Galway Hurling thread

Replying To Jack L:  "In the Club championship draws, how many comes out of each group of 4. Is it top to and play straight QFs etc or three teams and play Prelim QFs"
Top team in each group straight through to quarter finals. Second and third place teams go into preliminary quarters

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 806 - 14/06/2023 10:08:35    2486362

Replying To Trump2020:  "I won't give you WARM but maybe LUKEWARM. Ha ha."
I wouldn't even give them Lukewarm!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2481 - 14/06/2023 11:23:22    2486392

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "The odds for the teams to reach the semi finals are up though on PP and they are:

Tipperary 4/6 to reach the semi final
Galway 11/10.

Tipp have to play 2 games to reach it and Galway have one. With those odds quoted it's plain to see Tipperary are and will be WARM favourites to beat Galway should the teams meet in the quarter final!"
Come back to me next week if this fixture is up then..

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/06/2023 11:24:12    2486393

He can hardly justify starting Conor Cooney against Tipperary. And 1 or 2 others.

MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 14/06/2023 14:55:51    2486453

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "CTGAA 10. Should you not be on the Limerick or even the Tipperary forum instead of offering your tuppence-hapenny worth on the affairs of other counties?. Enjoy the Limerick streak while you can as it will inevitably come to a shuddering halt soon and you could be waiting a long time for another All Ireland. All counties tend to get too big for their boots when they think they're the top dog, especially like Limerick who have been the poor relation in hurling since the 1940s."
Why pick the 1940s, Lk won All Irelands in five of the first six full decades of the GAA. The only All Ireland Galway won in 93 years was won when Limerick, had actually conceded the game beforehand, because of the number of their team who had just been released from jail at the end of the Civil War. In fairness to the Galway County Board they would not accept a bloodless victory and allowed the game to be put back for a few weeks for our lads to prepare, but you could claim LK had a great chance to prepare properly for an All Ireland Final.
I would also remind you that outside of the big three we are the only county, and with the sixth Hurling Population of any county in Ireland, to have produced three different teams capable of winning more than one All Ireland.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4471 - 14/06/2023 16:30:38    2486475

Fatladysinging I wasn't crowing about where we are.we've been extremely lucky to have these days..I remember all the bad days from 1974 for both club and county..I know we,ll have bad days again..I don't think I offended anyone in Galway with my post..many from other counties comment on other counties pages and I just replied to tiobraid.think we all have opinions on most other counties pages..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2416 - 14/06/2023 17:00:41    2486482

Replying To MapleSyrup:  "He can hardly justify starting Conor Cooney against Tipperary. And 1 or 2 others."
Conor Cooney should not be even in the panel IMO. Why not give some newer players like Jamie Ryan and Martin McManus a chance along with more experienced ones like Adrian Touhy? At least they would add a bit of pace, drive and energy to the team which the likes of Cooney has not been doing for many years now apart from at club level - perhaps he doesn't like hot weather and bone dry pitches!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 14/06/2023 17:26:11    2486488

Replying To tiobraid:  "I cant argue with that but the Waterford game is surely a big reminder about how far away we still are. While I'm not for a second suggesting Waterford are a bad side, Tipp were really flat and offered very little against a team with a whole host of regulars missing and their keeper playing out field and played in Thurles aswell. A few people seem to think Galways loss threw up more question marks than that loss for Tipp but Galway at least fought back to go in front. Tipp never looked like fighting back despite knowing that they could exit the cship and so very nearly did. Dont get me wrong...overall this has been a positive year considering what has gone before but we are far from world beaters - even if I do feel we can match most teams on our day."
It was a strange game for Tipp. What were they dealing with ? Definitely flat but dealing with an unusual Waterford team playing for pride and just expressing themselves. I would wonder if our full team would have got the same result. Nolan out field not as big a risk as everyone thinks. He is a fine outfield player and I rate Shaun O 'Brien in the top three goalies. Blessed with goalies since Clinton Hennessy. Before that would not stop a beach ball. Another excellent keeper behind O'Keeffe in Ballygunner can't get a look in.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2903 - 14/06/2023 19:34:59    2486514

Replying To tommy k:  "Conor Cooney should not be even in the panel IMO. Why not give some newer players like Jamie Ryan and Martin McManus a chance along with more experienced ones like Adrian Touhy? At least they would add a bit of pace, drive and energy to the team which the likes of Cooney has not been doing for many years now apart from at club level - perhaps he doesn't like hot weather and bone dry pitches!"
Cooney took a lovely point v Limerick in semi final. Caught it behind the defender and banged it over. Maybe I am naive but I don't think this Galway team is too far off it. 19 wides or more in that semi final 2022...hardly a free awarded to us in second half...72 mins we were only a point behind. Get behind them. Believe in them. AND go to the game in numbers and get loud!

