Advertisement

Stepping Away And Retirements (Early)

Replying To yew_tree:  "Joe Brolly with another side swipe at Mayo players again this weekend. Now apparently GAA players should be banned from announcing retirements on social media and he even has the gall to compare it to Trumps Twitter ban.

You should be seen not heard. Brolly is a total hypocrite. He harps on about robotic football and boring manager and player interviews on one hand. Coming from a man who ridiculed Ciaran MacDonald for wearing white boots and blonde hair..."Swedish bridesmaid" I think was his quote at the time.

Individuality it seems is scorned upon. Shut up and don't dare speak out unless you have won an All Ireland medal...

Well joe maybe you should stop tweeting about American politics because you seem to be a self proclaimed expert all of a sudden."
It would be interesting to see how brolly would react if Mayo won an allireland wouldn't it? He'd probably take credit for it saying all he was doing was giving Mayo some tough love.

Nah Joe has nailed his colors well and truly to the dublin jack poll.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/01/2021 15:01:05    2326884

Replying To yew_tree:  "Joe Brolly with another side swipe at Mayo players again this weekend. Now apparently GAA players should be banned from announcing retirements on social media and he even has the gall to compare it to Trumps Twitter ban.

You should be seen not heard. Brolly is a total hypocrite. He harps on about robotic football and boring manager and player interviews on one hand. Coming from a man who ridiculed Ciaran MacDonald for wearing white boots and blonde hair..."Swedish bridesmaid" I think was his quote at the time.

Individuality it seems is scorned upon. Shut up and don't dare speak out unless you have won an All Ireland medal...

Well joe maybe you should stop tweeting about American politics because you seem to be a self proclaimed expert all of a sudden."
Yeah he goes over and above on Mayo, its gotten out of hand and massively outrageous at this stage and i dont mind Brolly at all.

I hear he had some skin in the game in the Holmes and Connolly regime, so with the player heave, i think he always has an axe to grind with the Mayo team and players. Ive no substance or links to that or even know if its true, just word of mouth, but may explain his ridiculous and at this stage very personal and wildly unfair comments about Mayo and some of their players.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4541 - 10/01/2021 15:06:18    2326885

I find brolly to be almost a tragic figure at this point tbh.
The onset of irrelevance has led him to desperately scramble for anything that might get people talking about him again,, constantly whinging about trump (yawn) and Mayo,, the two topics that seem to consume every waking moment of most irish people these days.
Cantwell publicly humiliated him when she dominated him in the studio and ultimately sent him packing and that probably stings him alot more than he let's on.
I guess he is worth a listen,, but more out of a morbid curiosity to see what silly thing he'll say next in order to get attention, which is a shame because he has a good footballing brain.

A fascinating pundit in his day,, during the 2000,s,,but meh,, I wouldnt worry too much about him now,, even though he is being nasty.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 10/01/2021 15:39:51    2326889

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Best of luck to Gareth Bradshaw. Another fine player gone."
yes a solid back for sure: Best of luck to all retiring players and thank you for giving everything to our games.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1819 - 10/01/2021 15:45:29    2326890

Replying To TheUsername:  "Yeah he goes over and above on Mayo, its gotten out of hand and massively outrageous at this stage and i dont mind Brolly at all.

I hear he had some skin in the game in the Holmes and Connolly regime, so with the player heave, i think he always has an axe to grind with the Mayo team and players. Ive no substance or links to that or even know if its true, just word of mouth, but may explain his ridiculous and at this stage very personal and wildly unfair comments about Mayo and some of their players."
Your not wrong. Most in Mayo know why he has an exe to grind and it's highly unprofessional him being allowed to use a national newspaper to ridicule, mock and take swipes at amuteur GAA players.

Joe's new pastime is American politics (again we know why) but it's Joe himself that's sounding more like Trump.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12256 - 10/01/2021 15:46:15    2326891

Replying To yew_tree:  "Your not wrong. Most in Mayo know why he has an exe to grind and it's highly unprofessional him being allowed to use a national newspaper to ridicule, mock and take swipes at amuteur GAA players.

