Football Championship 2021

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Where on earth are you getting 6 teams from…? Everyone knows only 2 teams ( Dublin/Kerry ) have any chance and of those 2 most money will be on one team…… The All Ireland football championship is now a non event"
It is a non event for Cavan, that is true. What is Cavan GAA doing to take on the Dubs and Kerry?

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 28/06/2021 10:38:34    2354055

I do believe that the GAA needs to put more emphasis on the Allianz leagues. And change the format of the All Ireland championships. For example serious consideration should be given to proposals like so:
1. All counties can bring in two players from outside, eg Galway might take 2 Mayo players and so on.
2. Start looking at amalgamating counties, eg Meath and Westmeath for the Championships.
3. Get the govt to allow back the crowds to the matches.
4. Stop giving strong counties like Kerry and Dublin so many home matches. Kerry playing again in Killarney yesterday for example.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 28/06/2021 10:43:17    2354057

Did Michael Duignan play Senior football for Offaly? He was a dual star in Waterford RTC in the late 80s. A good handballer apparently, in school in Ballinasloe, played rugby for Buccaneers in the AIL.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 28/06/2021 11:39:58    2354075

Replying To superbluedub:  "Agree with most of what you say , except the last bit , Kerry will see off Dublin this year to make it 38 All Ireland titles
The game is truly dead -:)"
I was watching the Euros last night, a one nil win for World number 1 team Belgium. Very few chances. Boring enough stuff. The 6 nations rugby is always the same 6 teams. No one gets promoted or relegated. Is that good entertainment too?

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 28/06/2021 11:44:53    2354078

The lack of crowds at the matches is not good for the atmosphere. Surely the govt and nphet should allow more fans back into the matches. The "outdoor summer".

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 28/06/2021 11:47:08    2354080

Replying To galwayford:  "The lack of crowds at the matches is not good for the atmosphere. Surely the govt and nphet should allow more fans back into the matches. The "outdoor summer"."
If you want to see more fans at the games:
email [email protected]
Dept of Sport : 01 6933393

Please be polite though.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 28/06/2021 12:16:36    2354098

Replying To galwayford:  "If you want to see more fans at the games:
email [email protected]

Please be polite though."
Wasting your time emailing Chambers (of horrors) as I doubt he even knows the Championship is on…!!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1891 - 28/06/2021 12:44:41    2354119

Replying To galwayford:  "It is a non event for Cavan, that is true. What is Cavan GAA doing to take on the Dubs and Kerry?"
And certainly a non event for Galway

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1891 - 28/06/2021 12:47:12    2354122

Replying To galwayford:  "The lack of crowds at the matches is not good for the atmosphere. Surely the govt and nphet should allow more fans back into the matches. The "outdoor summer"."
Couldn't agree more..must have an impact on players playing in a very sterile cold non atmospheric setting ..it's about time a lot more fans were let into pitches .

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1076 - 28/06/2021 12:59:19    2354129

Replying To galwayford:  "If you want to see more fans at the games:
email [email protected]

Please be polite though."
Chocolate teapot comes to mind with that lad, but i'll give it a try just for the craic.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 28/06/2021 13:31:12    2354150

Same old posters moaning about the game and how it's dead and boring and ye are never watching again.........some of you spout the same old claptrap every season and yet are still here the following season just like groundhog day.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 647 - 28/06/2021 13:45:31    2354156

A man full of diesel in a saloon could come up with the solutions on a beer mat to the clearly farcical format of the Senior All-Ireland Championship.

Yet the hierarchy of the GAA who are pocketing millions cant.

We have a joke of an organization running the games, perhaps it's time to form a rival to the GAA, after all they don't own the games.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 28/06/2021 13:46:15    2354158

Scratching my head as to how some posters are bigging up Kerry for Sam: they still can't defend. The Dubs rattled four into their net only a few weeks back and I wouldn't be surprised if they repeat the trick in the latter stages of the championship.

There's only one horse in this race, folks.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/06/2021 14:26:14    2354176

Replying To ponga:  "Same old posters moaning about the game and how it's dead and boring and ye are never watching again.........some of you spout the same old claptrap every season and yet are still here the following season just like groundhog day."
In fairness Ponga the claptrap posters don't change but they add in some AKA usernames to agree with them.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 28/06/2021 14:45:56    2354187

Replying To Gleebo:  "Scratching my head as to how some posters are bigging up Kerry for Sam: they still can't defend. The Dubs rattled four into their net only a few weeks back and I wouldn't be surprised if they repeat the trick in the latter stages of the championship.

