Galway Hurling thread

Replying To MapleSyrup:  "He can hardly justify starting Conor Cooney against Tipperary. And 1 or 2 others."
Conor is the highest level performer in the County Cup, on which theres little to no dispute. He's also playing exceptionally well during the in house training games, which anyone who goes to watch Galway hurlers training can easily attest to. It's when he dons the maroon, in championship games, that his tendency to 'watch' the game he's supposed to competing in, sets in. This has certainly been the case for the past few seasons.

Mayo52 (Mayo) - Posts: 44 - 15/06/2023 12:59:10    2486644

Replying To Coolockweigan:  "Cooney took a lovely point v Limerick in semi final. Caught it behind the defender and banged it over. Maybe I am naive but I don't think this Galway team is too far off it. 19 wides or more in that semi final 2022...hardly a free awarded to us in second half...72 mins we were only a point behind. Get behind them. Believe in them. AND go to the game in numbers and get loud!"
Fair observation Coolock......a few second half frees 'went missing' that day imo......Thomas Walsh 'the Wexford Park chap' was reffing!!!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3911 - 15/06/2023 14:16:54    2486677

Replying To Mayo52:  "Conor is the highest level performer in the County Cup, on which theres little to no dispute. He's also playing exceptionally well during the in house training games, which anyone who goes to watch Galway hurlers training can easily attest to. It's when he dons the maroon, in championship games, that his tendency to 'watch' the game he's supposed to competing in, sets in. This has certainly been the case for the past few seasons."
Did he not score 8 or 9 from play against Antrim?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/06/2023 14:25:15    2486680

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Is Skehills team of the week like LIV golf or something, that you get an offer you can't refuse to play on it?"
He also had J Glynn on it and he hasn't even played for a few years! Personally I dont think he should be a guaranteed starter but just saying some rate him very highly

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/06/2023 14:27:18    2486681

Replying To Mayo52:  "Conor is the highest level performer in the County Cup, on which theres little to no dispute. He's also playing exceptionally well during the in house training games, which anyone who goes to watch Galway hurlers training can easily attest to. It's when he dons the maroon, in championship games, that his tendency to 'watch' the game he's supposed to competing in, sets in. This has certainly been the case for the past few seasons."
Its been at least 5 years and counting now as time flies but the question is what is the problem with CC in a Galway jersey or what are his exact issues as the last 2 managers cannot figure it out it appears?

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 15/06/2023 14:56:21    2486685

Maybe just pick him for the training games then?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14249 - 15/06/2023 15:10:41    2486692

Replying To tiobraid:  "Did he not score 8 or 9 from play against Antrim?"
No 7 points. But Antrim were missing/ rested Campbell, Bohill, Bradley, McManus, Elliot, and didn't bring on Maskey, Walsh or Mckernan until the last 20 minutes.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14249 - 15/06/2023 15:48:13    2486708

Replying To Viking66:  "Maybe just pick him for the training games then?"
I know he was taking frees for a while but Conor Cooney has a great power of scores for Galway over the years. 5 points from play against much vaunted Banner in the league in March. I'd start him against Tipp. But have a trusted bench to throw on early enough to give us the benefit of their energy. I think we can take Tipp. Plenty of forwards taking scores from play. Cut down on the wides. Was it 19 against Limerick last year? Disheartening. Get momentum early and keep the hammer down!

Coolockweigan (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 15/06/2023 16:03:49    2486715

Replying To Coolockweigan:  "I know he was taking frees for a while but Conor Cooney has a great power of scores for Galway over the years. 5 points from play against much vaunted Banner in the league in March. I'd start him against Tipp. But have a trusted bench to throw on early enough to give us the benefit of their energy. I think we can take Tipp. Plenty of forwards taking scores from play. Cut down on the wides. Was it 19 against Limerick last year? Disheartening. Get momentum early and keep the hammer down!"
Your view on this is seriously skewed.
He was taking frees, and taking them fairly badly. He basically missed a sitter in every championship game last year while being left on them.

I counted last year, and from what I remember he scored the guts of 7 points from play in the Championship last year, this is a woeful return from a centre forward who got to play two games against Joe McDonagh Cup standard teams(any decent forward should be racking up at least 7 in those two games alone).
For the 7 odd points he scored, he probably hit about double the amount in bad wides(just like the one input he had against KK last week).

Unfortunately if you were doing a +/- he would handily feature with a massive minus number in 90% of his games.
Looking at the Dublin game.. missed a penalty, passed a ball away for a point, hooked for another goal chance etc.. it's just generally a nothing contribution play after play.

In fairness he did have a few good league games but he's done nothing in the Championship and as above, he was beyond woeful in every game last year.
You're welcome to correct my points from play total for 2022.. but it was no more than 8 and may even have been 6 but think 7 is right, which was less than a point a game.