Joe's new pastime is American politics (again we know why) but it's Joe himself that's sounding more like Trump."
He's way out of order.
Is he living in mayo?

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 641 - 10/01/2021 16:15:53    2326894

Replying To TheUsername:  "Its a hard gig alright, i know Tom is based in Dublin, i dont think im breaking confidences by saying Seamie is/was to, i know Cillian is as well, in fact a good few of the Mayo lads have been here for a while.

While it is not my place to say and acknowledging its a tough gig, i do wonder is it better having split training camps, one in the east and one out west, if it was costing me obscene amounts of money as a county id look at it or at least analyse it.

Im sure the response will be a Dub saying that in our Ivory Tower and know we are in a lucky position, (though we had Ciaran, Jack and Mick Fitz traveling inter county at one stage) I just wonder is this a way forward that may best mind the players welfare. Obviously there will be times on tactics and the like this isnt possible, but its one i often wonder about, a few of the Kerry and Roscommon lads are up here to."
Yeah I guess the travelling a big thing this time of year and it's depressing but when the good bright evenings kick in things improve. It's hard to know the best solution with training butt travelling 3 or 4 nights a week is a hard slog.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4243 - 10/01/2021 17:14:26    2326900

Ciaran McDonald the Swedish bridesmaid, that's funny though and typical Brolly, I miss him from the Sunday game at least he was a talking point and a bit of craic compared to the dross they are serving up now, if Mayo had a few more bridesmaids like Ciaran mac they'd have had a few All Irelands back in the day I think,
I think what annoys people about Mayo is the hype Rte and the media make about them, they are celebrity losers in fairness, imagine the stuff we'd have to listen to if they'd actually ever won the thing? it would give England and the 1966 guff a run for it's money,
Andy Moran announced his retirement last year in the week leading into the All Ireland final, there was no reason he couldn't have waited till the off season like most retirees do, instead it put Mayo into the GAA/RTE news the week of the final. Just my opinion and I'll get flak for it going against the popular narrative.
Vaughan cost Mayo the All ireland in 2017, he'll never forget that forearm smash on Small.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3826 - 10/01/2021 18:43:42    2326907

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Ciaran McDonald the Swedish bridesmaid, that's funny though and typical Brolly, I miss him from the Sunday game at least he was a talking point and a bit of craic compared to the dross they are serving up now, if Mayo had a few more bridesmaids like Ciaran mac they'd have had a few All Irelands back in the day I think,
I think what annoys people about Mayo is the hype Rte and the media make about them, they are celebrity losers in fairness, imagine the stuff we'd have to listen to if they'd actually ever won the thing? it would give England and the 1966 guff a run for it's money,
Andy Moran announced his retirement last year in the week leading into the All Ireland final, there was no reason he couldn't have waited till the off season like most retirees do, instead it put Mayo into the GAA/RTE news the week of the final. Just my opinion and I'll get flak for it going against the popular narrative.
Vaughan cost Mayo the All ireland in 2017, he'll never forget that forearm smash on Small."
These Mayo players have won multiple trophies throughout their career.
Multiple provincials, Club All Irelands , league titles , representing Ireland at international level,

There's counties out there that havent had a sniff of a medal ,or get within an ass's roar of being relatively successful ..
and you also have posters on here who hyperbole Mayo too just like the media.

A Galway poster (surprise, surprise) mentions Barrett and few others that had retired too ,,,
and when he got pulled up on it he choked and disappeared. ,.
They all do it..
They are the real bottlers...
Ignorant and clueless.

Mayo get media hype simply because they have a good system in place which keeps them competitive
deep into summers year after year..

