Galway Football thread

Replying To giveitlong:  "Excellent management by PJ and Co to take off key players and let inexperienced players do or die. It has to be done, no good bringing on lads when a game is already won. They need to get as much football into the new lads as possible. Hard to see is not getting 2 more points from next 3 games, with 2 top players to return. Biggest downer for me me was the wasted kickouts from all Donegal wides 14 or 15 I would say and 10 scores so 25 kickouts i think we only won 1 long one."
Can you explain the excellent management comment. Only experienced player tajen off was cillian mdaid, who wasnt having a great day by his standards and had started to tire.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 843 - 26/02/2023 18:35:08    2460396

Replying To brisbane:  "Last week Joyce complained about gleeson not kicking it long because we have tall players around the middle. I wonder is joyce holding back cian oneill?? Dessie is a joyce player. Burke would not make the kerry squad because he doesnt score often, cant take on the man or tackle. He is grand for getting soft possession and passing it around"
Some serious dodgy substitutions, when game still there to be won. Cooke should have been retained as a holding midfielder. Dessie?? - the mind boggles.. Maher???

A lot of mixed messaging from management today. High time for senior players to sit down with management and thrash out an effective game-plan, based on talent at disposal, and perhaps lack of..

As regards Monaghan, they had a good win today, but Ros. not totally committed. Has to be Galway by 6 points - nice earnings from Paddy Power today on draw..

Really (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 26/02/2023 18:43:23    2460397

McDaid seems to be a bit injured? Anonymous first half there, and pulled off early in the second, after trying to 'lift it' for 10mins. Proves what a vital critical player he is now. He's our main pace injector from deep, which is so critical to breaking mass defences. Saved our bacon v Armagh in the q-final with a late 1-1 from such runs. Galway were static and looked optionless there late in the second half, just when we needed a point or two more to get over the line.

Very poor under long kickout ball again today. The last really good day we had on long kickout breaks was the big win in Castlebar last April, when we got a great early platform in the game devouring midfield breaks, O'Laoi in particular impressing. Somehow I don't think Mayo will be as slow out of the championship blocks this season.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3458 - 26/02/2023 19:05:28    2460412

Replying To Really:  "Some serious dodgy substitutions, when game still there to be won. Cooke should have been retained as a holding midfielder. Dessie?? - the mind boggles.. Maher???

A lot of mixed messaging from management today. High time for senior players to sit down with management and thrash out an effective game-plan, based on talent at disposal, and perhaps lack of..

As regards Monaghan, they had a good win today, but Ros. not totally committed. Has to be Galway by 6 points - nice earnings from Paddy Power today on draw.."
Galway by 6 v Monaghan not a hope they only scored 9 points 2 day and unless Finnerty and Walsh play next day it be 8-11 max can not believe how bad our full forward line is in all the games 1 score in 3 games is it the worse in Ireland surety is ,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 847 - 26/02/2023 19:08:21    2460417

We're extremely light on the inside line. Does anyone know the extent of tomo's injury? Great to see Rob Finnerty back, Patrick Kelly needs the minutes, doesn't seem fit due to his injury. Pity Adrian Varleys not involved, would give you a great option when Shane & damo are out

allstars23 (Galway) - Posts: 47 - 26/02/2023 19:09:38    2460419

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "Fair play to keeper Gleeson, he saved us a few times. Cannot be blamed for outfield players not doing their job and securing possession. The referee made a howler of a mistake in awarding the penalty. It should have been a free out. Gleeson almost saved the penalty too. McHugh had a very good game, don't understand those criticising him. What was clear to me after 15 minutes is that the full-forward line were being cleaned. Changes ought to have been made at that point. Why was McDaid taken off? Maybe he got an injury. He was having an excellent game. Donegal were fighting for Div.1 survival. A draw not a bad result at all for Galway given the players we were missing. Conroy should have secured the win from that free. Donegal had a lot of wides and kicked scorable shots into the goalkeeper's hands. All Irelands are not won in February. Ease up on the negativity and criticism, especially against Gleeson."
Praise has to be earned and criticism is warranted when it is justified as it is in Gleeson's case. This is not based on one bad day at the office, he nearly cost us a Connacht title and an AI QF last year. He should have been black carded in the final, need I go on? He has no presence for a man of his size and is just not up to this level. Every Manager bar our own it seems knows this. He will be targeted every day we go out. We can forget about winning anything if management persists with him, it's that simple and it's beyond me at this stage how they cannot see that.

