We have two very hard games remaining, talk of a league final maybe looking to far ahead

allstars23 (Galway) - Posts: 47 - 07/03/2023 11:08:05    2462486

Replying To anotheralias:  "I'm slightly annoyed by these type of comments in relation to any player and I think its particularly unfair in this instance.
I'm not sure how much Barry could offer us , and maybe Padraic Joyce saw something in training to back up up his decision .
But a little bit of context . Barry McHugh played 2 half hours of football in a synthetic (i.e. not real) environment.
He didn't play well.
But did he play "awful"?
Against Mayo he scored 0-2 ( 1 free + 1 play) out of a 1st half total of 0-5.
Our entire full forward line that started v Donegal scored 0-0. Were they "awful" . No. They just had a poor day and, correctly so, will be given other chances."
I agree with you anotheralias. Firstly a person criticising an amateur player by name is a disgrace. Also Watching this year championship Barry McHugh was the most dangerous forward and opposition clubs usually picked their best back to mark him. That is the way I would judge a player not in a indoor synthetic pitch in January. There is a lot of players who have not played well in the league or FBD and have got second, third or even fourth chances and it is mainly from the two clubs who reached the county final. Are they the two best clubs in Galway, I dont know. I expect Corofin and MM to have serious say this year and our money backed city team will be a one year wonder.

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 54 - 07/03/2023 11:13:36    2462488

Replying To LottoPlus:  "I agree with you anotheralias. Firstly a person criticising an amateur player by name is a disgrace. Also Watching this year championship Barry McHugh was the most dangerous forward and opposition clubs usually picked their best back to mark him. That is the way I would judge a player not in a indoor synthetic pitch in January. There is a lot of players who have not played well in the league or FBD and have got second, third or even fourth chances and it is mainly from the two clubs who reached the county final. Are they the two best clubs in Galway, I dont know. I expect Corofin and MM to have serious say this year and our money backed city team will be a one year wonder."
Barry made his debut for Galway in 2017. Has featured in 16 League games over the years and started 3 championship games. Add in I'm sure a considerable amount of training sessions I think management are in a decent position to decide what he can or can't bring to the squad. His excellent club performances last year (overall top scorer) got his shoe back in the door and rightly so but no one has a God given right to be part of any panel.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 07/03/2023 11:56:20    2462501

Replying To allstars23:  "We have two very hard games remaining, talk of a league final maybe looking to far ahead"
Yes I would be happy to remain safe in Division 1 e.g. a midtable position would be grand.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 07/03/2023 12:02:06    2462503

Replying To LottoPlus:  "I agree with you anotheralias. Firstly a person criticising an amateur player by name is a disgrace. Also Watching this year championship Barry McHugh was the most dangerous forward and opposition clubs usually picked their best back to mark him. That is the way I would judge a player not in a indoor synthetic pitch in January. There is a lot of players who have not played well in the league or FBD and have got second, third or even fourth chances and it is mainly from the two clubs who reached the county final. Are they the two best clubs in Galway, I dont know. I expect Corofin and MM to have serious say this year and our money backed city team will be a one year wonder."
I would agree with most of your post, but the dig at the end is silly. Our current county champions have won their second title in 3 years, so that already disqualifies them from being labelled as a one-season wonder.
As a club they're doing great work underage and have provided a raft of players for successful Galway underage teams over the past decade. Our county senior team has obviously also benefitted greatly from some of the quality players they have developed.
I'm not a fan of teams bringing in players who have no link to the club or the area, particularly when they are already very strong in terms of numbers and quality. However, that doesn't negate the great work being done by others.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 07/03/2023 12:02:56    2462504

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I think you're out of touch with the prevailing conditions in Salthill Festy, over there in Colorado and all. Did you see Monaghan's 2nd half efforts at scoring into that goal? Only their goalkeeper scored into that wind 2nd half. Would explain Galway's shot selection activity in the 1st half surely."
Fair play your Holiness, and appreciate the added details. Bizarrely the commentators on GAAGO made no mention of the wind, and in fact were very critical of some of the kicks not taken, as it were, which led to my impression that Galway were being gun-shy on front of goals.
I take it all back then. Great performance lads!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 07/03/2023 14:07:45    2462546

Replying To Really:  "Imo, we should target this league final and develop a winning habit and the confidence that comes with it. It also serves to get the supporters enthused. I can't ever remember Jim Gavin taking the league lightly or indeed Mickey Harte in his pomp with Tyrone.