Many/Many counties could do with having a look at the way the Mayo take care of their business both on
and off the field.
You never see Mayo crying about Money/Unfairness after losing the Dublin.
They'll dust themselves down and are already planning for another crack at them,

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 10/01/2021 20:28:41    2326918

For 3 weeks in a row Brolly has wrote a Sunday Independent article giving out about Mayo players in one way or another. Yet he's the 1st one to claim Mayo are over hyped celebrities.

Some people aren't happy with Mayo players announcing retirement during a quiet January when the GAA is on lockdown. Another poster isn't happy with Andy Moran announcing his retirement on all Ireland final week when everyone is preoccupied with Dublin and Kerry.

People need to make up their minds.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 575 - 10/01/2021 21:41:40    2326926

I agree with you a 100% Yew tree. Brolly was a good footballer and obviously there is a decency in him after he donated one of his kidneys. He is brave and caring. However as a pundit I think he s a disgrace and very nasty. He does nt just comment on players football ability but gets personal. His comments on Sean Kavanagh a few years ago were low and his remarks about Marty Morrissey very low. He can be very cutting. He constantly snipes at Mayo and full of horrible comments
His statement saying Mayo will never win Sam with Aidan Ó Shea is very cutting also. Imo he a very average pundit. He always picks the favourites so he s nearly always right. As a barrister he spends alot of time in court dealing with untruths and trying to convince juries to believe what he says and he acts the same as a pundit trying to shout all others down. He comes across as arrogant and also very silly at times. If he see something good he gets carried away. He claimed Jim McGuinness would be a top class premier league manager and Kieran McGeeney might fight for a world title at ufc. Brolly is entertaining but as a comedy act.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4243 - 10/01/2021 21:49:03    2326927

Joe is like a PR man for Dublin. He never, ever mentions their advantages or discusses the broader issue.
When asked about them playing at home all the time he said well life isn't always fair.
Well to me life seems more than fair to Dublin football and supporters.
So for Joe Dublin is this wonderful team made up of wonderful people who do all this charity work yet he personally attacks mayo who are the only team to consistently put it up to dublin.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 641 - 11/01/2021 08:50:50    2326939

Replying To BeJasus:  "These Mayo players have won multiple trophies throughout their career.
Multiple provincials, Club All Irelands , league titles , representing Ireland at international level,

There's counties out there that havent had a sniff of a medal ,or get within an ass's roar of being relatively successful ..
and you also have posters on here who hyperbole Mayo too just like the media.

A Galway poster (surprise, surprise) mentions Barrett and few others that had retired too ,,,
and when he got pulled up on it he choked and disappeared. ,.
They all do it..
They are the real bottlers...
Ignorant and clueless.

Mayo get media hype simply because they have a good system in place which keeps them competitive
deep into summers year after year..

Many/Many counties could do with having a look at the way the Mayo take care of their business both on
and off the field.
You never see Mayo crying about Money/Unfairness after losing the Dublin.
They'll dust themselves down and are already planning for another crack at them,"
Look it we get it. Going from this post and some other posts you are not a fan of us even if you are factually correct on the Barrett issue. That is fine but it is a little wearying. I don't know who my fellow county poster is but tarnishing all from one county with the same brush just exposes your dislike for Galway even more. Making out Mayo to be not complaining about unfairness and money is a non argument. That issue rightly or wrongly has being pedalled by people from all counties so don't be making them out as whiter than white. The points by others on Brolly are in the main correct. His commentary on Mayo is indeed unfair and does not reflect the contribution they have made by what is probably their best team in living memory. He is a Dub cheerleader and has been for many years. Easier to jump on a successful wagon.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1998 - 11/01/2021 15:43:50    2327000

Replying To kiloughter:  "Look it we get it. Going from this post and some other posts you are not a fan of us even if you are factually correct on the Barrett issue. That is fine but it is a little wearying. I don't know who my fellow county poster is but tarnishing all from one county with the same brush just exposes your dislike for Galway even more. Making out Mayo to be not complaining about unfairness and money is a non argument. That issue rightly or wrongly has being pedalled by people from all counties so don't be making them out as whiter than white. The points by others on Brolly are in the main correct. His commentary on Mayo is indeed unfair and does not reflect the contribution they have made by what is probably their best team in living memory. He is a Dub cheerleader and has been for many years. Easier to jump on a successful wagon."
Your county is littered with posters who jump on here when it suits them...
All depends whether its the hurlers or footballers thats doing well...
No loyalty to either, just confusion.

