Galway Football thread

Is there anywhere at all we could find a goalkeeper that's up to scratch?
Is there a worse keeper on any county team in Ireland than Gleeson? I doubt it

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1237 - 26/02/2023 13:19:32    2460230

Fair result. Plenty to work on though

Tierney brilliant again. Finnerty very lively

Great to get the point at least

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 26/02/2023 14:08:50    2460243

Managed to get a point out of a pure arm wrestle. Conroy had the opportunity to win or be it a difficult free. Should have put the game to bed when Donegal went 36 minutes without scoring.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 26/02/2023 14:10:08    2460244

3, matches starting full forward line 1 point unreal how bad they are kicouts I'd say they might have won 3 long ones

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 26/02/2023 14:13:19    2460247

Tierney has been top class the last 2 weeks. Poor performance today though. Very flat. Seemed like they turned up expecting Donegal to roll over at home. Again they had a problem closing out the game. 2 points up and McHugh gives away possession for a Donegal score. And then Sweeney runs the ball over the sideline for another Donegal score. Would have lost only for Donegal's woeful shooting.

Glesson made a good save near the end but the howlers are far too regular from him. A liability.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2209 - 26/02/2023 14:18:17    2460248

Full forward line in the first half non existent. I think Davoren lost the 5 orv6 balls hit in to him, clearly not inter County standard..
Burke was starved, Pat Kelly very poor as well.
With Finnerty Comer and Wslsh returning it off course would be a different story but we just seem to not be able to put teams away..
Power needs a chance next week...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 26/02/2023 14:20:17    2460252

I predicted a draw and feel it was a fair result - Donegal had a lot of wides/attempts falling short. Cathal Sweeney is now a serious option at wing back - always looking to get forward and break the line. McHugh disappointing today - just not building on potential. Ian Burke needs to put in proper tackles, rather than just shepherding opponents..

Really (Galway) - Posts: 585 - 26/02/2023 14:20:21    2460253

Donegal went 31 minutes without scoring in the second half and then get 3 points in about 5 mins. Galway lost the last 10 mins (including 5 mins injury time) by 3 points to 1 point to keep their unwanted "record" of losing this vital period to nearly all teams they have played in competitive matches for the last 2 years. Not good enough at this level I'm afraid.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 26/02/2023 14:26:49    2460259

Replying To galwayfball:  "Fair result. Plenty to work on though

Tierney brilliant again. Finnerty very lively

Great to get the point at least"
Excellent management by PJ and Co to take off key players and let inexperienced players do or die. It has to be done, no good bringing on lads when a game is already won. They need to get as much football into the new lads as possible. Hard to see is not getting 2 more points from next 3 games, with 2 top players to return. Biggest downer for me me was the wasted kickouts from all Donegal wides 14 or 15 I would say and 10 scores so 25 kickouts i think we only won 1 long one.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1217 - 26/02/2023 14:28:43    2460260

Looks like that last Conroy free was very close to being over. Hawkeye would definitely have had a look at it.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2209 - 26/02/2023 14:40:06    2460262

Very lucky to get out of that with a point, Donegal albeit some speculative shooting had a lot of wides. We were very flat. FF line non existent until Finnerty came in.

Vital we beat Monaghan next weekend or the pressure is on.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1569 - 26/02/2023 14:56:07    2460268

Replying To Marooned:  "Looks like that last Conroy free was very close to being over. Hawkeye would definitely have had a look at it."
Linesmen were kick to call it and Conroy himself didn't think it was over, nor did any of the galway players. It wasn't a point

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 26/02/2023 15:13:00    2460269

Starting full forward line offered nothing today - Finnerty the only threat when he came on.
Can't understand why Burke seemed to be playing outside the opposition 45 for the whole second half.
He doesn't have the athleticism to play that deep role.
If he isn't inside winning ball there's no point in him being there.
Goalie a disaster but it isn't today or yesterday that fact emerged.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1237 - 26/02/2023 15:15:31    2460270

