Should Unvaccinated Fans Be Allowed Into Croke Park?

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Well TheFlaker my gf's uncle died 2 weeks after getting it. Now I'm not saying the vaccination killed him. He was a man in bad health. But the after effects of the vaccine (in bed for a week before ambulance had to be called) certainly sped up the process. That i am 100% sure.

2 of the my mates ended up in bed for a week. One lad from work too.

2 girls i know stopped getting their period (prob TMI, sorry).

Now having said all that, as i have said before I have my concerns but have certainly not ruled out getting it.

Tbh I'm still leaning toward getting it, and probably will down the line. But this is more to do with a responsibility i feel i have towards my pregnant GF. She's also very hesitant about getting it by the way.

So ill say it again, I am completely within my rights to have concerns. And even though ill probably get it I fully support anyone's choice not to get it.

What was that saying... ''My Body My Choice'' ...well that doesnt seem to apply anymore aye"
Your girlfriend has every right to be tentative but it's actually bananas that you think not getting it is being responsible towards her. Sorry if that sounds harsh. And I am not dismissing all stories and it's terrible about the uncle but I would absolutely question the lads from work who were sick for a week. That's not me saying you are making it up by the way, but some people over dramatise illness and take a few days off.

I know elderly people who have died from Covid, I know people who had underlying symptoms who were very sick from it. I had it despite being vaccinated but just had a headache for 3 days otherwise it was mild. I don't know anyone from my family, any family, work, or anyone in my sporting circle who had anything other than the normal symptoms after getting the vaccine. I totally understand the hesitancy from pregnant women but I don't understand it from anyone else. Sorry if that sounds harsh.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 28/08/2021 13:20:26    2375405

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I don't get heated I do like to discuss things if people are reasonable but the explanation from most people who are concerned never stacks up. I had the AztraZeneca early because I travel a lot with work and was able to get it early. After the first jab I had a horrific headache all that night and was exhausted the next day all day. I had zero reaction after second dose. Can you tell me about the negative effects it has had on some people you know?"
I got the Pfizer vaccine. Fine after the 1st but floored for 24 hours after second. Small price to pay in my eyes than risk death or serious illness if I caught Covid. Nobody else in my family got any side affects.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 28/08/2021 13:21:03    2375406

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Your girlfriend has every right to be tentative but it's actually bananas that you think not getting it is being responsible towards her. Sorry if that sounds harsh. And I am not dismissing all stories and it's terrible about the uncle but I would absolutely question the lads from work who were sick for a week. That's not me saying you are making it up by the way, but some people over dramatise illness and take a few days off.

I know elderly people who have died from Covid, I know people who had underlying symptoms who were very sick from it. I had it despite being vaccinated but just had a headache for 3 days otherwise it was mild. I don't know anyone from my family, any family, work, or anyone in my sporting circle who had anything other than the normal symptoms after getting the vaccine. I totally understand the hesitancy from pregnant women but I don't understand it from anyone else. Sorry if that sounds harsh."
You must have picked me up wrong there pal.

I said the reason i will probably get it is a responsibility i feel towards her. Read again

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 28/08/2021 13:25:43    2375407

Replying To Galway9801:  "I know a few staunch "anti vaxxers", like literally they told me they'd quit our job if they were forced to take it (I'm a postman so it may become mandatory), but they've no problems with the mmr jabs, bcg etc, they just don't feel comfortable with what's happening here.

I think there's a fundamental breakdown of trust between ordinary people, particularly the working classes, and their leaders and the media,,these people, rightly, feel misrepresented and scorned by the above.
This could be contributing to the problem."
Well said.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 28/08/2021 13:50:17    2375412

Replying To Galway9801:  "I know a few staunch "anti vaxxers", like literally they told me they'd quit our job if they were forced to take it (I'm a postman so it may become mandatory), but they've no problems with the mmr jabs, bcg etc, they just don't feel comfortable with what's happening here.

I think there's a fundamental breakdown of trust between ordinary people, particularly the working classes, and their leaders and the media,,these people, rightly, feel misrepresented and scorned by the above.
This could be contributing to the problem."
No current postman is going to be forced to get vaccinated. HSE care home staff dont have to be vaccinated and wont have to be so no way it will be forced on postmen

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 28/08/2021 14:04:41    2375414

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "There has always been a section of society who have been ''anti vaxxers'' long before covid19 ever existed. I've always thought these people were mad tbh. Especially given the fact that vaccines are proven to have basically wiped out diseases, e.g. Polio, to name just one.

The problem is anyone like myself who has genuine concerns about these vaccines are lumped in with this group.

And as a young fit healthy man having first hand witnessed the negative effects its had on some people i know I am absolutely entitled to have concerns.