Kevin McStay has said his league priority is to get to a safe place, and then commence the heavy duty training, while at the same time, giving fringe players game time. So, they won't be engaged in the "survival mode" that surely Donegal and Monaghan will. Of course timing is crucial, and I feel we have the advantage there. P.S. Wouldn't it be great to again see Gay McManus' goal v Ros in 1980 final. Barry Brennan a Ballinasloe man - Great player.."
1 more point would keep us safe for sure, Cavan were relegated in 2020 from DIV 2 even though they were on 6 points.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1217 - 07/03/2023 14:11:49    2462548

Replying To allstars23:  "We have two very hard games remaining, talk of a league final maybe looking to far ahead"
I'd be a firm believer in anyone who comes into form by the end of the league will be well set up for championship, we should go out and win it if we can.

Mind you it can go the opposite way if we show a bit of form and get to the final - look at how Kerry dismantled Mayo in the league final, Mayo never recovered from that.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1569 - 07/03/2023 14:28:54    2462553

Championship Team (that the management will pick)

Gleeson
E Kelly
S Kelly
Glynn
McHugh
Daly
Heaney
Conroy
McDaid
Tierney
Cooke
Sweeney
Finnerty
Comer
Walsh

I rate Sweeney very highly but I think it's fair to say this management team have their favourites, so Patrick Kelly with some game time might be a contender for that spot.

Ian Burke has not done enough while Finnerty was injured to take his spot.

The rest are certainties to start if fit.

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 07/03/2023 14:45:57    2462558

Replying To PierreBezuhov:  "Championship Team (that the management will pick)

Gleeson
E Kelly
S Kelly
Glynn
McHugh
Daly
Heaney
Conroy
McDaid
Tierney
Cooke
Sweeney
Finnerty
Comer
Walsh

I rate Sweeney very highly but I think it's fair to say this management team have their favourites, so Patrick Kelly with some game time might be a contender for that spot.

Ian Burke has not done enough while Finnerty was injured to take his spot.

The rest are certainties to start if fit."
You're probably not far off with that alright. I wouldn't rule out Mulcahy either, the timing of his surgery is pretty unlucky but should be back for championship supposedly. He could play 3 and potentially allow Sean Kelly to move to wing back. I feel we're struggling with runners from that area without Molloy, and McHugh isn't as comfortable on the ball. I think wing back is definitely Kelly's best position. Either Sweeney or Heaney could play there but aren't as comfortable defensively. It's good to have options anyways. Johnny McGrath and Billy Mannion have both always done very well when called upon too. Especially McGrath, thought he was excellent the other day.

In fairness to Patrick Kelly he was injured and was probably thrown in sooner than wanted. He has yet to light it up in Galway jersey really but there's potential there. PJ & co obviously think so anyways.

Ian Burke and Peter Cooke have been a bit disappointing since returning. Cooke will definitely start because he's just too good not to, and he frees up Tierney to play on the wing where he's flying it. Ian Burke is great to have on the bench and spring on to unlock a stubborn defence. He also hasn't had the chance to play with Walsh and Comer properly. He was devastating in 2018 alongside them.

We're in good shape I think. Motoring along nicely but still plenty to work on. It would have been ideal if a new forward had emerged, but no complaints with Cooke and Burke really. Another midfielder would have been nice too, especially since this could be Conroy's last year or two. Maybe John Maher will see more time in the final two games.

We should target winning the league from here and not just safety. It's important to build that winning mentality and head into the Connacht championship with fresh confidence.