There's only one horse in this race, folks."
I agree 100% gleebo, I'm glad I'm not the only 1 who can see this.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/06/2021 14:54:16    2354195

Replying To galwayford:  "I was watching the Euros last night, a one nil win for World number 1 team Belgium. Very few chances. Boring enough stuff. The 6 nations rugby is always the same 6 teams. No one gets promoted or relegated. Is that good entertainment too?"
so i suppose Basket and cricket get you excited if it's high scores you are looking for. you clearly dont understand or appreciate sport.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 28/06/2021 14:56:17    2354197

Replying To galwayford:  "It is a non event for Cavan, that is true. What is Cavan GAA doing to take on the Dubs and Kerry?"
Yup, since the 1950's. Cavan is almost as bad as Mayo.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 28/06/2021 15:22:03    2354213

Replying To AfricanGael:  "A man full of diesel in a saloon could come up with the solutions on a beer mat to the clearly farcical format of the Senior All-Ireland Championship.

Yet the hierarchy of the GAA who are pocketing millions cant.

We have a joke of an organization running the games, perhaps it's time to form a rival to the GAA, after all they don't own the games."
Well,how are tricks over in Kerry boy ?
Jaysus , how many names are you operating under at all I wonder.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 28/06/2021 15:27:15    2354214

It baffles me how every county in the country can run their competitions based on a graded system but when it comes to inter county, a graded system is anathema to a lot of Gaels. I get the fact that we have the NFL as our graded competition and we've all seen how competitive that is. I think what they're trying: that the link between league success/failure and championship participation is the way to go, and forget the provincials for a few years to see how it would work.

That way you'd continue to have a competitive league because teams will want to operate at as high a level as they can and ensure Sam Maguire participation. Teams who end up in Divisions 3 & 4 play the Tailteann Cup. It's vital that the secondary competition gets the same coverage, same amount of live games and a proper final with all the same trimmings as the Sam Maguire. I'm thinking the Saturday evening before the All Ireland final if logistics permitted. Let there be a Tailteann Cup All Star selection and tour as well, with YPOTY & POTY.

Calendar something along the lines of the below:

Jan-Feb: Provincial competition (if there is appetite for it)

March-April: League - 4 groups of 8, 7 games each to achieve promotion/avoid relegation, no league finals. League winner is whoever tops the table and is guaranteed 2 home games in Sam Maguire/Tailteann Cup group.

May - No games = championship training and preparation.

June-July-August = Championship

Sam Maguire - 4 groups of 4. (8 Div 1 teams & 8 Div 2 teams * relegated Div 2 teams that year play in TC, 2 promoted Div 3 teams plan in SM)
Div 1 and Div 2 League winners get 2 home games.

3 Championship games for each team in June.
Quarter Finals and Semi Finals in July
Final August Bank Holiday Weekend.

Tailteann Cup - as above

* Wildcard match to precede Championship - a random draw to determine which county visits New York to play them.
** Maybe a need to reward TC winners with automatic Sam Maguire participation the following year irrespective of their league position.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 28/06/2021 16:09:21    2354233

Replying To Lockjaw:  "It baffles me how every county in the country can run their competitions based on a graded system but when it comes to inter county, a graded system is anathema to a lot of Gaels. I get the fact that we have the NFL as our graded competition and we've all seen how competitive that is. I think what they're trying: that the link between league success/failure and championship participation is the way to go, and forget the provincials for a few years to see how it would work.

That way you'd continue to have a competitive league because teams will want to operate at as high a level as they can and ensure Sam Maguire participation. Teams who end up in Divisions 3 & 4 play the Tailteann Cup. It's vital that the secondary competition gets the same coverage, same amount of live games and a proper final with all the same trimmings as the Sam Maguire. I'm thinking the Saturday evening before the All Ireland final if logistics permitted. Let there be a Tailteann Cup All Star selection and tour as well, with YPOTY & POTY.

Calendar something along the lines of the below:

Jan-Feb: Provincial competition (if there is appetite for it)

March-April: League - 4 groups of 8, 7 games each to achieve promotion/avoid relegation, no league finals. League winner is whoever tops the table and is guaranteed 2 home games in Sam Maguire/Tailteann Cup group.

May - No games = championship training and preparation.

June-July-August = Championship

Sam Maguire - 4 groups of 4. (8 Div 1 teams & 8 Div 2 teams * relegated Div 2 teams that year play in TC, 2 promoted Div 3 teams plan in SM)
Div 1 and Div 2 League winners get 2 home games.

3 Championship games for each team in June.
Quarter Finals and Semi Finals in July
Final August Bank Holiday Weekend.

Tailteann Cup - as above

* Wildcard match to precede Championship - a random draw to determine which county visits New York to play them.
** Maybe a need to reward TC winners with automatic Sam Maguire participation the following year irrespective of their league position."
You could put New York into the Tailteann. It would require 1 group of 5 but gives more counties a chance to head over.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 28/06/2021 19:42:00    2354331