Galway Football thread

Still hard to believe we are in the All Ire Final
I Only Believe it when i see the Galway Team run on to the Croke Park Pitch
We are in a great position at this moment with our football and hurling teams
Excellent Bunch of lads in both teams and top class management to boot
The talent that is coming through is unreal clubs doing great work also
The set up in underage as regards coaching and development is fiirst class
What we need now is to have round robin for our u20 football and hurling teams to develop

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 17/07/2022 21:29:04    2432593

Replying To GreenandRed:  "What's the best pubs in Galway City to watch the final?"
I'd say Killorans or some of the Salthill pubs. City centre maybe Dewdrop.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 17/07/2022 21:34:43    2432598

Final preview with Tomás O'Sé, Lee Keegan and Joe Brolly.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 18/07/2022 07:27:08    2432607

Replying To GreenandRed:  "What's the best pubs in Galway City to watch the final?"
Taafes would be very good if you get a good view of a screen!

MaroonedinDublin (Galway) - Posts: 28 - 18/07/2022 08:48:43    2432614

Replying To rhudson:  "Yes ii renember the 1980s and 90s going to Galway games
YOU would be lucky to see a few thousand at games
People telling you they wouldnt go across the road to watch them
Being outnumbered in Croke Park by 10 to 1 sometimes
And then in 1998 the bandwagon started all the way the final
Just about got a ticket in the end
But thats the way it goes i didnt get a ticket for 2001
Even though i went to every game for 20 yrs
After that experience i gradually lost the pasion for going to games
I cant be bothered looking for a ticket now
And im comfortable with that now
IIts amazing as you get older you see through it all
I enjoy nothing more than watching the game form comfort of my couch
Enjoying the build up and the previews
But will still be supporting them as allways"
The season ticket is a great job. Best of luck

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 18/07/2022 09:04:13    2432619

We've the maroon and white everywhere, we have amhráns, bodhráns, amadáns, hats, flags, headbands, vuvuzelas, flasks, the makings of hang sandwiches and everything ready to go - but no tickets. Going all year, to almost every Galway league and championship match and now nothing. Sweating now. Hopefully they crop up but it's looking tight! Any word on further allocations?

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 18/07/2022 09:31:35    2432625

Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

Final preview with Tomás O'Sé, Lee Keegan and Joe Brolly."
Thanks for that very enjoyable
Of course Brolly had to get the Tyrone dig into Tomas lol
Well whats new Galway are being written off again
Every final 1998 2001 and now 2022 we were the outsiders
Underrated undervalued keep it up perfect set up for us
And every time Galway have delivered and we will again
Time for Shane Walsh to deliver a big performance
We might be the Fancy Dans the Aristocrats
But we allways believe we can win

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 18/07/2022 09:37:35    2432628

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "I'd say Killorans or some of the Salthill pubs. City centre maybe Dewdrop."
Cheers Machaire. Was thinking Myles Lee's alright. Would need to get there very early but great atmosphere and pints guaranteed.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 18/07/2022 09:43:29    2432630

Replying To togoutlads:  "We've the maroon and white everywhere, we have amhráns, bodhráns, amadáns, hats, flags, headbands, vuvuzelas, flasks, the makings of hang sandwiches and everything ready to go - but no tickets. Going all year, to almost every Galway league and championship match and now nothing. Sweating now. Hopefully they crop up but it's looking tight! Any word on further allocations?"
There should be more coming back from the other counties by tomorrow. They'll go through the clubs again, but they'll find their way out.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2040 - 18/07/2022 09:56:29    2432632

Taafes would be very good if you get a good view of a screen!

MaroonedinDublin (Galway) - Posts: 28 - 18/07/2022 10:10:17    2432638

Replying To rhudson:  "

Thanks for that very enjoyable
Of course Brolly had to get the Tyrone dig into Tomas lol
Well whats new Galway are being written off again
Every final 1998 2001 and now 2022 we were the outsiders
Underrated undervalued keep it up perfect set up for us
And every time Galway have delivered and we will again
Time for Shane Walsh to deliver a big performance
We might be the Fancy Dans the Aristocrats
But we allways believe we can win"
Its the difference between Galway and Mayo. While we might be beaten on Sunday we will go up fully expecting to win while Mayo deep down expect to lose in the final which sounds harsh but its due to the level of final defeats which is gubu.