Townee2018 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 07/03/2023 15:22:33    2462567

McShhtay looking a lot like a version of Clark Kent with his current sideline eyewear. Remains to be seen if he'll be officially canonised Superman by the end of July.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 07/03/2023 15:43:12    2462572

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "McShhtay looking a lot like a version of Clark Kent with his current sideline eyewear. Remains to be seen if he'll be officially canonised Superman by the end of July."
Only your successor can canonize him now pope ben! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 07/03/2023 18:16:17    2462623

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "McShhtay looking a lot like a version of Clark Kent with his current sideline eyewear. Remains to be seen if he'll be officially canonised Superman by the end of July."
I haven't seen him make any big calls yet.
Didn't drop anyone of note from the panel.
If he makes a few tough decisions it could all blow up or be the making of them. I wouldn't be putting my house on them vs Roscommon.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 08/03/2023 08:47:09    2462659

Replying To smallfrank:  "I haven't seen him make any big calls yet.
If he makes a few tough decisions it could all blow up or be the making of them. I wouldn't be putting my house on them vs Roscommon."
Out of interest who of "note" should be dropped?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 08/03/2023 11:00:30    2462695

Replying To smallfrank:  "I haven't seen him make any big calls yet.
If he makes a few tough decisions it could all blow up or be the making of them. I wouldn't be putting my house on them vs Roscommon."
McStay has this team buzzing, and while it is of course early days, there is one thing I would be very confident of and that is, if they get to an AI final they will not play below their potential as under JH an number of times. McStay and Rochford are a top class team.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1217 - 08/03/2023 11:31:38    2462713

Replying To yew_tree:  "Out of interest who of "note" should be dropped?"
Depends on what you mean by dropped.
He did choose not to select at least one player who had seen game time last year from panel.
But with large panels now he will continue to carry everyone who can make any level of contribution.
In terms of first 15 selections I think he has been very astute. He has managed to do a level of rotations that make it difficult to say what he considers to be his first 15. This has served to a) keep the big name players happy and b) keep everyone on their toes and c) give players rest when its needed. But the rotations have been smart and targetted , I feel, and the strength in depth has allowed him to do this whilst still delivering excellent performances.
It's great for supporters as they have great banter each week as they look forward to team selection.
Galway on the other hand have had a different approach. Barring injuries most of us would have a good shot at predicting the team every week. This approach is working out fairly well too as we are getting a level of stability.
I think that there may be benefits in both approaches and both managers are making the right calls for their respective teams. The logic behind this apparently contradictory statement lies in the fact that Galway have 2 weeks longer of a gap between league and championship. It is essential for Mayo to emerge out of the league fresh. Galway can empty the tank a little more and use the extra gap to replenish.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 08/03/2023 11:43:11    2462717

Maybe some of the guys that have lost a lot of All Irelands. Mícheál Donoghue did it, Pat Gilroy did it. Out of interest what tough decisions has he made regarding the panel.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 08/03/2023 11:45:05    2462718

I've been very impressed with McStay and was during his time in Roscommon and as a pundit too.
The easy job was to stay in the studio, but he put his neck on the line and threw on the bainisteoir bib.
He understands that the game requires aspects which most aren't too fond of and isn't as easy as some pundits make out (i.e. kick the ball in every time), but he also doesn't over-complicate the game.
His manner in dealing with the media is also refreshing. He's respectful, considered and gives fairly straight answers. If he feels he can't answer a question, he'll say so, rather than given the usual PR line we hear from a lot of others.
It's obviously very early yet, but I'd expect Mayo to leave a much bigger imprint on this year's championship than they did last year.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 08/03/2023 11:50:03    2462721

not sure he suggested anyone should be, but there comes a time for all managers when a decision has to be made.

I was just chatting to someone about Paul Conroy today and commenting how well he is going. Our question was will he be as good when the ground quickens? The same applies to AOS (totally different players obviously).

It is very easy to drop someone who is playing badly (everyone can see that change), but to drop someone who is playing well for someone who is going to improve the team more ...... that's where the top class managers earn their crust.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 08/03/2023 12:05:40    2462727