But who won the games. The 70s and other eras had great rivalries with different winners not one sided Rivalries like you listed.
GreenAndGold74 (Kerry) - Posts: 194 - 02/08/2021 19:15:42 2366990 Link 2 |
Ah Mick, you're a genuine honest poster. The unfounded fear of Cork pre this years Munster final for example, absolutely ridiculous but still they get in your head. Kerry have had that with Cork down the years, also recently enough with Tyrone, and before that, Down. You could probably throw us into that bag now. It comes from a fear of losing to your arch enemies and we can all be guilty of it But then we look at both Dublin & Kerry, there is a big gap in standard as far as I can see. We are too static for that Kerry team. Plus we are down some serious players and management. McCaffrey cannot be replaced or can we replicate what he brought. And if you look at us playing you can see we are compensating for that. If I'm totally honest I'd rather lose to Mayo in the semi than lose to Kerry in the final. As for wrong thread? Clerical error hey ho! realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 02/08/2021 19:17:41 2366993 Link 4 |
The Donegal boy you quoted was responding to a Dub not a Mayo fan. Perhaps that was the problem yesterday & in recent years in Leinster. While you Kildare boys were obsessing about Mayo the lads in Blue were beating ye up a stick!
timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 291 - 02/08/2021 19:27:29 2367001 Link 4 |
2012, them and Donegal the only counties to stop us over the period in championship ball. We all know the games, massively, massively competitive. As a Dub they've been our biggest rivals. TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4541 - 02/08/2021 20:42:11 2367037 Link 6 |
Ah look I understand that Realdub but it's the human nature in us all that we worry about our own. Yes I was worried bout Cork which seems kinda silly now but I'll probably feel the same way again next year. Yes I'm worried about Tyrone too especially after the league fiasco and they have a game in croker under their belt now too . On Dublin yes of course there s change and Jack MC is irreplaceable but Mayo have big losses too. I still think Dubs so strong in pivotal areas and that's not yerra talk. I do expect them to beat Mayo but of course Mayo are so tough to beat who knows. Yes Kerry should beat Tyrone but not a shock if Tyrone win either. Do I fancy Kerry v Dublin. Maybe yes a little but that match might not happen. CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4243 - 02/08/2021 20:53:54 2367044 Link 1 |
Ah look I understand that Realdub but it's the human nature in us all that we worry about our own. Yes I was worried bout Cork which seems kinda silly now but I'll probably feel the same way again next year. Yes I'm worried about Tyrone too especially after the league fiasco and they have a game in croker under their belt now too . On Dublin yes of course there s change and Jack MC is irreplaceable but Mayo have big losses too. I still think Dubs so strong in pivotal areas and that's not yerra talk. I do expect them to beat Mayo but of course Mayo are so tough to beat who knows. Yes Kerry should beat Tyrone but not a shock if Tyrone win either. Do I fancy Kerry v Dublin. Maybe yes a little but that match might not happen. CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4243 - 02/08/2021 20:53:55 2367045 Link 0 |
I know what you ré saying but over the last decade Mayo have been Dublin's biggest rivals. Although probably not in hoganstand forum but most Dublin friends off mine would hate to lose to Mayo. There is alot of history since hill gate 2006 and 2012 before the titanic battles. In fairness they also have been the team consistently on Dublin's back. A Kerry Dúblin rivalry might start soon again but for now it's Dublin Mayo.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4243 - 02/08/2021 21:49:09 2367060 Link 2 |
To be fair now Dublin have beaten everybody up a stick the last few 6 years. I wouldn't think Kildare boys were obsessing about Mayo either, nobody looks up to teams that can't get over the line.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2688 - 02/08/2021 21:58:05 2367063 Link 1 |
I don't know. Some posters are saying Dublin have tough games v Mayo and Kerry but you reckon they ve beat everyone up a stick. Did you watch games at all? Did Dublin not draw 2 all Ireland finals?, Did Mayo not put them to the pin of their collar. Were Mayo not recognised as the better team on at at least one all ireland final? Very harsh on Mayo and you have an obvious problem with Mayo who have enthralled many of us gaa fans over the last few years.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4243 - 03/08/2021 00:14:41 2367097 Link 9 |
Don't agree at all. Over the last 6 years the Dubs were there to be caught. Mayo had them on the hook a couple of times but just failed to reel them in. As did Kerry in 2019. I know it's water under the bridge now, but Paudie Clifford was the best club player in Kerry in 2019 (and 2020 also). Yet he was left out of the county squad that year. Had he been involved, there may have been no 5-in-a-row. So tight were the margins in the 2019 drawn game, that one player, a man like Paudie Clifford could have swung it Kerry's way. He's playing now and getting the player of the game in every game. He was no less a player two years ago, and on fire in the club championship. But that's all speculation now. And posters like yourself and a few Kerry lads may I mention, are defeated ever before a ball is thrown in, becoz your team is playing against the big, bad, blue monster. Ye remind me of villagers in fairytales who were afraid that the big dragon would come down from the mountain and eat them up, except then the dragon was red. foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2635 - 03/08/2021 03:05:44 2367112 Link 3 |
Great Post, all true.
