Galway Football thread

Delighted for ye. Bring on the final. They are there to be won and absolutely no need to fear winning it.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 09/07/2022 20:48:57    2430872

Replying To festinog:  "Thanks a cara! We're in serious bonus territory at this stage, so win or lose, I'm looking forward to the final.

BTW, can anyone tell me, if the final ends in a draw, is there a rematch of penos?"
Replay on August 6.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2160 - 09/07/2022 20:54:04    2430877

Well done Galway - absolutely brilliant 2nd half. Enjoy the celebrations and build up to the final. You can win this - good luck.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 09/07/2022 21:06:57    2430883

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Well done but Kerry or Dublin will take you by at least 6 pts plus."
They said the same when we beat Armagh and Derry favourites today bring it on and give the team some credit and remember we are not Mayo

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 09/07/2022 21:07:45    2430886

Congrats Galway on a great victory. I have been an avid reader of the Galway forum as I'm very fond of Galway and hope all the P. Joyce critics admit now they might have been wrong. Comer fab today and delighted for the likes of Paul Conroy (,one of the most consistently brilliant footballers over the last decade)

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 09/07/2022 21:14:39    2430890

Delighted for Joyce, and all Galway people of course, but he comes across as very likeable and has instilled a great belief. He started very well with Galway and was just unlucky covid hit at the very start of the job. He's done it as a player and will not fear whoever they play in the final.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 779 - 09/07/2022 21:48:06    2430915

Replying To festinog:  "Thanks a cara! We're in serious bonus territory at this stage, so win or lose, I'm looking forward to the final.

BTW, can anyone tell me, if the final ends in a draw, is there a rematch of penos?"
It's a replay if final is draw as far as I know but not sure if that after normal time or if extra time is played and if still a draw it's a replay.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 218 - 10/07/2022 08:28:01    2430936

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Congrats Galway on a great victory. I have been an avid reader of the Galway forum as I'm very fond of Galway and hope all the P. Joyce critics admit now they might have been wrong. Comer fab today and delighted for the likes of Paul Conroy (,one of the most consistently brilliant footballers over the last decade)"
Right on the money here. conroy playing senior football for Galway since '08, delighted for him and all the lads. 1/2 for me yesterday lol after that first game !

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 185 - 10/07/2022 08:34:33    2430939

Replying To Waveitwide:  "They said the same when we beat Armagh and Derry favourites today bring it on and give the team some credit and remember we are not Mayo"
Congrats to Galway although can you leave the snide remarks about us aside? I heard plenty of them Friday evening in Hyde park. Hopefully Galway go on and win Sam now.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 10/07/2022 09:03:19    2430943

Tá mé i mo Ghaillimheach fíor bhródúil. Congratulations to the whole panel and management team on reaching our first senior final in over 20 years. The years have flown since that great day against Meath.
We knew it was going to be tight and very cagey, as Derry are so structured. We had to be patient, try to move them around and create an opening. The game was far from a classic, especially the first half, but that always going to be the case.
Comer was exceptional. Having a game breaker like him is the key to beating a system like that. I'm delighted that he and the rest now get a chance to show what they can do on the biggest day.
Commiserations to Derry. They've had a big year, but they didn't express themselves at all yesterday. When they were well behind yesterday in the second half, they still sat in formation with most players inside their half when we had possession. There was one stage where ran almost 5 minutes off the clock passing the ball around without much pressure. They should learn from today.
We have 2 weeks now to enjoy the build up and the scramble for tickets.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 10/07/2022 09:09:54    2430945

