Galway Football thread

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Any of your lads back this weekend ? Walsh ? Comer ? Etc"
We will be unfortunately be without Molloy (Cruciate), Silke (working as a doctor in New Zealand), Comer (Knee) Mulkerrins (Broken knee cap), Mulcahy (had hand surgery last week) Walsh (in the Sun apparently), McLauglin (near returning following knee surgery) Finnerty (came on for the last 5mins versus Tyrone last Sunday)
Any idea where to park?, there was a shuttle bus in 2018, I was stuck in the leisure centre car park for an hour the last trip. We might bring ye to Clifden next year if we both stay up. Letterkenny is an awful trip for us and at 12.30pm, can you have a word with your county board for Ballyshannon or Ballybofey for Galway games and we will facilitate back with a game in Tuam.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 21/02/2023 17:17:06    2459647

Replying To GDL:  "We will be unfortunately be without Molloy (Cruciate), Silke (working as a doctor in New Zealand), Comer (Knee) Mulkerrins (Broken knee cap), Mulcahy (had hand surgery last week) Walsh (in the Sun apparently), McLauglin (near returning following knee surgery) Finnerty (came on for the last 5mins versus Tyrone last Sunday)
Any idea where to park?, there was a shuttle bus in 2018, I was stuck in the leisure centre car park for an hour the last trip. We might bring ye to Clifden next year if we both stay up. Letterkenny is an awful trip for us and at 12.30pm, can you have a word with your county board for Ballyshannon or Ballybofey for Galway games and we will facilitate back with a game in Tuam."
Good replacement for Silke in Eoghan Kelly. Plenty of options to replace Molloy with Johnny McGrath, O'Flaherty, Cathal Sweeney

Remains to be seen if McLaughlin, Mulcahy, Mulkerrins will become established senior players

Comer gone for the league but Walsh should be back for the last few games while boosted by the return of Finnerty and Cooke, Burke as options gives Joyce better strength in depth than last year.

On Sunday i would expect Galway to win by a bit to spare, Donegal are heading to Division 2 and their record in letterkenny is dreadful

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 21/02/2023 18:16:11    2459663

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Any of your lads back this weekend ? Walsh ? Comer ? Etc"
Neither will be back. Mulkerrins (probably our 1st choice full back) 4 to 6 weeks away I believe. Silke and Molloy longer term I gather. Rob Finnerty maybe as he came on for the last few minutes last Sunday. We are down a lot of key players but hopefully the replacements will take advantage of their opportunity.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 21/02/2023 19:59:11    2459681

Replying To tommy k:  "David Finnegan would probably have done a better job than Seam as it turned out Frank - I'll grant you that!"
Bit of a cheap shot at our captain that!
Clifford is clearly the best player in the country by a mile - it's a damage limitation exercise no matter who is given the envious job of marking him.
It was either going to be Kelly or Silke.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 21/02/2023 21:23:11    2459687

Replying To GDL:  "We will be unfortunately be without Molloy (Cruciate), Silke (working as a doctor in New Zealand), Comer (Knee) Mulkerrins (Broken knee cap), Mulcahy (had hand surgery last week) Walsh (in the Sun apparently), McLauglin (near returning following knee surgery) Finnerty (came on for the last 5mins versus Tyrone last Sunday)
Any idea where to park?, there was a shuttle bus in 2018, I was stuck in the leisure centre car park for an hour the last trip. We might bring ye to Clifden next year if we both stay up. Letterkenny is an awful trip for us and at 12.30pm, can you have a word with your county board for Ballyshannon or Ballybofey for Galway games and we will facilitate back with a game in Tuam."
Thanks. We'll be missing MC Brearty, Thompson, Ryan MC Hugh. Long term injuries Odhran MC Fadden Ferry and Paul Brennan. Niall and Shane O Donnell have opted out this year and with Murphy gone , we're struggling.

We despise Letterkenny as much as the next. Our record is terrible. Only a small stand so need to be in early.
I'd recommend parking in Dunnes car park (old Dunnes) but you'd need to be there early. That still might prove challenging to get away post match. If u don't mind a 20 min walk , park in Tesco. Lots of space and on your journey on way home

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 22/02/2023 08:18:48    2459691

Like you I am disappointed with the game being in Letterkenny. However I understand Donegal's situation. Like us with Tuam, it is important for Donegal to spread their home games and they always play 1 home game in Letterkenny. This year Donegal only had 3 home games, Kerry, us and Mayo. All 3 sets of supporters would be passing through Ballybofey to get to Letterkenny so one of us had to it. It would have been very very unfair to bring Kerry there. You could argue that Mayo would have less distance to travel and maybe they should have to go further north, but bearing in mind that Mayo is their last home game ...and probably will attract a bigger crowd it made more sense to bring to Ballybofey.
On a side note , you made a tongue in cheek comment about bringing Donegal to Clifden....bear in mind there are pitches in Donegal a lot further away than Letterkenny.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 22/02/2023 09:02:40    2459694

I know that we all recognise how poor we have been at closing out games but when you do the stats over the last 9 competitive games ( ignoring FBD league) it is frightening .

