2021 Hurling Championship

Replying To tiobraid:  "Why is everyone still talking about the "antics"? Antics or no antics those incidents would hurt any man. I havent heard one Tipp man say the incidencts cost us the game but also I havent heard one Limerick man say Gillane and Flanagans antics are getting worrying. They both have been involved in multiple sending off incidents over the last couple of years. Is that not a worry? If you're going to keep dragging up these incidents then discuss them as a whole and not concentrate on the opposition."
Barrett's antics are the source of the annoyance. It has also been noted that he almost "needed a saddle to get up on Gillane's back from the time he came on. "sauce for the goose" and all that, my friend, but thanks for showing up on the Limerick thread, try backing off on your customary negativity. Cheer up...NEXT YEAR!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1358 - 22/07/2021 18:45:34    2362946

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Barrett's antics are the source of the annoyance. It has also been noted that he almost "needed a saddle to get up on Gillane's back from the time he came on. "sauce for the goose" and all that, my friend, but thanks for showing up on the Limerick thread, try backing off on your customary negativity. Cheer up...NEXT YEAR!"
Gilllane came on after about 30 minutes, at the same time that Richie English was down injured. He was picked up by Barry Heffernan, who was marking him until half time. So Barrett wasn't "on Gillane's back from the time he came on" but why let the truth get in the way of a good story? Someone else was on here claiming that Barrett actually competed for the throw in after Gillane's yellow card, even though he was several yards away from the action at that time. This obsession with Barrett doesn't hide the fact that Gillane should have been sent off, and I'm sure John Kiely, good manager that he is, is far more concerned with Gillane's indiscipline than with anything Cathal Barrett might have done.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 22/07/2021 19:21:12    2362956

Maybe Im only imagining this but did they not make it an offence to "say hello" to a player coming on the way Gillane got hit entering the pitch

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 22/07/2021 19:22:26    2362958

Replying To gatha:  "I am talking about a player rolling around trying to get a player carded or put off. Kilkenny do not try to get players put off. Tommy Walsh hit across the face in '09 right back up, JJ Delaney hit across the face in '12 right back up both offending players put off. Michael Rice hand destroyed by a wild pull in '12 was never the same player after walked straight off the field no theatrics. TJ Reid knee cap broken on a wild pull '12 no theaterics, Richie Hogan pile drived in '19 against Cork right back up. None of these offending players were put off. Big difference between trying to draw a foul and having someone put off. Cody has been on record saying as long as he is in charge Kilkenny will never play into that nonsense."
I agree with you ln fairness that Kilkenny don't do theatrics in general and that it would'nt be Codys style either as a player or a manager. They are however masters at taking the ball into a tackle and manafacturing a free. And you did say that Tipperary are the worst offenders for playing for the foul. I was merely pointing out that all teams are at it and Kilkenny over the last 20 years are among the worst

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 22/07/2021 19:35:59    2362964

Replying To gatha:  "I am talking about a player rolling around trying to get a player carded or put off. Kilkenny do not try to get players put off. Tommy Walsh hit across the face in '09 right back up, JJ Delaney hit across the face in '12 right back up both offending players put off. Michael Rice hand destroyed by a wild pull in '12 was never the same player after walked straight off the field no theatrics. TJ Reid knee cap broken on a wild pull '12 no theaterics, Richie Hogan pile drived in '19 against Cork right back up. None of these offending players were put off. Big difference between trying to draw a foul and having someone put off. Cody has been on record saying as long as he is in charge Kilkenny will never play into that nonsense."
I agree with you ln fairness that Kilkenny don't do theatrics in general and that it would'nt be Codys style either as a player or a manager. They are however masters at taking the ball into a tackle and manafacturing a free. And you did say that Tipperary are the worst offenders for playing for the foul. I was merely pointing out that all teams are at it and Kilkenny over the last 20 years are among the worst

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 22/07/2021 19:36:32    2362965

Replying To Breezy:  "Maybe Im only imagining this but did they not make it an offence to "say hello" to a player coming on the way Gillane got hit entering the pitch"
I don't know if it's a booking offence, Breezy, but if not it should be, even if it's usually just a dunt with the shoulder. I do recall a Tipperary sub (David Young, I think) getting booked by Michael Wadding for charging into a Kilkenny player as he replaced Declan Fanning in the 2010 final, but I can't remember anyone being yellow-carded since then. It's euphemistically referred to by commentators as "putting down a marker" but it's silly stuff that has been going on for years and it should be stamped out.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 22/07/2021 20:16:44    2362976

Replying To tiobraid: "Why is everyone still talking about the "antics"? Antics or no antics those incidents would hurt any man. I havent heard one Tipp man say the incidencts cost us the game but also I havent heard one Limerick man say Gillane and Flanagans antics are getting worrying. They both have been involved in multiple sending off incidents over the last couple of years. Is that not a worry? If you're going to keep dragging up these incidents then discuss them as a whole and not concentrate on the opposition."