Where's Belclare these Days ??
He represents all that is wrong with Galway posters on here..
Obsessed with Mayo,, never comments about his own Native land.

Most of them aren't very knowledgeable at either sport, and get exposed on here multiple times talking out of their backsides..
You only have to see the attendances over the years to see GAA is not really in the interest of people in Galway.

Its all about Mervue, Devon, and Galway Utd .

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 12/01/2021 19:44:48    2327166

Replying To BeJasus:  "Your county is littered with posters who jump on here when it suits them...

Most of them aren't very knowledgeable at either sport, and get exposed on here multiple times talking out of their backsides..
You only have to see the attendances over the years to see GAA is not really in the interest of people in Galway.

Its all about Mervue, Devon, and Galway Utd ."
Let's just agree to disagree. Too many generalisations for me to get bothered about.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1998 - 12/01/2021 20:39:20    2327179

Replying To BeJasus:  "Your county is littered with posters who jump on here when it suits them...

Its all about Mervue, Devon, and Galway Utd ."
The irony is you're engaging in the same behaviour as the posters you're complaining about. Not too long ago you started complaining about Galway football in a thread about the Offaly hurlers loss to Down. Without any mention of Mayo by anyone before that.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 3048 - 12/01/2021 22:17:56    2327192

what's this thread about again?

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1087 - 13/01/2021 10:15:11    2327208

Replying To Maroonatic:  "what's this thread about again?"
Retirements > taking the **** out of Mayo > Galway v Mayo feud....wonder what's next ? We might as well discuss Trump so while we are it

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12256 - 13/01/2021 11:39:22    2327225

Replying To yew_tree:  "Retirements > taking the **** out of Mayo > Galway v Mayo feud....wonder what's next ? We might as well discuss Trump so while we are it"
ah lads, Ime not the admin but I started this post as we all hear come the summer etc "of coruse such a player has retired" and we didnt hear it a the time...many go quiety and its really the big names we only seem to remember...because a flock of Mayo players decide to retiree is not ticket to turn the post into slagging match..I work in Westmeath incidentally, and have remarked of a Monday after weekend games, I dont know is it a Connaught thing, but Galway/Roscommon and Mayo people to a much lesser extent infairness seem to think that no other games have taken place of the weekend, they know all about the the Galway and Roscommon team and its almost "what are you on about" if you say "Laois and Offaly" or Kildare and Meath was a good game, they dont seem to acknowledge that there are 3 other provinces, 30 other counties..I see the post getting bogged down in rivalry thats all..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1041 - 13/01/2021 12:37:56    2327238

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "ah lads, Ime not the admin but I started this post as we all hear come the summer etc "of coruse such a player has retired" and we didnt hear it a the time...many go quiety and its really the big names we only seem to remember...because a flock of Mayo players decide to retiree is not ticket to turn the post into slagging match..I work in Westmeath incidentally, and have remarked of a Monday after weekend games, I dont know is it a Connaught thing, but Galway/Roscommon and Mayo people to a much lesser extent infairness seem to think that no other games have taken place of the weekend, they know all about the the Galway and Roscommon team and its almost "what are you on about" if you say "Laois and Offaly" or Kildare and Meath was a good game, they dont seem to acknowledge that there are 3 other provinces, 30 other counties..I see the post getting bogged down in rivalry thats all.."
Ah well it's to hell or to Connacht as they say. The forgotten provience. We did establish a brief republic here back in the day ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12256 - 13/01/2021 15:31:42    2327263