I'm not seeing anything from Shefflin to warrant him getting a third year, we are just open at the back, never any spare players and we are just pucking aimless balls into outnumbered forwards, we aren't getting any benefit to extra players in any end and are headless in both regards.

Personally I've never been as uninterested in a Quarter Final as I am for the Tipp game.
It's just a sad state of affairs that we cleaned up at minor for years and got absolutely nothing from those teams.
I wasn't even remotely surprised or disappointed after the KK goal, I've just been there so many times before it's just par for the course.

Also surprised nobody mentioned for the KK goal that we had 4 players in their half.. we had 5 in our goalmouth when the shot was taken and Flynn was man marking a player too far out while CB, in his eye line stood free on the D... Just pathetic all around. All 15 should have been in our 22 when the ball held in the corner.

Gilberto_Eire (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 15/06/2023 17:13:40    2486725

Replying To Gilberto_Eire:  "Your view on this is seriously skewed.
He was taking frees, and taking them fairly badly. He basically missed a sitter in every championship game last year while being left on them.

I counted last year, and from what I remember he scored the guts of 7 points from play in the Championship last year, this is a woeful return from a centre forward who got to play two games against Joe McDonagh Cup standard teams(any decent forward should be racking up at least 7 in those two games alone).
For the 7 odd points he scored, he probably hit about double the amount in bad wides(just like the one input he had against KK last week).

Unfortunately if you were doing a +/- he would handily feature with a massive minus number in 90% of his games.
Looking at the Dublin game.. missed a penalty, passed a ball away for a point, hooked for another goal chance etc.. it's just generally a nothing contribution play after play.

In fairness he did have a few good league games but he's done nothing in the Championship and as above, he was beyond woeful in every game last year.
You're welcome to correct my points from play total for 2022.. but it was no more than 8 and may even have been 6 but think 7 is right, which was less than a point a game.

I'm not seeing anything from Shefflin to warrant him getting a third year, we are just open at the back, never any spare players and we are just pucking aimless balls into outnumbered forwards, we aren't getting any benefit to extra players in any end and are headless in both regards.

Personally I've never been as uninterested in a Quarter Final as I am for the Tipp game.
It's just a sad state of affairs that we cleaned up at minor for years and got absolutely nothing from those teams.
I wasn't even remotely surprised or disappointed after the KK goal, I've just been there so many times before it's just par for the course.

Also surprised nobody mentioned for the KK goal that we had 4 players in their half.. we had 5 in our goalmouth when the shot was taken and Flynn was man marking a player too far out while CB, in his eye line stood free on the D... Just pathetic all around. All 15 should have been in our 22 when the ball held in the corner."
Shefflin hasn't improved Galway but the problems must run deeper than that. Galway can't even bring the minors through to U20 never mind to senior. Galway haven't won an All Ireland U21/20 hurling title since 2011, a remarkable statistic given the level of their minor dominance.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2308 - 15/06/2023 17:54:36    2486728

Replying To Coolockweigan:  "I know he was taking frees for a while but Conor Cooney has a great power of scores for Galway over the years. 5 points from play against much vaunted Banner in the league in March. I'd start him against Tipp. But have a trusted bench to throw on early enough to give us the benefit of their energy. I think we can take Tipp. Plenty of forwards taking scores from play. Cut down on the wides. Was it 19 against Limerick last year? Disheartening. Get momentum early and keep the hammer down!"
No reason at all Liam can't be West of the Shannon again this year. Noone is standing out.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14249 - 15/06/2023 18:10:18    2486729

Don't think anyone can ever doubt Conor Cooneys ability and has proven it at every level he's played at, winning minor, u21, club and senior all Ireland's, there's bot too many in Ireland who can say they've literally won everything. It's just his highs have been super high and his lows have been pretty low at times. Thinking of his Leinster Final performance in 2017 when he gave Wexford defense as bad a run around as any of the prime Kilkenny lads did, some of his scores in 2017 final where out of this world then, he was very good in 2014, 2016, 2017 and half of 2018. Since then he's been on a whole very poor with the odd glimpse or performance, he's won motm in a few games and then has some nightmare moments and games, his shooting for all of 2020, some of his frees Last year. Think maybe an impact sub might be the best job for him now, maybe he's put himself under a lot of pressure too, hard to know but he's never came across as the most mentally steely type hurler. Seems like a nice lad but I get the frustration watching him. Fairly or unfairly he seems to embody the stereotype galway forward of the last 30 years, moments of the highest quality mixed shocking poor form. I get he's a super club hurler and probably in the running for the greatest galway club hurler of all time but too often he hasn't brought that belief and form with him to the county game. Shefflin obviously has a lot of faith in him and has seen him a lot in training and even with Thomas's at club level whe playing Ballyhale and maybe is just banking on him exploding into life at some stage but at this stage of the year there's no sign of it and getting too important with knockout real champioship beginning there's no more second chances. Think it's madness not playing Cathal Mannion centre forward, an outrageous hurler who can hit 6/7 points from play and being kinda wasted plying so far back. I know he has good distribution but he could do so much more damage up there