I just watched the game again.I can see how Tipp supporters would not be claiming that the "incidents" cost them the game.Any right thinking supporter would not claim that after seeing their team score just two points in the 30 mins after half time.
I have been watching Tipp teams a long time including the late 50s and 60s teams with my father who was a Tipp man.It must be the worst 30 mins hurling ever by a Tipp team and this is a fantastically skilful Tipp team but they were totally outclassed.It shows how far Limerick hurling has come and evolved and how they have been able to consistently beat this Tipp team.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 22/07/2021 20:53:28    2362986

Replying To midlands:  "Gilllane came on after about 30 minutes, at the same time that Richie English was down injured. He was picked up by Barry Heffernan, who was marking him until half time. So Barrett wasn't "on Gillane's back from the time he came on" but why let the truth get in the way of a good story? Someone else was on here claiming that Barrett actually competed for the throw in after Gillane's yellow card, even though he was several yards away from the action at that time. This obsession with Barrett doesn't hide the fact that Gillane should have been sent off, and I'm sure John Kiely, good manager that he is, is far more concerned with Gillane's indiscipline than with anything Cathal Barrett might have done."
Fair play midlands. A lot of nonsense on here on both sides of the argument. No harm to call it out.
Any of us lucky enough to have been at this game or even watching on TV should be delighted to have seen such a spectacle of hurling
Tipp's 1st half was their best hurling since at least 2016. I thought they were awesome.
And then to see Limerick then just go to a level for 20 minutes rarely seen in my time watching hurling.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 22/07/2021 21:35:25    2363003

Replying To Westfester:  "Fair play midlands. A lot of nonsense on here on both sides of the argument. No harm to call it out.
Any of us lucky enough to have been at this game or even watching on TV should be delighted to have seen such a spectacle of hurling
Tipp's 1st half was their best hurling since at least 2016. I thought they were awesome.
And then to see Limerick then just go to a level for 20 minutes rarely seen in my time watching hurling."
Agreed Westfester, it was an amazing game. I've been watching hurling in Munster and Leinster for 50 years and I can't recall anything like last Sunday. Both teams went from one extreme to the other, with loads of skill in evidence all over the field. Limerick's third quarter was just awesome, and personally I could stay watching Cian Lynch all day. He's a super hurler. Let's enjoy all the positives rather than getting into silly arguments over the negative stuff.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 22/07/2021 22:55:58    2363029

Replying To ecad123:  "Maybe we will thanks for the invite. Limerick tipp and Clare are all closer to us but would not fancy the trip to cork or waterford. I think it's still a joke that the lenister championship is not renamed to something different but sure maybe in 100 years."
Well ecad what ever province Galway are in, I just think with the massive U 21 and Minor teams ye have had in the last four or five years ye must blow yere cone over the next few years. I have a number of Galway friends who have congratulated me on Limericks success in recent years and say if Galway are not winning they are happy that a team outside the big three is getting some success. When our boys will not be winning, I am always happy enough to see a county like Galway, Clare, Wexford or Waterford, a favorite from long ago, win out, so I will be the first to congratulate ye if ye win Liam in the next few years, which I am sure Galway will.
You mention the Waterford and Cork distance from Galway, but it would work both ways and all three counties were in the same League group this year. Overall I feel the Galway County Board should never have agreed to go into Leinster, without being allowed to participate at all levels within the Province.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 22/07/2021 23:03:12    2363030

Replying To Westfester:  "Fair play midlands. A lot of nonsense on here on both sides of the argument. No harm to call it out.
And then to see Limerick then just go to a level for 20 minutes rarely seen in my time watching hurling."
As always Westfester, you bring much needed prospective to the table. The fact sis that on the day, Limerick were the one hand absolutely brilliant, but I have no doubt Kiely will be stressing to his charges the point that conceding 3.21 is not good enough. We should not overlook the face that that good and all as the display was, we still only won by five points and there is work to be done for the next day.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 23/07/2021 09:56:36    2363081

It wouldn't be like Limerick to moan about 1 incident costing them a big game, would it..... ;)

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 23/07/2021 11:37:27    2363121

Replying To StoreysTash:  "It wouldn't be like Limerick to moan about 1 incident costing them a big game, would it..... ;)"
Its wrong when anyone does it

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 23/07/2021 11:47:48    2363126