Scoring stats in latter end of games.
2022 CQF -- Mayo 0-5 Galway 0-0
2022 CSF - Leitrim 0-2 Galway 1-0
2022 CF - Roscommon 1-1 Galway 0-0
2022 AI QF Armagh 2-1 Galway 0-1
2022 AI SF Derry 1-0 Galway 0-0
2022 AI Final Kerry 0-4 Galway 0-0
2023 NL Mayo 0-1 Galway 0-0
2023 NL Roscommon 0-5 Galway 0-1
2023 NL Tyrone 0-4 Galway 0-0

Cumulative
Opponents 4-21 Galway 1-2

Now the only positive I can take out of this stat is that given that we won, drew or lost very narrowly in all of these games , image what our scoring difference would be if we had not had end of game fade outs.
But that would really looking at this with rose tinted glasses and ignoring a real problem.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 22/02/2023 09:22:39    2459695

Replying To galwayman2:  "Bit of a cheap shot at our captain that!
Clifford is clearly the best player in the country by a mile - it's a damage limitation exercise no matter who is given the envious job of marking him.
It was either going to be Kelly or Silke."
No it wasn't meant to be a cheap shot but a poster calling himself smallfrank sarcastically mentioned David Finnegan would have done a better job than Sean Kelly as a number of years ago I used to mention David Finnegan as a possible fullback and some posters here try to remind me of that here from time to time for their own little merriment and I want all the "children" to be merry lol! Of course Sean Kelly is a very good player - he didn't have his finest hour marking Clifford but then again not many defenders do and a lot of people would say that fullback is not Sean's best position anyway and he would be a much better attacking halfback.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 22/02/2023 09:34:32    2459697

Replying To anotheralias:  "I know that we all recognise how poor we have been at closing out games but when you do the stats over the last 9 competitive games ( ignoring FBD league) it is frightening .

Scoring stats in latter end of games.
2022 CQF -- Mayo 0-5 Galway 0-0
2022 CSF - Leitrim 0-2 Galway 1-0
2022 CF - Roscommon 1-1 Galway 0-0
2022 AI QF Armagh 2-1 Galway 0-1
2022 AI SF Derry 1-0 Galway 0-0
2022 AI Final Kerry 0-4 Galway 0-0
2023 NL Mayo 0-1 Galway 0-0
2023 NL Roscommon 0-5 Galway 0-1
2023 NL Tyrone 0-4 Galway 0-0

Cumulative
Opponents 4-21 Galway 1-2

Now the only positive I can take out of this stat is that given that we won, drew or lost very narrowly in all of these games , image what our scoring difference would be if we had not had end of game fade outs.
But that would really looking at this with rose tinted glasses and ignoring a real problem."
Yes that is what I was trying to say anotheralias but I was only getting smartass, sarcastic responses as people were not believing it Perhaps those stats might open their eyes a bit!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 22/02/2023 09:41:44    2459698

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes that is what I was trying to say anotheralias but I was only getting smartass, sarcastic responses as people were not believing it Perhaps those stats might open their eyes a bit!"
And I even mis counted..its worse
Opponents 4-23 Galway 1-2

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 22/02/2023 09:56:20    2459707

Replying To anotheralias:  "Like you I am disappointed with the game being in Letterkenny. However I understand Donegal's situation. Like us with Tuam, it is important for Donegal to spread their home games and they always play 1 home game in Letterkenny. This year Donegal only had 3 home games, Kerry, us and Mayo. All 3 sets of supporters would be passing through Ballybofey to get to Letterkenny so one of us had to it. It would have been very very unfair to bring Kerry there. You could argue that Mayo would have less distance to travel and maybe they should have to go further north, but bearing in mind that Mayo is their last home game ...and probably will attract a bigger crowd it made more sense to bring to Ballybofey.
On a side note , you made a tongue in cheek comment about bringing Donegal to Clifden....bear in mind there are pitches in Donegal a lot further away than Letterkenny."
And I forgot to add. Really looking forward to interaction with Donegal supporters at the weekend.. Promises to be good fun, regardless of result.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 22/02/2023 10:04:30    2459709

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Thanks. We'll be missing MC Brearty, Thompson, Ryan MC Hugh. Long term injuries Odhran MC Fadden Ferry and Paul Brennan. Niall and Shane O Donnell have opted out this year and with Murphy gone , we're struggling.