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/08/2021 08:27:08 2367122 Link 10 |
I think the loss of Cillian O'Connor is too big for Mayo to cope with. He score 0-9 in last years final which is just too big a gap to plug. He regularly chips in with big scores and I just don't think there is one real elite forward left in their front 6 or at least enough of a threat left to rack up a score needed to beat Dublin. Mayo will undoubtedly come at us full throttle but I predict if we keep things steady for the first half which may be relatively close then we should turn the screw when needed to ease away and easily cover the -3 handicap. TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 03/08/2021 09:40:46 2367141 Link 3 |
There's no prizes though for being recognised as the better team. Everybody knows that. Teams are remembered by winning All Ireland's. Mayo put the Dubs to the pin of the collar and had chances to beat Dublin absolutely but they didn't take them. Plain and simple. Yet so listen to all the hype about Mayo every year you'd think they've those games. That's the bit that gets to me Mick.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2688 - 03/08/2021 13:27:30 2367232 Link 4 |
Will Kevin Mc be back on subs bench? He is in Japan I believe. suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1820 - 03/08/2021 14:40:31 2367276 Link 0 |
Maybe if counties like Kildare who have a far bigger population than Mayo and was never ravaged by emigration upped their game you might not have to listen to all the hype about Mayo every year. Kildare cant even win a Provincial title never mind compete in the All-Ireland series but yet you feel it's ok to criticize a much smaller county for coming so close to beating "the greatest team ever". I think there is such a thing as being a very unlucky team and unfortunately Mayo fall into that category and that is a far more formidable foe to defeat and the more losses you have it's bound to add pressure, so it's a vicious circle. I wish every county in Ireland had a team like Mayo and had such a loyal mass support, then we would really have a Championship to be proud of, so maybe there's a bit of envy creeping in there and the easiest thing to do is take cheap shots while ignoring their own counties failures, as clearly displayed by yourself, on a regular basis. Real football people don't judge teams or players the way you do. AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 03/08/2021 14:50:23 2367285 Link 4 |
I take your point Bon but don't agree. You used the analogy that Dublin beat everyone up a stick the last 6 years but that's not the case. In Leinster yes but had a few tough games especially against Mayo.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4243 - 03/08/2021 15:31:33 2367303 Link 0 |
Well said AfricanGael
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4243 - 03/08/2021 15:33:25 2367306 Link 1 |
We can't close out an All Ireland Final, plain and simple. Regardless of the opposition, though Dubln are masters of closing out tight games. It's as if some sort if anxiety descends on some of our players in the last 10 minutes on the big day. If we do win one we'll look back on previous losing finalists and say that those teams had better footballers but the winners were, collectively, mentally stronger and could do what it takes to get over the line.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8764 - 03/08/2021 15:41:26 2367311 Link 8 |
Is there a psychologist in with Mayo background team? That's a genuine question nothing disrespectful. Maybe that is what is needed to get Mayo to the next level. I see Ciaran McDonald seems to have become more outspoken on the sideline, I'm sure he has some football brain
97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 456 - 03/08/2021 15:52:14 2367317 Link 0 |
I don't actually think the Kildare team were obsessing about Mayo [nobody sane does] - that was a joke hence I started with Perhaps. You however were so keen to join in the braying from the usual suspects that the term obsessing seems to fit. And your further posts confirm it. Carry on ;-} timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 291 - 03/08/2021 16:50:46 2367338 Link 0 |