Galway Hurling thread

Replying To Limerick2018:  "Another childish comment so im going to take the bait.. Jesus ye Galway lads are something else. Bitter doesn't do ye justice. Ye should have beaten us in 2018, 2020 and last year too. Only for the refs,wides,bad tactics. Maybe ye are just not good enough. If whinging was a sport I'd back ye to win it every year"
Listen Limerick 2018 I was responding to another poster here who goes on ad nauseam about 'hurling population' and he's constantly mocking Galway for having so few All Irelands in spite of a large 'hurling population'. Having a large number of clubs playing hurling doesn't guarantee a county an All Ireland as proven by Offaly in their wins over Galway and Limerick.
I was at the 2018 All Ireland final, although Galway could have made it a drawn game, Limerick were the better team and deserved their win. I was beside Limerick supporters that day, congratulated them on their victory and was genuinely happy for their success. Most hurling supporters from both counties are fine people.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 04/03/2023 08:58:13    2461697

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Same lesson that they dished out in '81 AND '85!"
Exactly! And fair play to them.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 04/03/2023 09:01:37    2461698

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "The difference between Galway and the current Limerick and previous Kilkenny teams is that Galway developed players to hurl minor and the others developed players to senior. So I say fair play to the current Limerick team(they are damn good rugby players with sticks). All great teams play on the edge and Limerick are currently a great team. Only for that one off day in 19 against Kilkenny they should be going for 6 in a row. How many Tipp supporters would say they would of beaten Limerick in a All Ireland final that year. Not many I'd say. It might be boring to watch sometimes but give them the plaudits they deserve."
Very decent post.. Thanks.
It gets conveniently ignored that we massively changed our underage structure after getting a hammering from Tipp in 2009 semi finals.
That's the bedrock of this success, along with an excellent management team. Money doesn't buy all Irelands, Players do.

Anyway, best of luck against Clare.
No doubt we'll meet you further down the road again.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 04/03/2023 09:18:17    2461701

It's very amusing reading the limrik posters getting so upset and defensive!! What started it off was a comment staying Hayes should have been sent off (now suspended)
Jez they can't take any criticism whatsoever!!
Very unusual "crowd" with no trust whatsoever.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 04/03/2023 10:23:44    2461713

Replying To Trump2020:  "After two straight losses I'd like to see us beat this very good Clare team! Should be a good crowd in Ennis for it. Galway Abu!"
My favourite game always a great tussle with the Banner.....really looking forward to it!
Time for Championship heads onwards....Still expecting to win Leinster and straight through to All Ireland Semi Final.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 04/03/2023 10:28:45    2461715

Replying To Oldtourman:  "You just keep crying into your beer, while we just sit back and enjoy this glorious spell. As Liam Griffin said in '96 ' Winners are winners and losers make excuses'."
What about the winners who become abusers? There's a few of them coming onto the Galway thread here, yourself included!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 04/03/2023 11:01:48    2461724

Replying To baire:  "What about the winners who become abusers? There's a few of them coming onto the Galway thread here, yourself included!"
Since when was stating established facts abuse. Anyway you areb well able to give it yourself. Your should guard against becoming like Mulligan's dog

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 04/03/2023 12:29:02    2461743

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Since when was stating established facts abuse. Anyway you areb well able to give it yourself. Your should guard against becoming like Mulligan's dog"
You won't find me making disparaging comments about your team on your Limerick thread, that I guarantee you.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 04/03/2023 12:53:52    2461746

Replying To katser:  "It's very amusing reading the limrik posters getting so upset and defensive!! What started it off was a comment staying Hayes should have been sent off (now suspended)
Jez they can't take any criticism whatsoever!!
Very unusual "crowd" with no trust whatsoever."
It's very amusing reading your posts. Your bitterness towards Limerick is off the scale. It really must bug you that your Galway haven't beat us in Championship for a while now. Calling Limerick " that crowd" tells me what kind of a person you are. Have a lovely weekend kid

Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 75 - 04/03/2023 13:04:26    2461749

Replying To baire:  "You won't find me making disparaging comments about your team on your Limerick thread, that I guarantee you."
So is it OK to make disparaging comments about Limerick on the Galway page?

Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 75 - 04/03/2023 13:05:21    2461750

Replying To baire:  "You won't find me making disparaging comments about your team on your Limerick thread, that I guarantee you."
Well that's fair enough. Good bye for a while.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 04/03/2023 16:20:31    2461783

Replying To katser:  "My favourite game always a great tussle with the Banner.....really looking forward to it!
Time for Championship heads onwards....Still expecting to win Leinster and straight through to All Ireland Semi Final."
Yeah. It's my favorite too. Always a good lively match. Clare were rampant against Wexford so we better be wide awake or it could get very painful for us. I hope to see more new blood getting a chance to make the team. Galway Abu.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 04/03/2023 16:26:44    2461784