Another great day on the road following the Maroon and White. This is actually happening! Fantastic to get over the line yesterday. Concerning enough first half and not one for the purists but I suppose the early pressure had to be soaked up and contained. The slow paced, ponderous, lateral stuff wasn't easy on the eye but we had Derry's measure and it started to become apparent that they hadn't a whole lot more to offer. Getting the gawk eye point back on the board and winning the throw in at the start of the second half just seemed to ignite us. Then Comer started to take the vaunted Rogers and his full back line to the cleaners! Excellent goal taking from his speed off the mark, the winning of possession to becoming this untackleable wrecking ball of muscle, then opening up to bear down on goal for the first one and finding his spot with power and precision. Then to finally plunder an open goal with quick thinking, speed and accuracy again. Tremendous play from Damo.
The backs did Trojan work. Mopped up time and again as a unit, massive energy and work rate, rabid hunger for the ball when Derry had to throw everything at them in the third quarter. Every one of them did their job and Sean Kelly and John Daly in the spine were super. Daly this year has been all star material and he still doesn't seem to be getting the media credit - reading, distribution, tackling, doggedness, vision and more, it's all there. Molloy is cropping up everywhere, fair play to him. Dylan McHugh and Silke very assured. Gleeson did well enough but collectively our kick out strategy still looks like it's in its nascent stages of development, when it should be a well oiled machine, with endless rehearsed options for him to hit. Mgmt need to get this right pronto or it'll be exposed. Still not fielding that well in midfield, and if it's going to be breaking ball cos we can't catch cleanly then we need to turn it into much more of a war zone mopping up those breaks. Outside of Comer, I'm convinced we still have so much more to offer upfront with more in Walsh, Tierney, Heaney, Patrick K, and Finnerty. They're going to fully unleash as a unit some day soon! Could they time it for the big one?
Mighty days in Galway football. Our brilliant young minors came from being write offs to many earlier in the year to winning the All Ireland in convincing fashion. Our seniors are bringing us on a fantastic journey and we ain't done yet. Nobody will give us a chance in the final - and that's just fine. Galway like that. Galway have only ever seen opportunity in finals. That's in the DNA. These lads have no fear and no pressure at all on them - time to get primed!! Up Galway.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 901 - 10/07/2022 09:10:43    2430946

Great waking up this morning knowing Weare back in an All Ireland final. Our young team have really come of age and our defensive system worked brilliantly. Congrats to PJ and Cian and all the players..
Comer man of the match undoubtedly.
Let's bring Sam home

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 10/07/2022 10:42:14    2430971

Replying To yew_tree:  "Congrats to Galway although can you leave the snide remarks about us aside? I heard plenty of them Friday evening in Hyde park. Hopefully Galway go on and win Sam now."
Your a saint Yew_Tree to be absorbing all that snide commentary on here & in Roscommon etc, and then rebounding that 'hopefully' Galway will win the 2022 title. You might be ambivalent now, but you'll know in your gut who you want to win/lose with 10mins left on the day of final. That's what I find myself anyway!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3418 - 10/07/2022 12:08:30    2431005

Replying To yew_tree:  "Congrats to Galway although can you leave the snide remarks about us aside? I heard plenty of them Friday evening in Hyde park. Hopefully Galway go on and win Sam now."
Fair play yew tree but tbh I wouldn't hold it against you an iota if you were cheering dublin or kerry in the final.
Not being snide here, genuinely am not, but after so many near misses for ye the last 15 years, how sickening would it be to watch us lot come out of nowhere and win the frigging thing?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 10/07/2022 15:05:39    2431051

Replying To Waveitwide:  "They said the same when we beat Armagh and Derry favourites today bring it on and give the team some credit and remember we are not Mayo"
hmm, dunno.
Quality of teams just isn't there compared to the previous decade, and a decent Galway team have profited this year,.

OF ----Beating a newly promoted Armagh team that were naïve and inexperienced on the big stage at HQ,
SF---- Div 2 team with a long way to go to be considering top level.
Final-- Galway will have a difficult opponent and will earn their rep here, , but Kerry dont carry the same quality, fear, or physiological intimidation compared to the lets say Dublin's all conquering 6 in a row machine, so they could actually rob an All Ireland here.

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 10/07/2022 19:04:30    2431154

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Delighted for Joyce, and all Galway people of course, but he comes across as very likeable and has instilled a great belief. He started very well with Galway and was just unlucky covid hit at the very start of the job. He's done it as a player and will not fear whoever they play in the final."

Joyce is no fool and will most certainly fear Kerry.
They will set up as they did against Derry in the first half with 12 or 15 behind the ball (puke football it used to be called) and go from there. Kerry aren't as limited as Derry, they have a few decent forwards ;-), so it mightn't work but it will keep the margin down and keep Galway in the game.

