Dublin Vs Kerry

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Had to laugh at Eamon Fitzmaurice on the SG last night trying to show that Donegal still had a blanket defence at times,
Kerry were pulling every man back they could all day against Dublin but he wouldn't highlight that, oh sure Kerry are the purists after all, shows you too how lame the RTE pundits are he thinks it's Ulster v Leinster in the semi finals this year."
La Rochelle would have been proud of some of those Kerry tackles alright. It was a clear tactic in the second half to stop the Dublin runners who had cut them open so easily in the first. Rugby tackle them down to give the backs time to retreat and get the duvet in place. You have to hand it to them, it worked.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/05/2021 16:22:00    2345051

Replying To Joxer:  "That was a legendary full forward called Mick Galvin. Way before your time sonny."
So TheUsername is just making things up is it? As he said Dublin had no manager yesterday.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 24/05/2021 16:23:32    2345053

Replying To Joxer:  "La Rochelle would have been proud of some of those Kerry tackles alright. It was a clear tactic in the second half to stop the Dublin runners who had cut them open so easily in the first. Rugby tackle them down to give the backs time to retreat and get the duvet in place. You have to hand it to them, it worked."
Not too dissimilar to Dublin in All Ireland finals so? Or do you pretend that never happened?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 24/05/2021 16:25:05    2345055

Replying To TheUsername:  "Haven't heard anyone mention that we didn't have a manager yesterday, it's quite incredible to get a result of any kind when you think about it, I wonder could any other county do it.

I think we really missed Dessie yesterday, we made some very unDublin like decisions through the game and preservered when some things weren't working when we should have twisted to a different phase and tactic and managed Kerry better.

In essence it was Peter Keane against himself yesterday and he got a draw and looked to be very happy about it."
It was nt mentioned User because Dublin did have a manager called Mick Galvin. Monaghan had a result v Donegal (and they in same position with the manager issue) . Another thing that was nt mentioned was why was the game in Thurles? It was Kerry that were supposed to have home venue this year but the gaa tell us they taking home venue off Dublin and moving game to Thurles. Last year Dublin had home venue v Kerry and its supposed to be every 2nd turn.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 24/05/2021 16:40:12    2345062

Replying To Joxer:  "I'm sure he laughs when looking at the trophy cabinet in his sitting room and listening to a Cavan man talking about football."
You think hes from Cavan!!

Bless.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/05/2021 16:52:48    2345069

Replying To tonguey:  "Funny and Jim Gavin don't really belong together"
I agree! Try hugely successful and Jim Gavin, thats a much better match !

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 24/05/2021 17:18:19    2345077

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "It was nt mentioned User because Dublin did have a manager called Mick Galvin. Monaghan had a result v Donegal (and they in same position with the manager issue) . Another thing that was nt mentioned was why was the game in Thurles? It was Kerry that were supposed to have home venue this year but the gaa tell us they taking home venue off Dublin and moving game to Thurles. Last year Dublin had home venue v Kerry and its supposed to be every 2nd turn."
This is from the Examiner. Not sure what Division 1 South means though.

"Dublin's only home Division 1 South game was to be against Kerry but as was reported last week that is likely to be played in MW Hire O'Moore Park on May 23. Roscommon and Galway will play host to the All-Ireland SFC champions on May 16 and 30 respectively."

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 24/05/2021 18:27:04    2345098

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "It was nt mentioned User because Dublin did have a manager called Mick Galvin. Monaghan had a result v Donegal (and they in same position with the manager issue) . Another thing that was nt mentioned was why was the game in Thurles? It was Kerry that were supposed to have home venue this year but the gaa tell us they taking home venue off Dublin and moving game to Thurles. Last year Dublin had home venue v Kerry and its supposed to be every 2nd turn."
Dublin's last league games v Roscommon (2019) and Galway last Autumn were both away and both fixed away again this year?

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 685 - 24/05/2021 18:38:30    2345102

Replying To Joxer:  "That was a legendary full forward called Mick Galvin. Way before your time sonny."
Don't know if he could ever be considered as a "legendary full forward " but I do know he held a couple of club management positions and got run both times....!!!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1947 - 24/05/2021 18:43:56    2345104

Replying To lilylanger:  "This is from the Examiner. Not sure what Division 1 South means though.