If that gets people worked up and outraged well then imo you are just as bad as the ''anti vax'' crowd you cant stand"
Good post. Exactly as I feel.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12053 - 28/08/2021 14:23:42    2375416

Well unvaccinated fans are being allowed into Croker for the SF so it's a moot point.
And at this late stage the same rules will obviously apply for the Final. Fans will have to take their chances, make up their own minds - they have a choice and the games can carry on without those who opt to stay away.

However this is not the case with the players, the GAA have a duty of care there. It might be worthwhile if they looked at not allowing players who are unvaxxed to play in the final. Indeed given that the vaccine doesn't provide complete protection lets err on the side of caution. Players who come into close contact with the unvaxxed should also be excluded.
Today's game goes ahead under the current 'anything goes' regime obviously. But for the Final any Tyrone lads who are in either segment are excluded. And we have 2 weeks to study the match video to see which Kerry players are a risk - should they win today.

It may seem harsh but to my mind it's the fairest solution. We have to take players health seriously.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 28/08/2021 14:34:12    2375420

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "You must have picked me up wrong there pal.

I said the reason i will probably get it is a responsibility i feel towards her. Read again"
I know what I meant is why would you be hesitant in that situation?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 28/08/2021 14:49:58    2375429

Replying To timmyhogan:  "Well unvaccinated fans are being allowed into Croker for the SF so it's a moot point.
And at this late stage the same rules will obviously apply for the Final. Fans will have to take their chances, make up their own minds - they have a choice and the games can carry on without those who opt to stay away.

However this is not the case with the players, the GAA have a duty of care there. It might be worthwhile if they looked at not allowing players who are unvaxxed to play in the final. Indeed given that the vaccine doesn't provide complete protection lets err on the side of caution. Players who come into close contact with the unvaxxed should also be excluded.
Today's game goes ahead under the current 'anything goes' regime obviously. But for the Final any Tyrone lads who are in either segment are excluded. And we have 2 weeks to study the match video to see which Kerry players are a risk - should they win today.

It may seem harsh but to my mind it's the fairest solution. We have to take players health seriously."
players who come into contact with the unvaxxed
are you having a laugh these are amatuer players what do you suggest have them vet everybody they encounter ..maybe stay out of the shops and everything and live on fresh air
im sorry but cop on

Peadarw (Donegal) - Posts: 37 - 28/08/2021 14:52:19    2375431

Replying To Breezy:  "No current postman is going to be forced to get vaccinated. HSE care home staff dont have to be vaccinated and wont have to be so no way it will be forced on postmen"
Ah I know in fairness its highly highly unlikely...

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1721 - 28/08/2021 16:22:20    2375463

Replying To timmyhogan:  "Well unvaccinated fans are being allowed into Croker for the SF so it's a moot point.

It may seem harsh but to my mind it's the fairest solution. We have to take players health seriously."
Christs sake.

"given that the vaccine doesn't provide complete protection lets err on the side of caution. Players who come into close contact with the unvaxxed should also be excluded."

Do you know how absolutely stone mad that sounds?

Maybe read the Spanish Supreme Court judgment on vaccine certs. Based on science and the fact that vaccine is not a protection, they ruled them not only as infringement on civil liberties, but as unscientific.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2584 - 28/08/2021 18:39:32    2375570

Replying To Peadarw:  "

are you having a laugh these are amatuer players what do you suggest have them vet everybody they encounter ..maybe stay out of the shops and everything and live on fresh air
im sorry but cop on"
No obviously not "have them vet everybody they encounter". That would be ridiculous.
This isn't a totalitarian state - despite what the numpties may claim. So obviously the GAA cant or have no right to even wonder players mix with outside the confines of a football match.

But under my proposal all the current Tyrone squad would be excluded assuming they all shared a pitch or dressing room. Lucky for Mayo you might think but thems the breaks!!
I'm all about player safety in these troubling times & who could be opposed to that ;-)

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 28/08/2021 19:41:55    2375635

Replying To Donegalman:  "Unvaccinated people should be allowed into Croke park. We can't go on as a country with a 2 tier system of privileges. There will be people unable to take the vaccine or afraid to take it due to their previous reaction to it. They should not be discriminated against."
if you have genuine reasons not to be vaccinated then show proof but if you are anti vax for non medical reasons then no you shouldnt be let in and it wouldnt be discrimination if you werent.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3512 - 29/08/2021 00:05:25    2375824

As others have said if you have a genuine medical reason then yes they should be allowed, if they are part of the far right, anti vaxx nuts no.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 29/08/2021 11:12:17    2375914

Replying To timmyhogan:  "
Replying To Peadarw:  "[quote=timmyhogan:  "Well unvaccinated fans are being allowed into Croker for the SF so it's a moot point.

im sorry but cop on"
No obviously not "have them vet everybody they encounter". That would be ridiculous.
This isn't a totalitarian state - despite what the numpties may claim. So obviously the GAA cant or have no right to even wonder players mix with outside the confines of a football match.