Really looking forward to two great games tomorrow Galway v Waterford and Clare v Cork.
4 excellent hurling teams where the hurling will be good, honest, hard but FAIR with no man trying to hit anyone in the throat, Groin, kidneys, elbow or ribs unlike a "Certain team" who have had 4 lads sent off this year and atleast 3 more who should have been suspended!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2194 - 23/07/2021 12:14:00    2363138

Replying To midlands:  "Gilllane came on after about 30 minutes, at the same time that Richie English was down injured. He was picked up by Barry Heffernan, who was marking him until half time. So Barrett wasn't "on Gillane's back from the time he came on" but why let the truth get in the way of a good story? Someone else was on here claiming that Barrett actually competed for the throw in after Gillane's yellow card, even though he was several yards away from the action at that time. This obsession with Barrett doesn't hide the fact that Gillane should have been sent off, and I'm sure John Kiely, good manager that he is, is far more concerned with Gillane's indiscipline than with anything Cathal Barrett might have done."
Thanks for the correction. You are right, on re-watching, Gillane came on at 29 minutes and Barrett did not switch on to him until several minutes later or maybe after 1/2 time. Good eye. Did your keen eye also happen to notice that Barrett could have/should have been issued a red card a few seconds earlier for a blatant pull across Gillan's body with his hurley. Gillane could well have gone down and rolled around with the same attention-getting high drama, not to mention Barret's "saddle-the-pony" theatrics that preceded. Don't take my word for it ...go back and re-watch and while you're at it, invite Michael Duignan to join you. You and he should look at the entire picture, before passing judgment. Gillane was guilty of getting caught while Barrett was not. That is to say, both could have gotten a red card but if Barrett's 1st offense was caught and he was sent packing the Gillane transgression would have been avoided. The ref did consult with the linesmen and his decision to issue a yellow card may have come from the linesman's account of the full story. Stay tuned... more at 11...

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1358 - 23/07/2021 12:47:30    2363146

Predictions for today, being present at Dublin Galway I couldn't get over how poor Galway were, aside from the corner backs Shane Cooney and Darren Morrissey and Conor Whelan upfront they were awful, bizarre Evan Niland is only a sub again but despite that I expect them to win on the bases that I can't see the 2 Mannion's, Daithi Burke, Canning and Concannon all being that quiet again and Waterford patchy form, in fairness to them injuries are playing a part with De Burca a monumental loss.

Clare Cork harder to call, both defences look vulnerable not convinced about Conlan at 6, I think Cork are capable of getting 3 or more goals today and if they do I expect them to get over the line, wouldn't take much for both predictions to be wrong, 3.5 k in this game and 4.4 in Thurles, so 7.9 in total, I know more travel would be involved for everyone but surprised these aren't a double header in what I think is a vacant Croke Park where 18k could attend.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 24/07/2021 07:37:22    2363338

Both matches today should be close but I think Galway and Cork will come through by 2 or 3 points.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 24/07/2021 09:38:46    2363354

Replying To katser:  "Absolutely delighted now with them results!
Great Round 2 draw for us...Galway v Waterford and Clare v Cork
Straight away my predictions...Galway and Clare to win."
It was a great Round 2 draw for us until I seen the way SON has the team lining up!!
But I sticking with Galway and Clare out of pure pride...but the nerves will definitely be at me because of the unknown unpredictable which Galway will turn up? The Good, The Bad or The Ugly!!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2194 - 24/07/2021 10:28:18    2363367

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Both matches today should be close but I think Galway and Cork will come through by 2 or 3 points."
Fascinating match ups for me. Galway have a serious panel. When they are switched on they can trouble anyone left in this years championship. I've huge respect for Galway hurling and the talent they seem to constantly produce. The underage structures in Galway must be incredible. The Dublin performance was baffling esp knowing the coach ye have now. I think Galway will bring it today but I also think Waterford will bring huge intensity to the match also. Waterford with Barron back and the 3 Bennetts starting will be stronger. Cahill is a serious coach also and I feel this will be tight. I'm expecting huge physicality here.

Clare to me seem like a team that have huddled around the group and have a bit of a siege mentality going on. Cork have an abundance of talent but look a little fragile. This could be a high scoring free flowing game as both sides lack the physicality of limerick kk or Galway. They will both like the match up. This will be more of a spectacle than Galway v Waterford.

Really looking forward to this weekend as it really is all on the line. Best of luck to the 4 teams.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1127 - 24/07/2021 10:36:44    2363368

Looking fwd to two great games of hurling today,expecting both to be very tight.

PS. Who's that poster from Galway with the persecution complex?...a shrink needed there badly!

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 24/07/2021 11:18:36    2363376