"Dublin's only home Division 1 South game was to be against Kerry but as was reported last week that is likely to be played in MW Hire O'Moore Park on May 23. Roscommon and Galway will play host to the All-Ireland SFC champions on May 16 and 30 respectively.""
I know that Lilylanger but in the league there is a home and away basis and last year Dublin Kerry fixture was layed at croke park meani g this year was Kerry but when they split the divisions in two they said now Dublin have home venue again.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 24/05/2021 18:48:22    2345106

Replying To sligo joe:  "Dublin's last league games v Roscommon (2019) and Galway last Autumn were both away and both fixed away again this year?"
Not sure of that but Kerry and Dublin played out a draw in croker last Feb. Check it out.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 24/05/2021 18:50:24    2345108

Replying To sligo joe:  "Dublin's last league games v Roscommon (2019) and Galway last Autumn were both away and both fixed away again this year?"
Dúin lost home venues due to punishment for breaking training ban but my point is that Kerry were supposed to have home venue this year.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 24/05/2021 18:53:08    2345112

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I know that Lilylanger but in the league there is a home and away basis and last year Dublin Kerry fixture was layed at croke park meani g this year was Kerry but when they split the divisions in two they said now Dublin have home venue again."
Without fans at the game I don't think it matters really, it's a minor inconvenience I suppose, but hardly worth complaining about.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 24/05/2021 19:27:34    2345127

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Not sure of that but Kerry and Dublin played out a draw in croker last Feb. Check it out."
I know that, so are you saying, leaving Dublin's covid issues aside, Dublin would have no home league game this year. If there was a rule that home advantage was rotated with each fixture then in the normal 7 game division 1, with two teams promoted a team could conceiveably have 6 away games or indeed 6 home games.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 685 - 24/05/2021 19:31:28    2345128

I see the "this is the year that Kerry take down the Dubs" narrative is back in full flow from nearly every outlet. Hasn't happened in well over a decade and it won't be happening this year either.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 24/05/2021 19:40:41    2345138

Replying To sligo joe:  "I know that, so are you saying, leaving Dublin's covid issues aside, Dublin would have no home league game this year. If there was a rule that home advantage was rotated with each fixture then in the normal 7 game division 1, with two teams promoted a team could conceiveably have 6 away games or indeed 6 home games."
Oh right.Well if that's the case that would be grossly unfair.I did nt know the story with Galway or Rossies.I just know Kerry were due home advantage with Dublin and before they split the divisions the game was pencilled in for Killarney.I was feeling Kerry were hard done by but I can understand now.tThis happened us before aswell when the gaa started up the spring series around 2011.The gaa asked Kerry to play Dubs out of turn in Croker but it was with consent.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 24/05/2021 20:11:19    2345156

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Without fans at the game I don't think it matters really, it's a minor inconvenience I suppose, but hardly worth complaining about."
True enough Gerry and we probably have home venue back again next year when hopefully it will be fully open to all fans again.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 24/05/2021 20:12:52    2345157

Replying To greatpoint:  "I see the "this is the year that Kerry take down the Dubs" narrative is back in full flow from nearly every outlet. Hasn't happened in well over a decade and it won't be happening this year either."
Really? I think there are at least 4 legitimate contenders to Dublin this year. They're nowhere near as dominant as they once were, they were really lucky to win last years all Ireland, and the young lads coming through aren't as good as the older fellas who are retiring.
Now if you'll excuse me, I'm gonna go offline for a while. I'm getting too distracted by all those flying pigs.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1721 - 24/05/2021 20:48:49    2345177

Replying To greatpoint:  "I see the "this is the year that Kerry take down the Dubs" narrative is back in full flow from nearly every outlet. Hasn't happened in well over a decade and it won't be happening this year either."
Well if you have been reading the posts that narrative is nt coming from Kerry.It is other posters that have been tipping Kerry including Dublin posters.I can only speak for myself but my view is that yes we are favourites to win munster (as we were last year) and maybe we will but if that happens we would have a very tough semi final v Ulster winners.So im sure after yesterdays game Kerry will hardly be thinking much about Dublin for a while again.The bookies have Dublin strong favourites again this year and rightly so.While Kerry will be focusing mainly on the munster championship now if they re looking at any other teams I would suspect it is a couple of Ulster teams.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 24/05/2021 20:49:21    2345179

Yep, this is the second consecutive year we're playing in Galway, furious love a weekend in Galway!

Still have a hotel voucher from the original cancelled game last March.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/05/2021 21:05:01    2345187