Galway Football thread

Replying To PancakeWard:  "If Galway click on Sunday week Kerry will be in trouble. There is potential there for a savage performance and I think its being building up to it. Being written off by the talking heads is just what we want. Poor Jack is frantic to get lads heads out of the clouds now they won the All-Ireland against Dublin there on Sunday. Its all set up for Galway and its down now to the players to deliver."
Can you define click? Galway gained promotion back to Division 1, won Connacht and have reached the AI final due to a set system of play that has been brought in or improved under Cian O'Neill.

Only 2-8 was scored last Saturday but that was down to the Derrys own set system and won due to having the best individual forward on show (Comer). It will be a more high scoring game against Kerry.

Kerry are favourites and Jack O'Connor record is hard to ignore but it would be foolish for anyone writing Galway off with their history and tradition plus the current set system that makes themselves difficult to beat.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 13/07/2022 19:41:36    2431945

Replying To yew_tree:  "At odds of 10/3 I'm gonna lump on ye and that will soften da blow ;)"
I did the same the year COC hit the post. Living in Mayo so by lumping on Mayo at least it made it easier to cheers for ye and listen to my mates!

Definitely a good strategy!!

100/30 is a great price I think

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 13/07/2022 21:15:01    2431958

i think mr Bellews comment that Galway would not have come out for the 2nd half if the point was not reversed was at best stupid and 2nd of all who gave him permission to make that call,he should go back to doing what he always does which is NOTHING. AS proud Galwayman I think we would fullfil our obligation and fight it out later.SOme people cant resist the Microphone when it put their face.I think Padraic Joyces remarks were right on target Good luck against Kerry adnas always Gaillmh Abu

fishpond (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 14/07/2022 13:08:34    2432046

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Can you define click? Galway gained promotion back to Division 1, won Connacht and have reached the AI final due to a set system of play that has been brought in or improved under Cian O'Neill.

Only 2-8 was scored last Saturday but that was down to the Derrys own set system and won due to having the best individual forward on show (Comer). It will be a more high scoring game against Kerry.

Kerry are favourites and Jack O'Connor record is hard to ignore but it would be foolish for anyone writing Galway off with their history and tradition plus the current set system that makes themselves difficult to beat."
Galway Defensive display v Derry was awesome
Theres been more talk of how little Galway scored
A Derry team that had been putting up big scores
Galway held the Derry midfield and entire forward line to 2 pts from play
Thats incredible when you look at the facts there

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 14/07/2022 13:15:15    2432049

Replying To rhudson:  "Galway Defensive display v Derry was awesome
Theres been more talk of how little Galway scored
A Derry team that had been putting up big scores
Galway held the Derry midfield and entire forward line to 2 pts from play
Thats incredible when you look at the facts there"
It's was with the homework done on Derry that they rely on goals. Not that many goal chances given up and the goal conceded happened when the game was long over as a contest.

Kerry obviously a different challenge who are well capable of getting 20 points and aren't big goal scores. How the Galway system and match ups fare against Sean O'Shea, David Clifford will likely be key.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 14/07/2022 14:22:44    2432064

Replying To fishpond:  "i think mr Bellews comment that Galway would not have come out for the 2nd half if the point was not reversed was at best stupid and 2nd of all who gave him permission to make that call,he should go back to doing what he always does which is NOTHING. AS proud Galwayman I think we would fullfil our obligation and fight it out later.SOme people cant resist the Microphone when it put their face.I think Padraic Joyces remarks were right on target Good luck against Kerry adnas always Gaillmh Abu"
Call me cynical, but I don't for a moment believe that was even threatened on the day, and it's a case of a bloke talking big to up his own ego, after the fact when it's a moor point.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 14/07/2022 14:23:50    2432065

Great the season tickets came out so early. Even though they are guaranteed u always have that sneaky suspicion that a stroke will be pulled!! Me of little faith....excellent tickets also.

Hopefully all the genuine fans will get sorted. A lot of the same heads at the away games. The fact that Dublin are not in it should free up Hill tickets. Looked like mighty craic up the Hill against Derry.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 14/07/2022 16:08:51    2432102

Replying To Mayonman:  "Great the season tickets came out so early. Even though they are guaranteed u always have that sneaky suspicion that a stroke will be pulled!! Me of little faith....excellent tickets also.

