Dublin Vs Kerry

Replying To Joxer:  "Honest question KB, is Jimmy McGuinness involved in the Kerry setup these days? I know he was being touted for a few roles, including Dundalk manager, and sure I haven't seen a blanket like Kerry had yesterday since the great snow fall of 1982. I figure McGuinness must be advising Keane."
There must be a rugby league coach involved with Dublin the way they play. The players surely know they can use their feet as well as their hands in the game? And the ball can be moved forwards as opposed to backwards all the time?

the_creeler (Leitrim) - Posts: 119 - 24/05/2021 11:38:55    2344892

Aww look at yiz all talking about me

I'm here for you lads

Yeah imagine if Dublin had of scored their other goal chances.. would have ended up with 6 or 7 goals against a good side :)

Over two games they are up to 5-31 and considering the players we have out and playing one game away and a rescheduled home game played in Thurles as punishment for their stupid carry on.

I'm quite satisfied with that if I'm very honest

So much hate after a bit of a low intensity kick about lads.. Jeeze..

Dublin play a style of ball that doesn't allow them to over commit and get turned over and countered which is exactly what their opposition are trying to achieve..

Sorry if yiz don't like watching Dublin deciding tot to do exactly what their opposition want them too.. buy hey that's sport.

And well.. 5-31.. that's fairly prolific scoring

Hopefully teams continue to commit lots of bodies into their defence as Dublin will continue to just keep on winning

Dublin vastly superior tactical setup will continue to champion over such rudimentary stuff from the 00's

5-31

Yep.. not bad for a keep ball team

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/05/2021 11:52:10    2344896

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Had to laugh at Eamon Fitzmaurice on the SG last night trying to show that Donegal still had a blanket defence at times,
Kerry were pulling every man back they could all day against Dublin but he wouldn't highlight that, oh sure Kerry are the purists after all, shows you too how lame the RTE pundits are he thinks it's Ulster v Leinster in the semi finals this year."
Tír Chonaill some times you've got to fight fire with fire, but I'd have to disagree with Fitzmaurice though coz if Donegal had deployed a blanket defence (a proper 1) Monaghan wouldn't have scored 4 goals and had about another 4 goal chance.

I must say I watched yer game against Monaghan on Saturday and I thought it was excellent viewing for the neutral it was a pity that Murphy picked up an injury though.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/05/2021 11:55:13    2344898

Replying To TheUsername:  "That is a very good post and really good analysis a chara. Of course we need to throw the problem in of the blanket defense and make sure we just dont rule change around the solution to it, for me the blanket defense is the illness and probing Dublin style the symptom but also the solution. Its actually quite a difficult skill to pull off, you have to have the players. The Munster final last year - if we remember both Kerry and Cork did it too. I actually thought Kerry did it yesterday as well. Strangely i thought Dublin kicked more long ball yesterday then they usually would, i think the identified the Kerry defense weren't comfortable under the high ball, to be fair we got some joy our of it. We tried to kick over the blanket as well, we persevered with it to long though and wasted some good pocession.

Strangely as the Kerry team of the 00's got older i used to think one of their best skill sets was holding the ball and retaining pocession as they got their noses in front, i used to really admire it, they were the best of it then. It can work against you to, Kerry proved it yesterday in the second half, just like we did in he last quarter of 2011 when Kerry tried it. I find the whole tactical battles fascinating."
Agree people have short memories remember 07 semi final Dublin got it back to 1pt game what did Kerry do "basketball" until they worked it to Declan O'Sullivan for the insurance score - because it was the aristocrats it was composure, experience, game management!!! As long as the Kerry's of this world bring back 13 / 14 behind the ball the answer is keep ball it would be brain dead to kick a ball in flooded with defenders..all credit to Kerry for fighting back they were juiced up for this ..

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 24/05/2021 12:12:33    2344907

Replying To jimbodub:  "Aww look at yiz all talking about me

I'm here for you lads

Yeah imagine if Dublin had of scored their other goal chances.. would have ended up with 6 or 7 goals against a good side :)

Over two games they are up to 5-31 and considering the players we have out and playing one game away and a rescheduled home game played in Thurles as punishment for their stupid carry on.