johnjoe21 (Galway) - Posts: 126 - 26/02/2023 19:36:43    2460432

Replying To johnjoe21:  "Praise has to be earned and criticism is warranted when it is justified as it is in Gleeson's case. This is not based on one bad day at the office, he nearly cost us a Connacht title and an AI QF last year. He should have been black carded in the final, need I go on? He has no presence for a man of his size and is just not up to this level. Every Manager bar our own it seems knows this. He will be targeted every day we go out. We can forget about winning anything if management persists with him, it's that simple and it's beyond me at this stage how they cannot see that."
But who do we go it with if flaherty is not on panel?? Power has had plenty of chances and isn't up to it either. The county final this yr both goalies were at fault for the goals conceded. Don't know how Carroll slipped through cracks. Biggest issue is our lack of scoring forwards and nothing coming through. We have a great selection of backs midfielders but no quality forwards. Even u20 side that won AI was based on great backs and tomo & Tierney scoring everything other 4 forwards didn't threaten scoreboard or backs playing out of position.I'd try Conroy in around square till comer Walsh are back plenty of options for midfield. Dessie E finnerty great club players but just lacking something for inter county

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1166 - 26/02/2023 19:53:13    2460440

Replying To johnjoe21:  "Praise has to be earned and criticism is warranted when it is justified as it is in Gleeson's case. This is not based on one bad day at the office, he nearly cost us a Connacht title and an AI QF last year. He should have been black carded in the final, need I go on? He has no presence for a man of his size and is just not up to this level. Every Manager bar our own it seems knows this. He will be targeted every day we go out. We can forget about winning anything if management persists with him, it's that simple and it's beyond me at this stage how they cannot see that."
Maybe you should join PJ's management team you seem to know so much. The criticism of Gleeson is largely unjustified coming from so-called supporters who seem to know very little about the way tge game is now played.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 26/02/2023 19:58:44    2460448

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "Maybe you should join PJ's management team you seem to know so much. The criticism of Gleeson is largely unjustified coming from so-called supporters who seem to know very little about the way tge game is now played."
To be fair - criticism of Gleeson is more than justified given the performances he has put in.
Every player makes mistakes of course - but he is costing or almost costing us games on a continual basis.
I'd that isn't a basis for justified criticism then I don't know what is?

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1244 - 26/02/2023 20:14:55    2460461

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "Fair play to keeper Gleeson, he saved us a few times. Cannot be blamed for outfield players not doing their job and securing possession. The referee made a howler of a mistake in awarding the penalty. It should have been a free out. Gleeson almost saved the penalty too. McHugh had a very good game, don't understand those criticising him. What was clear to me after 15 minutes is that the full-forward line were being cleaned. Changes ought to have been made at that point. Why was McDaid taken off? Maybe he got an injury. He was having an excellent game. Donegal were fighting for Div.1 survival. A draw not a bad result at all for Galway given the players we were missing. Conroy should have secured the win from that free. Donegal had a lot of wides and kicked scorable shots into the goalkeeper's hands. All Irelands are not won in February. Ease up on the negativity and criticism, especially against Gleeson."
disagree with all of these points. gleeson did one save but cost us the goal, no it was not a free out. Mchugh has had a great league but was poor today, mishandled a few times Mcdaid having an excellent game? how so? are yiiu saying that was an easy free at the end then? contradicting yourself here

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 185 - 26/02/2023 21:10:26    2460499

In fairness to Gleeson, I'm one of his biggest critics but his kick outs were actually OK today.
We won 16 from 22.
12 from 12 on short ones.
4 from 10 on long ones.

He distributed well with anything that dropped short.
Issues dealing with high balls now without a doubt.