We despise Letterkenny as much as the next. Our record is terrible. Only a small stand so need to be in early.
I'd recommend parking in Dunnes car park (old Dunnes) but you'd need to be there early. That still might prove challenging to get away post match. If u don't mind a 20 min walk , park in Tesco. Lots of space and on your journey on way home"
Thanks for the options. I got sorted last night with a deal for Saturday night at the Raddison so can park there. There were no rooms last week there, the Clanree or Mount Errigal.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 22/02/2023 11:08:02    2459732

Replying To anotheralias:  "Like you I am disappointed with the game being in Letterkenny. However I understand Donegal's situation. Like us with Tuam, it is important for Donegal to spread their home games and they always play 1 home game in Letterkenny. This year Donegal only had 3 home games, Kerry, us and Mayo. All 3 sets of supporters would be passing through Ballybofey to get to Letterkenny so one of us had to it. It would have been very very unfair to bring Kerry there. You could argue that Mayo would have less distance to travel and maybe they should have to go further north, but bearing in mind that Mayo is their last home game ...and probably will attract a bigger crowd it made more sense to bring to Ballybofey.
On a side note , you made a tongue in cheek comment about bringing Donegal to Clifden....bear in mind there are pitches in Donegal a lot further away than Letterkenny."
I wasn't having a go but the game was set for Ballybofey at 4pm as the hurling game with Limerick was on TV at 2pm. How it got moved to 1230hrs in Letterkenny is a mystery.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 22/02/2023 11:21:18    2459735

Replying To GDL:  "I wasn't having a go but the game was set for Ballybofey at 4pm as the hurling game with Limerick was on TV at 2pm. How it got moved to 1230hrs in Letterkenny is a mystery."
Yea.. The switch was a bit confusing. 12.30 is too early regardless.. But then again 4pm is quite late in order to get home and work on Monday morning. There's no pleasing us.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 22/02/2023 11:33:28    2459739

After all Letterkenny is only 15 minutes further than Ballybofey.As regards parking there are loads of places you could park .but not within that bit between the Old Dunnes and the park.You will have to be prepared for that 15 min walk or get the free shuttle bus.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 22/02/2023 11:38:18    2459741

Replying To gunman:  "After all Letterkenny is only 15 minutes further than Ballybofey.As regards parking there are loads of places you could park .but not within that bit between the Old Dunnes and the park.You will have to be prepared for that 15 min walk or get the free shuttle bus."
Yea, not a big deal further , but 15 mins would be doing well. 22 mins on sat nav. Plus Ballybofey is a nightmare to get through and you could park south of the town to avoid going through if it was there. And with match traffic I would suggest that Letterkenny will put a half hour on the journey in both directions.
But I'm not complaining too much and as per previous posts I fully appreciate the decision to play in Letterkenny.
Really looking forward to this one. I expect a really close game.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 22/02/2023 11:59:33    2459747

Replying To gunman:  "After all Letterkenny is only 15 minutes further than Ballybofey.As regards parking there are loads of places you could park .but not within that bit between the Old Dunnes and the park.You will have to be prepared for that 15 min walk or get the free shuttle bus."
Letterkenny adds two hours to our journey at a minimum. There is no way you can do the far end of Letterkenny town in 15mins from Ballybofey. It also means many of our fans travelling from 7am on Sunday morning (I've personally overcome this by booking a hotel). 1230hrs in Letterkenny makes no sense. However I fancy us to get the two points as Donegal ladies can't even get a win in Letterkenny at this stage with Waterford after getting the win there last weekend.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 22/02/2023 12:17:35    2459748

Replying To GDL:  "Letterkenny adds two hours to our journey at a minimum. There is no way you can do the far end of Letterkenny town in 15mins from Ballybofey. It also means many of our fans travelling from 7am on Sunday morning (I've personally overcome this by booking a hotel). 1230hrs in Letterkenny makes no sense. However I fancy us to get the two points as Donegal ladies can't even get a win in Letterkenny at this stage with Waterford after getting the win there last weekend."
On a Sunday morning you will get from Ballybofey to the Old Dunnes in 15 mins at your leisure(13 miles)

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 22/02/2023 12:22:47    2459751

Replying To GDL:  "Letterkenny adds two hours to our journey at a minimum. There is no way you can do the far end of Letterkenny town in 15mins from Ballybofey. It also means many of our fans travelling from 7am on Sunday morning (I've personally overcome this by booking a hotel). 1230hrs in Letterkenny makes no sense. However I fancy us to get the two points as Donegal ladies can't even get a win in Letterkenny at this stage with Waterford after getting the win there last weekend."
On a Sunday morning you will get from Ballybofey to the Old Dunnes in 15 mins at your leisure(13 miles)

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 22/02/2023 12:22:59    2459752

If Mr. Silke was working as a bricklayer, banker, teacher, taxi driver, gravedigger, male stripper etc, I think it highly unlikely that you'd be providing superfluous information regarding his occupation or activities down under.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 22/02/2023 16:35:37    2459801