Hopefully all the genuine fans will get sorted. A lot of the same heads at the away games. The fact that Dublin are not in it should free up Hill tickets. Looked like mighty craic up the Hill against Derry."
I go to all championship games, all home league games and maybe will pick one or two away league games to attend (small kids so hard to get to all the away games without serious planning)!!
Never even entered my head to buy a season ticket though to be honest. Hopefully will get a ticket from somewhere.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1237 - 14/07/2022 19:20:33    2432124

as regards getting tickets ,if you have friends or relations in neigboring counties they have tickets that they end up sending backon the friday before. Niece got me two tickets in Cork for 2017. clubs in neighboring (Maoring counties are not very accomodationg especially Mayo .unfortunately i wont be able to go even if i had a ticket but ill be watching . Colm o'Rouke/McStay not withstanding. Gaillimh Abu

fishpond (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 16/07/2022 15:08:36    2432354

The Galway match v Leitrim popped up on my Facebook page a. Game which I was at I didn't see the 20 thousand at it that are now looking for tickets and I'd say at most league matches maybe 2-3, thousand,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 16/07/2022 17:28:22    2432369

Replying To fishpond:  "as regards getting tickets ,if you have friends or relations in neigboring counties they have tickets that they end up sending backon the friday before. Niece got me two tickets in Cork for 2017. clubs in neighboring (Maoring counties are not very accomodationg especially Mayo .unfortunately i wont be able to go even if i had a ticket but ill be watching . Colm o'Rouke/McStay not withstanding. Gaillimh Abu"
Not sure what you mean by that? My own club and most clubs around me are raffling off our "2" final tickets. That appears to be the norm these days. If your a member of your club and go to games you'll be accommodated.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 17/07/2022 07:19:25    2432420

Replying To Kickitout:  "The Galway match v Leitrim popped up on my Facebook page a. Game which I was at I didn't see the 20 thousand at it that are now looking for tickets and I'd say at most league matches maybe 2-3, thousand,,"
Yes ii renember the 1980s and 90s going to Galway games
YOU would be lucky to see a few thousand at games
People telling you they wouldnt go across the road to watch them
Being outnumbered in Croke Park by 10 to 1 sometimes
And then in 1998 the bandwagon started all the way the final
Just about got a ticket in the end
But thats the way it goes i didnt get a ticket for 2001
Even though i went to every game for 20 yrs
After that experience i gradually lost the pasion for going to games
I cant be bothered looking for a ticket now
And im comfortable with that now
IIts amazing as you get older you see through it all
I enjoy nothing more than watching the game form comfort of my couch
Enjoying the build up and the previews
But will still be supporting them as allways

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 17/07/2022 11:40:37    2432441

Replying To galwayman2:  "I go to all championship games, all home league games and maybe will pick one or two away league games to attend (small kids so hard to get to all the away games without serious planning)!!
Never even entered my head to buy a season ticket though to be honest. Hopefully will get a ticket from somewhere."
God bless your patience Galwayman bringing young kids to matches. We've two girls 12 and 6 and they youngest has little interest at games yet. Hard to distract them, bring Mammy definitely helps! Hope ye get sorted for tickets.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 17/07/2022 12:47:07    2432455

Replying To Kickitout:  "The Galway match v Leitrim popped up on my Facebook page a. Game which I was at I didn't see the 20 thousand at it that are now looking for tickets and I'd say at most league matches maybe 2-3, thousand,,"
4,749 was the official attendance for Galway v Leitrim in Salthill this year.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 17/07/2022 13:37:33    2432461

Replying To rhudson:  "Yes ii renember the 1980s and 90s going to Galway games
But will still be supporting them as allways"
Same,(though at 37 I like to think I'm not quite getting on yet lol).
I go to league games and championship games, maybe attend 10 a year, football and hurling,, if a final ticket comes my way great, if not, I'm dead happy watching it on the couch.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 17/07/2022 13:57:16    2432470

What's the best pubs in Galway City to watch the final?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 17/07/2022 14:14:13    2432475

Replying To rhudson:  "Yes ii renember the 1980s and 90s going to Galway games
But will still be supporting them as allways"
Thanks so wrong that a lad like young cpuldnt get a ticket. Lads I know who have not been to a Galway match in years have Hogan stand tickets. I dont think I will get them I need two, it always leaves a sour tast.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 17/07/2022 17:51:46    2432512

It's the same everywhere to be fair.
If you're involved in a club you will get a ticket.
If you buy a season ticket you will get a ticket.
If you have connections/know the right people you will get a ticket.
Outside of that you are just depending on luck to get one.
Lad I know follows the footballers all over the country - away league games etc - but isn't involved in the local club (played underage but was not a lad that would have been good enough for first team & works in Dublin now).
He has no sniff of a ticket. That's the way it goes

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1237 - 17/07/2022 18:49:47    2432539

Will they put them on general sale on Friday
Plenty of people in Kerry wont travel due to the costs.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 17/07/2022 19:27:36    2432548

Replying To GreenandRed:  "What's the best pubs in Galway City to watch the final?"
The one that has us winning.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 17/07/2022 20:55:50    2432578