Coolockweigan (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 14/06/2023 20:28:22    2486533

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Fatladysinging I wasn't crowing about where we are.we've been extremely lucky to have these days..I remember all the bad days from 1974 for both club and county..I know we,ll have bad days again..I don't think I offended anyone in Galway with my post..many from other counties comment on other counties pages and I just replied to tiobraid.think we all have opinions on most other counties pages.."
Plough on son, your opinion is as valid as anyone else's here

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 906 - 14/06/2023 22:24:14    2486545

Replying To tommy k:  "Hear hear well said - Tipp will be hot favourites as Galway will not be able to deal with all that firepower with Forde and Morris back!"
You're learning, Tommy. Don't overreact to something that you might not agree with, especially something that should really not be appearing on this Galway thread as it is bound to upset a lot of Galwegians, especially the more sensitive types, and there's a horde of them on here.

No, Tommy, keep your powder dry and don't overreact. You're learning after all these years, and after all the lessons that I've sent your way.

And when Galway do beat Tipp (and they've still to beat the BIFFOS), you can quietly smile to yourself, knowing well that you weren't drawn out. And if Galway lose, you can say, "isn't that what I said?"

Tommy, it took a while, but you're learning well now! Well done!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2118 - 15/06/2023 04:13:02    2486555

Replying To MapleSyrup:  "He can hardly justify starting Conor Cooney against Tipperary. And 1 or 2 others."
Maybe the excuse was that Conor Cooney was their free taker so they had to fit him in somehow but that excuse is gone now with the emergence of Evan Niland. I could see Cooney possibly being a sub off the bench late in matches.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2282 - 15/06/2023 07:32:42    2486558

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "CTGAA 10. Should you not be on the Limerick or even the Tipperary forum instead of offering your tuppence-hapenny worth on the affairs of other counties?. Enjoy the Limerick streak while you can as it will inevitably come to a shuddering halt soon and you could be waiting a long time for another All Ireland. All counties tend to get too big for their boots when they think they're the top dog, especially like Limerick who have been the poor relation in hurling since the 1940s."
There is no county forum anymore. It's a national forum…
If we can't talk about other counties on here then the whole forum is a waste of time

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/06/2023 07:33:27    2486559

Replying To Trump2020:  "Maybe the excuse was that Conor Cooney was their free taker so they had to fit him in somehow but that excuse is gone now with the emergence of Evan Niland. I could see Cooney possibly being a sub off the bench late in matches."
He's rated really highly by a lot of pundits. I think both Skehill and Paul Murphy had them their best of rest team a month or so ago. Personally I'm surprised Shefflin hasnt shook things up more than he has

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/06/2023 10:17:25    2486585

Fintan has very little hurling done this year and it shows - hes been on the receiving end of 2 absolute pastings but he will be grand by the time the tipp game arrives... please god

The issue is midfield and half forward line. Monaghan, Glennon, Cianan Fahy, Conor cooney etc are just nowhere near the level required and wouldn't even be on the panel if they were from Cork, Clare, Tipp, Limerick and Kilkenny.

Maybe we are overachieving for the calibre of player we have in the ranks.

MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 15/06/2023 10:40:28    2486594

Replying To tiobraid:  "He's rated really highly by a lot of pundits. I think both Skehill and Paul Murphy had them their best of rest team a month or so ago. Personally I'm surprised Shefflin hasnt shook things up more than he has"
Is Skehills team of the week like LIV golf or something, that you get an offer you can't refuse to play on it?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3911 - 15/06/2023 11:10:57    2486605

Replying To MapleSyrup:  "Fintan has very little hurling done this year and it shows - hes been on the receiving end of 2 absolute pastings but he will be grand by the time the tipp game arrives... please god

The issue is midfield and half forward line. Monaghan, Glennon, Cianan Fahy, Conor cooney etc are just nowhere near the level required and wouldn't even be on the panel if they were from Cork, Clare, Tipp, Limerick and Kilkenny.

Maybe we are overachieving for the calibre of player we have in the ranks."
You could be onto something there, Maple, with that last line.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3911 - 15/06/2023 11:12:27    2486608

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "You could be onto something there, Maple, with that last line."
I am certainly on something alright

MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 15/06/2023 12:08:05    2486627

Replying To foreveryoung:  "You're learning, Tommy. Don't overreact to something that you might not agree with, especially something that should really not be appearing on this Galway thread as it is bound to upset a lot of Galwegians, especially the more sensitive types, and there's a horde of them on here.

No, Tommy, keep your powder dry and don't overreact. You're learning after all these years, and after all the lessons that I've sent your way.

And when Galway do beat Tipp (and they've still to beat the BIFFOS), you can quietly smile to yourself, knowing well that you weren't drawn out. And if Galway lose, you can say, "isn't that what I said?"

Tommy, it took a while, but you're learning well now! Well done!"
Shucks youngeen thank you and have a nice day now as ye yanks say! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 15/06/2023 12:34:24    2486636

Pity no word of potential venues, would like to make a night of it and book something. i.e Galway v Tipp will be in Limerick, Galway v Offaly will be portlaoise. Truthfully I'd love a doubleheader but reading snipets online it won't be, they won't take Dublin too far down south

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 499 - 15/06/2023 12:54:51    2486642