2021 Hurling Championship

Replying To katser:  "I agree with you 100% but that limerick lad we had as manager turned out to be a utter disaster. Hasn't a clue god bless him!!"
At least that limerick lad took the job on when galway men were asked and refused. Good luck in your search. That same limerick lad has coached an AI winning team and will train another one if I know him.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1126 - 24/07/2021 18:28:44    2363539

Yellow, black, yellow and red. They need another few cards. Give them a green for a score and a purple for a wide.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 24/07/2021 18:29:14    2363540

Replying To updwell:  "Come home agent O'Neill, your mission is complete"
Brilliant lol but painfully true also

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 24/07/2021 18:45:12    2363543

Replying To Viking66:  "One of hurlings all time greats. It's been a privilege to watch him what a player."
What you mean "it's been a privilege" the word "been" meaning he's retired, strange thing to say!!! Why should he retire? Keep in decent shape and another 2 or 3 years in him with his skill.

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 735 - 24/07/2021 19:05:06    2363552

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "Cork just got over the line,not very impressive.Tony Kelly almost won it for Clare at the death.I thought there should have been another play in it as there was a stoppage before the added time commenced and the subs and stoppages in the added time.
Interesting Harnedy got man of the match,got a lot of possession but not a great exposition of the skills of the game which is a feature of this Cork team,great speed and athleticism though."
Tony Kelly was man of the match despite Clare losing.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 24/07/2021 19:08:44    2363553

Laois would have beaten Galway today.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 24/07/2021 19:10:20    2363556

Replying To rhudson:  "Brilliant lol but painfully true also"
Galway have certainly gone back on his watch but surely the Galway County Board must take responsibility for having appointed him. Was this Shane O'Neill's first inter county management job.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 24/07/2021 19:11:09    2363557

That's exactly the results I predicted from the qualifiers today. I thought Waterford and Cork would prevail. Clare came very close in fairness whereas Waterford were a lot better than the 4 points win over Galway in all honesty. They were down to 14 and still were a fair bit the better team. It puts Laois display against Waterford in a far better light. It's onto the quater finals now and whoever gets Dublin is a shoe in for the semis.

Richardkimble (Laois) - Posts: 39 - 24/07/2021 19:13:13    2363561

davy fitz on his way to galway now, put money on it

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2841 - 24/07/2021 19:13:40    2363562

Replying To daveboy:  "At least that limerick lad took the job on when galway men were asked and refused. Good luck in your search. That same limerick lad has coached an AI winning team and will train another one if I know him."
Is that Katzzzer lad/it gone into hibernation yet??!!!

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 24/07/2021 19:22:54    2363566

Congrats Waterford, hope ye go all the way

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 24/07/2021 19:32:13    2363573

Well done Waterford, far superior today. Back to the drawing board for our lads, I'd imagine a few will depart after today.

Can't help but feel as group there was another All Ireland in them, but no complaints. Not been good enough since 2018.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1571 - 24/07/2021 19:35:04    2363574

Replying To Richardkimble:  "That's exactly the results I predicted from the qualifiers today. I thought Waterford and Cork would prevail. Clare came very close in fairness whereas Waterford were a lot better than the 4 points win over Galway in all honesty. They were down to 14 and still were a fair bit the better team. It puts Laois display against Waterford in a far better light. It's onto the quater finals now and whoever gets Dublin is a shoe in for the semis."
This is how Laois and other teams can climb the ladder. I don't believe in this "there is no moral victories " Laois should take confidence from their display against Waterford. You have to creep before you walk.They posed a much bigger challenge than Galway and had better players in many areas. Waterford are not 18 points better than Galway but are more than 5 points. We were lucky again Laois and if Laois were in the same place again would probable get over the line after this experience.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 24/07/2021 19:37:23    2363577

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "davy fitz on his way to galway now, put money on it"
He would do a good job but too much baggage for most counties to touch with a 40ft. pole.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 24/07/2021 19:45:49    2363582

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "davy fitz on his way to galway now, put money on it"
There's too much tension and trouble surrounding him at moment and he keeps bringing it up and dwelling on it. I think he needs to take a break until everything is sorted before going back to management because it did effect wexford in the end

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 735 - 24/07/2021 19:46:08    2363583

There's too much tension and trouble surrounding him at moment and he keeps bringing it up and dwelling on it. I think he needs to take a break until everything is sorted before going back to management because it did effect wexford in the end

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 735 - 24/07/2021 19:46:14    2363584

Replying To rhudson:  "Brilliant lol but painfully true also"
All part of GAA banter rhudson- I'm sure we will have similar tough days in the future.
In all seriousness Galway probably need to move a few lads on and freshen up the panel. I don't think O'Neill will be given another 3 years to get a new team competitive for AI. If Canning decides to hang up his hurl then what a career he has had-when himself and Shefflin were at their best I always rated Canning more as he could so more off the cuff stuff, I would often go just to watch him and he usually made it worth the trip.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 24/07/2021 19:54:55    2363589

Replying To endgame:  "Galway have certainly gone back on his watch but surely the Galway County Board must take responsibility for having appointed him. Was this Shane O'Neill's first inter county management job."
Very few managers have previous inter county experience and there are only a few Davy Fitz type career managers who move around.

Shane done a great job with one of the top clubs in Ireland right now and it's either that or an underage job that gets you senior IC with most managers

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 24/07/2021 20:01:38    2363591

2 very enjoyable games. Referees let them play. On the whole looks like they both did good jobs. Tony Kelly should get an All Star despite Clare going out at this stage. He will probably wind up playing more games then who ever wins HOTY. A truly special player. We all like to do our bit of complaining about this and that but I would like to give credit to the Players. They are in essence amatuers. No player can live off whatever if anything they get for playing county hurling yet, the entertainment they give is unbelievable. All the players today and tomorrow will leave everything they have on the fields of play and hed off to work next week. I will complain along with the rest about things but we are lucky to be following GAA sports.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 24/07/2021 20:21:04    2363601

How many managers have Galway in the last 20-25 years. They all couldn't be bad. A county with the underage record of Galway should do a lot better. They had an ALL-Ireland winning manager from Galway and he left with that team in it's prime. Explain that.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 24/07/2021 20:23:58    2363603