Dublin play a style of ball that doesn't allow them to over commit and get turned over and countered which is exactly what their opposition are trying to achieve..

Sorry if yiz don't like watching Dublin deciding tot to do exactly what their opposition want them too.. buy hey that's sport.

Hopefully teams continue to commit lots of bodies into their defence as Dublin will continue to just keep on winning

Dublin vastly superior tactical setup will continue to champion over such rudimentary stuff from the 00's

5-31

Yep.. not bad for a keep ball team"
Talking about you?? You feeling ok?? Who is talking about you?? It is a Dublin Kerry thread baby not a jimbodub thread much as you would like it to be.

Yea ye scored well but despite your own blanket defence conceded 19 scores. Not all rosy in Dessie's oh i didn't know about the kickabout Farrell's garden

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 24/05/2021 12:23:43    2344912

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Agree people have short memories remember 07 semi final Dublin got it back to 1pt game what did Kerry do "basketball" until they worked it to Declan O'Sullivan for the insurance score - because it was the aristocrats it was composure, experience, game management!!! As long as the Kerry's of this world bring back 13 / 14 behind the ball the answer is keep ball it would be brain dead to kick a ball in flooded with defenders..all credit to Kerry for fighting back they were juiced up for this .."
Yes Jack you are correct. I remember that passage of play well from the 07 semi. Also if Kerry had used that tactic in 2019 they might have won Sam and also v Cork last year they should have used it instead of kicking for a late score. Of course keep ball tactics is a very hard watch for the neutral and frustrating for the opposition but needs must and if my county wins a big game by doing it I will be happy. Of course we all want entertainment but at the end of the day as the old adage goes I'd rather win a bad one than lose a good one. If the gaa don't like it they can tweak the rules etc but for the moment if it helps a team to win so be it and good luck to them.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 24/05/2021 12:36:26    2344923

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Agree people have short memories remember 07 semi final Dublin got it back to 1pt game what did Kerry do "basketball" until they worked it to Declan O'Sullivan for the insurance score - because it was the aristocrats it was composure, experience, game management!!! As long as the Kerry's of this world bring back 13 / 14 behind the ball the answer is keep ball it would be brain dead to kick a ball in flooded with defenders..all credit to Kerry for fighting back they were juiced up for this .."
Really good post. Kerry in 2011 played keep ball. When they were 4 up until O'Sullivan lost it and we all know what happened next. The Dubs didn't invent keep ball, they perfected the skill and it is a skill to be able to do it so effectively However a word of warning, one day they will be caught just like Kerry were. Still you have to play the percentages and it it highly effective against such a defensive team as Kerry. Why didnt Kerry attack?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 24/05/2021 12:42:32    2344924

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Tír Chonaill some times you've got to fight fire with fire, but I'd have to disagree with Fitzmaurice though coz if Donegal had deployed a blanket defence (a proper 1) Monaghan wouldn't have scored 4 goals and had about another 4 goal chance.

I must say I watched yer game against Monaghan on Saturday and I thought it was excellent viewing for the neutral it was a pity that Murphy picked up an injury though."
Yes pity about Michael he was going so well against Tyrone but he's as tough as nails, hope he'll be back for the Championship anyway PG.
We are playing fairly well now in our attack but the defence needs to be sorted out fast, we have been defending badly now for a few years, hard to replace likes of Karl Lacey and Frank McGlynn etc but we have some very good defenders still to come back in and challenge for starting places. great to have Odhran Mac Niallas back this year, expect big things if all goes well for him this year.
I think ye have the winning of the All Ireland this year in Kerry, that's a very hungry looking team and you have all the ingredients to win it.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 24/05/2021 12:50:05    2344928

Replying To lilylanger:  "Really good post. Kerry in 2011 played keep ball. When they were 4 up until O'Sullivan lost it and we all know what happened next. The Dubs didn't invent keep ball, they perfected the skill and it is a skill to be able to do it so effectively However a word of warning, one day they will be caught just like Kerry were. Still you have to play the percentages and it it highly effective against such a defensive team as Kerry. Why didnt Kerry attack?"
They were caught yesterday trying to play keep ball and work it out from the back Kerry put the squeeze on and turned Dublin over for 4 or 5 pts...I hope it's a lesson we heed..good it is happening now hopefully we learn cone the big games in the summer.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 24/05/2021 13:27:43    2344952

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I know sure, ah well it was nice to play them outside of Croke Park yesterday and they'll set a new record next week when they play Galway in Pearse stadium when they'll have played 3 games in a row away from home beating their previous record of 2 games away from home which they set yesterday in Thurles.