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 286 - 15/06/2023 18:25:53    2486733

Also surprised nobody mentioned for the KK goal that we had 4 players in their half.. we had 5 in our goalmouth when the shot was taken and Flynn was man marking a player too far out while CB, in his eye line stood free on the D... Just pathetic all around. All 15 should have been in our 22 when the ball held in the corner."
I wonder when will the rumours start that there's a big row brewing in the Galway camp with some players not talking to each other and that that's the reason they let Kilkenny in for that last puck goal on Sunday?. Or maybe the pre-1980 curse is back again? I have little time for the doom and gloom merchants and sports reporters who were about to send in their story about Galway's remarkable victory after being 8 points down but a couple of seconds later are writing Galway off entirely just because KK get in for a flukey goal with the last puck of the game. I have every confidence that with a little bit of restructuring at the back, Galway have the ability, class and character to beat Tipperary and then dethrone Limerick. Gaillimh Abü.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 91 - 15/06/2023 19:30:18    2486740

You obviously have had the time to go back and review the video many times.
GOOD INSIGHT.

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 331 - 15/06/2023 19:33:20    2486741

The Leinster final - if u attended- was a fantastic game of hurling. Your use of words like 'pathetic' and 'sad state of affairs' is odd when Galway scored 2-26 (2-18 from play) and came within seconds of winning the game.
Regarding the much maligned Conor C he didn't play v Westmeath but has scored 0-2 against Wexford 0-1 v kilkenny and 0-7 v Antrim. For most of his long career twas Canning on frees but I agree he did miss a few when he was on them. Even the great TJ misses them!
Finally, for someone so uninterested, why did u write a thesis on Cooney, Galway hurling and your feelings on a Galway hurling forum?!!! Get the maroon on you, get your ticket and get behind the team. Ti's now they need your support and not when the battle is won. When Cooney lights it up in a fortnight, you can buy me a pint!

Coolockweigan (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 15/06/2023 22:14:33    2486752

We lost by a point after an epic match in which we scored 2-14 from play. Mistakes were made. The backs were dozing when TJ went to take a short free. But if you didn't enjoy that stirring and courageous comeback from 8 points down then maybe hurling isn't your game!
By your own definition Cooney is a decent forward as he scored 0-7 from play against Antrim! I agree his frees were a bit ropey. He also scored 0-2 against Wexford and 0-1 against KK. His 5 points from play in Ennis in March deserve mention. This guy can light it up and I think Tipp will bring out his best.
Finally 'seriously skewed' , 'pathetic' 'uninterested', 'sad state of affairs' is Fox news language. Keep a lid on the hysteria (until we beat Tipp) (And Cooney buries a goal). Twas a one point loss against a serious outfit.

Coolockweigan (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 16/06/2023 06:46:16    2486762

There is no point not keeping Shefflin. Who are the alternatives out there who are available ? Very few.

He got them within a whisker of beating Limerick last year. Its time to face facts - The crop of 2017 are slowing down and the younger players are just nowhere near the standard required to compete for an All Ireland title. Cianan Fahy, Ronan Glennon, Sean Linnane etc.... not at it

MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 16/06/2023 08:59:10    2486771

Good God but it must be hard to be a Galway county hurler listening to that kind of stuff after coming within seconds of winning Leinster after being 8 points down.Ye almost beat Limerick last year and ok its a tougher path to Liam now but ye have every chance with Tipp.Move on

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1618 - 16/06/2023 10:14:31    2486785

Replying To jobber:  "Good God but it must be hard to be a Galway county hurler listening to that kind of stuff after coming within seconds of winning Leinster after being 8 points down.Ye almost beat Limerick last year and ok its a tougher path to Liam now but ye have every chance with Tipp.Move on"
Galway haven't won a game in Croke Park with fans in attendance since the 2017 All Ireland final. It's hard to have optimism coursing through the veins.

MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 16/06/2023 11:07:39    2486796

Replying To MapleSyrup:  "Galway haven't won a game in Croke Park with fans in attendance since the 2017 All Ireland final. It's hard to have optimism coursing through the veins."
Have Clare won a game in Croke Park since 2013? Fans or no fans.
Yet, they'd still have a bit of confidence in the progress they're making.
Some of the commentary is over the top for sure.
Do we have problems, absolutely. For a start we're conceding goals far too easily from teams simply running at us. Our performance also fluctuates wildly within games.
However, are we capable of beating contenders for the All-Ireland. I certainly think so.
Every county left in the race has a number of problems, some greater than others.
While Limerick are definitely favourites and may move up a few gears when they hit Croke Park, I think most of the rest of the teams are capable of beating each other on a given day.
We're not at the level we want, but it's also not the end of the world. Looking forward to a big game against the winner of Tipp-Offaly.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2224 - 16/06/2023 11:32:53    2486814