Replying To baire:  "Listen Limerick 2018 I was responding to another poster here who goes on ad nauseam about 'hurling population' and he's constantly mocking Galway for having so few All Irelands in spite of a large 'hurling population'. Having a large number of clubs playing hurling doesn't guarantee a county an All Ireland as proven by Offaly in their wins over Galway and Limerick.
I was at the 2018 All Ireland final, although Galway could have made it a drawn game, Limerick were the better team and deserved their win. I was beside Limerick supporters that day, congratulated them on their victory and was genuinely happy for their success. Most hurling supporters from both counties are fine people."
My remarks re population can be defended. Three of the four counties with the biggest hurling populations haven no less than 94 All Ireland Senior Titles between them. The first six have all of 116 between them. There will always be exceptional teams where as Mick Mackey once said 'a great crop comes of players come together: but overall the big boys hold all the aces.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 04/03/2023 17:58:32    2461793

Replying To Oldtourman:  "My remarks re population can be defended. Three of the four counties with the biggest hurling populations haven no less than 94 All Ireland Senior Titles between them. The first six have all of 116 between them. There will always be exceptional teams where as Mick Mackey once said 'a great crop comes of players come together: but overall the big boys hold all the aces."
The more hurlers you have the more likely you are to get a good crop in the same generation. It's common sense really.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 04/03/2023 18:40:51    2461798

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "The difference between Galway and the current Limerick and previous Kilkenny teams is that Galway developed players to hurl minor and the others developed players to senior. So I say fair play to the current Limerick team(they are damn good rugby players with sticks). All great teams play on the edge and Limerick are currently a great team. Only for that one off day in 19 against Kilkenny they should be going for 6 in a row. How many Tipp supporters would say they would of beaten Limerick in a All Ireland final that year. Not many I'd say. It might be boring to watch sometimes but give them the plaudits they deserve."
Don't get the boring comment. If not Limerick who are the entertainers. List the best games in the last few years. Barry Nash must be the most skilful and creative corner back I have ever seen, Declan Hannon can ping a 50 yard shoulder highpass with a flick of his wrists, Kyle Hayes bombs up and down the line and always takes on his man, Hegarty delivers one of the all time great all Ireland performances against Kilkenny, Cian Lynch has broken the mould and hurls with a freedom and creativity I've never seen before, diamruid byrnes scores more from play at half back that many other county's forwards.. I just don't get the boring tag. Hurling was fantastic in the mid 90s with big characters and big bellies but what is being played now is light years ahead. In all sports and in all areas you evolve or die. "Nostalgia is a seductive liar"

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 384 - 04/03/2023 19:09:15    2461811

Replying To Limerick2018:  "Another childish comment so im going to take the bait.. Jesus ye Galway lads are something else. Bitter doesn't do ye justice. Ye should have beaten us in 2018, 2020 and last year too. Only for the refs,wides,bad tactics. Maybe ye are just not good enough. If whinging was a sport I'd back ye to win it every year"
With derogatory comments like these are you surprised ye are so welcome on the Galway hurling thread!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 04/03/2023 19:27:52    2461818

I'll ask all limerick posters to leave Galway site and discuss all on limerick forum..I'm convinced from reading comments that a number of posters are the same person in Galway..I'm reading comments and laughing..back to our discussion page and not getting involved in arguments anymore in Galway page..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2208 - 04/03/2023 19:48:04    2461824

Replying To baire:  "With derogatory comments like these are you surprised ye are so welcome on the Galway hurling thread!"
Shur we love upsetting you, Katser and Tommy K. As another Limerick poster suggested they think all are the same person. That's why ye agree with each others comments. Have a lovely weekend kid as I said already. I'm having a super one. Going to the pub now. Want to join me for some lively debate?

Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 75 - 04/03/2023 20:04:21    2461826

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Same lesson that they dished out in '81 AND '85!"
Very different lessons for very different classes. Very different teacher too indeed. A bunch of mature students, and a bunch of rookies. Rumour had it that Offaly were quite disappointed in the aftermath of '85 actually, thought they'd win it handier and convincingly, when in actuality they wound up relying on a young Galway side shooting a plethora of wides, and a sleeping umpire who didn't see a ball cross the Offaly goal line and spin back out. Some attendees of Offaly's aftermatch celebrations in 1985 reported a peculiarly downbeat mood, that of an experienced team who's day hadn't quite met their own expectations, despite having the spoils of victory in a corner somewhere.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 04/03/2023 20:15:25    2461827

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Very different lessons for very different classes. Very different teacher too indeed. A bunch of mature students, and a bunch of rookies. Rumour had it that Offaly were quite disappointed in the aftermath of '85 actually, thought they'd win it handier and convincingly, when in actuality they wound up relying on a young Galway side shooting a plethora of wides, and a sleeping umpire who didn't see a ball cross the Offaly goal line and spin back out. Some attendees of Offaly's aftermatch celebrations in 1985 reported a peculiarly downbeat mood, that of an experienced team who's day hadn't quite met their own expectations, despite having the spoils of victory in a corner somewhere."
So, are you saying that it was some sort of a good loss for Galway? An AI final lost is one lost, irrespective of who the opposition is. I'd say after the hiding that Cork handed Offaly in '84 that they were damn glad to get back and win it in '85, no matter who their opponents were.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 04/03/2023 20:36:13    2461830