But under my proposal all the current Tyrone squad would be excluded assuming they all shared a pitch or dressing room. Lucky for Mayo you might think but thems the breaks!!
I'm all about player safety in these troubling times & who could be opposed to that ;-)"]the tyrone squad have just come through getting the virus ...hence built up the antibodies the natural way ...in fact new data suggests that having had covid before is proving more effective at preventing catching the delta variant than the pfizer vaccine is so tyrone are looking pretty safe at the moment (even though your suggestion wouldnt make any sense at this point considering they just played kerry yesterday )

Peadarw (Donegal) - Posts: 37 - 29/08/2021 12:48:23    2375978

Replying To sean og:  "As others have said if you have a genuine medical reason then yes they should be allowed, if they are part of the far right, anti vaxx nuts no."
You are defiantly a sean og an not a sean south

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 29/08/2021 13:05:46    2375983

Replying To brisbane:  "You are defiantly a sean og an not a sean south"
Le mot juste!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2584 - 29/08/2021 14:59:56    2376034

Replying To Peadarw:  "
Replying To timmyhogan:  "[quote=Peadarw:  "[quote=timmyhogan:  "Well unvaccinated fans are being allowed into Croker for the SF so it's a moot point.

im sorry but cop on"

I'm all about player safety in these troubling times & who could be opposed to that ;-)"]the tyrone squad have just come through getting the virus ...hence built up the antibodies the natural way ...in fact new data suggests that having had covid before is proving more effective at preventing catching the delta variant than the pfizer vaccine is so tyrone are looking pretty safe at the moment (even though your suggestion wouldnt make any sense at this point considering they just played kerry yesterday )"]OK obviously if you use science and rational arguments my proposal is ridiculous in the extreme.
But I don't come to HS for that kind of stuff. & That's not to say that my suggestion doesn't make sense from a certain perspective.

But you win - we can't exclude the current Tyrone panel from the AIF and make em' pick from the rest of the county.

How about this as a compromise. With my expertise in epidemiology I can tell from a visual inspection that certain Tyrone players have an indefinable patient Zero/Typhoid Mary look about them and should be barred from any contact with others. Shunned if you like , as was done in the good old days.
Can we agree to exclude Morgan, Hampsey, Mc Geary & McShane from the AIF.
Can't say fairer than that.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 29/08/2021 15:49:09    2376046

Replying To timmyhogan:  "
Replying To Peadarw:  "[quote=timmyhogan:  "[quote=Peadarw:  "[quote=timmyhogan:  "Well unvaccinated fans are being allowed into Croker for the SF so it's a moot point.

im sorry but cop on"

I'm all about player safety in these troubling times & who could be opposed to that ;-)"]the tyrone squad have just come through getting the virus ...hence built up the antibodies the natural way ...in fact new data suggests that having had covid before is proving more effective at preventing catching the delta variant than the pfizer vaccine is so tyrone are looking pretty safe at the moment (even though your suggestion wouldnt make any sense at this point considering they just played kerry yesterday )"]OK obviously if you use science and rational arguments my proposal is ridiculous in the extreme.
But I don't come to HS for that kind of stuff. & That's not to say that my suggestion doesn't make sense from a certain perspective.

But you win - we can't exclude the current Tyrone panel from the AIF and make em' pick from the rest of the county.

How about this as a compromise. With my expertise in epidemiology I can tell from a visual inspection that certain Tyrone players have an indefinable patient Zero/Typhoid Mary look about them and should be barred from any contact with others. Shunned if you like , as was done in the good old days.
Can we agree to exclude Morgan, Hampsey, Mc Geary & McShane from the AIF.
Can't say fairer than that."]You had us going for a whole timmy.

Olympic standard trolling :-)

(Any punitive measures ought to include a sound thrashing of course.)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2584 - 29/08/2021 16:08:14    2376053

My answer to the original question on this thread is yes unvaccinated should be allowed attend Croke Park and other events. It's someone personal choice if they take the covid vaccinations as these vaccines wether people want to admit it or not have being rushed through and haven't gone through the full process of trails and experimentation, I have talked to a medical profession and to a scientific researcher for advice who are not taking the vaccine either. When these vaccines are fully trailed and tested I'll get mine, until then call me what ye want I don't care. If these vaccines are the silver bullet for the virus, well then the vaccinated population have nothing to fear from the unvaccinated population.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 29/08/2021 17:16:57    2376075