Replying To giveitlong:  "Excellent management by PJ and Co to take off key players and let inexperienced players do or die. It has to be done, no good bringing on lads when a game is already won. They need to get as much football into the new lads as possible. Hard to see is not getting 2 more points from next 3 games, with 2 top players to return. Biggest downer for me me was the wasted kickouts from all Donegal wides 14 or 15 I would say and 10 scores so 25 kickouts i think we only won 1 long one."
Galway won hardly any kick-out or even breaking ball from kick-outs which has been going on for the last 20 years or so at this stage! Don't know what they're working on in training but winning possession in midfield is not one of them. Also yet another "hail-mary" kick into the Galway square leading to a penalty and goal. What was the penalty for does anyone know as it seemed more like a free out to me?

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 26/02/2023 15:20:02    2460272

Replying To Belclare:  "Full forward line in the first half non existent. I think Davoren lost the 5 orv6 balls hit in to him, clearly not inter County standard..
Burke was starved, Pat Kelly very poor as well.
With Finnerty Comer and Wslsh returning it off course would be a different story but we just seem to not be able to put teams away..
Power needs a chance next week..."
I think you are being kind to your clubman. Tierney only forward on it today. Heaney plenty of effort but goes back too often. Rest not impressive. Patrick Kelly no better or worse than Ian in fairness. First time I have seen Dylan McHugh make simple errors. Great player and I would be confident he will be fine. Overall a laborious performance but at least a draw. If we beat Monaghan think we will be fine.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 26/02/2023 15:24:44    2460275

Monaghan beat the Rossies. Not a great result for us. Tightens it all up again. Really have to beat Monaghan now next weekend.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2209 - 26/02/2023 16:09:10    2460298

Last week Joyce complained about gleeson not kicking it long because we have tall players around the middle. I wonder is joyce holding back cian oneill?? Dessie is a joyce player. Burke would not make the kerry squad because he doesnt score often, cant take on the man or tackle. He is grand for getting soft possession and passing it around

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 26/02/2023 17:42:13    2460359

If PJ learns one thing from today, I hope it is he needs to change the keeper. It is astonishing at this stage, we have the one keeper in the county who has a kickout and he is warming the subs bench. PJ needs to pick him for the last three games. The full forward line were totally ineffective, but that is not entirely their own fault, we had Scan and Cian screaming at them the hold game to drop into the middle and when we got the ball back we can never kick it in as we are so far from the goals. It is so frustrating. We need Shane back next week from the sun. We need to be focused next week, we've a poor history with Monaghan when we need the win..

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 720 - 26/02/2023 17:48:07    2460368

Replying To GDL:  "If PJ learns one thing from today, I hope it is he needs to change the keeper. It is astonishing at this stage, we have the one keeper in the county who has a kickout and he is warming the subs bench. PJ needs to pick him for the last three games. The full forward line were totally ineffective, but that is not entirely their own fault, we had Scan and Cian screaming at them the hold game to drop into the middle and when we got the ball back we can never kick it in as we are so far from the goals. It is so frustrating. We need Shane back next week from the sun. We need to be focused next week, we've a poor history with Monaghan when we need the win.."
You might not see Walsh for a while...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 26/02/2023 18:21:57    2460383

Fair play to keeper Gleeson, he saved us a few times. Cannot be blamed for outfield players not doing their job and securing possession. The referee made a howler of a mistake in awarding the penalty. It should have been a free out. Gleeson almost saved the penalty too. McHugh had a very good game, don't understand those criticising him. What was clear to me after 15 minutes is that the full-forward line were being cleaned. Changes ought to have been made at that point. Why was McDaid taken off? Maybe he got an injury. He was having an excellent game. Donegal were fighting for Div.1 survival. A draw not a bad result at all for Galway given the players we were missing. Conroy should have secured the win from that free. Donegal had a lot of wides and kicked scorable shots into the goalkeeper's hands. All Irelands are not won in February. Ease up on the negativity and criticism, especially against Gleeson.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 26/02/2023 18:29:17    2460391