That'll make jimbo happy as he loves his records."
To be fair that's the sort of record Jim won't mention seeing as it won't suit him.

He has however written yet another thesis about nothing that's very easily to pick apart but he of course won't accept that.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 24/05/2021 13:39:06    2344957

Replying To jimbodub:  "Aww look at yiz all talking about me

I'm here for you lads

5-31

Yep.. not bad for a keep ball team"
Haven't heard anyone mention that we didn't have a manager yesterday, it's quite incredible to get a result of any kind when you think about it, I wonder could any other county do it.

I think we really missed Dessie yesterday, we made some very unDublin like decisions through the game and preservered when some things weren't working when we should have twisted to a different phase and tactic and managed Kerry better.

In essence it was Peter Keane against himself yesterday and he got a draw and looked to be very happy about it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/05/2021 14:11:18    2344974

Replying To TheUsername:  "Haven't heard anyone mention that we didn't have a manager yesterday, it's quite incredible to get a result of any kind when you think about it, I wonder could any other county do it.

I think we really missed Dessie yesterday, we made some very unDublin like decisions through the game and preservered when some things weren't working when we should have twisted to a different phase and tactic and managed Kerry better.

In essence it was Peter Keane against himself yesterday and he got a draw and looked to be very happy about it."
Dublin had no manager? Who was that on the sidelines yesterday then?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 24/05/2021 14:21:44    2344978

Replying To oneoff:  "Dublin had no manager? Who was that on the sidelines yesterday then?"
It's funny coz jim gavin used to say that the dublin team used to manage themselves and he was only there to facilitate them, like I say Dessie got the handiest job in the gaa just wake up Early go down to innishfails and throw out a few cones and order nutrition (food) for the players.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/05/2021 14:46:16    2344994

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's funny coz jim gavin used to say that the dublin team used to manage themselves and he was only there to facilitate them, like I say Dessie got the handiest job in the gaa just wake up Early go down to innishfails and throw out a few cones and order nutrition (food) for the players."
Funny and Jim Gavin don't really belong together

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 24/05/2021 14:58:58    2345000

Replying To oneoff:  "Dublin had no manager? Who was that on the sidelines yesterday then?"
one of their 50 strong backroom team probably

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 24/05/2021 15:04:18    2345004

Replying To tonguey:  "Funny and Jim Gavin don't really belong together"
100%, I take back that funny comment and il replace it with interesting?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/05/2021 15:16:07    2345012

Replying To oneoff:  "To be fair that's the sort of record Jim won't mention seeing as it won't suit him.

He has however written yet another thesis about nothing that's very easily to pick apart but he of course won't accept that."
In fairness that's a record to be proud of, I mean 3 away games in a row and no one there to see it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/05/2021 15:19:37    2345014

Replying To tonguey:  "Funny and Jim Gavin don't really belong together"
I'm sure he laughs when looking at the trophy cabinet in his sitting room and listening to a Cavan man talking about football.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/05/2021 16:12:57    2345041

That was a legendary full forward called Mick Galvin. Way before your time sonny.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/05/2021 16:14:22    2345042

Replying To the_creeler:  "There must be a rugby league coach involved with Dublin the way they play. The players surely know they can use their feet as well as their hands in the game? And the ball can be moved forwards as opposed to backwards all the time?"
You'd be very naive to think you can kick into a duvet defence like Kerry's. You might as well just hand then the ball. Donegal won an AI because the opposition did just that. Dublin made that very mistake in 14.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/05/2021 16:18:04    2345047