Any Galway hurling fan will tell you of the relief of the 2017 win as it staved off the self doubts which now consume Mayo.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 18/07/2022 14:27:47    2432732

I get the feeling Galway are being massively underrated - young talent, and potential to improve dramatically, being ignored. All the talk is of Conroy/Comer and Walsh. I'm now convinced we have a great chance..

Katser, hard luck on Kilkenny losing..

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 18/07/2022 15:44:27    2432761

Replying To PancakeWard:  "Will they put them on general sale on Friday
Plenty of people in Kerry wont travel due to the costs."
Will be the first ever football final to do that if it happens. Hurling finals has on gone general sale in the past but not the football final.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 18/07/2022 16:11:32    2432769

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Will be the first ever football final to do that if it happens. Hurling finals has on gone general sale in the past but not the football final."
Kerry v Donegal in 2014 may as well have been if it wasn't on general sale. People selling them for 20 quid on the walk up. The Dublin v Tyrone final in 18 was also not completely full.

This is the first year its been in the middle of holiday season, extortionate hotel prices and a cost of living issue. Chance of a general sale has to be likely

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 210 - 18/07/2022 17:03:46    2432786

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Cheers Machaire. Was thinking Myles Lee's alright. Would need to get there very early but great atmosphere and pints guaranteed."
Wrapping up the arts festival, so the town center might be mobbed. I'd head for Salthill and squeeze a walk on the Prom in if the weather stays fine. Can't bate that!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 18/07/2022 17:11:13    2432790

Just realized there's no specific Galway v Kerry thread on the forum page. Looks like both sets of fans keeping their heads down for this one.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 18/07/2022 17:14:23    2432794

Replying To galwayman2:  "I go to all championship games, all home league games and maybe will pick one or two away league games to attend (small kids so hard to get to all the away games without serious planning)!!
Never even entered my head to buy a season ticket though to be honest. Hopefully will get a ticket from somewhere."
I feel your pain and certainly don't mean to come across as boastful. Was just so happy to get them.

I always rekon I'd get a ticket somewhere eventually but since I started bringing young lad the only chance of 2 together was a season ticket. 2017 for hurling brought that reality home to me. And also I'm an eternal optimist who thinks we're getting to the final every year..... had to be right eventually!

Hope you get sorted. Take a chance and travel without one. If you hang around long enough one will turn up. Increasingly I'm noticing other fans that have extra selling tickets at face value to genuine fans

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 18/07/2022 19:59:26    2432814

Replying To MaroonedinDublin:  "Taafes would be very good if you get a good view of a screen!"
Yep, Taaffes is the one. Proper Galway football pub. 98 celebrations went on for weeks if not months there!! On the big day around croker, The Big Tree is an obvious one and The Red Parrot always got a huge Galway crowd. .

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 18/07/2022 20:00:08    2432815

Replying To Vish:  "hmm, dunno.
Quality of teams just isn't there compared to the previous decade, and a decent Galway team have profited this year,.

OF ----Beating a newly promoted Armagh team that were naïve and inexperienced on the big stage at HQ,
SF---- Div 2 team with a long way to go to be considering top level.
Final-- Galway will have a difficult opponent and will earn their rep here, , but Kerry dont carry the same quality, fear, or physiological intimidation compared to the lets say Dublin's all conquering 6 in a row machine, so they could actually rob an All Ireland here."
Rob an All Ireland ??????
Is that how ye'r wording it in Mayo?
Why didn't ye rob one yerselves last year?
How do you think this Galway team would get on against Tyrone in the All Ireland Final ???
Think we'd win that one ???
Ye didn't !!!!

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 19/07/2022 07:57:25    2432832

Replying To yew_tree:  "At odds of 10/3 I'm gonna lump on ye and that will soften da blow ;)"
Fair play Yew_tree.
When life gives you lemons..............
Best of luck with it..!!!!

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 19/07/2022 08:05:51    2432834