I can't see why we can't try another keeper during the league.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 26/02/2023 21:11:43    2460501

I'm totally perplexed about the kickouts. I don't know is it management or the goalie at fault. Midfielders would surely be moving into rehearsed positions if they were being bollocked out of it every week for not following instructions. So how are we still so bad at them?
I remember one today where Gleeson went long and straight down the middle but there was 1 Galway man on his own competing against a few others and it just went over them all and Donegal gathered it. Seems like Gleeson didn't have a pre rehearsed routine there to aim at, but surely to God if he had a bit of smarts he wouldn't aim a kickout at a sitting duck on his own in midfield?
The draw today is purely down to Donegal having outrageous wides. A 6 point loss wouldn't have flattered Donegal. It's early in the year and all that, but this isn't what I was expecting from Galway this year. The lack of quality outside the first choice full back, centre back, midfielders and all forward positions is very worrying. Over half way through the league and we haven't unearthed an inside forward that could've made a difference in last year's final. I know Culhane is knocking around but we need to see him in this league to see if he has balls like Tierney to take a shot on, or take a man on.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 135 - 26/02/2023 21:19:03    2460505

Replying To Belclare:  "You might not see Walsh for a while..."
see PJ conceded he wouldn't be around for a while.hes entitled as anyone else to have a break given the year he had and if he's down under best of luck to him.on a totally different point if he is down under,you would question the whole legitimacy of his transfer to Kilmmacud.

fairplay4ever (Galway) - Posts: 415 - 26/02/2023 21:44:58    2460514

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "Maybe you should join PJ's management team you seem to know so much. The criticism of Gleeson is largely unjustified coming from so-called supporters who seem to know very little about the way tge game is now played."
Enlighten me so as to the "way the game is now played"?

johnjoe21 (Galway) - Posts: 126 - 26/02/2023 21:45:28    2460515

just saw on fb there that Shane is in Syney and got engaged.Congrats to him and looks like we defimitely won't see him next week anyway.

fairplay4ever (Galway) - Posts: 415 - 26/02/2023 21:50:13    2460517

Replying To Belclare:  "You might not see Walsh for a while..."
Thought he was due back for Monaghan game.Is there something going on?

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 219 - 26/02/2023 21:52:51    2460518

To me, this is not about Gleeson, he's picked, he does his best.

Management are in the dark ages regarding what's required from a goalkeeper, he needs to be able to deal with high ball, needs to be comfortable going long or short with kickouts.

Needs to be comfortable soloing out the pitch, taking a pass or giving one. He looks like an accident waiting to happen. I don't agree with goalkeepers going beyond the halfway line but playing sweeper is part of the modern game.

Imo we need an outfield player there, not someone from the 1st 15 or even matchday squad.

Galwayspur (Offaly) - Posts: 231 - 27/02/2023 09:26:38    2460540

Replying To Really:  "Some serious dodgy substitutions, when game still there to be won. Cooke should have been retained as a holding midfielder. Dessie?? - the mind boggles.. Maher???

As regards Monaghan, they had a good win today, but Ros. not totally committed. Has to be Galway by 6 points - nice earnings from Paddy Power today on draw.."
I think Dessie is a great Club footballer but he's lost in games like yesterday, needed someone with a bit of pace, Paul Kelly maybe.

Galwayspur (Offaly) - Posts: 231 - 27/02/2023 09:30:49    2460541

Replying To Galwayspur:  "I think Dessie is a great Club footballer but he's lost in games like yesterday, needed someone with a bit of pace, Paul Kelly maybe."
A game like that with the wind was crying out for a runner like Owen Gallagher. It's the reason O'Laoi was brought on in nearly every game last year. Yesterday was the first day it was evident we lacked options. Walsh, Comer Silke, Molloy, Culhane even O'Laoi and someone like Adrian Varley would definitely have featured if available.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 27/02/2023 09:38:53    2460544

Gleeson is a good shot stopper and has a booming kickout but he's suspect under the high ball and has an error or two in him.

People saying he's not the answer but who is? Who's the best keeper in the county? At club level who stands out?

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 105 - 27/02/2023 10:03:01    2460550