There is nothing wrong with that - Kerry did it today and it worked. Thanks to some uncharacteristic bad wides by Dublin especially in the first half it must be said but that's football.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 10/07/2022 20:08:19    2431171

Replying To togoutlads:  "Another great day on the road following the Maroon and White. This is actually happening! Fantastic to get over the line yesterday. Concerning enough first half and not one for the purists but I suppose the early pressure had to be soaked up and contained. The slow paced, ponderous, lateral stuff wasn't easy on the eye but we had Derry's measure and it started to become apparent that they hadn't a whole lot more to offer. Getting the gawk eye point back on the board and winning the throw in at the start of the second half just seemed to ignite us. Then Comer started to take the vaunted Rogers and his full back line to the cleaners! Excellent goal taking from his speed off the mark, the winning of possession to becoming this untackleable wrecking ball of muscle, then opening up to bear down on goal for the first one and finding his spot with power and precision. Then to finally plunder an open goal with quick thinking, speed and accuracy again. Tremendous play from Damo.
The backs did Trojan work. Mopped up time and again as a unit, massive energy and work rate, rabid hunger for the ball when Derry had to throw everything at them in the third quarter. Every one of them did their job and Sean Kelly and John Daly in the spine were super. Daly this year has been all star material and he still doesn't seem to be getting the media credit - reading, distribution, tackling, doggedness, vision and more, it's all there. Molloy is cropping up everywhere, fair play to him. Dylan McHugh and Silke very assured. Gleeson did well enough but collectively our kick out strategy still looks like it's in its nascent stages of development, when it should be a well oiled machine, with endless rehearsed options for him to hit. Mgmt need to get this right pronto or it'll be exposed. Still not fielding that well in midfield, and if it's going to be breaking ball cos we can't catch cleanly then we need to turn it into much more of a war zone mopping up those breaks. Outside of Comer, I'm convinced we still have so much more to offer upfront with more in Walsh, Tierney, Heaney, Patrick K, and Finnerty. They're going to fully unleash as a unit some day soon! Could they time it for the big one?
Mighty days in Galway football. Our brilliant young minors came from being write offs to many earlier in the year to winning the All Ireland in convincing fashion. Our seniors are bringing us on a fantastic journey and we ain't done yet. Nobody will give us a chance in the final - and that's just fine. Galway like that. Galway have only ever seen opportunity in finals. That's in the DNA. These lads have no fear and no pressure at all on them - time to get primed!! Up Galway."
Brilliant post. Balanced. And i agree with every portion. Chat you in Dublin in 2 weeks

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 10/07/2022 20:48:16    2431190

It's almost a chiche at this stage, but the difference between Galway and Kerry the next day might be the goalkeeping. We have a solid defense that will be tested by the quality of Kerry's forwards, but I don't think they'll be found wanting, and down the other end we have forwards that could cause all sorts of bother. Derry didn't try it yesterday because I don't think they had the quality, but some of Kerry's kick-passing today was brilliant, and if they decide to start raining balls down on goals....

I saw nothing today to make me fear Kerry; which isn't the same as saying I don't think they're a good team, I hasten to add! But I think with nothing to loose and all the pressure on Kerry (who were practically crowned kings of Ireland by all and sundry on RTE today), Galway are in a great place.

Gaillimh go deo!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 10/07/2022 21:14:17    2431199

Replying To timmyhogan:  ".

They will set up as they did against Derry in the first half with 12 or 15 behind the ball (puke football it used to be called) and go from there. Kerry aren't as limited as Derry, they have a few decent forwards ;-), so it mightn't work but it will keep the margin down and keep Galway in the game.

There is nothing wrong with that - Kerry did it today and it worked. Thanks to some uncharacteristic bad wides by Dublin especially in the first half it must be said but that's football."
Galway have the players to put it up to Kerry. Damo, Sean Kelly, Paul Conroy and John Daly are a match for Cliffords and O Sheas. Gaillimh abú

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2518 - 10/07/2022 21:44:18    2431213

Replying To timmyhogan:  ".

There is nothing wrong with that - Kerry did it today and it worked. Thanks to some uncharacteristic bad wides by Dublin especially in the first half it must be said but that's football."
As will Kerry when Galway have the ball. Similar to how they packed their defence today. What the teams do when they have the ball will be very interesting.
Both have reaped rewards at times this year from moving the ball quickly into the full forward line. It's not always on, but the risk is often worth it, particularly from a turnover.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 10/07/2022 21:48:22    2431215